Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Toro 51988 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$159.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$159.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Toro 51988 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (5)
Price (3)
Features (2)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Light Weight (2)
Cons
Heavy (2)
Ask Me At The End Of The... (1)
Setup for mulching is a ... (1)
ease of emptying the bag (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
13 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Leaf Blower Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
43 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
3086 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Toro 51988 gas hand held leaf blower and vacuum offers ease of use and efficiency all in one.

Powered by a 25cc 2-cycle engine, the Toro 51988 delivers plenty of power and is very easy to start. This engine will produce up to 420cfm air flow at the end of the blower tube and air speeds up to 160mph.

The vacuum kit on the Toro 51988 offers a 10:1 mulching ratio and comes with a 1 bushel bag. The metal mulching impeller on the Toro 51988 turns 10 bushels of leaves into one bushel of... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
14029
Kenneth H.
Industry, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/20/16
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Good Purchase
I have never been disappointed with anything from Toro. This Leaf Blower is no exception - I like the throttle control and lock - starts easily and performs well - I am able to move large volumes of leaves - it does the job and I feel I made a good purchase
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Kenneth Recommends This Toro Product
Kenneth's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have purchased a mower, trimmer and leaf blower - exceptional service I would recommend PED to everyone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Wayne B.
Oviedo, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The One Blower, Mulcher, Vacuum To Buy When You Buy One
This is the best blower vac I have used in over 50 years of lawn care experience. There is one feature of this model that renders the tool almost unusable. The bag on the vacuum is impossible for one person to dump into a container. The zipper is located on the bottom of the bag and to dump it into a container the blower needs to stand upright. One hand to hold the blower and one hand for the bag leaves, which leaves the average person one hand short. The zipper needs to be on the top of the... more
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Vacuum makes great mulch!
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, ease of emptying the bag
Wayne Recommends This Toro Product
Wayne's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Buying it was easy and it came post haste. The blower was more powerful than the Toro units I purchased in the past. The difficulty started when I went out to help my neighbors clean up after the hurricanes we had here in Florida. This was the best tool imaginable for picking up the mess. Dumping the contents of the vacuum bag is a nightmare. Please ask Toro to redesign the bag and get one to me ASAP. There is still a mountain of debris to clean up here. If you can pull this off, I will pitch your machine to everyone I work for, that is a bunch of people, and I will spread the word via social media to the public at large. Yours truly, Wayne B."
 more
Dale, the Leaf Blower Expert
Product Expert
Wayne,
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you are currently experiencing with your Toro Hand-Held Leaf Blower/Vacuum. At this time we have not had any complaints regarding the bagging system. We highly suggest you contact the folks at Toro directly (888) 384-9939 to inform them of this problem you are having. This way you can work directly with them to to see if there is anything that can make disposing the vacuum bag easier for you.
Was this review helpful?
00
Lisa M
Bolingbrook, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/4/17
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy With Purchase
Happy
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Lisa Recommends This Toro Product
Lisa's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael R.
Bend, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Piece Of Equipment
Took product straight out of box to the property. Started easily and Blower did a great job. Won't have a review for the vacuum until Fall. So far, satisfied with blower performance and ease of use. Great Job Toro!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Michael Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas K
Lakeville, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/5/17
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Powerful Blower
Works great but the latch for the pickup tube broke the first time I used it. It has a metal piece for breaking up stuff in my bag.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Durability
Thomas Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James G.
Urbana, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/7/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product!!
This is my third blower and it is the best one so far. Not only is it powerful enough, it is light enough that my wife even enjoyed using it this past fall.

Compared to my other blowers, the Torro started each and every time with little effort which my others seemed to have a problem doing.
I really enjoyed my Torro (if that's possible). Made my work so much easier.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Setup for mulching is a little awkward, but not hateful.
James Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve T.
Stayton, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/28/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good For Vacuum Too
Seems to have plenty of power to blow leaves when semi- wet. Not so good at vacuum when leaves are wet. Sorry it takes considerable effort to convert to vacuum-- but I think overall this will do both jobs for me and make good compost-- which was my intention.
Steve Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Neal K.
Flemington, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Piece Of Equipment
This is my 2nd Blower/Vacuum in 3 years. I wish I had bought this originally. It cost less and outperforms the Husqvarna, hands down. Not as much power as the Husqvarna. But plenty to do what it's made for.
Neal Recommends This Toro Product
Neal's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service, great prices. Ordered on a Monday, was at my house Wednesday."
 more
Was this review helpful?
91
David
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Too Shabby!
I bought this unit because the cost to repair my craftsman which was awesome was 2/3 the price of this new unit. It arrived in 2-3 days, easy assembly, started on 2 pulls and worked fine. Not as powerful as my craftsmen. Only used blower not vacuum.

One beef is the fuel ratio on Toro is 50:1 vs 40:1 and requires special 2 cycle purchase, not an issue as I have other 2 cycle tools and it came with 1 bottle of oil but still....another gas can needs to be left in the garage!
David Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Judy K.
West Liberty, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Blower
Another great product in the Toro line. Best blower I've ever purchased. Great value also..especially with the leaf bagger attachment. Would definitely recommend this product.
Judy Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
43
Jonathan M.
Bedford, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/10/16
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Right Out Of The Box - Toro 51988 Two-stroke Blower/vac
Purchase and delivery from Leaf Blowers Direct went fine. Took no time to unpack and assemble. I'm not one to jump to conclusions: but it seems to be everything it should be. I shopped for some time- locally and on the internet- before I landed this deal on what seems- so far- to be an excellent machine.

What sold me on this one, was the metal impeller which is somewhat unique in this price range. I can't imagine a plastic part being sufficient for the purpose.

I am really surprised that... more
Pros: Features, Price, Ask Me At The End Of The Summer
Cons: Ask Me At The End Of The Summer
Jonathan Recommends This Toro Product
Jonathan's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'm serious about asking after the season is over. The vendor, shipping, assembly were all fine: but it takes a while to see how the product adds up. I'm serious- ask me at the end of the Summer- or year three. These are supposed to be durable products. I get about 10 years out of my small 2-stroke power products. (Edgers, chainsaws, roto-tillers, mowers.) I don't give up until I have serviced them a couple of times. Retail experience was fine. Let's see what happens next."
 more
Was this review helpful?
33
Kerry K.
Grand Forks, ND
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/22/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Leaf Blower
Leaf blower works well. Hope to figure out the vac/mulcher tomorrow.
Kerry Recommends This Toro Product
Was this review helpful?
-110
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Toro 51988 reviews.Compare our Toro 51988 ratings. Find the Toro 51988 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct