Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

YardMax YU3566 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,449.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,680.56
(as of 11:32 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
YardMax YU3566 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
5.0 out of 55.0 out of 55.0 out of 55.0 out of 55.0 out of 5
Pros
Durable (18)
High Quality (17)
Price (14)
I'd Buy It Again (12)
Exceeded Expectations (12)
Cons
Heavy (9)
No cons (4)
Assembly (1)
heavy is a pro and a con (1)
Durability (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Tom L.
Whitewater, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/16
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Strong Machine
Very good machine, fit and finish very good, performance is flawless. Shipping very fast. I think best machine on the market for the money.
Tom Recommends This YardMax Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tom,
Thank you for the kinds words Tom. Flawless is what we expect.

Please don't forget to register your warranty and we will drop a small gift in the mail to you as a thanks. http://www.yardmax.com/support/product-registration/

We hope your new YARDMAX brings you many years of reliable use. Please give us a call or drop us an email anytime with questions.

Best regards,
YARDMAX Support
support@yardmax.com
more
Tom's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Satisfied with Quality and service all around."
 more
Was this review helpful?
187
Scott K.
Elk, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/4/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Equipment
Very impressed with the product. I was a little overwhelmed when I saw the box. Instructions were super easy, even easier after watching the video on the website.

The 35 ton unit is a bit heavy to just lift with one person, need to find another person to help raise the unit in the vertical position for use and save your back. Totally satisfied with my purchase.
Scott Recommends This YardMax Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Scott,
Thank you for the review, we are glad you like your log splitter. You definitely need two people to raise the beam to complete the assembly. Glad to hear you used our video to help see how the assembly goes first before attempting to assemble your unit.
Please don't forget to register your warranty, here is the link: http://www.yardmax.com/support/product-registration/

We hope your new YARDMAX brings you many years of reliable use. Please give us a call or drop us an email anytime with questions.

Best regards,
YARDMAX Support
support@yardmax.com
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Patrick F.
Mentor, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Log Splitter!
I have borrowed and rented many log splitters over the years and finally broke down and purchased one. This log splitter came ridiculously quick. Simple to assemble but it is very heavy. I would recommend a couple strong friends to help assemble. I have split many cords of wood with this already and it splits everything you throw at it. Starts every time and just keeps running. The 4 way splitting head and spinning foot plate are excellent features. Very well made and a great value for the size.
Pros: Durable, Features, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Patrick Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Bob B.
Urbana, IA
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Five stars isn't enough for this machine! Nothing seems to stop it. Makes splitting much easier when it splits on the first try instead of having to realign the wood.
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Bob Recommends This YardMax Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bob,
Bob
Thank you for the review, we are glad you like your log splitter. I too was very impressed with the performance of the 35 ton.
Please don't forget to register your warranty, here is the link: http://www.yardmax.com/support/product-registration/

We hope your new YARDMAX brings you many years of reliable use. Please give us a call or drop us an email anytime with questions.

Best regards,
YARDMAX Support
support@yardmax.com
more
Was this review helpful?
61
Kevin R.
Toano, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/28/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Unit. Best Bang For The Bucks!
I recently purchased this unit after a long search for such a unit. I could not be any happier with the unit as well as the communication with the supplier. BEST in the business. This YARDMAX unit will stop at nothing. Easy to operate. I split a lot of wood of all sizes. It splits everything with the supplied four-way splitting head. I highly recommend this unit!
Kevin Recommends This YardMax Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kevin,
Thank you Kevin, glad you are enjoying your new splitter. It was great to speak with you the other day and ensure you got everything you needed.

Thanks,
YARDMAX
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Darryl S.
Pensacola, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/5/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty & Very Powerful
Ordered this for my sons and they live it. Easy to put together if you have at least 2 people. Pulls kinda rough, but I expected that being it has no suspension. It has powered through everything I have put on it.

It did stall and was unable to split the big pieces with the 4-way splitter on it. I like the single splitter, because I can control the size of the pieces with it better. I recommend this log splitter to anyone serious about splitting a lot of wood.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
Darryl Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Dennis G.
Williston, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/6/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Very Good Log Splitter.
The splitter is an excellent machine for the price. It is capable of doing the required work with ease. The only problem I have had with the unit, was folding the stiff leg while picking up the tongue to hitch to truck ball. If I had the needed strength, it would probably not be a problem. I bought an adjustable folding tongue jack too install to solve this particular issue.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Price
Cons: Needs adjustable jack instead of stiff leg
Dennis Recommends This YardMax Product
Dennis's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Tony O.
Walworth, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/9/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Highly Recommend This Unit To A Friend.
This beast did NOT disappoint! It walked right through tree crotches that stopped my friend's splitter dead. Assembly was no problem following YardMax's video. Took about 45 minutes with proper tools. I chose to use the synthetic motor oil for best year round performance.

Once the motor was oiled up, and 100% gas added, it started on the 2nd pull! The 4 way splitter adapter saved tons of time on 12 inch diameter and smaller logs. It worked on larger logs too, but I prefer the single... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Price, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Tony Recommends This YardMax Product
Tony's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering was easy. And the unit shipped much faster than I expected! I actually had to ask them to wait a day. Ordered on Sunday, and it would have arrived on Thursday, but I asked them to deliver on Friday."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
William K.
Lincoln City, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Beast Of A Machine!
I have had this splitter for almost a month and waited to review it until I had put it through its paces. So far, I have split approx. 4 cords of mixed wood, from green Doug Fir, Noble Fir, white pine and alder, ranging from 14" to 36" in diameter. This machine hasn't broken a sweat. My first impressions, yes, it's heavy, but that actually provides a sense of how solid and strong this splitter is. The shipping crate was very secure and all assemblies and hardware were very well... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Price
William Recommends This YardMax Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
William,
Thank you for sharing such a detailed review. Your feedback will be very helpful to other online shoppers. Enjoy the rest of 2017, and we look forward to helping you with your next power equipment need.
more
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great selection of power equipment, fast shipping. Competitive pricing. I plan to buy from Power Equipment Direct (Log Slitters Direct) again for other power equipment. Very satisfied customer! Thank you."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Albert F.
Rockland, DE
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Maybe Too Heavy Duty
This a HEAVY duty log splitter. It is so heavy that it takes two men to operate when moving the towing tongue off the hitch. A hoist should be installed on the tongue of the splitter for one man towing operation. Also, two men are needed to move the splitter from horizontal to vertical position or vise versa. Also, a bit hard to maneuver on uneven ground. Otherwise this is a workhorse of a splitter. If one man operation is preferred get a lighter model.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Price, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, 2 men needed
Albert Recommends This YardMax Product
Albert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No where did I see anything to indicate that two men would be needed for certain operations with this model. Some operations are too heavy for one man."
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
Randy S.
Pittsfield, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The Best!
I was surprised how heavy which only means it must e very durable. I did a lot of research locally and on line. I found the Yardmax to be the most affordable without sacrificing power. I liked the fact that the four way wedge was included when most others offered it as a $100 option. All the five star reviews made it a pretty easy choice!
Pros: High Quality, Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Randy Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert H.
Tolleson, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/3/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Powerful
I have been using a 27-ton splitter. I can definitely tell the difference this 35-ton makes. It's very powerful and built to last. I'm very happy.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Karen J.
Sacramento, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/29/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!!! Very Satisfied With Performance!!!
We bought the 3-ton log splitter for our tree company. This machine was by far the cheapest we've found, and it gives you more bang for your buck. The machine was packaged very nicely with some assembly required. This has been a great piece of equipment for us with no issues. Very highly satisfied!!!
Pros: Durable, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Karen Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Cristiano M.
Ringwood, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/26/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
A lot of machine for the price!! Easy as pie to assemble and operate.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Price
Cristiano Recommends This YardMax Product
Cristiano's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"2nd purchase from this company. First was a snowblower a few year back. I'm a super happy client, and will definitely return."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Marshall A.
Gold Bar, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/28/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Strong
Log splitter is very strong and 4 way cutting head is awesome.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Marshall Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Shawn T.
Ash Grove, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/19/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
Great splitter, extremely heavy and well built. We also had great customer service from Yardmax after the sale.
1. Simple assembly.. but you might need 3 people. Tipping it up off the pallet took 2 men and then my wife to hold it vertical. It's very heavy.. The first thing this splitter split was my wife's lip during assembly.. Let us never speak of that afternoon again.
2. We had issues with the valve. Yardmax made it right with an overnight shipment. Great customer service!
3. We were... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Heavy, Needs a screw jack, bracket holding the hoses has wimpy rubber liners..
Shawn Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank A.
New Hope, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter Except...
I love the power and functionality of this splitter except after splitting about 5 cords of wood it started coughing out hydraulic oil out of the breather in the cap. Not sure why, but if I stop the wedge from returning all the way back it won't do it. It is a great value but I just hope I can figure out the problem.
Pros: Price, Features, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Durability
Frank Recommends This YardMax Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Frank,
Sorry to hear that you're having issues. Please contact YARDMAX customer support at (844) 927-3629 for troubleshooting information.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Frank,
Hi Frank,

Please give us a call - 847-327-0566 or email us at support@yardmax.com

We will get you taken care of!

Thanks,
TEAM YARDMAX
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dariusz T.
Bristol, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Money But Heavy
Log splitter comes well packed in wooden box. Online video on how to set it up is first class and really helped alot. This unit is a real back breaker at the part where you lift the beam from horizontal to vertical. Two strong man job, do not try to use wife. The unit itself is well built and after putting it together works like a charm. I got it mainly for the price to performance feature and the included 4 way splitter attachment. The inner wheels came with already installed bearing and... more
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Dariusz Recommends This YardMax Product
Dariusz's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast shipping, item arrived without any hiccups."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron A.
Theresa, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/7/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Delivery And Set Up
Ordered it and was shipped the same day. I watched the installation video on the internet a few times. Two of us had it assembled and operating in about 1 hour. Very easy to assemble with two guys.

It is heavy. It took several pulls to get the Briggs running. It ran rough for a short time. We split a couple very large logs. Worked great. Still does not want to idle on low. I will give it a few hours to break in.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use
Cons: No cons
Ron Recommends This YardMax Product
Ron's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered on line, Shipped the same day. Arrived a few days later. Couldn't get any better."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daryl D.
Oakdale, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Splits Anything I Can Feed It.
This thing is a beast heavy but splits anything you feed it. I'm over 200 pounds and need most of that weight to return it from vertical to horizontal But after you get it set up this thing is awesome.
Pros: Durable, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: No cons
Daryl Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Justin F
Patterson, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!! Well Recommended!!
I purchased mine not too long ago it came quick and fast definitely need two people to put together but besides that I love the machine and love what it does. It's easy to operate I was able to teach my girlfriend how do use it. I split about a Quarterwood and no time. I truly get excited when I know I'm about to use it LOL !
Pros: High Quality, Features, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Assembly, No cons, No cons
Justin Recommends This YardMax Product
Justin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was easy to purchase and I received it fast and efficiently. They called to set up a drop off time and where I wanted it to be and the gentleman put it exactly where I wanted it"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Teresa D
Dobbins, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
The only thing that was a problem was the setup for the splitter. It stated you need 2 people to do it. What I found was that it took three of us to do it safely. I figure 2 can do it as long as both are big and strong. Other than that it splits great and it will last a long time which makes it a great value for its price.

If you can afford it go by the old addage "Go big or go home". For homesteading, a big machine is the way to go.
Pros: Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Heavy
Teresa Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Todd R.
Columbia, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/17
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The One To Buy
One tough splitter! Deciding on the type of splitter you want is the hard part. The vertical/horizontal boom is a good compromise. If you are splitting in the horizontal mode you will use your back a lot, splitting in the vertical mode you will find yourself on your knees a lot. However, other types are very slow on the small stuff and very expensive or awkward. This is a great compromise for the do-it-yourselfer, with the full variety of wood sizes to split.

Now, if you decided this is... more
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: heavy is a pro and a con
Todd Recommends This YardMax Product
Todd's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience from Log Splitters Direct and the Trucking Company. It came very fast and packaged extremely well in a wood box, well done."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary W.
Port Orchard, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/12/17
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty
I just got it together and split a couple rounds but, wow does this thing work. Yes it's heavy but it will have heavy work to do so it needs to be. Very simple to assemble and the instructions were good.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Gary Recommends This YardMax Product
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Well worth the cost."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Rodney H.
Gooding, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/26/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressive Performance And Power For My Needs
This splitter performs exactly as described and arrived in excellent condition. Build quality is impressive for it's intended purpose. The lift gate delivery option from R&L Trucking proved to be a genuine benefit. Log Splitters Direct and R&L Trucking all provided prompt, professional responses to my inquiries. I am very pleased with this purchase and look forward to a long service life of the unit.
Pros: Durable, Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Rodney Recommends This YardMax Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Rodney,
Thanks for the kind review! If you have any questions regarding your unit, or any other power equipment, don't hesitate to give us a call. We are here to help folks just like you!
more
Rodney's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Courteous, prompt, and professional service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert B
Plymouth, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/16/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad I Went With 35-ton
Assembled by myself with the help of a hoist. Filled engine oil and gas. Engine started on 2nd Pull! Ran the first hour in horizontal position cutting medium sized knotty ash logs with the 4-way attachment. Ran the 2nd hour+ in vertical position cutting very large knotty ash logs with the single wedge. Some of these were over 2' in diameter These logs were from some very large Ash trees and had the worst knotty large branch points. Splitter slowed a couple of times cutting through the worst... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Price, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Heavy
Robert Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Jeff E.
West Bend, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/17
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Buildt To Last
A log splitter made to last. Can handle the big jobs and is easy to use. This splitter will be handed down to the next generation. Thanks!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Jeff Recommends This YardMax Product
Jeff's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Would buy again from Log Splitter Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Jerald H.
Georgetown, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
35-ton
Order my yard max 35 ton on a Saturday and got by Thursday, but putting it together wasn't fun, it was just me and the wife. Other than that, it's a really great deal. Started right up with no problems, and works very well.
Jerald Recommends This YardMax Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jerald,
Thank you for the great review.

Assembly is a project for the big boy you bought, we now have a video to help plan the project after seeing your review. It can be found on our YouTube channel - Yardmax Power Products. I am sure future owners thank you.

Please don't forget to register your warranty and we will drop a small gift in the mail to you as a thanks. http://www.yardmax.com/support/product-registration/

We hope your new YARDMAX brings you many years of reliable use. Please give us a call or drop us an email anytime with questions.

Best regards,
YARDMAX Support
support@yardmax.com
more
Was this review helpful?
132
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest YardMax YU3566 reviews.Compare our YardMax YU3566 ratings. Find the YardMax YU3566 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct