Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Generac 6998 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Generac 6998 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
3/5
Performance
3/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Pros
Price (6)
Easy To Use (3)
Reliable (3)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Quiet (2)
Cons
Unreliable (3)
Low Quality (2)
Regarding programming & ... (1)
Startup! 24hr. Help was ... (1)
manual failed to mention... (1)
60% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
10 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike, the Generator Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10944 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

When it comes to small standby generators, there aren't many options. Most people skip the standby option and opt for a portable generator instead.

The new Generac PowerPact 7.5kW, offers you a compact home standby system at the price of a portable generator. The benefit is that you get full automatic operation!

For the price, can you believe this model even includes an 8 circuit load center style 50 Amp automatic transfer switch?

So I think you should take that money you were... more
Mike Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
36475
Aaron M.
Baldwin, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/17
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Is Everything I Thought It Would Be
Install was a breeze. Eight circuits was all I needed (which was easy to wire). Automatic transfer switch works great. And the weekly maintenance setting is very easy to set.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Aaron Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
2811
Bob L.
Quincy, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/17/17
Total Helpful Votes
48 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2017
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Very Happy!
We have had the Generac installed over six weeks ago, professionally, and it has not worked properly yet. We have dealt with several defective parts, delayed service by their authorized serviceman . And we are still without a solution to the problem.
Pros: Price
Cons: Unreliable
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Bob,
Very sorry to hear that you're having issues with your generator. If you're issues aren't resolved, you may want to contact Generac directly @ 888-436-3722 to find out what can be done in your situation.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bob,
We are disappointed to learn of the issues you've experienced with a particular dealer. So that we can learn more about your personal experience and discuss options for resolution, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the name of your chosen dealer and the serial number of your personal unit. We look forward to providing further assistance.
more
Was this review helpful?
4822
Don N.
Waterville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/6/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2018
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Terrible Product And Customer Service By Both Companies
I purchased this product and installed it. Once the gas was hooked up and I went to start generator for the first time I discovered the generator was not putting out any voltage. I called your company and they were no help. They instructed me to contact generac. I did and they said I had to have one of their service guys out. It is going on over 2 months now and problem is still not solved. I wanted my money back from your company and they told me there was nothing they could do. I WILL NEVER... more
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Don,
Very sorry you're experiencing issues with your generator. Since the unit has been installed, your local Generac servicing dealer will need to address any issues you're having. If you're not satisfied with the service your local dealer is providing, please feel free to contact Generac directly @ 888-436-3722.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Timothy Z.
Spencerport, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2018
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Issues Wth The Generator
Generator was installed over three weeks ago by self but still waiting on generator replacement. It does not make any voltage. Luckily I hired an generator company to perform a start up but still waiting on component.
Cons: Still not operational after three weeks
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Timothy,
Very sorry you experienced issues with your generator. Hopefully Generac will get the needs parts out to you quickly.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Carol K.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/19/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Generator
My husband are on oxygen 24/7 we needed a product that would start whenever the power went out and this does just that very happy with our choice highly recommend.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Carol Recommends This Generac Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Was this review helpful?
84
John S.
Salisbury Beach, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/4/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Beyond Satisfied With Unit And Dealer
Due to my technical background, I was able to install this myself. I did have the pleasure of speaking with Brian in tech support since the manual failed to leave out key instructions regarding the initial start and programming. Brian was extremely professional and helpful! I canít say enough positive things about this unit, the manufacturer or this dealer! They delivered and placed it exactly where I wanted it at no additional cost! We will never be in the dark again!
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, Quiet
Cons: manual failed to mention a detail, Regarding programming & initial, Startup! 24hr. Help was great!
John Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Dennis A.
Bowling Green, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/18/17
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
7.5kw Generator - Ats Coil Burnt Up First Day In Service!!
Local Generac service have tried for 2 weeks to get parts replaced and are still waiting on company! I didn't buy it to look at, I bought it to be a reliable elect back up. Very poor service from the company--I will never buy another Generac product !!
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Dennis,
Very sorry to hear that you're having issues with your generator. If your issues aren't resolved, you may want to contact Generac directly @ 888-436-3722 to find out what can be done in your situation.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Richard C.
Shelby, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/25/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is My Second Generac
I replaced an older version recently with the model 6998. This generator was self installed as was my first. Took me two days with all the propane and electrical connections, but it worked great at first start up. My old Generac was nearly 14 years old and had some rust, stopped producing electricity even though it ran. New version is smaller and looks to be very durable.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Durable, High Quality
Richard Recommends This Generac Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Richard's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was shipped directly to my home and delivered to the door in a timely manner."
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
David B.
Northport, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/22/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Works as expected.
Pros: Price, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
David Recommends This Generac Product
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"I received a ng unit wanted a lp unit. took two weeks to change it was not what I was told it was but for the price it's OK ."
 more
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
David,
Very sorry you experienced a problem with your order. These are dual-fuel units, you were missing the LP fuel jet, which should have been included from the factory. We apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused you.
Was this review helpful?
12
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac 6998 reviews.Compare our Generac 6998 ratings. Find the Generac 6998 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct