Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

VIAIR 85 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$49.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Shipping$49.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$49.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$49.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$49.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
VIAIR 85 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (7)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Durable (4)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Quiet (4)
Cons
No Cons On This Boy (1)
None (1)
None to express. (1)
Heavy (1)
does not deliver high ai... (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
23 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
3599 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

This unit won our "Good" because in can inflate up-to 31" SUV or Truck tires.

The inflator comes with a screw-on tire chuck for easy viewing of your pressure.

You love the compact design of this inflator which can travel anywhere with you.
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
3614
Carolee M.
Middletown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/28/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase!
This thing is awesome! Inflated my tires faster than any other portable I have ever owned.

I love that it has all adapters necessary to inflate multiple devices and it's packaged perfectly in a nice carrying case.

I am very, very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Easy To Use, Price
Carolee Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John Y.
Friars Point, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/11/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Decent Product For What It Is Intended For
This air compressor is not exactly what I had in mind. It does not generate a high amount of air pressure, so it does take a while to air up a tire. If all you want to air up are vehicle tires it is OK, but it is a somewhat of a chore if you want to air up something else; i.e., your wheel barrow tire, your riding lawn mower tire, etc. You have to get close enough for the line to reach the item. It's just not truly portable.

It is great to carry in your vehicle in case of emergency- but... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: does not deliver high air pressure
John Recommends This VIAIR Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
John,
This unit has a 1 year Factory Warranty, so you may want to give the folks at VIAIR a call at (949) 585-0011 to discuss the oil leak since it is a sealed unit that doesn't need lubrication.

The power cord is 10 feet long, and the hose is 3 feet long; so you should be able to use the inflator for anything in that general area. A 12-volt inflator isn't going to be fast since they have to be compact and not drain your car battery.

To quickly inflate tires on your mower, wheelbarrow, and other yard equipment a Small Air Compressor that runs on 120 volts is going to do a faster job and last longer.
more
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Air Compressors Direct was a very good site. I should have paid more attention to the reviews and perhaps asked a few more questions. Easy company to deal with. Fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sherrie G.
Key West, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Used It Once Already- Worked As Advertised
Good quality, great price. 'Nuff said.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, Reliable
Sherrie Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James E.
Nashville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Product!
I was very surprised at the way it inflated my tires with no issues at all and not being too loud in comparison to a few other ones or brand that I had had.

I loved it and just got another piece and will recommend to others who might be in need of such! Thanks guys.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Heavy
James Recommends This VIAIR Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This was a shocker! It performed very well and as a matter of fact I just bought another one of even a higher capacity. I love this product and have not regeted one bit for spending on it because it is worth it. Thanks guys and keep the good work."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas B.
Brattleboro, VT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than Some Garage Pumps
Satisfied.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Fast
Thomas Recommends This VIAIR Product
Thomas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"What. I was looking for. Pleased."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven W.
Bend, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleasantly Surprised At The Quality & Performance
I've only used it on a bicycle tire so far which was inflated in seconds flat. The gauge is accurate too.

Well built inflator that will remain in my vehicle tool box.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: None to express.
Steven Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Guenther G.
Agoura Hills, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/3/12
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Real (usable) Inflator
We live in Los Angels, CA and twice a year we drive to Jackson Hole, WY., a 1,000 mile drive each way. Since we always go in late Spring and late fall when Jackson Hole has plenty of snow on the ground at that time. We always make sure we have snow chains and a battery starter kit as temperature can drop below Zero at night.

I bought a COBRA starter and inflater unit to make sure we can correct a low the battery condition while we are in this cold weather and a potential under-inflated tire... more
Was this review helpful?
311
Jim H.
Thornton, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/12
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Would Recommend It
I bought this air compresor for airing up tires on my atv's used it twice works great and takes only a
minute to do the job. ( only needs 4-7 psi per tire )

One thing I was worried about was the amp's needed to run it, I did'nt want to blow a fuse,
using the cigerette lighter on my atv worked great with no problems.

one complant I have with with the air compresor is the screw on tip,( for the valve stem ) I think it's a pain,
But it does work.

my other complant is, The air gauge... more
Was this review helpful?
211
Bill
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/13
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Inaccurate Gauge
Great little air compressor. I use it mainly for airing up the tires on my ATV trailer, truck, & wife's SUV. I've also used it on my Honda Big Red UTV.

The pump is compact, efficient, and well made. It put 25 additional pounds in my trailer tires in about 3 minutes each.

I would have given the pump 5 stars except for the inaccurate air pressure gauge on the pump. It read 40 lbs on my trailer tires when they actually had 60+ pounds in them after filling with the Viair 85.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
Please give the folks at VIAIR a call at (949) 585-0011. They will be able to help you with your gauge.
more
Was this review helpful?
225
Owen G.
Huntington, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/13/13
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing
Like most people I've purchased the portable air pumps at local discount stores. I have an SUV that I seldom used as it consumes 2 to 3 times the fuel that my subcompact does. The light comes on the dash advising me of low tire pressure.

The cheaper units start burning up before the tires are topped off and I have to finish with a bicycle pump. At 65 with the weather turning wet and cold, this is not fun. The gas stations with FREE AIR are few these days. You have to wait in line and the... more
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Owen Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
194
Jim
Mesquite, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/8/12
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Money
The compressor is easy to use and is worth the money I paid. The gauge on the compressor is not accurate, it's off about 2 to 3 psi, but on other compressors I have used the gauge was off up to 10 psi.

If you don't have a tire gauge at the time you need the compressor it gets you close enough without excessive over or under inflating your tires.
Was this review helpful?
151
Dan
West Deptford, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/3/11
REVIEWED
MAR.
24
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All Around Use.
I can't believe this small profile device delivers such sure and dependable performance.

So far, so great...can't say a negative thing about my Viair.

Great little machine for a good price.
Was this review helpful?
130
Karl
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
This compressor is great, works like a charm. Worth the bucks.
Was this review helpful?
142
Rodney H.
Lorton, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
I drive a Corvette, but I refuse to buy the overprice run-flat tires. With my new compressor, I feel more comfortable driving on long trips knowing that I can get out of a jam.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Rodney Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Rob
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/19/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Good
I read a lot about this thing blowing fuses in cars and trucks. Well, do like I did and put in a 50 amp fuse holder and new wire in a circuit-there you go, it works great!!!

These folks complaining about the blown fuses I think have no mechanical ability at all.


It's a very good product- thank you.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Rob,
Each vehicle is different; please only install accessories according to the manufacturer's instructions. We do not endorse any modifications to a vehicle that are not approved by the manufacturer.
more
Was this review helpful?
1910
Sanford B.
Ridgeland, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally... A Top Notch Portable Air Compressor !
In the past I have bought several of the "bargain units" and could tell that their service life was going to be limited- which it was.

This little jewel was everything I was told. At first I hesitated because of the price. I figured it was just a sales pitch to sell the unit but decided to give it a try anyway and I am delighted that I did. I bought a 1 year warranty with the unit but don't think I will ever need it.

The only problem I see with this unit is that it will be a... more
Pros: Durable, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Top Notch Probuct
Cons: No Cons On This Boy
Sanford Recommends This VIAIR Product
Sanford's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Just an honest and dependable company that is truthful in its representation of its products.... Apparently this company still adheres to the policy of putting their customers first and dealing truthfully and honestly- a welcome addition in light of all the fraud and misrepresentation that floods the marketplace daily."
 more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Sanford,
Thank you for your kind words- you have put in a nutshell the heart of who we are and what we try to do every day. We appreciate your business!
Was this review helpful?
124
Pete
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I've Had It For Over A Year, No Problems
It's fast, powerful, and quiet. Sometimes it does get a little bit warm. The fittings are high quality. I'll never go back to a $30 air compressor.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Pete Recommends This VIAIR Product
Pete's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
113
Ian
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/15/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Viair 85p Great Pump
I purchased this pump in May of 2014. I have been very please with the pump. It seems to fill my tires quicker than other portable air pumps I have used in the past.

It is more quiet that my previous pumps. It is build very well. I like it so much I'm purchasing more pumps to have in my other cars.
Ian Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
92
Cheryl G.
Duryea, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Viair 85p Sport Compact 12-volt Inflator Kit
I drive a Jeep with 225/75R16 tires and my husband has a Dodge Dakota. There's no such thing as free air around here any more and we've taken to carrying small portable air compressors on board with us, in case needed.

Last one finally died and there's no comparison to this new VIAIR. My Jeep tires takes 33PSI and I one rear was down to 28. Back up in seconds.

Thread on was a snap and was calibrated right on. So easy I could do it!! Wasn't noisy and didn't vibrate all over the... more
Cheryl Recommends This VIAIR Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Cheryl,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Other online shoppers find these kinds of reviews very helpful when trying to make the right decision, and we truly appreciate you taking the time to write it.

Best wishes, and have a great summer.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Leroy B.
Fosters, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/4/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
This is a good product! I would recommend this product.
Leroy Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Carlton T.
Richland, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/2/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Am Buying More To Give Away
The best 12v pump I have ever seen. I have been through quite a few.

The only complaint I have is that it struggles a bit to get to the full 65 psi that my Suburban requires but for the typical 32 psi it is perfect.

Quiet, stays cool, and does not jump around.
Carlton Recommends This VIAIR Product
Was this review helpful?
42
David M.
Clarence, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/3/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Viair Compressor
Bought this for my truck so I'm never down on truck or trailer tire pressures as we know what happens to heavy loaded tires when low on pressure.

This thing is sweet! Nice and quiet, compact, good gauge.

Unfortunately found it $30 cheaper after I bought :-(. Wish it had higher max pressure than 65.
David Recommends This VIAIR Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
David,
We appreciate your business- I'm glad it was delivered to your door and we could save you the sales tax.

If you need higher PSI you will need to look at inflators meant for RV tires like the Viair 45040 12 volt system that delivers 100% duty cycle at 100 PSI.

These RV systems are meant to be hard-wired into your vehicle and require their own switch and tank. They are also more expensive, but in an RV or off-road situation it could be a wise investment.
more
Was this review helpful?
32
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest VIAIR 85 reviews.Compare our VIAIR 85 ratings. Find the VIAIR 85 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct