Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Honda EG2800IA Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Honda EG2800I Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (20)
Easy To Use (17)
High Quality (17)
Light Weight (14)
I'd Buy It Again (9)
Cons
None (10)
No hour meter (5)
no hour meter (1)
Only 110 v (1)
Many decibels less and w... (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
27 Reviews  Sort by 
 
James P.
Daytona Beach, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/15/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best In Class
Perfect emergency back up power.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: No hour meter
James Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Clark P.
Portland, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/25/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy!
This Honda EG2800i generator is everything that I expected from Honda. I have only ran it about 7 hours so far, but that is enough to know that this was the one for me. Besides the great price point for Honda generators it has so far lived up to the legendary one pull - start that is a joy particularly if you have experienced any of the other motors out there that almost refuse to start.

Usage has so far been with 14.5 amp electric chain saw, 15 amp motor on dust collector system, 1500 watt... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Price
Cons: No hour meter
Clark Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Osvaldo O.
El Cajon, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/14/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!
For the price and the brand with all his reputation, this generator its excellent and works very well and stable. Because the Hurricane Maria strikes PR, I use it daily for 5 to 8 hours and never failed.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Osvaldo Recommends This Honda Product
Osvaldo's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It's very easy to do business with and they are very responsible."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Fernando N.
Ocoee, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/14/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product At A Great Price
I sent item to my family back home and they love it. Thank you PED for the quick shipping and a great price. Very happy with it.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Fernando Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tarek M.
Round Lake, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/14/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Was send to My family in Puerto Rico. Great product. Original shipping to Chicago was fast. Then I ship it to PR.
Pros: High Quality, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store
Cons: None
Tarek Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ricardo A.
Pembroke Pines, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/12/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Aquisition
The equipmeny is beautiful, bit being better if the noise are less decibels.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Many decibels less and was to be awesone.
Ricardo Recommends This Honda Product
Ricardo's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was beautiful and keep me informed about the delivery status"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim K.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/17
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Not As Loud As I Thought It Might Be
Was thinking of getting the EU2000 but when I saw thisand the extra power for same price, it was a no brainer! I like that the tank is larger and we can run our Air all night and not have to get up and re-fuel. Slightly heavier but nice solid frame rail to grab and I found very easy to deal with.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Price, High Quality
Tim Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
130
Barry D.
Ormond Beach, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/25/17
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
Was concerned about shipping such an item, however it arrived in perfect condition and on time. Honda fired up on first pull. Had to ad an hour meter and noted that plug replacement may be a bit difficult when the time comes.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Barry Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Walter B.
Clear Brook, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Start And It Works Well!
We use this generator for outdoor activities and work and it has worked well. When I remember to turn on the fuel line, it starts with one pull. So far it has not even raced to provide sufficient power for all the uses we have had: power saw, power pruner/trimmer power lights and AV equipment. It runs quietly and is efficient on its use of gas. Honda has done it again in keeping with their fine engineering and product design. At 67 pounds, it is easy enough to lift, but be sure to use your... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, High Quality
Walter Recommends This Honda Product
Walter's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Prompt delivery and exactly as advertised. I did not need support, but expect that will be excellent, if ever needed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Richard M.
Monterey, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality
This is perfect for short term home backup. Don't waste your money on a whole house backup. I have needed a generator only two times in 15 yrs. This is the right choice.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Richard Recommends This Honda Product
Richard's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problems whatsoever. Quick delivery. I chose the wrong generator at first and they quickly canceled the order and sent me the one I intended to buy"
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
James P.
Daytona Beach, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/15/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Grandma Can Start It !!!
WOW this EG2800i is VERY easy to pull start. I was worried about this unit not having electric start or even if my wife could start it,... but my worries were put to ease after the very first pull. Much easier than starting a lawn mower.

Perfect match for our emergency power needs plus the fact its clean power for our tv's and computers and great price point!
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Price
Cons: No hour meter
James Recommends This Honda Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Price point, great reputation, in stock merchandise, what else would a consumer want? Website is very well organized. Shipping was efficient and uneventful (as it should be). I will be needing a lawn mower soon and I'm shopping PED first!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas B.
Naples, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product, Great Company Power Equipment Direct
Great generator got me thru two weeks with no power after hurricane Irma. Great on gas I ran the fridge and fans and 2 lights no problem. I will wire to the fuse box in the future extension cords are a pain. Power Equipment Direct was great to deal with no hassles no problem. Great delivery just a great overall experience with them and Honda a real pleasure. Thanks
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Thomas Recommends This Honda Product
Thomas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Power equipment direct was fantastic. A pleasure doing business I will use them again when I need power equipment Thanks Power Equipment Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeffrey P.
Lehigh Acres, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Generatora
Great unit! Quiet and very fuel efficient. Was able to run 2 big screen tvs, cable receivers, surround sound, 2 fans, a refrigerator, and a deep freezer. Even played the PS4 a little on a 3rd tv. All on 4 gallons of gas every 24 hours. Used it during the outage in Florida after hurricane Irma. I thought I was going to overload it but it just kept taking whatever I threw at it. The only thing it didn't like was the microwave. I would just unplug the fridge and freezer and turn off the tvs while... more
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Jeffrey Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sam H.
Marysville, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/7/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy
Good generator great service I will probably purchase a transfer switch from you also, still researching which one to buy. All in all I am very happy with Electric Generators Direct.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Easy To Use, Reliable
Sam Recommends This Honda Product
Sam's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have recommended you already."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lissette F.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product
Great Product... Everything good and started right away, Little bit noisier than what I expect...
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable
Cons: None
Lissette Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark D.
Sun City, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fired Right Up!
I used to use these in the military while stationed in Alaska so I decided to get one for camping. Filled it with oil, put a little gas and with the first pull, it started by following the instructions. Quality as expected.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: None
Mark Recommends This Honda Product
Mark's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Leon W.
Crawfordville, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/16/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Quality Shows
My honda inverter generator arrived a day earlier than scheduled in perfect condition. I unpacked the unit, read the instructions and filled it with oil and ethanol free regular gasoline. I was surprised at how easily it started on the first pull of the recoil starter. My last generator was a cheaper unit and was always difficult to start.

I am still in the process of breaking the unit in and only have a few hours on it but it has performed as advertised and I am completely satisfied so... more
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No hour meter
Leon Recommends This Honda Product
Leon's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered on line and also called to get information and had a good experience with this company. Very professional in all respects."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Kevin K,
Thousand Oaks, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/14/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Impression
The generator arrived quickly and in perfect condition. So far all I've done is take it out of the box, add oil and gas, and start it. It started on the second pull and ran for two hours flawlessly.
Pros: High Quality, Light Weight
Cons: Pricey compared to competitors
Kevin Recommends This Honda Product
Kevin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Competitive pricing, simple to order, quick delivery and good communication and follow up. The item arrived on time and in perfect condition. Zero problems."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert D.
Cochran, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Another Great Honda Product
Was without power due to Irma for 5 days. Ordered online and product was delivered in 48 hours. Put into service immediately and it performed flawlessly. I now plan to use it to power RV as it is much quieter and more efficient than the onboard unit. Great product, great service.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: None
Robert Recommends This Honda Product
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service, great product, immediate shipping and super quick delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph L.
Ocean Beach, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/5/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Inverter For The Money. Will Last A Lifetime
Quality product.
Pros: Fuel efficient
Cons: Only 110 v
Joseph Recommends This Honda Product
Joseph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Came fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Don W.
Vineland, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
Started on the first pull! Maintenance is simplified. Only lacks a hour meter. Shipping was fast
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable
Cons: no hour meter
Don Recommends This Honda Product
Don's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"My experience was good....Only problem was FedEx (Not electricgeneratorsdirect.com) shipped one of my packages to a neighbors house. Shipping label had the correct address (Driver delivered it to the wrong address) Good thing my neighbors are cool. Thanks!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel D.
Greenville, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
The generator is everything that it is advertised to be. Starts on my first pull. Runs all the household electric loads - refrigerator, water well pump, furnace, lights, garage door opener - that I want to use during electric company power outages. Took it to hunting camp and used it there also. It is easy for me to move from place to place. Fuel economy is what I expected.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price
Daniel Recommends This Honda Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Daniel's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered on Tuesday and it was here on Friday. Can't beat a 3 day delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron C.
Orange Park, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/6/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Hard To Beat A Honda Generator
Very quiet, efficient, and easy to start. Glad I spent the difference to get the Honda.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Ron Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Ronald N.
Spring Lake, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/15/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
Great generator!
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Light Weight, Reliable
Cons: None
Ronald Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Daniel S.
Salem, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/22/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quieter Than Thought
Quieter than all the YouTube videos. Only started 5 times so far, one pull, every time.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Easy To Use, Durable
Cons: None
Daniel Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Roy W.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/19/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Small Backup Generator That Won't Get In The Way
The quietness of this generator surprised me. This doesn't have a ton of amps, but for an emergency generator it's great because it won't take up a lot of room in your garage. If you have experience with other Honda powered equipment, you know what you're paying for. Easy to start, reliable, quality. Ready for the next hurricane. Gotta love Florida.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: No hour meter
Roy Recommends This Honda Product
Roy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to purchase, quick delivery. Nice to deal with a specialty website. They sell one thing, they do it well, and their prices are competitive."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
John W.
Daytona Beach, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/23/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Compact, Ample Power!
I bought this eu 2800 ,needed for backup too my eu7000.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store
John Recommends This Honda Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to deal with!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
24
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Honda EG2800I reviews.Compare our Honda EG2800I ratings. Find the Honda EG2800I Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct