Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 961 73 00-06 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$339.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$339.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Husqvarna 961 73 00-06 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (12)
Price (6)
Light Weight (6)
Reliable (5)
High Quality (4)
Cons
Durability (4)
Low Quality (4)
Unreliable (1)
Heavy (1)
Could use larger inflata... (1)
86% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
35 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1936 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Husqvarna HU625HWT is designed to handle large areas of tall grass and thick weeds that would scare off ordinary lawn mowers or hand held string trimmers.

Powered by a hearty Briggs & Stratton engine, this string trimmer on wheels drives a powerful punch to areas of the lawn too large for a hand-held trimmer and too tight for a mower. With a cutting width of 22 inches, large trim jobs get done in less time.

The trim height adjusts easily from 1.6 to 3 inches and replacing the... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
18158
Carmen H
New Braunfels, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/1/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Work Horse That Does The Job Quickly
This walk behind trimmer starts on first pull with minimal effort, easily cuts through wild tall grass and weeds with the larger motor size. The larger wheels do come in handy. Cutting on smoother surfaces works well with the large wheels and requires moderate energy. I do not recommend it be used in rocky areas which I tried but will not do again. The wheels continued to lock up with the stones and it took a lot of effort to move the trimmer along with going through 3 sets of trimmer line... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Features, High Quality
Cons: Requires effort to push, Uses Line quickly in stoney areas
Carmen Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Mark H.
St Stephens, WY
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Don't Buy This
Biggest disappointment ever. Have many other Husqvarna tools and love them. On + it does start first pull nearly every time. On the - with less then 20 hours of service it is falling apart. Plastic shields didn't last 3 hours, at about 17 hours trim head fell apart. One start to check it out and then the trim head engaging system failed. Had a Southland field trimmer that lasted nearly 3 years of HARD use. Try another brand this is not what you want if you have real weeds or grass over... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Durability, Expensive, Not built to last
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
Husqvarna provides a 2-Year Warranty on this trimmer. For technical support, they can be reached directly @ 800-487-5951
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jim M.
Oakland, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It's Ok
Not for heavy duty use. Works great for regular grass trimming of lawns ,, but for tall weeds it will work, but you need to go slow a little at a time. Don't think that you can just plow through tall over grown grass. The grass will get wrapped up around the Mower Ball Assy and it can bog it down. = Wasted time clearing the grass off. Needs bigger tires = Hard to push in thick grass. Starts on first pull. Good but engine seems a little under powered. You will work up a sweat while using... more
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Quiet, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Jim Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Carol W.
Manning, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/11/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Trimmer
This is a good trimmer and works well. It is better than other brands and is a fair price.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Carol Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Diane N
Crestwood, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product
Very difficult to start out of the box, took 2 days. Once it started it's been a dream not having to hand hold a trimmer. Only thing that would make it better would be if it was self-propelled.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Diane Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Arturo M
Safford, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Trimmer
Lots of power, 1st pull start but I wish it had a low power setting also. But so far it works great.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: only 1 power setting
Arturo Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Charles S
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Beast
Started with one pull right out of the box, it is a real beast. It cuts grass like it's not there and mows light brush easily as well. Exceeded my expectations
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast
Charles Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert C.
San Jose, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/8/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
O.k. For Very Flat And Smooth Terrain
I would not recommend this trimmer if you have any type of rough terrain or hills. The balance of the unit makes it very hard to keep you from plowing into the ground and the handlebar is very narrow.
Pros: Price
Cons: Difficult To Use
Was this review helpful?
10
Greg M.
San Mateo, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Unit Failed Within 15 Minutes Of Starting
I have owned a number of units from this manufacturer and have never had a problem. This unit failed within 15 minutes of starting the engine. Took it to the warranty center. They said the values came lose causing the no starts.
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Greg,
Thank you for providing feedback on your trimmer. We apologize for the trouble you experienced. We will pass this review on to our Husqvarna rep.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven B.
Spring Branch, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/4/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product But Impossible To Find Parts
The motor starts first time every time. It does a really good job on weeds, even big ones and seldom wraps them around the unit.The one problem I have is that my lot is very rocky.A few months after using the unit a lot, the bushing which connects to the shaft broke off. I have tried multiple online sites to locate a replacement, but no luck. If you have some guidance on where I can get a replacement, please let me know.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Cons: Durability, Heavy
Steven Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Steven,
I'd suggest contacting Husqvarna directly @ 800-487-5951, to find a local dealer in your area for parts.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Peter S.
Stevenson, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/17
Total Reviews
14 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding
I'm sure this machine can cut down tall weeds with ease. But I bought it to use as a mower to cut the grass in areas that are hard to get into with a mower, like tight spaces and areas with obstacles like trees, flower beds, vegetable garden, and along fences and edges. And it does a fine job cutting, and it's light enough to manipulate with one hand.

So I don't have to yank a heavy lawn mower around obstacles. Instead, I use this walk-behind trimmer which is very light weight compared to a... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast, Reliable
Peter Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen H.
Caliente, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This A Good Product!
I liked the product however I was a little disappointed in how easily it got clogged at the roller. It made it hard to change the height and had to be cleaned often. I did however like the length it went on a single tank of gas and the tines lasted a long time. Overall I do like the unit.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Price, Quiet
Stephen Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ceantanni P.
Montesano, WA
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product And Better Customer Service
Had to work on a purchase order, this company worked with us mostly problem free. The product was delivered ahead of time in new condition and was as described. It works quite well considering I'm using it to cut hay on 67 acres.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Could use larger inflatable tires and needs to be self propelled.
Ceantanni Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis R.
Exeter, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Weedeater
Great price awesome product. 5 stars
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Dennis Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Jenny K
Oregon House, CA
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer For Large Area With Rocks
I've never had a trimmer before. With my first one I have a 10 acre property and I need to care for. With many rocks and different types of grades and this trimmer has taken care of all of it. My only complaint is the plastic retainer that's round appears to be made out of plastic and should be stronger for when you hit rocks. What you want to try not to do is cost $50 to replace that part but other than that it starts great and was easy. Down pack didn't have to do much, no assembly at all, so... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Jenny Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Carol L.
Conway, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/17
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Weedeater Push Type
It started on the first pull. This operates well and is very easy to push.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Carol Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Capt. Roz Whisnant
Lincolnton, GA
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Parts Required
I have had one of these that I bought 3 years ago to edge around pond and other tough areas. Granted for the first year it was all one could ask for but then the lower ball bearings wore out needing replacement. Over a period of the three years I had to replace lower ball devices 4 times.

Eventually the motor itself just gave out and I had to replace the motor. Each year I changed oil and kept unit cleaned. Eventually I had to just replace motor. I have several Husky items from chain saw,... more
Capt. Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
172
Rick
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Strings Break Easily, Very Disappointing
Good for grass but the moment you hit anything else the lines break. I went through 4 strings in 15 minutes. Directions say to go slow, but how slow is slow? I can do more work with my hand held trimmer faster and half the cost. I guess it would be ok for around the house, but not in a barn yard.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Dale, the String Trimmer Expert
Product Expert
Rick,
I am sorry to hear you are disappointed in the performance of the Husqvarna walk behind string trimmer. Unfortunately, with the use of strings, often the capabilities of the unit are restricted to more of your standard homeowner lawns. In thicker brush or weeds, the unit will go through string more often as you have experienced. For barn yard grass and lawn, it is often recommended to look into something such as a brush cutter.

I appreciate the time you took to write this review and apologize for your dissatisfaction. I hope you have a great day.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Rick,
Rick, what else besides grass are you trying to trim with this? Are they a woody stem or just heavy weeds? I'm sorry to hear you are not pleased with the product.
more
Was this review helpful?
70
C. B.
Greensboro, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Walk Behind
This has to be one of the most amazing pieces of optimal yard equipment made.

I would recommend this to anyone that would need a trimmer, but has difficulty carrying one. This equipment outperforms the standard trimmer and doubles as a mower where needed.
C. Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
104
Donald F.
Pahrump, NV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/10/16
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerfull And Starts With 1/2 Pull Everytime
I read all reviews and agree with all the good comments!
Donald Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Glenn M.
Natalia, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/4/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Push Wacker
Had my first one stolen. Immediately purchased the 2nd one. Unit is well balanced and easy to use. It's light enough that one person can load it in a truck. It's priced right. Best bang for the buck.
Glenn Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Jim H.
Cedaredge, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/4/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Husqvarna
It works great - I LOVE IT
Jim Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Jim's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Got it on time"
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Michael B.
Cave Junction, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/24/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
This is my first Husqvarna trimmer, its a great product, the best I've ever used.

Purchase was quick and smooth, great company to due business with.
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Beata B.
Stuart, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
it's really great, powerful piece of equipment. BE CAREFUL, I damaged PVC fence post, it literally made a hole in it.
Beata Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Buck B.
Silver City, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/23/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
5 Star Rating Is True
I have just purchased a home with a large lot, and was in the market for a walk behind. I was reading reviews for different brands and this Husqvarna had many 4 1/2 to 5 star reviews. I decided to purchase this model and from the moment I opened the box (READY TO GO) I was in LOVE with it!!! Very easy to use and starts right up. I an VERY PLEASED and I gladly give it a FULL 5 stars!!!!!
Buck Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Buck's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"5 stars all around. So easy to order and it shipped super fast. The quality of the product and service can not be beat."
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
Chester S.
Liberty Hill, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
I have used this trimmer several times and had no problems whatsoever. I have grass in the backyard about three feet high and it glides through it with ease. About every 15 minutes you have to unwrap the grass off the shaft if you go too fast. Other than that I have no complaints. It always starts on the first pull. I would like to see Husqvarna make one that is self propelled though. The unit is light enough to push but after weed whacking for an hour it would help if it pulled itself... more
Chester Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert W.
Allentown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
None
none
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I am extremely pleased with how easy it is to start, it took a bit of time to learn how to control it, but now after a week of use, I'm almost a Pro. Great product, Great company!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
William C.
Rockford, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Stuf
First of all i am a Husqvarna junkie. i have a husk back pack blower a chain saw and a push string trimmer they are fine tools of the trade love them all thank you.
William Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 961 73 00-06 reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 961 73 00-06 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 961 73 00-06 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct