Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Troy-Bilt 21A-682P766 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$2,391.35
(as of 06:47 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$1,999.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Troy-Bilt 21A-682P766 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (8)
Easy To Use (7)
Durable (6)
High Quality (4)
Reliable (3)
Cons
Expensive (4)
Bad Instructions (3)
Heavy (2)
Low Quality (2)
Packaging (1)
89% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
22 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1976 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Troy-Bilt Horse rear tine garden tiller is aptly named, as this is a tiller that works like a horse. The Horse garden tiller can do all your heavy duty garden chores, including groundbreaking in new beds or premium soil preparation in existing ones.

The Troy-Bilt Horse is powered by a 305cc Briggs & Stratton 1450 Series OHV engine which delivers plenty of power to rip up hard soil, clay, or grass and weeds with relative ease. Just One Hand« operation lets you guide your Horse... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
4314
Glenn L
Blountville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/30/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Troy Bilt Horse Tiller
This is a larger version of my original 1984 horse. It looks bigger and performs as i expected. That is why i bought another one.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Glenn Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Bailey M
Rayle, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/30/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2017
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Recommended
I would love to write a review, However the tiller died on the second pass of my garden. I spent quite a bit of money for a pile of metal. It died after breaking soil and hitting a rock.
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Unreliable
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Bailey,
I am very sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced with your tiller. Fortunately your unit is covered under a warranty by the manufacturer, so I would suggest that you contact a certified repair center to see what can be done. I've included a few that are located near you. If you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to give us a call and we will do our best to assist. Thank you very much for your business and I hope you have a great day.

QUARLES SALES & SERVICE
505 GOSHEN STREET
LINCOLNTON, GA 30817
(706) 359-3755

AG-PRO LLC
2950 ATLANTA HIGHWAY
ATHENS, GA 30606
(706) 353-0037

T KS TIRE AND AUTO
1041 FAIRGROUND ROAD
MADISON, GA 30650
(706) 342-4046
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Clint R
Oswego, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/5/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
The Horse
The product I bought was exactly what it is - a Horse . The only draw back is the forward and reverse level . It is too lightly built I think and will flex and bend . That is the only thing I have had a problem with.
Clint Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Dwight H
Bennettsville, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/2/17
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Some Problems Right Out The Gate
Product was well crated. Forward clutch would not disengage and handle actually bent trying to disengage. Manual states to use grease on roller and pawl. Lifting frame was bent and hitting clutch pawl bracket. After venting pawl bracket forward a bit, bending lift frame, and WD40 the clutch roller and pawl it now seems to engage and disengage fairly well. Need better quality inspection, very dangerous to be sticking in forward. Cotter pin for slow/fast lever was lost after second use. Great... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Bad Instructions
Dwight Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Ingrid T
Monroe, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Ever Tiller
I had my first Troy-Built Horse for over 40 years and just now bought my second one. I am just as happy with this one as I was with my first one. I would not buy anything else.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable
Ingrid Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Grete C
Tallahassee, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/20/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
I got this as a replacement for my old troy built horse after 30+ years of service. It works great, starts easy and is lighter to handle. It's basically the same tiller. I still have my original manual which is a very nice book with color pictures. I'm glad I saved it.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
Grete Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Alan P
Laramie, WY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/17
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love Troy-bilt
I owned a '79 model Troy-Bilt and ran it forever. It finally needed a rebuild after years of heavy use tilling yards for sodding and numerous gardens. I gave it to my neighbor when I moved. I just bought a new one. It arrived crated. Took me 30 minutes to put it all together. The differences are the PTO, handles and the engine. This one has the Brigs, my old one had the heavy duty Kohler. The handles appear to be a lighter material but still hefty. I don't care for the added safety features but... more
Pros: Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Alan Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Alan's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problems. Placed my order, a week later got shipping info, a couple days later the shipper called and the driver delivered the next day, no problems at all. My machine was backordered a couple of days but I still got it in less than two weeks and about 120 dollars cheaper than I would have if I ordered through a local store."
 more
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Alan,
Thanks for the kind review! I am so thrilled to hear that you're pleased with your machine. If you have any questions, please give us a call and we will do our best to assist. Thank you as always for your business and happy tilling!
Was this review helpful?
10
David S
Kettle Falls, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/28/17
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
This Is A Beast!
When the tiller showed up, I did a quick inspection, found the bolt missing from right side wheel axle. (it was located in the plastic wrap.)

Serviced the tiller , operated it for an hour. I couldn't be more pleased with how it handled! I had rented a Husqvarna before, the tiller would sheer a pin on the tines when I hit a rock, the Troy-built is a much stronger unit, it would crush the rocks or propel the tiller in the air!
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
David Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Walter W.
Seattle, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Big Problem With Tiller Instructions
I had one problem that would be so easy for the company to fix, but has not been done. There instruction book that comes with the tiller is printed in such poor quality that one can not see the actual pictures or tell what there text is trying to explain. At the end I just had to figure it out by the odd parts that I had and the bolts that were in the bag. There tiller is great there booklet quality is very very poor.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, High Quality, Price
Cons: Bad Instructions
Walter Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Walter,
If you're having trouble with the size of the images in the manual, you can always look at the digital version of it, Owner's Manual
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Josefa P.
Fresno, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
38 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Troy-bilt Horse
I used a Troy-Bilt for 30 years until it died on me. So I purchased a new Horse. It arrived very promptly and there were only a few adjustments to make. I used my tiller about 5 times, and it worked fine. I was tilling, then the tines stopped turning. I went to the manual to see how I could get the tines going again, but I was unable to do so. I called Troy-Bilt and explained the problem, and I was told that I had to take it to an authorized repair shop. The problem is, I have to get the... more
Was this review helpful?
386
John
Madison, WI
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Troy Bilt Horse Tiller
The Troy Bilt Horse was one of the worst purchases I have ever made. I have struggled with it for 4 years, and finally I am at the point where I have to throw in the towel. I've lost track of how many times I have had to take it in for service, but I would say at least 8 times. When it works, it's fine but sooner or later, while tilling, a horrible grinding noise occurs, and the tines stop turning. I then have to load it back up and take it in for repairs, which is the same thing every... more
Was this review helpful?
283
Larry H.
Eureka Springs, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Troy Bilt Horse Model Is Not So Great, Especially For The Price.
Bought from Tillers Direct after consulting with them. I now feel I made the wrong choice. I should have spend the extra $500 and got the Honda FRC800AC. Shipping was fast with no problems there. I've used R&L Carriers before and they've always been "on the ball". To start out, I'm tilling a "new" garden, so the soil is compacted. And now for the tiller: the B&S engine starts and runs flawlessly, with lots of power. As for the tiller itself, the right wheel... more
Was this review helpful?
306
Roger
St George, UT
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Didnt Learn The First Time
Ill admit it. I'm the dummy. 1st tiller purchased blew motor 2 days after warranty expired. Figured it had to be a fluke. Purchased new unit the following year from Lowe's. Had issues with carburetor. Seemed to take care of itself. Next year while tilling motor took off at extreme high rpm. Blew rod before I could shut off. Pure Junk.
Was this review helpful?
194
Ben
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/10/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Horse
Tiller arrived on a 53 footer and had to be unloaded on the road in front of my property in WV. Crate was intact with no damage. Noticed a small amount of gear oil in bottom of plastic and noted it to driver. I uncrated the tiller and checked for leaks. Checked level in gear box and all was good. Oil must have been spilled when it was filled. Have 5 hrs on it and have changed the oil. It operates perfect. I have a super bronco also which will now be used like a super mantis. The horse... more
Was this review helpful?
141
Sarah
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/21/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Worth The Money
It worked well the first two times my husband used it and now it won't even start - don't waste your money
Was this review helpful?
187
Michelle
Hancock, MD
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bad Tiller
I used it only twice and it doesn't work. You have to hold the level down to engage the tines.
Was this review helpful?
144
Joseph
Laceys Spring, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/12/12
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tiller, Superb Purchase Experience
Have a Troy-Bilt Pony purchased in 1989. Still in perfect working condition, but more difficult soil where we now live has made tilling a chore. This new Horse is great... no more tilling difficulties. And, purchase experience was Superb. Ordered on Monday, delivery at home on Thursday, tilled the garden on Friday! Hard to beat that experience. Definitely recommend Tillers Direct. Sales rep was also courteous, helpful and true to his word.
Was this review helpful?
90
Carl
Liberty, TN
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Troy-bilt Horse
The machine was delivered undamaged. However the crate it came in was a mess. The driver was courteous and helpful. I serviced the machine and cranked it up. After a couple of pulls on the rope it started. I was able to run it off the crate bottom with little difficulty. So far I happy with my Horse.
Was this review helpful?
80
Malinda M.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Tiller
Its a nice tiller other than how the oil and gearbox leak just after a couple uses. Not impressed with that at all.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: The Many Oil And Gearbox Leaks Just After A Couple Uses
Malinda Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Richard W.
Armstrong, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Buy The Troy-bilt Tiller
I own the Horse and wish I would have bought the Horse years ago. The horse is made for big tough projects. If you want a tiller that will get the job done then the Horse is the tiller for you..It is pull start, but it is so easy that my 11 year grandson starts it for me. Great tiller
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Richard Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
50
John O.
Southampton, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Arrived With Flat Tire
Arrived with flat tire. Got it reinflated, went flat within two days. Put in a tube. Tiller depth selector arrived bent. Had to take part off and straighten. Nothing major. Runs fine and works well.
Cons: Packaging
John Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Edward K.
Healdsburg, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
More Trouble Than The Savings Are Worth
The HORSE arrived safely, in one piece. However, assembly is not a simple matter although the instructions are pretty good - it required about a solid hour. The engine started fine, but there was a problem with the PTO transmission lever - it was stuck in ENGAGE.

Calling Tillers Direct was useless - I was vectored to Troy-Bilts' main phone line. Now, later, I have another number to Troy Bilt and will see where I get, but I'm questioning the value of the internet savings versus a fully... more
Was this review helpful?
52
Ken S.
East Berlin, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Troy-bilt Horse
I got to use my new horse. I had my garden plowed last fall. I live in southeastern Pennsylvania. Tiller did a fine job. I went over the garden twice and planted peas and onions. It has a lot more power than my twenty-four year-old troy-bilt pony model but is a lttle more difficult to turn.
Ken Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Ken's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was happy to get my new HORSE TILLER without paying taxes,and shipping charges. Thank you. It was on back order for about a week and a half, but I received it in plenty of time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Sammy P.
Boutte, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/4/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tiller
What used to take hours to do with my old tiller only took 30 minutes to do with the Horse. They ground was tilled very fine and fluffy. It's been great so far.
Sammy Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Sammy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping was very fast and arrived with no problems."
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
John P.
Greer, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/21/15
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
John P.
John Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Timothy B.
Lawrence, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/26/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Enjoyable Gardening
Arrived in perfect shape, after an easy set-up,and a bit of trial & error, I can see, I've made an excellent choice,this powerful "Big Red" walked through large areas of soil quickly, while being well mannered.
Timothy Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Timothy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was an easy & quick transaction, start to finish!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Roy
Mertztown, PA
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
We really like the Troy-Bilt Horse and your delivery was right on time. Thank you
Was this review helpful?
55
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Troy-Bilt 21A-682P766 reviews.Compare our Troy-Bilt 21A-682P766 ratings. Find the Troy-Bilt 21A-682P766 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct