Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Westinghouse WGEN7500DF Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Westinghouse WGEN7500DF Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (7)
Price (5)
Features (4)
Durable (3)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Cons
No wrench to put wheels ... (1)
Should be able to be sta... (1)
Needs options for starti... (1)
Trickle charger (1)
Heavy (1)
90% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
11 Reviews  Sort by 
 
manufacturers review image

Westinghouse Outdoor Power Equipment
From The Manufacturer
Wgen7500df - Dual Fuel
Thanks for all of the comments everyone. Weíre happy that people are taking advantage of all the features we provided, especially the remote and push-button start.

We developed this unit for people that needed a hefty amount of power, but also wanted options when it came to fuel sources. Propane is easier to store and lasts a bit longer, so itís good to see people taking advantage of that.

This unit can provide you with peace of mind during heavy storms when your power could go out. Even... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul M.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/1/17
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Easy To Operate And Ultra Mobile!!!
I purchased the Westinghouse generator to backup power at our residence for emergencies. I chose this generator due to its mobility and ease of starting in case my wife needed to move outside and operate. The electric start feature works superbly so far. Itís easy to roll around with the long collapsing hand and oversized wheels. It is very quiet while operating. The value really swayed my decision. So far I am pleased with my decision.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Paul Recommends This Westinghouse Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paul,
Thank you for your thoughtful review of the WGen7500DF! We are happy to hear the electric start is a feature that will add convenience for you. We are really proud to offer this model because of its features and easy of use.
more

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Paul's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Exceeded my expectations."
 more
Was this review helpful?
131
Brian N.
Gulf Shores, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/18
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2018
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Unreliable
I did extensive research before buying this product and waited several months for it to become available. ( Backordered after the hurricanes last year) After looking at all the positive reviews it appears I may have received a lemon. After delivery it started right up on propane. It was louder than I expected. When the power company arrived to hook up our transfer switch it wouldn't start on propane. Switched to gas. Started up but shut down while doing the load test. Clean fuel and I followed... more
Cons: Unreliable
Brian Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Brian,
Very sorry you're having issues with your generator. You might want to check the charge on the battery to see if that is the issue. This unit has an electric choke and may not work correctly with a discharged battery.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brian,
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. We take pride in our generators as well as our service department, and it is disappointing to hear this story. Thank you for making us aware of this situation. Your comments will be passed along to our Engineering and Customer Service Teams.
more
Brian's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping and great pricing however my particular unit is not working properly and needs to be serviced."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mary S.
Barker, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/18
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2018
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Westinghouse Generator
Finally got to use it, did what it was supposed to do.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging, hard to get out of box without destroying box
Mary Recommends This Westinghouse Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mary,
Thank you for the rating!
more
Mary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A pleasure."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Conor S.
Damariscotta, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/28/17
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2018
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Iím Very Impressed
I decided to pony up for a larger generator and I havenít regretted it. We have lost power twice and I've been so happy about the generator. If you know a potential storm is coming. Just get your generator prepared. When the power goes out just hit the remote from inside and flip your switches. I do wish this had wireless connectivity like some of the briggs and Stratton. Iíd love to know the fuel level remotely. Overall very satisfied with the purchase.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Conor Recommends This Westinghouse Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Conor,
Thanks for your positive review of the WGen7500DF. We are happy to hear that the remote start is a feature you will take advantage of. Also, thank you for the suggestion of the wireless connectivity- we are working on a solution such as this currently and hope to announce more details soon.
more
Conor's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Thanks. Very easy to deal with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
100
Floyd P
Hastings, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/15/18
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
07
2018
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Quite And Dual Fuel
Very nice features, love the remote start and dual fuel, well packaged and easy to assemble. Started within 2 seconds with propane and operated very smooth. Much quieter than expected. Would prefer a float battery charger instead of trickle so I could leave it plugged in and charging. I considered several generators before I selected the Westinghouse because of features, dual fuel and reviews of how quite it is.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Features, Includes battery
Cons: Heavy, Trickle charger
Floyd Recommends This Westinghouse Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Floyd,
Hi, Floyd. Thanks for your kind words about the WGen7500DF and it's features.
more

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Floyd's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy buying from Electric Generators Direct. Very friendly and professional shipping company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
Jamie B.
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/6/18
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2018
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Great!
I'm a 5'2" woman and I had no problem unboxing and setting up the generator. It is very easy to move around. I tested it with propane and it started with the first push of a button. I have not tested it with gasoline yet. I'll just continue with the propane until I have to use it for an outage. I feel like I got a great deal!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight
Jamie Recommends This Westinghouse Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jamie,
Thanks for your glowing review of the WGen7500DF, we are happy to hear that you like it.
more

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Jamie's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I've already recommended this company to a friend who is in the market for a generator."
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
Doc R.
Cresco, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/18
REVIEWED
MAR.
15
2018
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The One!
My opinion - This is best in class for features, value and it appears well built. The dual fuel options makes it that much more versatile.
Pros: Price, Features, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: No wrench to put wheels on. Only one I can think of!
Doc Recommends This Westinghouse Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Doc,
We agree, you can't beat the value in this size unit anywhere, and the features like remote start and dual fuel make it easy to use.
more
Doc's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quite satisfactory experience both with PED and their shipping company R&L trucking. Just remember this is a heavy unit and will probably arrive via 18 wheeler with power tailgate which means curbside delivery not your garage. Be prepared to move it with a hand truck or a couple of "strengthee" friends or neighbors."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Jeffrey G.
Wallace, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/17
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Made Generator, Love The Remote Control
Well Built, Easy To Use, Quiet.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality
Jeffrey Recommends This Westinghouse Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jeffrey,
Thank you for the review! The WGen7500DF key fob is very handy and an extremely popular feature.
more

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Jeffrey's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great Buying Experience, Awesome Customer Service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
72
Michael M.
Blackstone, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/3/18
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2018
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Setup
This is 2nd one had to give first one to my father in law.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Price, Reliable
Michael Recommends This Westinghouse Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thanks for your positive review of the WGen7500DF. We are very glad to hear you like it enough to get a second one for a family member.
more
Was this review helpful?
62
Manfred J.
Valhalla, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/18
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2018
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Engine Will Not Start W/ Manual Pull Starter If Battery Is Dead
Since the remote control generators manufactured by Westinghouse, and also Honda use an automatic choke ( operating only electrically) to control the fuel/air mixture, they will not start manually, especially in cold weather, with no battery, or if the battery is dead. The instructions should come with a more prominent warning, that remote control capable generators need a well charged battery, so that they can be started.

I feel that their should be an option to use a manual choke, if the... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Features, Light Weight, Nice funnel, good instruction manual
Cons: Should be able to be started n cold weather manually, if the batt, Needs options for starting with no battery.
Manfred Recommends This Westinghouse Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Manfred,
Thank you for the feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience due to the automatic choke. I have passed your feedback along to the necessary teams so they may consider it going forward. Thanks again, we hope you enjoy the WGen7500DF.
more
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Westinghouse WGEN7500DF reviews.Compare our Westinghouse WGEN7500DF ratings. Find the Westinghouse WGEN7500DF Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct