Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Mantis 7920 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$299.99
 
In-Stock /
$299.99Visit Site
 
$309.99Visit Site
 
$299.99Visit Site
 
$299.99Visit Site
Mantis 7920 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Light Weight (11)
Easy To Use (9)
Easy To Store (6)
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Reliable (2)
Cons
Unreliable (2)
Difficult To Use (2)
Low Quality (1)
None (1)
Expensive (1)
85% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
26 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Henry M
Lafayette, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product And Customer Service
Great little tiller! We wanted light, portable tiller we could move easily in the car. Perfect. It works a stated, easy to start,it my time down for soil prep, weeding, general garden upkeep. We have a plot in a small community garden and we have the best looking garden and plants. Tiller has fully met our expectations. We did add the kick stand which makes it easier to store and for starting.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: none so far.
Henry Recommends This Mantis Product
Henry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great customer service. Fast and friendly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Helmut H.
Cold Spring, NY
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
What For A Junk. Don't Buy It.
That is my second Mantis. Looked up the reviews and I was thinking oh it must be a good machine. Had problems with the first one and was thinking it is my problems and I do not know ho to star it. Have the same problems with the second one. I could have tilted the garden with a shovel and would be finished in half the time as to start the Mantis. You burned my money twice.Never again.
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Expensive
Helmut Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
34
James B
Denmark, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built Tiller
PROS 1.easy starting
2. easey to handle
3. light weight
4. plenty of power
5. works the soil really well

CONS 1. the choke is hard to grasp and pull out.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: choke knob is hard to grasp
James Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
33
Eric M
Chesnee, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tiller And Easy To Use
Bought new house with neglected, weed filled beds. Tiller was great for clearing them quickly and breaking up hard compacted soil. Started quickly and powered through it well. Easy to remove tines to clear debris. Would recommend
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Durable
Eric Recommends This Mantis Product
Eric's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick delivery"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward H
Lynn, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Thing Is Awesome
The Mantis was very easy to put together, it only took about 10 min. I put gas in it followed the start up instructions pulled the cord 5 times and it fired right up. After letting it warm up for a few minutes I took it into my garden. The ground was rock hard and it broke right through. Very easy to control, after a few minutes of use I got used to how it worked and did my whole 220 sq. foot garden in about an hour and half. This machine is wonderful. I just wish I didn't wait so long to get... more
Pros: Light Weight, Fast, High Quality, Easy To Store
Edward Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen F.
Drayden, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/1/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Excellent, Should Have Bought One Years Ago
Easy to start and use.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Stephen Recommends This Mantis Product
Stephen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping and great price, after a Big Box retailer wouldn't give me the time of the day, I came home, ordered from Tillers Direct, received it in two days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jon R.
Fresno, CA
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine!
I am a landscape contractor and I love this machine. I have had 5 of them now. I had a client that had one and I was impressed with what I saw. I decided to purchase 2 of them to give to my maintenance crews, for preparing planting beds when changing seasonal color. I soon purchased 2 more Mantis tillers for my installation crews.

We use them in areas that a larger tiller will not fit. We use them to back-fill trenches and behind retaining walls. I like to use them as a power rake when... more
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: None
Jon Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Lucy R.
Gilbertsville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/23/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Our Tiller Is Doing A Great Job
Tiller is very effective in ridding our garden of weeds.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Lucy Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Eric E.
Plymouth, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Shoulda Had One Years Ago!
I think it would grind up concrete!
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Eric Recommends This Mantis Product
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Eric,
Please remember, tillers are to be used on soil surfaces. They should never be used on hard surfaces such as concrete.
more
Eric's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My cousin had to borrow it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Elton C.
Tuscumbia, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/15/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
I Cannot Get The Tiller To Idle
I have one that is about 12 years old and I have never had a problem with it. This one has never run right.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Elton Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Elton,
Please take a look at "WHAT TO DO IF YOUR ENGINE RUNS “ROUGH” CARBURETOR ADJUSTMENT" in the Owner's Manual
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Karen K.
Monroe Twp, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/19/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Pleased
I am enjoying my new tiny tiller. Its powerful for its small size and fits nicely between the rows. The throttle has a tendency to stick when released allowing the tiller to buck out of control but in general it is a nice machine for its small size.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Store, Fast
Cons: Difficult To Use
Karen Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Richard M
Bordentown, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mantis 7920 Works Well
I bought this to replace a Ryobi I had. I wanted one with the engine on top of the tines. I have to say that makes a big difference as I was expecting it would. I don't have any issues starting it. Starts around 3 or 4 pulls. I think it works great, I till a garden around 10 by 20.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Richard Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Dale C.
Little Rock, AR
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Waste Your Money On This Tiller!
Purchased the 2 cycle fast start model last year and have experienced nothing but trouble. I spend more time trying to get it started than I would hand digging my garden. In my opinion the carburetors used on these tillers are a piece of junk. Take my advice and buy another brand.
Dale Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
13
Larry H.
Mt. Gilead, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/15/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Initially Looking For A Bolens Killer Tiller
Bought the Mantis. It does a great job. Does everything it was advertised to do. Runs great, nice machine.
Larry Recommends This Mantis Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Larry,
Thank you for the positive review, just remember bad fuel is a small engines worst enemy. Avoid ethanol especially when storing it. I recommend more
Was this review helpful?
184
Rex C.
Brenham, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Light-weight Tiller
I have black clay soil, sometimes called ''gumbo''. Works great for breaking up the clods and weeding the middles in the garden. Takes a little more time where the middles have been compacted by the tractor tires but does get out the grass.
Rex Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ted S.
Frackville, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/10/16
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Machine
Had one for 42 yrs and replaced it finally this year
Ted Recommends This Mantis Product
Ted's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"no problems"
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Terry
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/18/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
I am able to do my entire garden and not hurt or damage my wrist. Love it.
Terry Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ed
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mantis #2
This is my second mantis, the first one was used hard and after 15 years finally said it was time to retire.
Ed Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Willis B.
Grand Forks, ND
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Second Mantis Tiller
This is a replacement for my first Mantis tiller which we have used for many, many years. Very good product.
Willis Recommends This Mantis Product
Willis's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problems. New tiller came in a couple of days. Great service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Anthony I.
Rome, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I have used other tillers before this little mantis,but that litter mantis is one great tiller!!! It is a joy to till with,very very e-z to use and it does a great job without much effort. Bottom line, it is a GREAT tiller.
Anthony Recommends This Mantis Product
Anthony's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great tiller."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Taryn S.
Lecompton, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/7/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love Our Mantis
Used our new tiller right away & she worked like a charm. Planted some bushes & tilled up a new spot for cantalope & tomatoes. It's nice to trust in a name. Mantis has been around a long time.
Taryn Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward K.
Acme, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Get The Mantis You Wished You Had
I have always coveted my neighbor's Mantis, He was more than glad to lend it to me for my three 6 x 12 raised bed planters beside my home in suburban Denver.

I retired and made the decision to move back to the country and have the garden we tended when we lived in Vermont. NW Washington was our choice. On our one and a half acres we have 13 raised beds. The days of Mantis envy were gone.

Read about Tillers Direct on the internet. Made the call and made my day. Five days later...... more
Edward Recommends This Mantis Product
Edward's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"See my review."
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
James L.
Blue Ridge, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Trouble In Paradise
This is my second Mantis. I've had the first one 15 years with no problems and never in the shop. I received this one faster than I had expected. After assembling and following the instructions for starting I was disappointed that I couldn't get it to start. I followed the instructions again making sure that I did each step right. Still would not start.

Since this was a new, in the box, tiller I didn't think it necessary to remove the spark plug and go through all the steps of... more
James Recommends This Mantis Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Frustrating."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Richard B.
New Egypt, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For Small Gardens
I bought the Mantis to replace a 4stroke Troy-bilt tiller that I have used the past 6 years. The 2 stroke is so much easier to start than my old tiller and fires right up on the second pull. What I love the most about this tiller is the lighter weight and the pistol grip handles, which is way more comfortable, and easier to maneuver than the bar/lever design of the Troy-bilt.

My only complaint after preparing our vegetable gardens is that the tines need to be cleaned more often than my old... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Richard Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert D.
Pine Bush, NY
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does It All!!
I have had 3 of these, exes got first 2. It breaks ground, and loosens ground in spring, with ease. Easy to start and run. It's a little bouncy on sticks and large rocks. This is the only machine for me. I recommend it highly!!
Robert Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
11
David G.
New Cumberland, PA
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk
Exhausting to start from the first time I used it. overpriced aggravation. Check out you tube they are nothing but trouble. I bought a new carb to get it to star since I had so much money in it with new fuel and spark plug. Still does not start. after one hour use. do not get suckered in like many others.
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Mantis 7920 reviews.Compare our Mantis 7920 ratings. Find the Mantis 7920 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct