Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

YardMax YU2866 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$1,099.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Freight$1,099.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,149.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,149.99
(as of 11:37 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
YardMax YU2866 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Price (41)
High Quality (36)
I'd Buy It Again (31)
Durable (22)
Exceeded Expectations (19)
Cons
Heavy (10)
None (7)
Bad Instructions (2)
Packaging (1)
Very Noisy! (1)
98% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
51 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Tim
Kingston, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/16
Total Helpful Votes
32 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yardmax 28t - Look Into These Guys!
Ok so its gonna be a long review but hang in there...I think it may help you make a decision on your purchase.
I research everything I buy. I want to get the best for my money just as I think everyone does. I originally was going to go to my local big chain store and buy a certain wood splitter I had my eye on cause it was going on sale for $950 bucks. And I'm glad I didn't! I came across this on Power Equipment Direct ... Started looking into their company and products and made two phone... more
View Image
Tim Recommends This YardMax Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tim,
Thank you for the great review, you are right it is worth the read!

I was who you spoke to and I am very happy to hear that your YARDMAX is exceeding your expectation.

We have the same expectations of ourselves as you do and it is great to hear you are happy with your investment.

Please don't forget to register your warranty and we will drop a small gift in the mail to you as a thanks. http://www.yardmax.com/support/product-registration/

We hope your new YARDMAX brings you many years of reliable use. Please give us a call or drop us an email anytime with questions.

Best regards,
YARDMAX Support
support@yardmax.com
844-YARDMAX
more
Was this review helpful?
325
Randolph C.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/22/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
First Time Use
This is way too heavy for me to set up by myself. I am a 74 yr old with plenty of energy and strength for my age but I had trouble picking it up with my fork lift on my tractor. I am waiting for one of my son-in-laws to come help set it up for use.

Product is all I can ask for and I will use the heck out of it once it is set up. I will come back to update as soon as I get it up and working.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Randolph Recommends This YardMax Product
Randolph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Let you know when or if I have to use them for trouble shooting."
 more
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Randolph,
Please feel free to give the folks at Yardmax a call at 847-327-0566 for any advice or troubleshooting you may need.
Was this review helpful?
01
Gary W.
Glasgow, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/6/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built And Powerful
I have used this splitter several times since buying it. It starts easily and has no trouble slicing through tough hickory. It seems to be well built and should last a long time. I managed to assemble it by myself, using a hoist and chains, though it is so heavy you really need to have someone help you.
View Image
View Image
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Gary Recommends This YardMax Product
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Certainly no complaints. They shipped it free and it was fast. It even had oil in it so it was ready to go once I assembled it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
53
Mark M.
Gallitzin, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Charm
Super fast delivery. Took less than 30 mins for three of us to put together. Started on first pull.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Features
Cons: MOTOR OIL WAS WAY LOW
Mark Recommends This YardMax Product
Mark's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William J.
Pendleton, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Built like a tank. Easy to install with two people. Installs right out of the crate. Comes with hydraulic fluid, but no motor oil. Tires were also full of air. The crate shipping package is a little over 600 lbs. It has between 80 to 100 lbs tongue weight. One bad thing is it is very noisy, but for good reason, because the piston must move back and forth causing components to rattle against each other, I wear ear plugs.
Pros: Price, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use
William Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary M.
Woodburn, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/14/17
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow
If I needed another one I would reorder. The design is well thought out and it is well put together. I have not found anything that it could not handle. While they do not offer a cover I found that the Champion Large cover works great. This is my pride and joy and I love watching my boys run it for me. :-)
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: NONE
Gary Recommends This YardMax Product
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"They did what they said! Today that means something."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg V.
Lapeer, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/16
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Beast
My headline says it all. Like the other review, delivery was less than a week, the shipping crate was good, the directions were easy (took a couple hours to put it together). So far, it has split everything I have put on it. The only issues I had were:

There was an extra washer on the wheel bearing that I didn't see, so when I put the one on that I was supposed to and tightened the nut, I couldn't get the pin in. I took it off and noticed the other washer under the grease, so I took the... more
Greg Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Dennis A.
Coalinga, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/3/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far This Seems Like A Great Deal.
I am in California, and this splitter was delivered to me in about a week. I unloaded it with my tractor which saved $50. I put it together by myself in about an hour an took it right out and split about a cord of wood. It seems to have plenty of power. I was splitting really gnarly old oak logs that I had laying around because my old splitter wouldn't handle them.

It came with a removable 4 way wedge which you should remove when splitting this kind of wood. I really like the turn table on... more
Dennis Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Jerry L.
Hernando, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/3/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
Easy to assemble. I would agree with instructions of two people. I did mine myself with the help of a front loader and cherry picker to align ram unit to running gear. Easy to do.

On first run split 26 in blocks of dry white oak with ease.
Pros: Durable, Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Jerry Recommends This YardMax Product
Jerry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great working with Log Spitters Direct. Fast service and response time. Shipper not so good. They beat up the crate really good. looked like it was pushed around with the back of the forklift a few times. and stabbed with the forks once. With all the damage to crate was expecting lots of damage to the splitter. But there wasn't even a scratch on it. it was crated really good."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
James B.
Tallahassee, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/30/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Decent Splitter For Your Money.
Great running machine. Make sure you tighten the factory installed items...failure to do so CAN cause major injury. I had some bolts come loose on the slide and they snapped.

I was lucky that me and my son were not injured. Why they do not use nylon nuts, lock washers, OR thread lock is crazy. Other than that, I'm very pleased.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Loose nuts
James Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Crystal T.
Minneapolis, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Efficient And Has Plenty Of Power
This is an excellent log splitter that was easy enough for two people to assemble. The videos available were very helpful. The 28 ton has enough power to split the wood we have, which is mostly hardwood, easily and effectively.

The one thing I would like to see in the future is a metal plate on a frame and engine cover or protector. I think this add-on would make the Yard Max unparalleled in its class! We love the splitter!
Pros: Price, High Quality, Durable, Easy To Use
Crystal Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Michael O.
Amissville, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Log Splitter
The crate the splitter came in was impressive and protected the splitter. The directions were simple and well thought out which made assembly a breeze. I did assemble it with out any help which I do not recommend anyone else try. You have to stand the main beam up which is extremely heavy and one you do that you have to attach the base to it. If you bump the beam while it's in the vertical and it falls you could be in big trouble. This is the big reason you need help.

Other then that nerve... more
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Michael Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Marc C.
Burlington, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/6/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well. Surprised By The Power To Split Wood With Knots
After assembly, which took some manpower, the splitter looks and performs great. Was a little hard to get the motor started the first time, but has started much better after using it. Splits green and seasoned wood easily. The 4-way splitting attachment doesn't work as well as I expected.

The primary wedge has no problem, but separates the log to wide for the horizontal portion of the 4-way to get a good bite on the log. Will fabricate a shield that sits over the motor, so split pieces... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Marc Recommends This YardMax Product
Marc's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy purchase. Shipped on pallet, need some muscle to assemble. Fast and free shipping was a plus."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Christopher G.
Yulee, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/28/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Definitly An Investment
4 Notes: But definitely worth it.

1. When ordering, even if you spend the 50 dollars in shipment fee for a lift, expect a semi. Luckily I had a tractor with a front end loader to get the crate down my road. The semi driver who was awesome in helping me, said you have to ask for a panel truck when they call to set your delivery date.

2. It takes two people to lift the ram up vertical and configure the parts so you can bolt it together. I do have to say the instructions from crate to... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: small hand lever
Christopher Recommends This YardMax Product
Christopher's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Like anything online, it was too easy clicking. But I got what I wanted and it was delivered without damage. Competitors could not beat the price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Karl A.
Stephens City, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/15/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty - Good Value
Bad news in this struggles with the 4-way splitter. Good news, I don't need this feature. The logs it puts out are very small and are no real use for my outdoor wood furnace. Would've preferred the log table over that which it doesn't come with. I ordered it on Amazon for $50 extra dollars. It's nice because it also protects the engine.

It's Chinese, which I knew when purchasing. If I had more cash floating around, I might've looked at something else. But this thing is $400 less than... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Cons: Doesnt come with the log table/engine protector
Karl Recommends This YardMax Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Karl,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your YARDMAX 28-ton log splitter. This unit is a beefy and tough machine that can tackle all your log splitting needs. The 4-way wedge is standard with our product and on dry wood preforms very well. I have used this unit myself for 8 hours straight and hearing the wood make the pop noise is something I look forward to every time use the splitter. The work table is a great accessory and Im glad you like it. We at YARDMAX strive to bring the best quality of our products at a reasonable price. We make sure that the quality of our product meets our standards. We are always interested in listening to our customer voice to help make our products better.
Please don't forget to register your warranty, here is the link: http://www.yardmax.com/support/product-registration/

We hope your new YARDMAX brings you many years of reliable use. Please give us a call or drop us an email anytime with questions.

Best regards,
YARDMAX Support
support@yardmax.com
more
Karl's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great transaction."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Manuel C.
Orland, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/14/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Only Way To Split Wood
very easy to put together, and user friendly.
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Manuel Recommends This YardMax Product
Manuel's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Did help with all my questions, was very patient."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Mark Wood
Gardendale, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/13/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Work Horse
What a hawse!!! This machine will split your toughest task, we easily split 36" oak logs of course in the standing position. I have been nothing but impressed. Get you some help putting it together because it is heavy and super well built.

The spinning foot is the ticket for wood that has multiple grains that run together. If I had any improvements I would make, it would be a guard over the top of the engine. Mine will have one on it in very short order.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Needs engine protector
Mark Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
40
John W.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/19/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Its A Mean Machine Alot Of Power Nice To Get The Extra Options
Love the way its set up easy spliting by yourself and what it came with
Pros: High Quality, Price, Features, Quiet
Cons: Heavy
John Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Shawn G.
Lake Ariel, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/29/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Splitter
Assembly was a little challenging by myself, but with 2 people as it recommends it's very simple.

Machine operates as it should - I've split twigs, I've split pieces I could barely lift up on to the splitter. Either way the thing splits no matter what. 4 way head makes the machine very efficient every pass.

I am a real person, and I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Price, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Shawn Recommends This YardMax Product
Shawn's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was expecting to wait a week to get the splitter if not a week and a half. The thing showed up in like 3 days. I was very happy about that. Had it together that night, splitting the next day. Can't complain. I did put down a con being the thing is heavy - of course it's heavy, its a 28 ton splitter."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Donald S.
Millville, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/18/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
13
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Customer.
Very nice Log Splitter! Looked at many 28-Ton splitters locally and none compared to the quality and price of this splitter.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Donald Recommends This YardMax Product
Donald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Log Splitters Direct was easy to deal with. Website worked well, shipping was fast and Splitter was well packed in heavy duty crate with no damage what so ever."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Mike
Katonah, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/25/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value And Power. Buy Extra Spark Plugs.
This is my first log splitter and I'm impressed. I am using it every few days splitting a large pile of collected logs. Size of logs range from 5"inch to over 24" inch some with heavy knots. It powers through them all pretty easy. The only problem I had after building this heavy machine by myself was that the spark plug head cracked off during the first hour of use.

Be careful when logs fall off cradle so they don't hit the top of the motor. I purchased a few extra plugs at the... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Mike Recommends This YardMax Product
Mike's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivery was quick and on time. Customer service rep was helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
James B.
Folsom, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/24/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Beastly
Very well built machine! Strong welds and thick steel ensures confidence. This thing is beefy. 2 people are absolutely needed for assembly as the beam is very heavy! No regrets!
Pros: High Quality, Price, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
James Recommends This YardMax Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast and easy! Thank you very much!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Mike
Katonah, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/25/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Price For 28 Ton Splitter
This is a great machine. Splits logs easily and well crafted.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast
Mike Recommends This YardMax Product
Mike's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Order was processed quickly and delivery came before I expected. Great business."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Tommy T.
Dillon, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/4/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Awesome!!!!!! Splitter Ever
very well built splitter surprised at what it can split . looked at others but could not compare to this 28 ton boheamouth .more features than all the rest out there. never fails to start/ never fails to split.very good paint job too. This unit is heavy!!!! it takes three people to assemble .so be careful.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet
Cons: Heavy
Tommy Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Anthony Kraus
Lees Summit, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Splitter I've Owned But Very Impressed
Everything is great thus far, went together very easy with a little muscle, have not found anything yet it can't handle. My only modification may be to put a little protection over the engine that I can pop on and off to start machine.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: engine guard needed
Anthony Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Alexander Naismith
Little River, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/6/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Quality Product
Easy to assemble and usage is excellent...great product
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Alexander Recommends This YardMax Product
Alexander's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to purchase online...great service and deliver experience"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Bryan S.
Cooperstown, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/17/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Splitter
Very impressed with quality, power, price, and shipping in two days to my door. Never heard of this brand, but very happy so far. Seems really good quality.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Bryan Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Tom F.
Hilton, NY
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Monster Splitter
First, The packaging of this machine even drew compliments from the truck driver that delivered my splitter. You just don't see this kind of company pride anymore. Second, I opened the package and was immediately blown away with the machine inside. I expected a splitter but this machine far exceeds anything I could have imagined! I have no idea how you can sell this much machine for this low of a price! Third, The vertical way of splitting is pure genius!! I had a massive Maple come down and... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Not one
Tom Recommends This YardMax Product
Tom's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Unbelieveable service!! What a great company!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Augie H.
Kamiah, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/26/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is Just What I Ordered
Now this wood splitter is a very impressive machine and it is a dandy!
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, my old wood splitter has more time to cook
Cons: its only fun to run when some body els moving the wood
Augie Recommends This YardMax Product
Augie's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"They always deliver good stuff"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael E.
Arroyo Grande, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/27/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Splitter!
The only thing that concerns me is hitting the motor. It really needs a shield of some sort. So, I agree with some of the other reviews about the subject.

My skepticism was relieved because this is an awesome splitter at a great price and delivered on top of that for the price.
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Michael Recommends This YardMax Product
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Bittersweet! The splitter works great! Bummed it didn't come with an operator!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve H
Raleigh, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/24/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Impressed With Quality!
It does take two people to put this together when arrive...Quality would rate it a 10 out of 10. The welds in putting it together are flawless. System does perform and seemed there was a lot of value added in accessories which others want to charge you, like the quarter attachment splitter.

I opted to put synthetic detergent oil in the Briggs and Stratton engine. The hydraulic was in the lower part of filled so I picked up a gallon of specified fluid to bring it near max. Tomorrow will... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: Heavy
Steve Recommends This YardMax Product
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great people and will answer all your questions when you call them, also if they do not know the answer to your question, they will find the answer by asking those who know within the company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Asbjorn M.
Bellingham, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/5/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yardmax 28-ton Splitter
I wish I would have bought the 35 ton unit. This unit has not yet found a round it could not split. Sometimes the engine really bogs down, but it eventually splits the round. The larger engine wound be nice. The only con so far is that there is a loud rattle when it is not splitting, which I can't find, it is driving me crazy. When it is under a load, then there is no rattle sound. I cannot find any loose bolts, but it sure is a noisy rattle, any ideas?
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Very Noisy!
Asbjorn Recommends This YardMax Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Asbjorn,
For troubleshooting that rattle, I'd suggest contacting YARDMAX at 847-327-0566.
more
Asbjorn's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The product was well packaged and easy to put together. Needed my grandson to help me put it together due to the weight of the ram. Other than that, the splitter seems to work fine, have split 3 cords so far."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas I.
Phoenix, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/10/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Splitter, Once You Get It Assembled
Assembly is iffy, needs 2 people even when heavy lifting is done with a tractor loader and appropriate slings, etc due to the 2 halves being attached by the hydraulic hoses. If they had quick disconnects on the pressure and return lines then assembly would be a snap. Added the oil to the engine, gas, and it started right away. It hardly seems to feel a smaller log, grunts a little on the really big stuff as would be expected.

I didn't know if the hydraulic system was flooded or not. ... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Extremely rugged
Cons: Heavy
Thomas Recommends This YardMax Product
Thomas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent! L.S.D. is very easy to order from. Everything was as described. Excellent shipping instructions (lift gate service) is a life saver. We had a slight hiccup when we were unable to be here on the preferred date (Friday) to meet ABF, so had to wait for Monday. The delivery was several hours late due to Severe thunderstorms, and one of the earlier day deliveries was refused by the customer, so the driver had to unload and then reload that refusal on each subsequent stop. No fault of the delivery service. I think any old delivery driver will verify that!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chuck D.
Parker, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far Ok
The assembly instructions are useless and confusing.
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Chuck Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom O
Bigfork, MT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love It!!!!
This was an interesting experience. The splitter was delivered a week before it was scheduled - great! It was well packaged and required a lift gate on the delivery truck. The driver even helped bring it into my yard with his pallet jack - great because this thing is HEAVY. I opened the crate and looked for assembly etc. instructions but to no avail. I got the owners manual printed off the internet site. As i later found out the manual was in a black cylinder in the crate.

This cylinder... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Tom Recommends This YardMax Product
Tom's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My only issue was that when ordering there was a remote location delivery fee of $50 which was not evident until checkout. With the extra for the lift gate delivery and the above, $100 was added to the price. It was still worth every penny an excellent buy, I researched log splitters for about a month before the buy decision."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Christopher K.
Goodrich, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy With The Yardmax 28-ton Log Splitter
The crate was heavy and a little work to get the heavy pieces in position for assembly, but that is what I would expect with a heavy duty piece of equipment like this. The assembly went very well, as the tight tolerances and this well engineered product allowed this log splitter to go together perfectly with no issues.

The log splitter started easily on the second pull and splits wood amazingly well and makes the firewood an easy and enjoyable job. The ergonomics are well thought out and... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: None
Christopher Recommends This YardMax Product
Christopher's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The people at Log Splitters Direct were easy to work with and offered good advice and input. It was also very nice to talk to local people who know the product and the language."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry W.
Springfield, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
My Yardmax 28 ton log splitter model YU2866 was easy to order online from Log Splitters Direct. The splitter arrived at my house in four days. When I opened the crate I found everything secure and well protected with packing material and all parts needed for assembly in the crate.

The instructions were easy to read and understand. I also watched the Yardmax assemble youtube online several times before it arrived, which was a big help. Assembly went well. I was impressed how heavy the steel... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Larry Recommends This YardMax Product
Larry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering from Log Splitters Direct was easy and a pleasant experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Glen D
White Plains, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Log Splitter!!
I am shopper who looks into every detail when purchasing equipment, from ratings, reviews and price. I spent sometime shopping for the right log splitter and this is it. Price was the best, the way it was delivered in the box and the installation guide was very easy. It recommends 2 people to put it together which would definitely help, but being the person i am at 50 yrs old and 5'11" 190 lbs, i did it alone. It took an hour or two but i did it. The construction of it is made very well... more
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Glen Recommends This YardMax Product
Glen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"So glad I found this site, found everything I was looking for to purchase my equipment. Thank you"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Todd B
Camano Island, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/15/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Log Splitter
I cut a lot of huge gnarly rounds of fir and hemlock with large twisted branches throughout and this log splitter gets the job done. I on purpose cut up the worst of my logs to put it to the test. 35 inch plus rounds. I'm happy with the results. Glad I went with the 28 ton. And it's faster than I expected it to be. Now I don't have to borrow my friends.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, All of the above for me.
Cons: None
Todd Recommends This YardMax Product
Todd's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My saleswoman Jennifer was fantastic. Her attitude was great and she got back to me each time and answered all of my questions promptly. She is fantastic."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen M
Mahopac, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Choice
For the price, this is the product a homeowner wants if only taking down a few trees a year for firewood splitting. I had no problems splitting logs 26 inches long and almost two feet in diameter. The four way wedge is difficult to take on and off because the clearance between hardware is tight. Sorry, but ORANGE isn't my color. If you are going to be a casual user, I doubt you can find a brand new splitter that works better for this price.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use
Stephen Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Vince M
Thief River Falls, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/16/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Will Not Find A Better Built Log Splitter For The Price
Excellent splitting power, even down to an idle. Split birch and oak like a 35 ton.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy hitch weight for a 60 year old., I would like a crank up jack for it., Other than that nothing.
Vince Recommends This YardMax Product
Vince's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent, l will buy from them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Henry H
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/5/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Tool To Get The Job Done!!
From the first day I used it, this log splitter has gotten the job done. It really surprised me on how much power it had to split really big logs. I'm glad I bought it.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Henry Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Fredrick M
Gainesville, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Worth The Money!
Best money and the best product I could have bought. It was better priced and better quality than the ones I found at the large retailers. I have cut oak, maple, pine and even a pecan tree, and they never slowed it down. It's money well spent. I added a boat trailer jack with a wheel to mine just to make it easier to move around to hook up to my truck.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Fredrick Recommends This YardMax Product
Fredrick's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good experience, all the way around. Tech line are very helpful as well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
James H
Rincon, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
It's very good, almost too heavy duty but better to be that than light duty. I've been waiting for a splitter since the late 70's. I'm having a blast using it.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
James Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Clint S.
Latrobe, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/25/17
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Penny!
This splitter is a beast. The Briggs and Stratton motor starts on the first pull every time. I've split maple, cherry and walnut so far and it doesn't even grunt. Very well built. Assembly was simple. Highly recommend watching the assembly video on YouTube to make it WAY easier. If you're looking for a great splitter, get this one.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Durable, Reliable
Cons: None
Clint Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Harriette J.
Fort Pierce, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/21/17
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Adequate Piece Of Equipment
So far so good. I find it very user friendly. Still new!
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Easy To Use
Harriette Recommends This YardMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian P.
Newfolden, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/17
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Seems To Be A Great Value!
I received the splitter and set it up that night. In the instructions it states there should be two people to set it up. They were right. By following the instructions it set up in less than 1/2 hour from uncrate to ready to run. I am using it to split white oak. I did receive a load of real trees. This stuff is just over 18" in diameter and solid. With the signal wedge it does power through. It will not push the 4 way splitter head through that large wood, which is understandable. With... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: the round log holder on the foot rattles
Brian Recommends This YardMax Product
Brian's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Buying from Log Splitters Direct was great to buy from!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John P.
Arcata, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/25/17
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Camper
I called a couple of times with questions, all were answered professionally even though they might have been dumb questions. I researched locally for replacement parts (if needed in a hurry) which added to my commitment to purchasing.The splitter does come with a great warranty which one of my questions was who can repair should something happen in my area. I live over 2,000 miles from Illinois. Fast, four-day delivery to the west coast and a courteous driver. Instructions were right on.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Easy To Use
Cons: Needs an adjustable trailer tongue jack vs. foot pad
John Recommends This YardMax Product
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I added engine oil & it fired up on the second pull and have used this for three weeks and has not developed any negative issues even running some pretty knotty rounds thru it. The 4-way wedge is basically good for someone that has a small stove, insert or needs to make kindling."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim O.
Magalia, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/17
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Extremely Heavy Duty
Very nice machine overall. But you will most likely need help to mount to a hitch. The tongue weight is very heavy. The beam is very hard to lift. You need a tongue jack with wheels. The machine is very powerful and fast and has awesome welds.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Durable, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Tim Does Not Recommend This Product
Tim's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Ordering and shipping were a breeze, very fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin G.
Tremonton, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/1/17
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Splitting Wood Has Never Been Better!!
I try to research my bigger purchases so I don't get a dud and to get the most for my dollar. I have always been a wedge and sledge hammer guy. That being said, I did something I swore I would never do, buy a wood splitter!! I called Customer Service at LogSplittersDirect.com to get a professional opinion, spoke with a woman about different splitters, she told me that the Yardmax was the best for my money. I went on faith and asked her to send one, WOW!! I am sooooo thankful!! This is no... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Kevin Recommends This YardMax Product
Kevin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Customer service was great, they didn't just want my money, they wanted me to get the best splitter to do the jobs ahead. They also gave me honest opinions on various machines. I could not be more pleased, I was so pleased that I gave them my lawnmower purchase as well, which was a home run as well!! THANKS AGAIN!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John P.
Arcata, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/25/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
An Absolute Animal
Fast, four-day delivery to the west coast, and a courteous driver. Instructions were right on. I added engine oil & it fired up on the second pull. I grafted a cherry picker ram to help me,.. I physically can not lift the splitter in to the vertical position with out help....so I came up with an idea and it works awesome.
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
John Recommends This YardMax Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
John,
Thank you for your kind review, I am very pleased to hear that your splitter is performing up to your expectations. Please be careful when operating the unit in any way that is not outlined in the manual, any modifications or improper usage may void the warranty. Safety is always the first priority.

Again, thank you for your business and we look forward to dealing with you again in the future!
more
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I called a couple of times with questions, all were answered professionally even though they might have been dumb questions."
 more
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
John,
We are always happy to help folks like yourself when it comes to any questions that come up with power equipment. Feel free to give us another call if any more questions arise.
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest YardMax YU2866 reviews.Compare our YardMax YU2866 ratings. Find the YardMax YU2866 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct