Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Power King PK0803 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$1,399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Freight$1,399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,449.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Power King PK0803 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Price (16)
Easy To Use (12)
I'd Buy It Again (8)
Exceeded Expectations (6)
Fast (6)
Cons
Heavy (5)
Bad Instructions (4)
Low Quality (2)
Packaging (2)
NO CONS (1)
95% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Bruce B
North Fork, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Great
This machine did everything I wanted, quickly and with no problems. It starts easily and runs well with more than enough power. The adjustable handle bars are great for getting the right working balance. The controls are simple to use. I timed a few of my stumps (pine and fir) with a 16" stump taking about 6 minutes of actual grinding. A 20" stump took a little over 10 minutes. My "mother of all stumps" was 45" in diameter and I took off about 14" in depth in... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Scant instructions
Bruce Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bruce,
Thank you so much for the great review, we are so glad you like your machine. We at PowerKing strive to build a quality product at a value price. Happy grinding.
Gregg - Powerking Founder.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Zachary K
Millville, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/26/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2017
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Caution: Issues
1 hour 20 minutes of use both bolts sheared off one tooth, machine shakes uncontrollably. Chippers Direct response manufacture says to tighten bolts regularly. It has 1 hour 20 minutes of use. Their is a lock nut and a lock washer on each of the two bolts hold each tooth on. It has 1 hour 20 minutes of use. I am more offended by Chippers Direct than by this product. Also the free chainsaw was not sent with this product as advertised. After two phone calls and about a week I have a Fedex... more
Cons: Low Quality
Zachary Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Zachary,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review. I do apologize for any issues you've been experiencing, however it is extremely important to go through the owner's manual to ensure everything is set up properly and tightened prior to using a new piece of equipment. I'm sorry if you felt that you were disrespected by our company as that is never our intention, we were only passing along additional instructions from the manufacturer to try and help resolve your issue. I see that we have contacted you directly through your account to send additional information regarding replacement bolts for your unit. Thank you very much for your business and I hope you have a great day.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Zachary,
A broken or missing cutter tooth will cause the machine to shake because the cutter wheel is now unbalanced. It needs all its teeth to run smooth. We sent out replacement teeth right away for you to get you up and running. Check your bolt tightness between stumps and happy grinding.
more
Was this review helpful?
53
Benjamin
Perry, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Engine Died
The engine died after only three stumps. I checked oil level (which was full). Then took to Kohler Elite dealer and engine is bad. Now Kohler will not email them back. I am very disappointed with Kohler, I have used a lot of Kohler engines this is the first one to blow up on me. Power Equipment Direct is very helpful. It has been a month and a half and I am losing faith that Kohler will stand behind their engine. I will gladly do business with Power Equipment Direct again, they are... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Engine died
Benjamin Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Benjamin,
Powerking is willing to help you with Kohler service. We use thousands of Kohler engines across our line of Powerking equipment products. Under your 3 year warranty Kohler will repair or replace at no cost to you. If the particular Kohler dealer you are dealing with does not give you the service you expect please call Powerking and we will talk to Kohler national service for you. Thank you for choosing Powerking and PED for your equipment.
Gregg - Founder of Powerking 800-344-3371
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank P.
Alford, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/25/17
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
This Is A Very Good Product
This stump grinder will take care of stumps fast. Works fine and starts easy. The handle could be longer for better balance and it would be better if you could see where cutter head is.
Pros: Features, Price, Fast, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy, handle to short, hard to tell where cutter head is
Frank Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Frank,
Glad to know your grinder is fast and easy to start. Kohler engines command pro series are top of the line engines with 3 yr warranty. I selected Kohler engines across my entire product line and happy to hear all is working well for you. Thanks for choosing Powerking at PED.
Gregg - Founder of Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jerry W.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Bad For The Money
Crate was damaged upon arrival. Luckly no damage to machine. Wires to kill switch were pinched, repaired myself, no big deal. After one stump, bolt for the brake lever knob fell off and bolt was lost. Red kill switch knob vibrated of, reinstalled no biggy. One bolt to the throttle clamp fell off. And one tooth on cutting wheel broke. At this point I was wondering what did I buy. Call Manufacturer, They understood my concerns, and shipped all the parts out right away. Kolher motor is great and... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Jerry Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jerry,
I'm happy to hear all worked out for you and Powerking provided the service you deserve. Thanks for choosing powerking at PED.
Gregg - Founder of Powerking.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas W.
Fayetteville, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/25/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
Did a fine job at chipping away at all the stumps I tackled,18-24" only took about 20-30 minutes
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Thomas Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
Great - Thank you for sharing your machine performance with us. 24" stump in 30 minutes sounds like a winner. Glad your pleased.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Timothy I.
Waverly, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/26/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Oustanding Product!
Excellent piece of equipment. Have chipped several stumps now. Estimate usage time at 20+ hours. Teeth bolts must be checked regularly.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, High Quality
Timothy Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Timothy,
SUPER - Glad you stump grinder performance is 5 star. Yes, very important to check all bolts on this type of equipment. There's allot of thump'n goin on. Thanks for the 5 stars.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dale M.
Fort Worth, TX
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
At This Price I Didn't Expect The Results That I Got
The first stump I ever tackled was 22 x 19 and 6 inches tall. I timed it and took it 8 inches deep in less than 5 minutes then moved to a lot bigger one 56 x 37.5 inches tall. I timed it as well rating it down 8 inches below ground as well. I was amazed it only took 22 minutes

I had to work at it as I was wearing out but the machine never even missed a beat. I completed 5 stumps, all in between the first two and total time on all 5 was 3 hours and 15 minutes and that included at least 45... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: When changing oil it drains directly on to the machine deck
Dale Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dale,
WOW - 2foot stump in around 5 minutes, great information. Powerking manufactures high quality value priced equipment for guys just like you. Thanks and keep on grind'n.
Gregg - Founder of Powerking
more
Dale's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything was exactly as I expected I even received the machine 3 days before the expected delivery date CHIPPERS DIRECT has surpassed my expectations throughout the purchase up to delivery. I'm very happy with the service and the product- the 14 hp Power King stump grinder will get her done. Thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Norman N.
Houma, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/17/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerking Stump Grinder
Since I don't take time to read instructions "I did crank a bit before I discovered that the kill button needed to be released to start. Once that was done, first crank and it was running. After about 10-12-14" stumps the blade would stop when pressure was applied. I thought it was the belts slipping so I took the guard off and discovered the system has a clutch drive. I let the unit cool down a bit and then went back to work taking smaller cuts. I grinded 20 stumps and still... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Quiet
Norman Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Norman,
Your very welcome and thank you for the kind comments. Powerking manufactures quality equipment at a value price. We are happy our product is doing a good job for you.
Gregg - Founder of Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael P.
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/4/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerking Stump Grinder Can Handle Abuse!!
I bought this stump grinder to take out 80+ little stumps after some land clearing. After knocking out several small stumps with ease, I tried it on two 20" stumps with impressive results, this little machine can handle even the big stumps, BUT take your time, keep the RPM's up, take your time and it will do a California Redwood!! BTW, I rent equipment for my living, you're not going to find a better deal on a 14hp class stump grinder with an American Kohler engine (research the warranty).
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: NO CONS, IT
Michael Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Holy Cow 20" Redwood - Fantastic info. Very pleased your happy with the Powerking. I selected Kohler across my whole line of equipment, the 3 year commercial warranty is awesome. Good luck with your chip'n and thanks for the great review.
Gregg - Founder of Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Travis W.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/12/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product - Terrible Delivery
Love this grinder. Easy to use and does the job. I was worried when it arrived. One axle was sticking out of the side of the shipping container and the other one was sticking out of the bottom. I went ahead and opened it up and there didn't appear to be any damage, although there were some loose pieces that could have fallen out. The assembly instructions are not good. In fact, they stink. If you are not mechanically inclined, I suggest you get someone who is to help put it together. Once... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Travis Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Travis,
We appreciate your input and glad your stump grinder is doing the job for you. We are updating our manuals and assembly instructions for a better experience. The grinder now comes completely assembled except for 2 wheels and the handle. The engine, drive, cutter wheel and teeth, belts, are all pre assembled at the factory. Thanks so much, keep on chip'n.
Gregg - Founder of Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gregg D.
Merrill, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/30/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
100% Satisfied
My stump grinder arrived mostly assembled and in good condition, so getting it up and running took about an hour. I didn't find directions on how to attach the brake but figured it out. So far, I have ground 5 stumps from 16-29 inches, the big one was pine and took just over 30 minutes. I had read a review about the chips hitting you but did not find that to be a problem, always wear protection for your eyes, ears, long pants sturdy shoes/boots. I'm 65 years old, so to make the grinding easy I... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions
Gregg Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gregg,
I enjoyed reading your review and was very impressed. A 29 inch pine is 30 minutes, WOW. It was interesting to also note your safety setup and planning. We are so happy your Powerking is working out for you and you took the time to share. DO YOUR THING WITH POWERKING.
Gregg - Founder of Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
00
William G.
Coraopolis, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product For The Price
This stump grinder is excellent for a home owner or small tree business. The overall quality was actually quite decent for being Chinese made. It came pacakaged in a wooden crate and was easy to assemble, included everything except engine oil and gasoline of course. The 14 h.p. Kohler engine is easy to start, runs smooth, is not overwhelmingly loud and has excellent power for this size of machine.

The only thing that wasn't so great is the quality of the kill switches. They appear to be... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
William Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thank you so much for your valuable input, I'm glad your grinder is working hard for you. I like your wiring suggestions and will consider on future models. We value customers input at Powerking and welcome customers to call us anytime. 800-344-3371
Happy Grinding
Gregg - Founder Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt
Duluth, MN
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Overall Good Machine
I purchased mine a few weeks ago. Grinds stumps really fast, good price, a little heavy so a little harder to grind on areas that aren't flat. I'm happy with the machine and the price I would recommend it. Only thing that I have had and issue with is the screw holding the knob on the brake handle fell off. I also purchased and extra set of teeth for it. Better to have them on hand if you break one but yet to have one break. I have ran it for an hour and a half and about 15-20 stumps done and... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Matt Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Matt,
It was so good to know you took out 20 stumps in 1 1/2 hours. You win the stump terminator award. Sorry your handle screw came loose, call us at 800-344-3371 we have all the parts you need and happy to help. Check your equipment often for loose bolts as this machine does pulverize stumps.
Gregg - Founder Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John P.
Salem, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Home Owners Stump Grinder
Loved the packaging. Hated the instructions but at least they weren't written in Chinglish. The illustrations left some parts out of the diagram. The wheel brake needs to be adjustable from the handle rather than the backing plate and the controls need to be better thought out for routing.

The reviews on home owner grinders all talked about how long it took to grind stumps. I don't have large ones, just small (9) and they were ground out in nothing flat, most less that 5 minutes. My one... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Fast, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
John Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
WOW only 5 minutes on your stumps, that's great, glad you like the Powerking. The brake cable is adjustable from both ends. At the drum and at the handle. The brake is designed to hold one wheel while grinding side to side while the other wheel is always free rolling.
Gregg - Founder Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Shawn P.
Kenosha, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Great Bang For The Buck
It does as advertised. Fair warning double check all nuts and bolts before using. My zurk fittings were loose and no grease in bearings. Otherwise very pleased with purchase.
Pros: Price
Cons: Not for hilly terrain
Shawn Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Shawn,
Good point you made, a check to tighten all bolts on this type of equipment before each use is correct process. Glad you grinder is doing the job for you.
Gregg - Founder of Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James D
Travelers Rest, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/10/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Top Quality Purchase At A Reasonable Cost
After purchasing the 14HP Kohler Stump Grinder, it was shipped and arrived on schedule, it was packed perfectly - no damage. The grinder was easy to assemble, easy to start and ran great. I used it to remove 14 stumps and it operated flawlessly. It was easy to control and all chips pretty much accumulated in a single area. One of the best purchases I ever made.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
James Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thank you for choosing Powerking and glad the stump grinder performance meets your expectations. Our company QVtools, does stand for Quality Value Tools. Thank you so much and happy chipping.
Gregg - Founder of Powerking
www.QVtools.com
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Melissa R
Brazil, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/31/17
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great But...
Great little stump grinder. However when I ordered I asked about replacement blades. I was told they run $39.99 for the set and could order from power king. 2nd time using it the blade wheel shattered. Cost of new blades $169 per set. More accurate info would have been appreciated.
Pros: Price, Features, Easy To Use
Melissa Recommends This Power King Product
Dale, the Chipper Expert
Product Expert
Melissa,
I do apologize for any inaccurate information that you received. If you have any additional questions I am confident we will be able to help. Thank you for your business and I hope to deal with you again in the future.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Melissa,
Great, glad your grinder is working hard for you. To help other customers with Powerking grinder teeth replacement we now have these online for purchase at PED. These are cast teeth with carbide plates with dual bolt mounts included.
Best Regards, Gregg, Founder Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
06
Pete M.
Prescott, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/28/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power King Stump Grinder Review
I would have to say this is a great grinder for the money however the exhaust is pointing towards you and will pollute you out fast, the motor is very well made and the frame is good the guards underneath to keep you protected from flying wood chips is horrible, wear a face mask, overall for the price you can't beat it we're just going to have to take a little extra beating.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy
Pete Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Pete,
Hi Pete
This is Gregg, Founder of Powerking. We are so glad your stump grinder is working great for you. Kohler engine exhaust port has a right angle shield to direct the exhaust to the side. Kohler is now manufacturing side exhaust ports for Powerking future production. We are sending you a shield to add to your engine. It assembles quickly with 2 screws. Thank you for your suggestion to improve quality. Happy Grinding!
more
Pete's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Works great for the money."
 more
Was this review helpful?
136
Jerry S.
Bluefield, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/29/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I'm really happy with this machine. Will definitely spread the word to friends. Had a small issue and didn't hesitate to resolve it fast. Thanks for a great product.
Jerry Recommends This Power King Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jerry,
Hi Jerry - Glad to hear that Powerking customer service acted fast to help you with your machine. I believe you and I also spoke on the phone and had a very nice conversation. I really enjoy talking to our customers and getting your feedback. Thank you for choosing Powerking and PED for your equipment needs.
Gregg
Founder Powerking
more
Was this review helpful?
92
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Power King PK0803 reviews.Compare our Power King PK0803 ratings. Find the Power King PK0803 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct