Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Kohler 20RESCL-200SELS Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Kohler 20RESCL-200SELS Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (11)
I'd Buy It Again (9)
Reliable (9)
Price (5)
Quiet (4)
Cons
None (3)
Bad Instructions (2)
Heavy (2)
Recommended Installers (1)
Oncue is pricy software (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
13 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike, the Generator Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10837 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

Kohler is a well recognized brand and most people associate it with high quality bathroom fixtures. Kohler was actually one of the first manufacturers of standby power generators. They built their first generator in 1920. What's cool about that? That means they have been building and perfecting generators for over 90 years.

This 20kW standby generator is no exception. Let's start with the Kohler engine manufactured right in the heart of America ,Kohler, WI. This engine has hydraulic... more
Mike Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
452193
Joseph A.
Lincroft, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/7/17
Total Helpful Votes
24 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Why Would You Buy Anything Eelse (kohler Is A Gem)
True American made gem, my first Kohler was purchased back in 2002 and never failed in giving my family a peace of mind and Sandy proved it. 15 days it ran giving us clean power. So when we moved to our new home, a month ago I purchased a 20k

it been 6 days since it was installed and we lost power, and within 8 seconds we where watching tv, washing clothes, and all the things we would have done if power did not go off. I would recommend Kohler to all that will be purchasing a generator, the... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: None
Joseph Recommends This Kohler Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Joseph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This was my second experience with Electric Generators Direct, and I have to say it was great. They are there from asking questions, making the purchase, and delivery. I recommend them, with total confidence that they will treat my family and friends correctly. And this is my second Kohler generator, and the only reason I purchased thus unit is a moved to a new home. Why would you purchase that other brand, thus is a truly a American made gem."
 more
Was this review helpful?
247
Steve V.
Kingman, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/6/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Have Installed 19 Generators From Electric Generators Direct
Always competitive prices, always knowledgeable staff, always as promised. Have installed a few Generacs, but prefer Kohler.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet
Steve Recommends This Kohler Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Andrew Z.
Chester County, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/17
Total Helpful Votes
34 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product At A Fair Price
Wanted to buy American so I bought a Kohler whole house generator, works well .
Pros: Price, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Andrew Recommends This Kohler Product
Andrew's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Products ship quick, good job!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
3414
Robin L.
Malabar, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Performer
Im installing the unit now so its a bit early to review but I will update later after some run time. I selected this unit based on Consumer Reports testing, the reputation of Kohler generators from commercial installers, and my own personal experience with Kohler engines.

CR rated this particular model with its highest score and at the right price point its a no brainer. I was further attracted by the fact that self install and DIY maintenance didnt void my 5 year warranty from Kohler. more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Features, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Oncue is pricy software
Robin Recommends This Kohler Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Robin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Piece of cake to order and ship, I like the 2% savings for check feature. I was sorry I missed it until after I ordered."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Mark S.
Humble, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/5/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Much Better Than The Other Manufacturers
When comparing the Kohler to its Generac counterpart, the first obvious difference is in the quality. When comparing the information between the two, there were several factors that made my decision simple. First, the overall weight between the two. The Kohler is significantly heavier which lead me to researching information on the generator head and engine materials. While both are copper wound heads, the weight of the engine block is the difference. Both blocks are of the same materials, but... more
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: None
Mark Recommends This Kohler Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Mark's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Super easy and fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Jeffrey B.
Fort Myers, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/18/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Absolutely Great Purchase!
Kohler really is a step above the rest. High quality construction and a durable case makes the unit better than the competition. Engine fires right up just as expected from a Kohler motor. Very pleased and prepared. Special thanks to Electric Generators Direct for a great buying experience and top notch service.
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Jeffrey Recommends This Kohler Product
Jeffrey's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Staff answered every question, very professional and polite."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Keith M.
Wheeling, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Cadillac Of Generators
Top of the line.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Durable, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
Keith Recommends This Kohler Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Was this review helpful?
51
Bruce S.
Summerville, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/10/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Kohler 20 Rescl-200sels 20kw Generator
The generator was some what easy to install, but I am a retired electrical contractor. I would not recommend this install for your normal DIY person. The product is excellent and well made, The lapse time from normal power to emergency power is approx. 7 seconds. I am well satisfied with the product. The directions both operational and install could use a rewrite. The directions would be my only complaint.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Price, Fast
Cons: Bad Instructions
Bruce Recommends This Kohler Product
Bruce's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The retailer Electric Generators Direct has friendly customer service, and shipping was right on time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Michael
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy And Value For The Size
This was very simple to install and wire in with only two twisted pair as controls and a single 110 volt hookup for the charger. Need an electrician to assure main buss installed properly but worth the costs and trouble to get it in. Had another smaller Kohler that was out of sight and mind till really needed and was always there.

Good product and Electric Generators Direct shipped immediately.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, Quiet
Cons: Heavy
Michael Recommends This Kohler Product
Was this review helpful?
30
James D.
Deland, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Standby Generator
The Koehler Generator is excellent. My only complaint so far is the Generator Set Controller. My unit has the DC2 Controller which appears to be a lesser model than the previously provided RDC2 that included LED displays for line and load power system status. The controller setup is difficult to impossible. Efforts to set the date and time have been unsuccessful to date. Setting the exercising routine is limited to running once weekly 7 days from the initial start. I wanted to set it up... more
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Quiet
Cons: Bad Instructions, Recommended Installers
James Recommends This Kohler Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"We recommended Generators Direct to our neighbor and he bought a similar Generac Standby Generator."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Dwight E.
Robstown, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Kohler Generator Is Excellent
It arrived on schedule with no damage. The set up was easy for the electrician. The transfer switch did not have "Load Sharing" as I was led to believe by the advertising which was a disappointment. I am very pleased with this unit and I recommend it to others.
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Price
Cons: None
Dwight Recommends This Kohler Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Dwight,
This switch should have the "Load Management" built into the switch. Your electrician may have not been familiar with the installation if he's never installed a Kohler generator before. If you think you have gotten the wrong product, please give us a call @ 1 (800) 800-3317.
more
Dwight's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good overall experience with EGD..."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Kenneth C.
Spokane, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/19/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy With My Purchase
I read the reviews on this generator and that of Generac and selected the Kohler because two friends selected Kohler generators. My thought process was that they could help in the event I was experiencing problems with my generator. I selected a 20Kw after using the on-line usage calculator showing I needed a 20Kw. I had a Kohler representative come out to do the initial start up. He is also a representative for other generator bands. He said he only has to service Kohler generators while he... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Kenneth Recommends This Kohler Product
Kenneth's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Purchased my generator on line at Elect.Generators Direct based on the recommendation of two friends. Process was easy and shipping was great. Because I live in Washington where it snows, I also purchased the carborator heater. My only complaint with the ordering process is that the person taking my order did not recommend items others purchased with their order as is often seen on other web sites. For example, the description of my generator indicated it included the mounting pad. Turns out it was built in the body of the generator when what I wanted was the 3" concrete mounting pad. Had to place a second order for that. Upon seeing that I was ordering the carb heater, should have offered the battery heater which I purchased later on a third order."
 more
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Kenneth,
We do list accessories for the generator right on the product page for that model.
Was this review helpful?
418
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Kohler 20RESCL-200SELS reviews.Compare our Kohler 20RESCL-200SELS ratings. Find the Kohler 20RESCL-200SELS Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct