Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

YardMax YU3066 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
YardMax YU3066 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (17)
Easy To Use (14)
Price (11)
I'd Buy It Again (10)
Exceeded Expectations (9)
Cons
Heavy (10)
Durability (2)
Damn Heavy (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
No Cons (1)
95% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
21 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jerry F.
Lansing, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Beast!
Very impressed with the heavy strong construction, esp. In the welds! and frame! slices thru large hard woods like "a hot knife thru butter" easy to assemble basically 3 parts, but due to the great construction...heavy!!!! out of the create!!! at least 2 strong men.... I researched and checked out all local home improvement stores, and looked over all their brands with a fine tooth comb!!! yardmax much superior!!!!highly recommend esp. For the price!!!! by far!!!
View Image
View Image
View Image
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, POWERFUL!
Cons: Heavy
Jerry Recommends This YardMax Product
Jerry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"I SURE WOULD LIKE TO USE IT, BUT MY WIFE WON'T LET ME!! SHE JUST ELLS ME TO KEEP CUTTING THE LOGS! IT'S HER TOY! AND SHE LOVES IT! REALLY!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
84
Tom N.
Fallston, MD
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Power, Weight And Speed.
Is this log splitter better than the 22 ton 20 year old log splitter i replaced? Yes and no. For starters its much more powerful, as expected. Its cycle time is quicker, but not as quick as advertised. I recorded 13-14 seconds, not 11. It has a factory 4 way wedge, good. Initial out of the crate assembly of these parts was a 6 out 10 due to needing two strong people.

Now on to the concerns sectionÖ The Briggs engine doesnít start as easily as the Honda engine that was on the old splitter.... more
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy, Durability
Tom Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jared J.
Platte City, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Itís A Beast
Iíve told several people itís the best thing Iíve ever bought myself. Does everything as advertised. No more manual splitting. Getting the log to the splitter is the most work youíll do. Instructions for putting together are good, but three people would be easier than two when hooking up splitter to frame. To reduce accidents and damage, youíll want to use caution and extra hands when lifting and maneuvering splitter onto frame. Good value for what I paid.
View Image
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price
Cons: Heavy
Jared Recommends This YardMax Product
Jared's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problems."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tommy F.
Greenwell Springs, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2018
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yardmax 30-ton 306cc Horizontal / Vertical Gas Log Splitter
I like this wood splitter.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Tommy Recommends This YardMax Product
Tommy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was a good experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg F.
Jackson, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/2/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Assembly Will Be Some Work But It's Worth It
I assembled this unit myself with the aid of an engine hoist. I still could have used some help, and not from a 14 year old kid. It is real man heavy, so eat your Wheaties first. Everything is really heavy, which I equate with quality. No cheap crap on this machine. If you want a tool, this is it. If you want a toy, spend less and expect mediocre results.
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Greg Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Comer L
Sedro Woolley, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/14/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Decision I Have Ever Made About Equipment.
I just built my retirement home on 20 acres on a hill near the Skagit River, WA. I looked for about four months online, at stores, in the newspaper, etc. for a high quality log splitter. I finally turned to one of my friends, a friend and neighbor who runs logging crews, for advice on what i should look for in a machine. Everything he told me added up to the Yardmax. When I decided to buy one, another friend offered to help me assemble it. It took us about an hour an a half once we got it... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: NONE
Comer Recommends This YardMax Product
Comer's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I cannot believe how easy it was!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Ralph Ornes
Burleson, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/31/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Perfect, Great Machine.
My first use was splitting a fifty foot tall hard wood tree with a 34 inch trunk base.
The splitter did a great job splitting the large logs. I easily towed the splitter with my ATV. I only wish I had purchased one years ago. The splitter worked perfectly with no issues. Cycle time is faster than most splitters.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Ralph Recommends This YardMax Product
Ralph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The first log splitter arrived damaged due to the shipper stacking heavy object on top of the crate crushing the crate and damaging the motor. Replacement log splitter was shipped out very quickly and arrived in perfect condition.Great customer service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Stephen H.
Keene, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding Splitter
Outstanding splitter. Both vertical and horizontal operation. Performs flawlessly. Is heavy! 663 lbs. Requires minimum of two stout folks to put it together, recommend three. Went through aged 36Ē diameter oak without a hitch. Quad blade is nice for smaller logs, not as useful on larger logs.

Best machine out there.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: Heavy
Stephen Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve G
Tukwila, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/17
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
This is something I've need for a long time. It works awesome, I could not be happier. Thank you!
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Durability, Awesome
Steve Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Stephen M.
Alexandria, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product.
Strong machine. Have split 10-12 ricks of red oak, white oak, pecan and even sycamore. Pieces as big as 24 " in diameter with big knots. Not a one it could not split down the middle. If you can get it on the splitter it will split it. How long it will last is to be seen.
Pros: High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Features
Stephen Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kirk S.
Shaver Lake, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Single Penny
From delivery, to set up, to use, this splitter does not disappoint. This splitter is a heavy hitters. Once assembled I went straight to splitting logs I already had piled up.

I went right to the biggest diameter logs I could find. This splitter went through them with absolutely zero resistance. I'm more than happy with this machine.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Price
Kirk Recommends This YardMax Product
Kirk's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Absolutely no problems. Perfect."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
William L.
West Sayville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/28/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yardmax 30 Ton Splitter
I have just finished splitting 3 cords of beechwood and it handled the largest 36'' diameter pieces with ease. I'm impressed with the quality and power. I got a trailer dolly to move it around by myself- was slightly tongue heavy.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Price, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
William Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael M.
Liberty, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Log Splitter Works Well & I Have Split 2 Cords Of Wood
When the crate is delivered make sure you allow 8 feet of open area all around it because you need working area to maneuver around the main beam with the hydraulic cylinder. You won't be moving the crate once it is put down because of how much it weighs. This is definitely two-man job to assemble. I used a front-end loader with a chain and a second person and it was still somewhat of a task to manage. I've split 2 cords of wood so far and have some advice for first time users. Do not use... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Michael Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Raymond D.
Cadiz, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like It
Very well made compared to others that I looked at.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Price, Durable
Cons: Needs Adjustable Jack Stand
Raymond Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Clayton S.
Lexington, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Strong Wood Splitter
I got this for my father in law who has hand split wood for 50 years. Package was delivered in a nice wood crate with a pallet bottom. Follow instruction on how to use the bottom pallet for assisting in assembly. NOTE: You need two people to do this assembly. The cylinder is HEAVY and requires some manhandling to maintain position as not to stress hydraulic hoses.Assembly was straight forward (we watched the video) and followed instructions. Complete assembly took about 1 1/2 hours. Added... more
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Durable
Cons: Heavy
Clayton Recommends This YardMax Product
Clayton's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'm giving Log Splitter Direct a 5 star shipping rating as they handled the direct shipping fine. I have a problems with the trucking company (R & L). They missed two occasions when promised delivery. Third try was delivered with the proper drop gate truck with a professional and courteous driver."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron P.
Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Shipping/ Killer Machine
Received my Yardmax when promised. The crate which it was delivered in was impressively strong with components securely in place. Simple and clear assembly and instructions. Although It would have been nice to have a third person to assist with assembly but we managed with two old guys. This is an awesome splitter and I would recommend it to anyone that is in the market for a new one. Mean Machine!
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Price
Cons: None
Ron Recommends This YardMax Product
Ron's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This is truly a company that wants to earn your business. Every step from selection to delivery was top notch. I would highly recommend Log Splitters Direct for any of their product line!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert T.
Anaheim, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
30 Ton Yardmax Is A Beast!
My new 30 Ton YardMax log splitter is a Beast! It is very heavy duty and built like a truck! It just laughs at most every log I put in front of it! It makes the job of splitting wood fun! There's something about the sound of wood splitting with all that power that's intoxicating and it does most of it at just above idle speed! My friends and I have a blast saying "Wow! Do another one!"
Pros: High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Excellent Packaging
Cons: No Cons
Robert Recommends This YardMax Product
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I bought on Black Friday and got a smokin' deal! Thanks Log Splitters Direct!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael M.
Bryan, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
Not gonna lie. Assembly is a hard and heavy task, but the instructions were very thorough and easy to understand. I had it together in a couple hours mainly because I didn't have any help and set up to hold the ram rod part steady while assembling it. Added the engine oil and gasoline and it kick right over on the second pull. The quality of the construction is heavy duty. I split about a half cord of 20" diameter recently cut green post oak on my first adventure and had no problems. The... more
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Durable, Price
Cons: Heavy, Damn Heavy
Michael Recommends This YardMax Product
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I cannot imagine it being any easier to buy from Log Splitters Direct. I was done in no time"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Salvino C.
Gainesville, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/20/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Did A Very Good Investment Buying This Machine, Similar Others
This machine is a pleasure to work with.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No cons with me
Salvino Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David H.
Chagrin Falls, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Beast!
Really happy so far. Have split for 2 days and no problems. I like the fact that it has a auto reverse where you don't have to hold the handle. I really like the round disc w the small wedges that holds log in place while splitting and adjusts to grain of log.

The only negative was the 4 way wedge is on smaller logs they can get wedged sometimes under it. Putting it together out of crate does require 2 people as per instructions.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
David Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Harry B.
Kirtland, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/8/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well Both Ways
So far it works well. Still trying to figure out why engine has two dipsticks. We would have saved two days on assembly if we knew instructions and manual were attached to machine. We hope the pin that holds it horizontal will break in over time.

Kind of hard to get it to release right now. Overall, it does what it needs to do split wood. We shall see when we get to some of the little larger wood like 14 to 16 diameter stuff.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
Harry Recommends This YardMax Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Harry,
Harry

Thanks for taking the time to review your log splitter, assembly can be difficult when the manual is not found or used. We have mounted the manual tube to the unit so it is always with the product. We have also added this question to the FAQ section on the YARDMAX site, here is the link: http://www.yardmax.com/support/faqs/
In our product testing we have not run into the pin breaking or failing. If you have any other questions you can simply give us a call at 847-327-0566 or email us at support@yardmax.com.

We hope your new Log Splitter brings you many years of use.

Best regards,
YARDMAX Customer Support
support@yardmax.com
more
Harry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Got some great deals and are happy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
82
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest YardMax YU3066 reviews.Compare our YardMax YU3066 ratings. Find the YardMax YU3066 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct