Free Shipping On Power Equipment (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Champion 90720 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$649.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$649.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$699.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$711.76
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$899.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Champion 90720 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (7)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Light Weight (3)
Price (3)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Cons
Na (1)
Low Quality (1)
To early to tell. (1)
Takes more hydraulic tha... (1)
No con's. (1)
86% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
21 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Thomas G.
North Syracuse, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/19/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Splitter
I purchased the Champion 7 ton log splitter and I am truly amazed at how well it performs. Some of the wood I recently split was from a tree that was dropped about 1 month ago and the Champion 7 ton log splitter went through about 2 face cords with no difficulty at all. It was extremely easy to even split some of the pieces that were 12 inches in diameter. A worthwhile purchase!
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: None
Thomas Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Vicky S.
Marengo, OH
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprised At What It Can Do!!!!
I bought this for my son & I really thought it should have been a bigger model but when he split a log with a knot in it and it split, WOW he said this will work, I would have not even tried to split it with an axe!!!
Pros: Light Weight, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Vicky Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Hubert R
Scottsboro, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/16/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Log Splitter..... A Beast
I have used this log splitter to split wood from 3 very large oak trees. I started splitting with an ax and decided I was too old for that anymore hahaha. I ordered this product and split all of the wood in way less time than with an ax and with way, way less work and pain (the old part ha). This little monster plowed through some very hard. twisted and knotted pieces of wood. I am very impressed with this log splitter and would definitely recommend it to anybody looking for a small splitter... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No con's.
Hubert Recommends This Champion Product
Hubert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Awesome experience with this company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve E
Tujunga, CA
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
7 Ton Champion Wood Splitter
Great little wood splitter. Assembly was pretty straight forward. Only complaint would be, the instructions related to hydraulic fluid capacity is very misleading . Instructional manual states it takes 0'9 gallons. I filled to recommended capacity and wood splitter hydraulic shaft didn't even move. After adding nearly another gallon, and repeatedly cycling the level backward and forward, it eventually worked. Note: clear hydraulic hose on engine needs to be full of hydraulic fluid. If you... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Bad Instructions, Takes more hydraulic than instructions recommend
Steve Recommends This Champion Product
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick free shipping. Packaged nicely"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill R.
Penn Valley, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/2/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Little Workhorse!
I received this product 5 days after expected delivery date due to trucking logistics. Carton was inspected and everything was intact. Assembled unit (the instructions were very good) and added the liquids suggested however the hydraulic fluid took alot more than the manual stated. It fired up after the requested number of pulls an hour and a half after it was delivered.

I did have some trouble splitting the first few rounds with the engine cutting off upon starting to split the fresh... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Easy To Store
Cons: To early to tell.
Bill Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Linda C.
Coventry, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Absolutely Amazing Log Splitter
More rugged and stronger than I ever imagined! Easy start, user friendly, time efficient, and most of all I CAN OPERATE IT!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Linda Recommends This Champion Product
Linda's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick financing - quick delivery - total satisfaction!!!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Russ S.
Clayton, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/2/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Eastforker
Bought this splitter online was delivered very fast easy to put together started third pull spit four cord of wood some 20 inch diameter did it's job very well sweet little splitter
Russ Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe S.
Island Park, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/21/13
Total Helpful Votes
32 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Tool
I was tired of swinging an axe to split firewood...so I decided to give your 7- ton splitter a try. It arrived exactly when I was told it would and went together QUICKLY with not much effort. For the amount of wood I split (about 2 cords) it is PERFECT...it does it quickly and I don't even break a sweat.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Na
Joe Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
321
Eugenia C.
Canyonville, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/25/14
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Works Well
We mount this wood splitter right on the tailgate of our wood truck. This way you can split the wood and it falls into the truck. It has enough power to split almost anything we can pick up.
Eugenia Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
180
Kenneth W.
St. Albans, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/12/15
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Little Splitter
All I can say is, the first time we used it, we went out to the wood pile, found the gnarliest knotted log we could find, and that little splitter went right through it.

There was four of us there, all of us experienced with log splitters, and we were amazed.
Kenneth Recommends This Champion Product
Kenneth's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The folks at log splitters direct are great people to talk with. They provide fast and friendly service, the shipping was right on time, and there was no damage to the product whatsoever."
 more
Was this review helpful?
171
Anthony M.
Kannapolis, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/9/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Champion 7-ton Log Splitter
Honestly, I didn't think that this splitter would be powerful enough to do the job. Boy was I wrong!

I have used it twice, so far. Most of the logs that I was splitting were huge, and it split them with no problems. Even the ones with knocks in them.
Anthony Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
160
Larry C.
Nappanee, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/29/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy With Product
This little Champion 7 ton log splitter is all an average person needs. Excellent product. GREAT customer service. Would I buy again? Absolutely YES.
Larry Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Marianne F.
North Blenheim, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Runs Well And Can Handle Heavy Loads
I thought it wouldn't handle all the big heavy logs but I was wrong. This log splitter is awesome and the price was too.
Marianne Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
90
John H.
Niles, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Engineering Change Notice Request
The high pressure hose from the pump exit to the inlet port of the directional valve needs to be lengthened. The hose received in my purchase is so short, it is in contact and runs directly over the fuel cap. To avoid pouring fuel on the hose while filling the gas tank raising the risk of splashing on hot exhaust surface, I'll need to have a new hose made for it and I'll probably change the fittings to move it away from the fuel cap.

I've also noticed that even though I'm running the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Johnny Jones
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Small In Size Plenty Of Power
I have borrowed a 5-ton John Deere made just like this champion. It had always done a good job. I didn't want to spend 1200 for a 22 ton. So I purchased this 7-ton, which has plenty of power. It split an ash log with no problem, also oak. Easy to assemble. I am very pleased.
Johnny Recommends This Champion Product
Johnny's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Customer support very helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Scott S.
Clarksville, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/29/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
Got this splitter last week. I was very pleased with service, and it arrived very quickly. Once in hand, it went together very quickly. This splitter is very small compared to others I have used , but it works well on the small logs I have. I like the fact I can move it from one place to next by hand. It will fit in any pick up with no problem. Im pleased with splitter at this point
Scott Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Jeff W.
Roan Mountain, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine
My husband cut 1/2 cord in 30 min and it split so nice. We love it, and what a back saver. Thank you Champion!
Jeff Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Charles B.
Hayden, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Log Splitter
It was easy to put together. I wish I would have spent the extra money and got the larger one. It is smaller than I thought and can't handle some of the larger logs.
Charles Does Not Recommend This Product
Charles's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"It is smaller than I thought it would be. Wish I would have spent the extra money and got the larger one."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael S.
Moravia, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
This little splitter is fabulous. I have split a couple face cords already and it has never failed. It splits knotted logs much better than I ever expected. I LOVE this splitter.
Michael Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Vesta L.
Lake Isabella, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
First Impression Great, Smaller Than I Anticipated
Easy to assemble, filled all fluids as per instructions. Started out splitting very well but developed a lot of air in the hydraulic fluids and stopped working within an hour. During that period the ram became very jerky going forward and back.

I will double check the fluid instructions and if I can not find the problem I will be contacting you. At this time I would not recommend, hopefully the issue is small and all will be okay. I own a Champion generator and have been very happy with... more
Vesta Does Not Recommend This Product
Vesta's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"All was great until the splitter stopped working within an hour."
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Lc A.
Fort Worth, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/15/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Champion Gas Splitter
I love it.
Lc Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Champion 90720 reviews.Compare our Champion 90720 ratings. Find the Champion 90720 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct