Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Snapper 7800981 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$569.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$569.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$577.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Snapper 7800981 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (10)
Durable (8)
Reliable (8)
Easy To Use (4)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Cons
Expensive (1)
Heavy (1)
No cons (1)
poor quality control (1)
90% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Keith L.
Conway, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/18/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machines
This is the second ninja I've owned. Unfortunately this one was not assembled with care in the snapper factory, I had to remove the rear height adjustment lever and repair it, not sure what the assembler was thinking. I'm lucky I was able to fix it without it needing to be shipped back. I don't blame mowers direct for this problem.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: poor quality control
Keith Recommends This Snapper Mower
Keith's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"mowers direct should be sure to let snapper know of this situation as they sell the snapper product. for the life of me I cant imagine how the assembler of that mower put it in the box in the condition it was in."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Albert L
Sparta, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/2/17
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Last Lawn Mower I Will Buy!
This is my 3rd Snapper lawn mower. My 2nd "Ninja" model. I have gotten 15 plus years out of each of them. Only replacing them because of the "ratty" appearance due to my neglect. They are the most dependable and durable mowers I have ever owned. I say this one will be my last, because at age 62, I expect this one to outlast me! It pays to buy the best! And at Mowers Direct, I received it in 3 days.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: No cons
Albert Recommends This Snapper Mower
Albert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"MowersDirect website was clear and easy to navigate. I have used them before and will continue to use them for my lawn care needs. Excellent service, great prices, and fast delivery. Cant expect anything more!"
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Albert,
Thank you so much for the kind review! I am always happy to hear when folks are satisfied with the performance of their equipment that they purchase from us. If you ever have any questions, please give us a call and we will do our best to assist. Thank you again for your business and for submitting this review. Happy mowing!
Was this review helpful?
10
Dustin J
Mineral Wells, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Machine
I just recently replaced my Snapper Ninja that held strong for over 16 years starting in college when I had my own mowing business. Me personally I don't know anybody whom has had a push mower last them over 15 years. I have used a lot of mowers and the Snapper Ninja takes the gold every time hands down. We all have our own opinions but its a fact how reliable this machine is and its high quality performance.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable
Dustin Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Ralph M.
Park City, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/22/17
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Fast Delivery
Ordered on a Wednesday and was delivered the next Friday. Really fast! Out of the box everything was perfect and easy to assemble although the self tapping screws on the handle were quite hard to start but no big deal. Put in oil and gas and mower started on first pull.
Pros: Durable, Price, Fast, High Quality
Ralph Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve W.
Smyrna, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/9/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I am well pleased with this mower. Have had Snappers in the past and have always been pleased. Easy to put together and cranked on first pull.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Steve Recommends This Snapper Mower
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had fast and great service from Mowers Direct. The mower arrived a day or two before I expected it!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron L.
Ohio, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/9/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Brand
Good mower. Have had snapper mowers for 20 some years. The only thing I have trouble with is the self propel because if you don't keep equal pressure on both back tires, the one with less is the only one that turns. (One wheelie peelie)
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Durable, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Ron Recommends This Snapper Mower
Ron's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Doesn't get any easier."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas B.
La Porte, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/23/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This is my second snapper in 45 years of mowing. My first self propelled. This mower is exactly like my first snapper as far as quality. Very easy to operate. Would only own snapper.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Thomas Recommends This Snapper Mower
Thomas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered a mower and was very pleased with the purchase. Delivery was fast. Will be buying a gas edger from them next spring for next years mowing season."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry B.
League City, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/4/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snapper Quality
As expected, this thing is built much better than big box store mowers.

Plenty of HP, and rear self-propel system is built much stronger than front-drive systems.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Durable, Features
Larry Recommends This Snapper Mower
Larry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Johnny N.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It.
This is my second Ninja. The last one lasted over 10 years. Right out of the box filled with oil and gas and started on the first pull.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Johnny Recommends This Snapper Mower
Johnny's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fastest shipping I have ever experienced."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward D.
La Grange, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Snapper Time
I have no interest in mulching, too much land for that. But ordered the Ninja anyhow based on the comments in the reviews. It is a side discharge- a gold medal winner in my opinion.

I was skeptical about the Ninja blade, but I am a believer now. It is not just for mulching. It likes to cut up grass into little pieces regardless of how it is used.

This baby climbs hills! An area by a pond is so steep that my drink fell out of the holder as I was following the mower up hill. Could not make... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Edward Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert K.
Beaumont, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/22/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I had the same experience as many have noted...easy assembly (although the screws in the handle console were a little tough) and the mower started on the first pull. The self-propel is solid.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Easy To Use, Fast
Robert Recommends This Snapper Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience buying from Mowers Direct. Mower arrived in less than a week and just as expected!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Melvin M.
Lexington, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Mower
Very happy. Mower has started on 1st or 2nd pull every time so far, plenty of power. Drive system is old school tech, it works very well (proven) and is all re-buildable, as opposed to the throw away drives on other models.
Melvin Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
100
William S.
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/14/16
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
Works as well as I thought. I have some rough hilly terrain that I mow and it performs well. I had to adjust when going side hill because of the large rear wheels the mower tends to want to tip over. The larger motor makes the mower a little top heavy. It still out performs the Honda that I had previously.
William Recommends This Snapper Mower
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent service received mower next day after I ordered. Had one problem in set up trying to start some self tapping screws. Had to use a drill to open the holes to star the screws."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Chris T.
Scranton, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/2/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine
I ordered this mower after bending the crankshaft in my old snapper. I like the simple and reliable drive system on the snappers compared to the other brands. This mower has more power than my previous mower but is pretty much the same machine. The ball bearings in the wheels are not a necessity I would have looked for in a mower, but are a very nice feature.

After using the mower, I can say it meets all of my expectations. I can and will recommend Mowers Direct. Ordered it on a Tuesday... more
Chris Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
James G.
Shelbyville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Snapper Mower Ever
put mower together,added necessary oil,gassed it,one pull started.mows excellent.best mower to own!!!
James Recommends This Snapper Mower
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"thanks"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
James R.
Humble, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/20/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
I have been using Snapper mowers since 1993 and this one is the best ever! There is no priming and it starts on first pull every time.
James Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Jerry S.
Fulton, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snapper Enthuiast
been using snapper mowers off and on for 40 years. have become partial to them.
Jerry Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
David S.
Temple, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I have been a Snapper owner for 20 years plus. My old snapper was similar to this one. Our yard is almost a half acre, and this old one lasted almost 15 years. I received the new Snapper, model #7800981 and really liked the style of it. It was easy to assemble, and started on the first pull. We have had lots of rain here in central Texas.

I was not able to try it out for almost two weeks. The grass was tall. This machine went right threw to tall grass. It is a super machine,and worth every... more
David Recommends This Snapper Mower
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered my new Snapper via internet. I was informed the next day, it was back ordered, which I was not happy about, but was glad I at least knew. Mower Direct told me a ship date, and I received it the next day. Thank You Mower Direct for keeping me informed on the status of my order. Great Customer Service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Dave
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poorly Built
I bought mine from Mowers Direct and had to wait for a back order so it could be built at the factory. The holes did not line up on the console, and I stripped threads trying to bolt it down. Got that fixed. Ground speed rod was too long. I cut it down to make it fit and it is still too long to reach. Now I think there should have been an adjustment that should have been done at the factory. I can't get any service from Snapper or Mowers Direct to help me with the problem.
Dave Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Dave,
You're welcome to give us a call anytime, and we'd be happy to assist however we can. However, if it's a manufacturing defect, like you stated, then the manufacturer should be able to repair or replace at no additional cost to you.

Give us a call if you'd like some help expediting a response from the manufacturer, and let us know if there's anything else we can do to assist you.

Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dave,
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us, and we're very sorry that you experienced these issues with your new mower. Your comments have been shared with the team so that they can be incorporated into improvements for future products.

If you'd like to contact us directly regarding your mower issues, you can do so at this link (http://www.snapper.com/us/en/support/contact-us) or by calling 1-800-317-7833.
more
Was this review helpful?
43
Kenn H.
Huntington Station, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Snapper Ninja Review
The mower is incredibly powerful. The unit is rear wheel propelled. I am used to front wheel propel. It is a little awkward on u-turns. I am disappointed that there is not a housing for the propulsion gears...looks like a piece is missing.
Kenn Does Not Recommend This Mower
Kenn's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very pleasant shopping experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
312
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Snapper 7800981 reviews.Compare our Snapper 7800981 ratings. Find the Snapper 7800981 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct