Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Toro 21199 Wide Area Walk Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Toro 21199 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Fast (37)
Easy To Use (37)
Easy To Store (27)
I'd Buy It Again (27)
High Quality (16)
Cons
Heavy (18)
Small gas tank (13)
Expensive (12)
Difficult To Use (4)
Low Quality (3)
91% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
54 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
90 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
14800 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Toro TimeMaster 21199 comes with new features this year and is still a solid choice for homeowners looking to get the job done in a short amount of time. The 30" deck significantly reduces your mowing time when you have a lot of ground to cover.

The 21199 is powered by an easy to start Briggs & Stratton overhead valve engine but has a new, bigger 223cc engine which provides more torque to handle the twin blades. The Dual-Force cutting system turns grass into a super-fine... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
14836
Mack M
Brandon, MS
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Crank And Cuts Through Tall Grass
I was in need of some kind of powerful mower but didn't want or have the need for a zero turn and a walk behind is as large as a riding mower. I found the Timemaster and decided to purchase it. I had let my yard get a way from me and put the TM to the test the first time out of the box. It never bogged, unless it hit an ant hill, and went right through the thickest grass. The self propelled is very easy to use, much easier that I thought it would be. My 11 year old son was able to pull... more
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Easy To Store
Mack Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
140
William B.
Windsor, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
If You're Strong And Have A Small Yard.....
"Personal pace" feature needs serious work. My Honda multi-speed walk behind far better. Pitifully small gas tank 2 fill ups for roughly 15k feet of gas. Woefully underpowered, won't go up moderate berm which, again, Honda had no problem with!
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Difficult To Use, Under powered,small gas tank
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
William,
Very sorry to hear that you're unsatisfied with the mower. One suggestion you might try is "Adjusting the Self-Propel Drive" which can be found on page 22 of the https://www.mowersdirect.com/manuals/toro-d8291c78bb08a6dbea64dcf0e4c9ab6e.pdf. If you're still having issues, I'd suggest contacting Toro @ (888) 384-9939.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your Toro mower. Every so often self propel cables need to be adjusted to ensure the drive system works correctly. The traction adjustment knob provides a simple way to adjust the cable to make your mower more responsive or less responsive.

Your unit has a 3 year warranty and will cover all manufacturing defects you feel your mower might have. If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions and we may be able to provide a more personalized solution (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No issues with seller."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Louise H.
Buffalo, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower Ever
Can't wait to mow the lawn...what took me 45 minutes, now takes me 20. A little difficult to maneuver but you get use to it. And it does suck up more gas. Don't care because the time factor is worth it. I jogged mowing the lawn!!!
Pros: Fast, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Small gas tank
Louise Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
John G.
South Euclid, OH
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Would Buy Again
Recently bought this mower and have used is for about a month. I cut 3 yards with this mower and don't know how I did it before this. It cuts my time in half and can't wait till the next week to use it again. Would never go back to a 21in cut.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy, took a while to get started out of the box
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Matthew G.
Port St. Lucie, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/19/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower
First off the Timemaster is a very well built machine. I'm hoping this will be the last mower I buy. The size is perfect it's big but not to big. The Timemaster handles very well for it size. folding handle is awesome for storage the mower can stand up on the bagger flap very convenient. The Timemaster is a little heavy which makes it a little tricky cutting across hills. The engine has good power but not great. Now the stuff I don't like. I have a yard worthy of a rider but I don't want to... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Small gas tank, Expensive
Matthew Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott L.
Texarkana, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/7/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!!!
Plenty of power and cuts very nice.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Features, Price
Cons: Small gas tank
Scott Recommends This Toro Mower
Scott's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Hassle free."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael T.
Rushville, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/17
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Cut I've Ever Had!
I'm absolutely pumped about my new Toro Timemaster. I wanted a mower that would save me a little time mowing my yard. My yard is too small for a rider but too big for a 21" mower, so the Toro Timemaster was a perfect match for my situation. It knocked off 20min of my mow time. Every two passes with my Timemaster was equivalent to 3 passes with my old 21" mower.

What also impressed me about this mower, other than the time it saved, was how well it cuts. It leaves a crisp flat top... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Features, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My experience with mowers direct was great. I'll buy through them in the the future and recommend you do it now."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience shopping with us here at Mowers Direct. We always appreciate when folks leave detailed reviews about their purchases. It helps us learn more about why folks like specific units and of course it helps other people find what they are looking for! I wish you many seasons of happy mowing and thank you again for your business!
Was this review helpful?
60
Philip D
Owensboro, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/17
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nearly Cut My Mowing Time In Half
At 69 years of age, I wanted a walk behind that I could manage. All standard mowers took 2 1/2 hours to mow my oversize lawn of 1/2 acre. The 30" Timesaver did what I needed and allows me to get my mowing done in 1 1/4 hours. It is heavier and cannot be easily manhandled in tight areas, but the trade-off is minimal. Rear wheel drive is different for me but the lawn looks much better with a wide cut.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store, Fast, Quiet
Cons: small gas tank & must remain level
Philip Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Douglas W.
Rhinebeck, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/7/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good, But Be Careful Of The Older Underpowered Model
A friend bought a 2016 190cc at a local shop without knowing it was a leftover. Not enough power to handle any dampness on the grass without stalling.

My 223cc new one from PED seems great so far. PED clearly sells the 2016 model with full disclosure, but it seems the local guy just needs to get rid of old stock without disclosure. Be aware! Apparently big difference in performance!
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Small gas tank
Douglas Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Ted D
Palm Harbor, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/17
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Initial Review
This is my initial review. So far the mower has been a breeze to operate and the performance is excellent. The start up is not a "one" time pull, its actually two or maybe three. Not a deal breaker, since the mower is such a beast. Thank you for a great value.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Ted Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Charles S
Warren, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/5/17
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Lawn Mower
Very easy to start. Very powerful. Does a beautiful job mulching. If you need a large, powerful walk behind lawn mower, this Toro is fantastic.

And, Mowers Direct is an amazingly good company to buy it from! I had my Toro in 2 1/2 days from the time I ordered it until I was cutting grass. I cannot say enough good about Mowers Direct.
Pros: Easy To Store, Fast, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: No cons whatsoever.
Charles Recommends This Toro Mower
Charles's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Absolutely the best online company I've ever dealt with! I had my lawnmower in two and a half days from the time I ordered the machine until the time I was cutting with it. A very pleasant surprise. I will purchase from them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Christopher M.
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/17
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Significantly Reduces My Workload In The Yard
Well built product with useful features. This is my first Toro mower replacing a 15 year old, 22" cut, bare bones Craftsman. I mow 1/2 an acre weekly, but cannot justify a rider. We grew up using Toro snow blowers and have been impressed with the quality of their products. I maintain and repair all my equipment myself, so I researched this product for almost two years before purchasing. After 4 uses it is solid, reliable to start, and easy to clean. I love the stowing handle to... more
Pros: Features, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Fuel tank size marginal
Christopher Recommends This Toro Mower
Christopher's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct was terrific. Only issue I had was local with communication and delivery. The mower was scheduled to deliver and showed to be on the truck, but did not arrive. No communication from them. Unit was delivered next day, with no notice from delivery service. Driver stated they were too busy and residential deliveries don't get the same priority. 161 pound box showed up with a slight protruding dent through the side. Mower seems ok. Look it over carefully before accepting as Mowers Direct instructs."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Derek B.
Moody, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/17
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Investment
I bought this to mow steep incline yards, one is about 45 degree and 200ft long. I was able to mow this yard going up hill will one hand. Needless to say the extra width saved extra trips walking up the hill. The mulching plug is a breeze to remove so you can bag too. The only con is the weight but when you figure the size of the mower it's to be expected.
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Derek Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
74
Enrico P.
Hasbrouck Hgts, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/30/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Lawn Mower I Ever Owned
I have only owned 1 mower for the last 36 years, commercial Bobcat 21" but this Toro 30" is the best ever. Price wise it doesn't matter when you can save time .
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Enrico Recommends This Toro Mower
Enrico's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct did a great a job with the delivery, in fact had called my salesperson to tell her how satisfied with everything, thanks Mowers Direct..."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gene B.
Sperry, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/26/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I have used my new mower 4 times. The last time the grass had gotten very tall. It powered right through. I am very impressed with the mulching compared to my previous mower and cutting time is reduced 50%. Very Pleased!!
Pros: Fast, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Gene Recommends This Toro Mower
Gene's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivery was on time and easy. Assembly easy as well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve S
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Mower
I am very happy. The order was processed quickly and delivered very quickly. Works great.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Easy To Store
Steve Recommends This Toro Mower
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gilbert B
Fairfax, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does Exactly What I Had Hoped
I wanted a mower that could handle my 1/2 acre lawn more effectively than all the other mowers I've owned. I've had a lot of mowers that said they mulched well. None did. I wanted one that would effectively mulch so that I wouldn't have to bag (better for lawn and saves time). So far, this mower is doing exactly that. The combination of the wider 30 inch cut and no bagging has cut my mowing time in half. It took a little getting used to the controls but I really like them now.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Gilbert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael W
Fishers, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/8/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Superior Mower!
This by far is the best mower I've ever owned. I expected it to clump at lower settings but not with this mower. It mulches the grass in a fine, dusting like mulch. I won't tell neighbors what type mower this is because I don't want their lawn to look as good as mine. With the striping kit it will have your lawn looking like a pro baseball diamond.
Pros: Easy To Store, Easy To Use, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Can't get any easier than this place!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Morgan T
Thatcher, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/17
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Time Saver
I have only mowed with the TimeMaster twice so far. My lawn is 1/3 of an acre and I can mow the whole thing on the same tank of gas and in under 1 hour. I really like the personal pace self-propelled feature. The lawn mower is on the heavy side but being self-propelled it is a non-issue. Since I have only used it twice I cannot speak to its durability. The engine doesn't bog down/slow down as much as my older mower did when going over long patches of grass. I am able to keep mowing while... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Fast
Morgan Recommends This Toro Mower
Morgan's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy process purchasing through Mowers Direct. It took several weeks to arrive but I paid with an electronic check in order to get the discount so it was well worth it. I haven't had to contact Mowers Direct since I made my purchase so I can't speak to their continuing customer service after the purchase."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Morgan,
Thanks for the detailed review! I apologize for the delay, however paying by check has some inherent delays to avoid any fraudulent activity. If you'd like to see more about this, you can read more right here: Paying By Check I sincerely thank you for your business and I hope you will contact us again when you are in need of more equipment - we are here to help folks just like you! Thanks again and happy mowing.
Was this review helpful?
20
Eugene R.
Green, OH
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Mower Needs More Engineering
Cuts and mulches well, however, number one problem, I only get approx. 30 minutes of cutting time on a tank of gas. Also the self propelled feature causes me to push the mower to get it to go, it is a workout. On uneven terrain or slight inclines this is not comfortable. Hard to turn around or make sharp turns, rotating front wheels might help.

Given the small gas tank and multiple refills on a 90 X 170 lot, it is not as much a time saver as I would have hoped. Carrying a gas tank out to the... more
Pros: Features
Cons: Heavy, Small gas tank, Difficult To Use, Hard to turn
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Eugene,
Per the owner's manual, the sponge element in the fuel taken should not be removed. You shouldn't have to push the mower to get it to go. There is a traction adjustment on your mower, make sure that is set correctly, because it may be the cause of the problem. I would suggest reviewing the owner's manual again to make sure you've set up the mower correctly. If you still believe the mower is not operating correctly, you may want to contact a Toro service center in your area to have your mower looked at.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
George K
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/17
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower And Great Service
Shipment was really fast. Very simple to assemble. Mower starts on 1st pull each time. Cuts grass well. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store, Features
Cons: Heavy
George Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Jesus S
Boerne, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/17
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The Best Product Ever
Mero bien! Pienso comprar otra!
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store, High Quality, Fast, Exceeded Expectations, Price, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Jesus Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
John W.
Greenwood, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/20/17
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad I Bought One
Well I watched several youtube videos on this mower and all were on the 2016 model. Then I seen one on a 2017 model. Toro up power on it so I said what the heck and I order one. Used it today after it rained in the early morning so I mowed in late afternoon. My grass was still a little wet but it did great and I was impressed with the power.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Brien P.
Kansas City, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/17
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
As Ddvertised
Waited for the more powerful version of this to come out this year and glad I waited. Ideal for larger residential yards and cut my mowing time down by 40% from a 21" mower. Starts right up every time and the wash out feature using a hose works like a charm. If you aren't ready to spend the money on a rider or commercial mower but need something bigger, this is hard to beat.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable
Brien Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert L.
Woodbury, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Time Saver
Great running mower, cuts my mowing time in half and really easy to change height and speed.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald B.
Wallkill, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/3/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Liked It
I like the variable speed. Just move the handle and it goes. Also, the blades disengage and the motor continues to run. I like it.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Features
Cons: Small gas tank
Donald Recommends This Toro Mower
Donald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Easy to push and plenty of power."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sharon G.
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The Best Lawn Mower I Have Ever Owned.
The lawn mover is the best and everyone else loves how it mows.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy, Small gas tank
Sharon Recommends This Toro Mower
Sharon's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had fast service and it was easy to order the items."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry H.
Sedro Woolley, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good
Good product.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Features
Cons: Bag grass catcher could be bigger capacity
Larry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Louis P.
State College, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/8/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
I will buy it again, only hope the next one has a bigger engine. A little under powered.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, under powered
Louis Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Carol M.
Westline, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/21/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Mower!
I do love my new mower especially the 30 inch cut! The gas tank is small and I had to fill it more than I thought I should. It runs and mows beautifully but I have a few areas where I have to pull it backwards and it's really hard, if it had some kind of slow reverse, it would help immensely. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a quality built, reliable, wide cut mower!!
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Durable
Cons: Expensive, Small gas tank, hard to pull backwards
Carol Recommends This Toro Mower
Carol's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct was an easy website to maneuver and had exactly what I was looking for at a great price!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger E.
New Carlisle, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Mower, Hope To Use It For Many Years
Starts very easy, the personal pace works very good. So far so good.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations, Quiet
Roger Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeffrey S.
Pewaukee, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
This machine cuts very well. But the gas tank is too small for this machine.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Small gas tank
Jeffrey Recommends This Toro Mower
Jeffrey's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert T.
Bellevue, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
Only used it three times on an acre and thus far has met all expectations especially cutting the time. Heavier than a 22" so it takes more effort in the 180 turns. Love the power. Personal Pace feature works great.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Cost was reasonable, no shipping charge and came when expected."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike W.
Charleston, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Unbelievable!
I just got mine and opened the box and had VERY light assembly. Put the oil and gas in. I pull started up and off I went. This thing is a monster. I have St Augustine and those that have it know it grows fast. It however was no match for this mower. I'm so impressed with this machine. It's a lot bigger than the photos show. Plenty of power and the kicker is..... You can literally jog behind this mower while you cut. I highly recommended this.

My yard is a bit to small for a ride on but way... more
Pros: Fast, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Small gas tank
Mike Recommends This Toro Mower
Mike's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great job."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Peter K
Cleveland, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/1/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
I love everything about the mower except one thing. The gas tank is too small. I have a 1/2 acre lot and need to refill before I can finish. The cut is good, mulching good, and maneuverability is good.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Small gas tank
Peter Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Darren B
Richmond, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Favorite Mower
This mower is great it does all the work for you. I did not know how hard I was working to mow my yard. I have a thick healthy lawn that needs mowing every five days in the spring but with the Toro I can wait and let it grow another two days, with the mulch setting the Toro will cut better than my side discharge was doing. The self propel works great. It comes mostly assembled very easy to pull out of box and get mowing. Two things i am not happy with, one that I did not buy it sooner and... more
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Small gas tank, Did not buy sooner
Darren Recommends This Toro Mower
Darren's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Found the item online with a good price paid for it and they sent it as promised they made it a easy transaction. Free shipping made waiting on SAIA trucking easier as they said they would deliver Tuesday then Wednesday then I got it Thursday."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael T
Oxford, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/1/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
A little heavy, but does a great job mulching or bagging grass. The only down side is the small size of the gas tank. Cannot cut my lawn without refilling the gas tank.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Heavy, Small gas tank, Loud engine wine
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
William G
North Olmsted, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Probably Would Not Buy Again
The wide cutting deck definitely saves time. And the personal pace system is fast. You can literally run behind it. It's a good mower, but I do have some issues.
The engine sounds rough. Backfires a lot. It guzzles gas. Goes through a tank and a half for a 1 hr mow. Constantly bang my knuckles on the push bar when messing with the personal pace. The personal pace is very jumpy. This mower will beat you up if you let it. It works great with the side chute on, but consistently has trouble when... more
Pros: Fast, Easy To Store, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Difficult To Use
William Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruno B
Ann Arbor, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/2/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro 30"
Excellent. It takes some time to get used to the self propel
Pros: Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Bruno Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric N
Macomb, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/2/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love The Mmower
I love this lawn mower!! It really does save time cutting the lawn. I find myself cutting the yard twice a week, when before it was once every two week. LOL
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Price
Cons: Heavy
Eric Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Leon P
Memphis, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2017
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Nightmare Purchase
Terrible purchase experience--mower arrived with parts missing and could not be used. Had to take it to a Toro dealer and leave it there until parts could be ordered and installed. There also is an outstanding question regarding some type of recall and whether or not my specific serial number is affected by the recall. The dealer will repair if necessary. Power Equipment Direct is reviewing the matter but doesn't appear to want to replace the defective mower with a new fully functional mower... more
Cons: Low Quality
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Leon,
I apologize for the issues that you experienced with your machine. Based on the order notes, it appears that this has been resolved after confirming with Toro that there was no recall on your machine. Per Federal regulations, we are not able to accept returns on a machine once it has been gassed and oiled. I am glad to hear that your machine was repaired and is working as expected now. Thank you very much for your business and happy mowing!
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Leon,
Our customer service team can help you find your nearest dealer to assist you with servicing your machine if you have any issues in the future. Again, we are very sorry that this has happened with your brand new mower but this mower does have a three year full warranty. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
22
Steven B
Maple Grove, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Get Out Your Running Shoes
Unpacking/set up took 20 minutes, shipped with everything you need (including the oil)
Pros:
Starts on the first pull 100% of the time
Blade height is easy to adjust
Hose attachment makes cleanup easy.
The personal pace can go really fast... almost a light jog at full speed
Never bogs down, even in longer grass or wet grass

Cons:
The sponge in the fuel tank makes it difficult to see how full the tank it....i'm sure this has a purpose

I absolutely love this mower, the speed of a... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Steven Recommends This Toro Mower
Steven's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping, placed the mower in my garage with the lift gate service. I bought a snow blower from them a few years earlier and had the same experience."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Steven,
Thank you kindly for the review and for doing business with us a second time. When you are ready for your next piece of power equipment, please do not hesitate to give us a call! Additionally, if you ever have any questions arise regarding either your snow blower or lawn mower please contact us and we will do our best to assist. Thank you again for your business and happy mowing!
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark F
High Falls, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well
Doesn't always start on the first pull (unless I spray ether in the carb!), but otherwise does a good job of mowing. My lawn takes about half the time it used to with my old, tired 21" walk behind. You can get a real workout if you jog behind this thing! Very slight damage in shipping, but good overall transaction with Mower's Direct.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Fast, Quiet
Cons: Heavy
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert B
Wading River, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower I Ever Owned
The Toro 21199 was the best decision I made. The mower performs better than I expected. My cutting time was cut in half, it cuts better than any mower I previously owned. A regular mower cannot compare to a Time Master.
Pros: Fast, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was very easy and simple to buy from Mowers Direct and delivery was excellent."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve M
Rosemount, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower Thus Far
I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews on wide push mowers vs. riders. I have to say, I made the right choice. I've only used it twice but its been a great mower. Plenty of power with the 223cc engine. I like the fact that the handle folds up 90 degrees for storage against the wall. We live on 0.6 acres and it has cut my mowing time down by 35 minutes (from a 21" Honda I had been using.) I'm a big fan of the quality of cut and the wider stripe it leaves behind. The... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Features, Durable
Cons: small gas tank
Steve Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Nathanial R
Saint Paul, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower So Far
I researched this mower for two years before buying. After I saw two professional landscaping companies using this same mower at work, I knew it was time to go for it. I am mowing nearly an acre of lawns and needed something that cut down on time and was more reliable than my Brute mower.

The RWD is helpful for maneuvering and stability. The 30" cutting deck really cuts down the mow time. What used to take 2 hrs now only takes 1 hr 15 min. I only give it four stars on quality... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Nathanial Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Doug T
Overland Park, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Performer
I'm thoroughly satisfied with this mower. The mulching capabilities is the best I've used the resulting grass clippings are small, even when cutting more than 1" at a time. I was skeptical that this mower did not have a way to prime the cylinder before starting. No problem, it starts on the 2nd pull every time. Hopefully this continues years in the future too. The rigidity of the bad helps hold a lot of weight. I seldom empty the bag before it is completely full. Sure, this mower is... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Loud
Doug Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Bryan C
Hopkins, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/11/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Exceeding Low Expectations
Pros: best walk behind control, power and function of any mower I've had. Way exceeding expectations, most of which came from the Honda I had which broke after two seasons.

Cons: does not like starting below 50 degrees. Still waiting for it to start on two pulls. Sucks gas, maybe 35 minutes of mowing. Power is ok but I couldn't imagine a smaller motor, mine has stopped numerous times from long grass - one week of spring growth.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Bryan Recommends This Toro Mower
Bryan's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping and delivery was easy, great buying experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David L
Camden, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Improved Power From Previous Model, Maybe
My initial impression is this should have a little more power than the 190cc version as it should. Haven't got to test it out in higher grass yet to really test the bigger engine. I've used the previous model for a couple of years with little trouble. This mower doesn't like wet grass but other than that would hate to go back to a 21", so much time saved with this 30" deck.
Pros: Easy To Store, Fast, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Expensive, Semi heavy
David Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Christopher M
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
After 6 Cuts The Drive Transmission Is Leaking Oil
Unimpressed after initial review I wrote in April. I noticed a small puddle of oil under the mower when I moved it. Turns out the oil leak is coming from one of the axle seals for the drive transmission. It appears, based on the parts schematic, I will have to take it in to a Toro dealer to have them repair it. The transmission is $117 dollars and not a serviceable part. I suspect the packaging is marginal too, which would allow the unsupported wheels and axles to get a lot of shock loading... more
Pros: Easy To Store, Easy To Use, Fast, Features
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Packaging, Durability
Was this review helpful?
00
Kyle F
Cypress, TX
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Wait
You'd be amazed at how much time is saved going from a 21" to 30" lawn mower! Each "there-n-back" across the yard is an additional 18" cut when compared to the 21" mower. 2X there-n-back is an additional 3'! See how quickly it ads up? And this "self pace" machine literally moves itself...all I do is steer. Twin blades, 10hp, incredible mulching insert Tim Allen grunt

This new 223cc version has more than enough power to tackle any job. I'm amazed... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality, Durable
Cons: Louder than expected, No caster wheels in front
Kyle Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob S
Kansas City, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2017
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Mowers Direct Will Not Stand Behind Products They Sell
I purchased the Timemaster 30" mower from Mowers Direct on April 30th. It took a little longer than I thought to get the mower, but it eventually arrived. I unboxed the mower to find parts of the mower handle out of place and not usable. I was able to fix the handle and get everything else put together. I read the operators manual, follow all of the instructions and proceeded to pull the starter rope for the first time. After almost 300 pulls, I gave up. I contacted the Toro dealer... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Difficult to start
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Bob,
I am very sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with your mower. I understand your frustration and apologize for the inconvenience. Fortunately your machine has a 3 year warranty, so the next step would be to have your mower diagnosed by a certified repair center so they can determine the issue and fix it. Here is a tool to find the service center closest to you: Toro Service Center Locator If you need assistance locating a service center, please give us a call.

Mowers Direct does indeed stand behind the products we sell, however we do not perform service or maintenance on the equipment we sell - all of that is covered by individually by manufacturers. After taking it to a service center, if your unit is confirmed as defective, we will work with Toro to get it resolved.

Finally, due to Federal regulations, we are unable to accept returns on any machines that have been oiled and gassed. You can read our return policy in full if you have any additional questions: Mowers Direct Return Policy

Again, if you have any questions, please give us a call and we will do our best to assist. Thank you very much for your business and I hope you have a great day.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bob,
We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your Toro mower. Here are a few fixes you could try yourself that could help get your mower up and running.
•Fuel up the mower with fresh gas, gas over 30 days old can lead to starting problems.
• Loose or Disconnected Spark Plug in Your Lawn Mower: Check it out, clean off debris, re-connect and tighten.
• Fuel Not Reaching the Engine: Tap the side of the carburetor to help the flow of gas.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing within three years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free per our warranty statement. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
03
John P
King of Prussia, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/11/17
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Mower
Solid mower and cuts well even in the high spring grass here in Pennsylvania. Plenty of power in 223 cc.engine. Kind of disappointed with hose attachment clean out, it doesn't even come close to cleaning deck. Still have to scrape after each mowing by hand after each weekly mowing. Also, I purchased earlier in season and paid $999. One month and 2 weeks later the price dropped $50 and I called to see if they would extend me the same courtesy credit. Came back with a firm No. Needless to say... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive, Dealing with Mowers Direct
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
John,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I do apologize for any issues you experienced calling back after 6 weeks to get a lowered sale price. Unfortunately these sales are only applicable to mowers purchased within the time frame that the sale runs, as the manufacturer requires us to report each serial number in order to be able to provide the discount. If we could have given a discounted price we certainly would have. I hope that you will give us another try in the future as we believe our product knowledge and customer service is well worth the time. I thank you again for your business and hope to hear from you again soon. Have a great day.
more
Was this review helpful?
25
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Toro 21199 reviews.Compare our Toro 21199 ratings. Find the Toro 21199 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct