Search
< Back to Product

iON Products SP20A201 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
$56.05
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$56.05
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$56.05
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
iON Products SP20A201 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (2)
Reliable (1)
Price (1)
Cons
Durability (1)
Unreliable (1)
40% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
14 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dennis M.
Park Ridge, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Custom Welding & Metallurgy..chemist/welder
Many pump failures with float and buoyant type switches...plus limited water level adjustment...This
solved all the sump problems....TOP SHELF PRODUCT....Dennis M....Custom Welding & Metallurgy
Dennis Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Cam
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/6/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I attached a longer pole to the original and now the pump stays off even longer.
Was this review helpful?
121
Kenneth K.
Deer Park, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/9/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump Switch
Easy install, KISS, keep it simple stupid. Works well easy install, reliable too
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Kenneth Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Donald
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Switch Failure
First switched failed within one month. Hopefully the replacement one will last longer and the defective one was uncharacteristic of product. Overall, very pleased.
Was this review helpful?
31
Utas
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/21/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet / Efficient Sump Pump With An "ok" Float
After the 2012 drought, our sump became dry. The Wayne sump pump that I installed in 2008 became corroded when significant rainfall occurred, the pump worked, but sounded a like the bearings were damaged. The sump is sealed, because it is linked with a radon abatement system replacing the pump is a bit more of a task than most but I was happy to rid myself of the Wayne, as it had an electronic float that limited the pump water level to only 3 inches because of this "feature," it... more
Was this review helpful?
31
Jim C.
Hillsborough, NJ
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Great Until It Dies
I've had 2 of these switches fail within the past 2 and a half years. The first one failed after after about 6-8 months, and was replaced under warranty. I'm hoping the 2nd one is still under warranty too. The switch works really well until it dies. I can't recommend it due to its unreliability over the long run. On the plus side, the customer service of the manufacturer (Metropolitan Industries) was very good the first time around.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Jim Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Jim,
I'm sorry to hear of the problems that you have been experiencing with the iON Vertical Float Switch, model SP20A201. I have not actually heard of many issues with this switch so I am a bit confused as well, as to why you have gone through 2 switches in the past 2-1/2 years. Can you please tell me what pump you are using this switch with? These are rated for use with any sump pump rated Hp @ 120VAC(13 Amps) or less. If the pump you are connecting to has a higher rating, this would explain the problem. If not, you would need to contact Metropolitan Industries once again for their assistance.
800-323-1665, Ext. 231
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Marilyn R.
Wetserville, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/4/15
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Constant Running Sump Pump
It is working fine now. So disappointed the pump lasted only 2 years before having a problem. Thank God for a plumber who knew where to order and get it quickly...not the address on the original pump.

My basement floods if pump is not working, this time it would not turn off unless unplugged. Quite a nuisance during heavy rainstorms which we were having at the time the problem occurred. Hope it works properly for awhile.
Marilyn Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Tom
Williamsville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller Solution
I replaced an aging pedestal pump with this Zoeller pump and storm pro switch. Super easy installation, quiet, short efficient runs and a dry basement. I cannot say enough about the responses from my questions for the proper gear.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jayson
Hollis Hills, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/30/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Defective Pump
My StormPro sump pump BA-33M worked for exactly one second, then died. The pump was very hot, so it obviously burnt out. Had to get a new one from your distributor, Metropolitan Industries. Before you send out your products, you must check them out to make sure they work.
Was this review helpful?
22
Christina
Holt, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/17/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful Yet So Quiet!
My husband and I purchased our home a little over a year ago. During this last big storm we had, our current sump pump stopped working, the attached float switch only worked at random, triggering the alarm on our back up to consistently run.

I did some research online and came upon Sump Pumps Direct. The reviews were immensely helpful and descriptive, especially to a couple who has never had a home with a sump pump before. We decided to get the StormPro BA-33M. This pump is fantastic. You... more
Was this review helpful?
01
Bob
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/5/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Installed Quickly & Runs Quietly Fast Ship
I needed to replace a Ridgid SP-500 sump pump bought over 5 yrs ago from the orange big-box store with one switch replacement after 3 yrs. I noticed that the side bolts were rusting which would compromise the pump in the very near future. I replaced it with a StormPro BA-33M. Pump was replaced quickly (had lots of experience with this as we have a very high water table and I've replaced about 3 pumps and 2 switches in my time here).

The StormPro is a 1/3 hp model replacing the Ridgid 1/2... more
Was this review helpful?
01
George
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/15/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump Install
After putting up with an improperly installed, builder-grade system that didn't work right from the start 5 years ago, I decided to replace the system.

The StormPro install was easy, & best of all, you can set float how you want it. Last night a storm came through & the pump worked great!

It was very quiet & pumps out water quickly. The pump is almost too quiet, as I was used to hearing the old pumps kick on & vibrate as they ran.

I would recommend StormPro pump to... more
Was this review helpful?
01
Dan
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/7/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Pump
Have an outdoor sunken patio area and outdoor kitchen thats about 24" below grade that this pump drains into a dry well outside sunken area. Set pump into concrete catch basin that's 24" x 24" x 24". Catch basin fills up to about 16" with setting float switch set for that height.
Once water hits 16"....look out....pump kicks in and 10 seconds later it's down to 2". Just the pump that I needed. Works great!

Hoping that it lasts several years. Seems high... more
Was this review helpful?
01
Lee S.
Zimmerman, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/19/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
You Don't Know Crap About Your Products
Before I purchased the Storm Pro vertical pump switch I checked for a spec in your Q&A and found Jim a "Product Expert" stated "They don't really list a full amp rating... Typically, the max running amp rating is 15.."

Well when I received the product it CLEARLY states on the product a 10 amp limit with a recommended 1/2 hp pump max. I'll keep it for now but if I have ANY problems you are taking it back. Your "experts" need to do their homework.
Lee Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
25
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest iON Products SP20A201 reviews.Compare our iON Products SP20A201 ratings. Find the iON Products SP20A201 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct