Search
< Back to Product

VIAIR 85 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$69.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Shipping$69.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$69.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
VIAIR 85 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Quiet (2)
Durable (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Cons
No Cons On This Boy (1)
None (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
16 Reviews  Sort by 
 
David M.
Clarence, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/3/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Viair Compressor
Bought this for my truck so I'm never down on truck or trailer tire pressures as we know what happens to heavy loaded tires when low on pressure.

This thing is sweet! Nice and quiet, compact, good gauge.

Unfortunately found it $30 cheaper after I bought :-(. Wish it had higher max pressure than 65.
David Recommends This VIAIR Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
David,
We appreciate your business- I'm glad it was delivered to your door and we could save you the sales tax.

If you need higher PSI you will need to look at inflators meant for RV tires like the Viair 45040 12 volt system that delivers 100% duty cycle at 100 PSI.

These RV systems are meant to be hard-wired into your vehicle and require their own switch and tank. They are also more expensive, but in an RV or off-road situation it could be a wise investment.
more
Was this review helpful?
22
Guenther G.
Agoura Hills, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/3/12
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Real (usable) Inflator
We live in Los Angels, CA and twice a year we drive to Jackson Hole, WY., a 1,000 mile drive each way. Since we always go in late Spring and late fall when Jackson Hole has plenty of snow on the ground at that time. We always make sure we have snow chains and a battery starter kit as temperature can drop below Zero at night.

I bought a COBRA starter and inflater unit to make sure we can correct a low the battery condition while we are in this cold weather and a potential under-inflated tire... more
Was this review helpful?
271
Jim H.
Thornton, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/12
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Would Recommend It
I bought this air compresor for airing up tires on my atv's used it twice works great and takes only a
minute to do the job. ( only needs 4-7 psi per tire )

One thing I was worried about was the amp's needed to run it, I did'nt want to blow a fuse,
using the cigerette lighter on my atv worked great with no problems.

one complant I have with with the air compresor is the screw on tip,( for the valve stem ) I think it's a pain,
But it does work.

my other complant is, The air gauge... more
Was this review helpful?
201
Bill
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/13
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Inaccurate Gauge
Great little air compressor. I use it mainly for airing up the tires on my ATV trailer, truck, & wife's SUV. I've also used it on my Honda Big Red UTV.

The pump is compact, efficient, and well made. It put 25 additional pounds in my trailer tires in about 3 minutes each.

I would have given the pump 5 stars except for the inaccurate air pressure gauge on the pump. It read 40 lbs on my trailer tires when they actually had 60+ pounds in them after filling with the Viair 85.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
Please give the folks at VIAIR a call at (949) 585-0011. They will be able to help you with your gauge.
more
Was this review helpful?
214
Owen G.
Huntington, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/13/13
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing
Like most people I've purchased the portable air pumps at local discount stores. I have an SUV that I seldom used as it consumes 2 to 3 times the fuel that my subcompact does. The light comes on the dash advising me of low tire pressure.

The cheaper units start burning up before the tires are topped off and I have to finish with a bicycle pump. At 65 with the weather turning wet and cold, this is not fun. The gas stations with FREE AIR are few these days. You have to wait in line and the... more
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Owen Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
184
Jim
Mesquite, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/8/12
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Money
The compressor is easy to use and is worth the money I paid. The gauge on the compressor is not accurate, it's off about 2 to 3 psi, but on other compressors I have used the gauge was off up to 10 psi.

If you don't have a tire gauge at the time you need the compressor it gets you close enough without excessive over or under inflating your tires.
Was this review helpful?
141
Dan
West Deptford, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/3/11
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
24
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All Around Use.
I can't believe this small profile device delivers such sure and dependable performance.

So far, so great...can't say a negative thing about my Viair.

Great little machine for a good price.
Was this review helpful?
120
Karl
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
This compressor is great, works like a charm. Worth the bucks.
Was this review helpful?
132
Rodney H.
Lorton, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
I drive a Corvette, but I refuse to buy the overprice run-flat tires. With my new compressor, I feel more comfortable driving on long trips knowing that I can get out of a jam.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Rodney Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Sanford B.
Ridgeland, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/14
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally... A Top Notch Portable Air Compressor !
In the past I have bought several of the "bargain units" and could tell that their service life was going to be limited- which it was.

This little jewel was everything I was told. At first I hesitated because of the price. I figured it was just a sales pitch to sell the unit but decided to give it a try anyway and I am delighted that I did. I bought a 1 year warranty with the unit but don't think I will ever need it.

The only problem I see with this unit is that it will be a... more
Pros: Durable, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Top Notch Probuct
Cons: No Cons On This Boy
Sanford Recommends This VIAIR Product
Sanford's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Just an honest and dependable company that is truthful in its representation of its products.... Apparently this company still adheres to the policy of putting their customers first and dealing truthfully and honestly- a welcome addition in light of all the fraud and misrepresentation that floods the marketplace daily."
 more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Sanford,
Thank you for your kind words- you have put in a nutshell the heart of who we are and what we try to do every day. We appreciate your business!
Was this review helpful?
123
Pete
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I've Had It For Over A Year, No Problems
It's fast, powerful, and quiet. Sometimes it does get a little bit warm. The fittings are high quality. I'll never go back to a $30 air compressor.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Pete Recommends This VIAIR Product
Pete's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
113
Rob
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/19/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Good
I read a lot about this thing blowing fuses in cars and trucks. Well, do like I did and put in a 50 amp fuse holder and new wire in a circuit-there you go, it works great!!!

These folks complaining about the blown fuses I think have no mechanical ability at all.


It's a very good product- thank you.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Rob,
Each vehicle is different; please only install accessories according to the manufacturer's instructions. We do not endorse any modifications to a vehicle that are not approved by the manufacturer.
more
Was this review helpful?
1810
Ian
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/15/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Viair 85p Great Pump
I purchased this pump in May of 2014. I have been very please with the pump. It seems to fill my tires quicker than other portable air pumps I have used in the past.

It is more quiet that my previous pumps. It is build very well. I like it so much I'm purchasing more pumps to have in my other cars.
Ian Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Leroy B.
Fosters, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/4/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
This is a good product! I would recommend this product.
Leroy Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Cheryl G.
Duryea, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Viair 85p Sport Compact 12-volt Inflator Kit
I drive a Jeep with 225/75R16 tires and my husband has a Dodge Dakota. There's no such thing as free air around here any more and we've taken to carrying small portable air compressors on board with us, in case needed.

Last one finally died and there's no comparison to this new VIAIR. My Jeep tires takes 33PSI and I one rear was down to 28. Back up in seconds.

Thread on was a snap and was calibrated right on. So easy I could do it!! Wasn't noisy and didn't vibrate all over the... more
Cheryl Recommends This VIAIR Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Cheryl,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Other online shoppers find these kinds of reviews very helpful when trying to make the right decision, and we truly appreciate you taking the time to write it.

Best wishes, and have a great summer.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Carlton T.
Richland, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/2/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Am Buying More To Give Away
The best 12v pump I have ever seen. I have been through quite a few.

The only complaint I have is that it struggles a bit to get to the full 65 psi that my Suburban requires but for the typical 32 psi it is perfect.

Quiet, stays cool, and does not jump around.
Carlton Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest VIAIR 85 reviews.Compare our VIAIR 85 ratings. Find the VIAIR 85 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct