Search
< Back to Product

Zoeller SPD-N53KIT Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$229.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$229.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$229.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Zoeller SPD-N53KIT Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (10)
Quiet (10)
Reliable (10)
Durable (7)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Cons
Heavy (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
52 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Kimthy C.
Fairfax, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/26/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
These Combination Works Great
I have bought from SumpPumpsDirect.com. Although i have not used it for a long time, anyone can tell the product is rock solid. the installation is easy and it works so fine. The Levelguard works flawlessly. The Zoeller pump is very well built. Hope this will lat long and be reliable for a long time to come. I will buy from SumpPumpsDirect again. Great products!
Pros: Reliable, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Kimthy Recommends This Zoeller Product
Kimthy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Order online from Sumppumpsdirect and it was shipped as promised. The products are packaged well and all are new/good."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Bruce A.
North Hero, VT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/26/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
With the lake cottage 5 hours away it is critical for the sump pumps to work perfectly. The basin had two Zoeller sump pumps for last 6 years. Last year I replaced the lower unit with another brand from Lowes. The switch went bad after only 9 months and the pump ran continuously really overheating. So now I am back to both Zoeller Pumps now hoping LevelGuard™ Switch with no moving parts will last forever.
Pros: Durable, Price
Bruce Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Marilyn
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/16/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solution To Troublesome Sump Pump
I was very fortunate to discover on the Sump Pump Direct website this wonderful combination of a reliable, quiet sump pump made by Zoeller, a top pump company, and the fantastic LevelGuard Switch. It is so far is very reliable and effective. I'm really enjoying the peace and quiet as much as how well my sump is pumped out.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Marilyn Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Vincent S.
Bergenfield, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/22/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump W/ Level Guard Switch
I needed a replacement for the old sump pump w/ a float switch. The Level Guard switch is a perfect match for the Zoeller Sump Pump. It is easy to use and quick to install. Highly reliable and efficient product to own. It is a must have for your next basement project.
Vincent Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary H.
Dewitt, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pump Runs So Quiet, I Cant Tell When Its Running
Easy to install.Like that the switch is separate from the pump.I could always tell when my old pump was working because I could hear it from upstairs.This Zoeller pump is so quiet that I have to be standing above it to hear it.
Gary Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom H.
Dayton, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/10/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller N53 1/3 Hp Cast Iron Pump With Level Guard Switch
I'm replacing a fully functioning 12 year old Zoeller M53 that is float operated. My old Zoeller pump was working fine but was getting really rusty. More often than not when a pump goes bad it's usually a problem with the switch. For that reason I decided to try the N53 with the Level Guard switch. The switch has great ratings and is guaranteed for 5 years in residential applications. The installation was easy and took less than 1 hour.

The only problem I had was trying to test the... more
Tom Recommends This Zoeller Product
Tom's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The pump was very competitively priced. Arrived in time frame advertised and was double boxed. There was one small hole in the outer shipping box, the pump appears to be undamaged. I will definitely use Sump Pumps Direct again, and will recommend to my friends."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Diane S.
Loveland, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
Upon receiving the order, I tested the level guard switch with the pump in a large tub of water outdoors and it cycled correctly multiple times. Have not yet installed it in the basement sump pit.
Diane Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ryan
Olathe, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/3/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet And Powerful
Replaced a loud builder grade unit with this and the Zoeller 30-0181 - 1-1/2" or 1-1/4" Slip-On Full Flow PVC Check Valve.The pump itself is quiet, but the rubber fittings on the check valve isolate any pump vibrations from carrying through the pipes.

With this new setup, I can barely hear the pump running standing next to it, let alone in the bedroom above where I was getting complaints of noise. As long as lasts, I would definitely buy again.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Ryan Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James B.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/22/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Sump Pump Installation
Very pleased with both the installation and quietness of my recently purchased Zoeller N53. After the installation and a very wet two weeks, my wife mentioned that she hadn't heard the sump pump run in the basement and was everything o.k. I replied with a positive yes and that I was in the basement and didn't hear it run. I lifted the sump pump cover to see that it was performing well.
James Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Walter I.
Stevensville, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Pump
Pump and switch work excellent.
Walter Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert S.
Batavia, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller N53 W/ Levelguard Switch
When my Home Depot pump started failing, I looked for a Zoeller pump to replace it. I have a Zoeller battery back up unit and it is serving me well with no problems at all. Seeing that Zoeller is one of the highest rated, there was no question about purchasing it. Installation was straight forward. I used a Zoeller check valve also. I am pleased with the LevelGard because it runs the pump a few seconds longer after it hits the shutoff level. It keeps the pump from constantly cycling. This was... more
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Patrick B.
Rochester Hills, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/5/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Time Will Tell
I bought this unit with the Levelguard one because of reliability.The second reason so I could lower the level in my pit to 9". My old pump kicked on at 10" and that allowed water in the drains a little bit which didn't allow my radon fan to work effectively .
Patrick Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael H.
Bogalusa, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/17/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller Sump Pump
Have installed it with ease. No problems to report. Have some heavy rain and it pumps the basin out about every hour. So far, very happy with this purchase.
Michael Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert K.
Lombard, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Very Quiet, easy to install and seems to cycle less often due to improved sensor.
Pros: Reliable, High Quality, Quiet, Fast
Robert Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James W.
Holland, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy With Zoeller, Levelguard Combo
Pump and LevelGuard work great. They were easy to install and it slowed the time down between cycles since the LevelGuard lets the crock fill up higher before turning on. Nice not having a mechanical switch to worry about. I have 2 friends that have purchased them after seeing mine.
James Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Danny C.
Hopkinsville, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I ordered this pump to get rid of all the moving parts that always mess up. The Levelguard switch is more reliable, and works great.
Danny Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Daryl V.
Severna Park, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/16/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Well
So far, so good. The Levelguard switch works as advertised, the Zoeller pump works well and is quiet..of course I bought both of these with longevity in mind, so hopefully I'll be able to update this in a few years and say everything is still OK...
Daryl Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian L.
Elm Grove, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised For The First Month
Went with this pump after reading reviews. Have an iron filter that discharges into the crock nightly, so went with level guard switch to avoid moving parts that always suffer from residue build up. So far so good
Brian Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul L.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent System
I love this system! I love the longer time span between cycles on the sump pump due to the level guard switch. Our sump pump is under is under our bedroom, so this system is well worth the investment.
Paul Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James L.
Chillicothe, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/30/16
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great First Impression!!!
After dealing with a couple of substandard pumps/switches I began looking for a "Best" rated system. So far so good. This system is working great!!! The switch was so easy to set up and with the 1.5 million tested on-off swathes it should last over 12 years in my installation. Hope the last impression is as great as the first.
James Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen H.
Shelby Twp, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Came quick! High quality product. Easy install!
Stephen Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Johnathan K.
Hermitage, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/28/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Two Quality Products
I needed a new switch ASAP. I was using a mechanical switch that became stuck in the on position causing the main pump to stay on. My mechanical switch was about eight years old. It only stuck once but that was enough for me to decide it was time to replace. Luckily for me I was home when it stuck on. I also run a Watchdog battery back up pump. However, I knew that if I did nothing I would end up with a main pump failure and no back up main pump. The pumps and switches they sell in "big... more
Johnathan Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Rich S.
Glen Burnie, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/4/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Combination
Massive snowmelt and sump has significantly slowed down on cycles. Previous was ever 2 minutes now every 20 minutes. Not bad. You can't go wrong here.
Rich Recommends This Zoeller Product
Rich's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Excellent website."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard L.
Gearhart, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/12/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dependable
I bought this unit because I have had 3 Zoeller's in the past 20 years. All worked great and never left me in a lurch ie, quit in the pumping season. The ones with the side float switch do seem to give out from that switch going bad but I found if you get a mercury float switch and tie the side float in the on position and then plug the pump into that then it all works great.

I have not been able to put the new pump and Level Guard switch in yet because of the amount of ground water we are... more
Richard Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kirk B.
Olathe, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/3/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
Being a machinist, I look at part quality from a manufactured point of view. The USA manufactured Zoeller is far better than those you can purchase at the big box store. And the LevelGuard seems to work very well, and can be placed anywhere inside the pit so you control the on/off levels and small bits of debri don't affect it. My pit was assembled 11 years ago and I'm sure these new components will last longer.
Kirk Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe R.
West Chicago, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
My basement tends to get a lot of water because the builders broke a drain tile when they built the house. My sump typically would run at least 1 time per minute, if not more, on a consistent basis. I've used the Zoeller pumps in the past because I need something that will hold up. My problem has been that the switches in the Zoeller pumps would fail in the on position and the pump would burn out.

I went through 4 pumps in less than 8 years. I was about to give up on Zoeller (great... more
Joe Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Steve
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/5/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Combo
History:

I've had the automatic version of this pump prior to this combo. The auto version was a great pump, but for my high water table crawlspace...the switch went faulty after 2 1/2 years of serious work. After moderate rainfall...the pump would literally cycle every 30 secs @ 5sec bursts. The auto switch just didn't have enough range between on/off to allow for less frequent pumps @ longer bursts.

Current:

I bought this combo with the hopes of reducing the frequency of the... more
Steve Recommends This Zoeller Product
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have bought 2 items from this company and never had one issue. Fast shipping. Excellent A+"
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Shane H.
Sterling Heights, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Works Great
I had a zoeller sump pump with a fixed float switch for 8 years. I replaced the switch 3 times during the 8 years. I decided to get this setup, seems much more reliable now that the only weak link has been upgraded, the switch.

My old pump still worked fine when I got rid of it. For $229 for this pump switch combo, you can't go wrong! I don't see any reason to not go with this setup, if you are in the market for a new sump.
Pros: Reliable, High Quality, Durable, Quiet
Shane Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Gregg S
Rolling Meadows, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/14
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Levelguard Your Sump Pump Pit
I've had my basement flood 2X in the 16 years I've had it...both times due to float switches. I've investigated other so-called solid state sump pump switches and LevelGuard is the only one I'd trust my basement to. The combo package with the Zoeller pump is a great idea from SumpPumpsDirect.

Install was easy and the product is made in the USA by company that's been around for 17 years. The product is built like a brick house! Plumbers should carry these in their trucks.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Gregg Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Gerald M.
Novi, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/2/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Will Love Level Guard.....
Im a Zoeller pump guy. I live in a high water area next to a lake, my pumps run about every 5min...I have 2 Zoeller pumps in my crock #spd-n53 Always had a problem with the float scum buildup, but now with the level guard I no longer worry about that. Great device, wish I had it years ago. Would recommend it to everyone....Zoeller pumps are great. 3 pumps lasted 30yrs. Only replaced the points a few times, easy to do .Great place to buy from Sump Pumps Direct...
Gerald Recommends This Zoeller Product
Gerald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Keep up the good work..."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Jay C.
St. Charles, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/24/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
Installed with the Zoeller checkvalve, about 1.5 hours removing the old Zoeller - 20 years old still working (as my back-up pump now), cleaning the pit, making a new PVC line, and installing.

Much quieter than the old check valve, maybe the hole drilled in the discharge pipe? The rubber boots on the check valve accommodate minor misalignment between the pump and the discharge line.

Kept up with the thunderstorm, based on pit volume and the 6" Level pro on/off distance, this baby is... more
Jay Recommends This Zoeller Product
Jay's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Fast shipping on the pump. Too bad for the charge to ship the check valve. It could have been thrown into the pump box. I could have got the Zoeller check valve at Amazon and used the free Prime shipping and saved a few bucks. But over all, good fast shipping on the pump."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Jeffrey H,
Clarkston, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outdoor Application In Michigan All Year
I had an existing pump with a float type on/off switch. The pump worked fine, but the float would not always switch on. This Level Guard switch is the cats!!!!!

No moving parts on the outside, works great & quiet. My pump runs every 15 minutes all year long in the outside environment, of the four seasons of Michigan weather.
Jeffrey Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Hossein N.
Ewing, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller N53 W/ Levelguard
I bought this about a month ago as a backup in case my sump pump dies. Just this past week, my old sump pump stopped working, so I installed it with a help of a friend who knows pluming. It is working perfectly.
Pros: Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Hossein Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Steve J.
Granger, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/2/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller Submersible Sump Pump And Levelguard Switch
I had a Wayne pedestal sump pump for 18 years. It was reliable, but the float rod would corrode and fail to slide through the guide, resulting in the switch not being triggered. I would clean the rod, or replace it and all was well for about a year and the rod would corrode again. Upon reaearching the sump pumps available I found the the Zoeller submersible pump was super reliable, but the switches would fail after about 7 yrs. I purchased the Zoeller 1/3 HP pump and a Levelguard... more
Pros: Reliable, High Quality, Quiet, Features
Steve Recommends This Zoeller Product
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"My pump was shipped from one warehouse, my Levelguard switch from another, and my Zoeller check valve from yet another----resulting in order arriving at three different times (inconvenient.) My check valve arrived with only one boot. When I called, it was handled, but they sent an entirely new check valve. This one, too arrived with only one boot. I now had two boots and a check valve I have no need for. This has to get expensive for your company, I would guess that this occurs on a regular basis. Wouldn't is be more cost effective to have each boot secured before filling orders? It seems that labor would only be a few seconds. This would save the cost of a new check valve as well as extra shipping!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
David K.
Martinsburg, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/10/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Levelguard
(submitted by Brenda's other half) I purchased a new unit with LevelGuard to replace a similar unit with a float switch. The original pump had been working for about 15 years before the switch began to stick in the off position. I was skeptical of the LevelGuard but with my electronics background it seemed like the way to go. It works great and with no moving parts should outlast the pump. I did have a concern about the pump. After 15 years under water, the original was rusted very badly.... more
Pros: Reliable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast
David Recommends This Zoeller Product
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sump Pumps Direct had the best price I could find on the net. Shipping was fast and transaction was smooth. I've not had a reason to contact their customer service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Justin
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replaced A Defective M53 With N53 Kit W/ Level Guard Switch
Had a M53 operating in an active high water table environment in my sump well (e.g. the sump has cycled every minute for the past 5 months). The float switch started to act up by sticking on (thankfully on and not off!). I had to irregularlly over a couple months enter the pit and grab the float to get it to cycle as normal. I called the plumber... "the pump is working!". I called the plumber twice "I can't find anything wrong with it".

Thus, I had enough of it and... more
Pros: Durable, Reliable, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Justin Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Joe L.
Lindenhurst, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Real Work Horse!
This pump took my basement to a manageable water level in no time. It allowed me to sync the other pumps faster due to it's ability to pump water quickly. I was hesitant on the switch but it works better then I could have imagined.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Joe Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Joe S.
Carmel, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/17/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No More Float!
Orig. Zoeller pump had a float which operated a mechanical switch. Float got encrusted with mineral deposits and the switch wore out.
Just 6 ounces of deposits made the float too heavy to lift the switch actuator lever. New float pointed to a switch intermittent problem.
Replaced both, but the operation was hit or miss.

Replaced the pump with same Zoeller model - with NO SWITCH and purchased "Level Guard" switch that has NO moving parts and is sealed from water. All works great,... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Martin M.
Waterford, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Advice, Great Web-site.
When I think of sump pumps, I think of the traditional pumps with integral float on/off switches. But then in reading the reviews on this website I concluded that the switch is the weak link in the system no matter how good the pump is. The Level Guard Switch seems to be the answer to this problem. I bought the N53 Pump without a switch and piggybacked it to the Level Guard Solid State Switch. I am impressed with the whole system so far.

As the instructions clearly state, you have to... more
Martin Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jeanna P.
Germantown, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Install
Sump pump and Level Guard arrived in good condition. Prior sump pump required female connection and Zoeller requires male so had to put new connector on the PVC pipe. Once that was completed, remainder of installation was a breeze. No heavy rains yet, but worked well when checked with a hose.
Jeanna Recommends This Zoeller Product
Jeanna's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Arrived very quickly and in good condition despite being a heavy metal object."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Matt K.
Etna, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Combo!
The Zoeller automatic pumps apparently have frequent switch failures. The pumps themselves are rock solid and perform well. This combo package takes the float switch out of the equation and replaces it with a near fail proof Level Guard switch.

I installed this in about 30 minutes with no prior experience and very limited plumbing skills. The pump is extremely quiet and pumps the water out very quickly.

If I had one gripe it's that you can't really test this setup without filling the pit... more
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Reliable, Quiet
Matt Recommends This Zoeller Product
Matt's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping was fast!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gregg S.
Rolling Meadows, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/14
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Levelguard Is A Great Solution
Have had my basement flood 2x's over the years due to bad float switches. Purchased LevelGuard as a package with a Zoeller N53 1/3hp pump. Great combo package. Easy to install and LevelGuard works like a champ...the best solid state switch I've seen. Bring on the rain!
Pros: Reliable, Durable, High Quality, Easy To Install
Gregg Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Guy M.
Saginaw, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller Sump Pump/levelguard Switch Combo
This is the PERFECT combination. Takes care of the "weak link"...the "on/off" mechanical switch mechanism that is normally attached directly to the sump pump, whatever brand you choose. Came across this solution by viewing other reviews. To increase my comfort level, I Googled "LevelGuardProducts.com" to find out what makes this solid state circuitry tick. Once I did this my comfort level with the LevelGuard concept went way up. Very pleased with PED as... more
Guy Recommends This Zoeller Product
Guy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No Buyer's Remorse here. Would like to see the Zoeller Check Valve offered as a "package deal" with no extra shipping cost."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Wayne E.
Duluth, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement For Zoeller M53
Float switched failed on the installed Zoeller M53, which was at least 12 years old (came with the house when I bought it.) Replaced it with the N53 pump with the LevelGuard switch. Seemed like a better solution to me.

Installation was straightforward, and the combo works great so far. Time will tell as to the LevelGuard electronic switch durability, but so far, so good!
Wayne Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Chad W.
Springboro, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/8/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase. Get The Package With The Upgraded Switch.
Original broke that came with new house. This seems very solid, great reviews but best with Level Guard switch.
Chad Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Greg J.
Saint Louis, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Seems To Operate Fine
Easy to install and hope it operates better than a manual float.
Greg Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Scott V.
Harrison Twp., MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/12/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Sump Pump
I bought this pump and switch on the recommendation from a friend and it did not disappoint.
Scott Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
James F.
Cicero, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/27/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Service
I was very satisfied with my order and have just placed a new order for additional items.
James Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas K.
Harrison Township, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Redo
This pump replaced the traditional tethered float type pump. Pump is heavy and quiet, the only noise I get is from the check valve, which I purposely bought the noisy one, so I could tell it was working. I also installed a water pressure back up pump at the same time. Hope to be all set for many years to come.
Thomas Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Chris B.
Marshalltown, IA
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Pump
Working great so far. Burned out switches before hoping the new level guard is the answer. It already cycles less and very happy and ordered another for my back-up pump.
Chris Recommends This Zoeller Product
Chris's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping and great site."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Warren W.
Creston, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/22/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Service
Prompt even though it was not an emergency.
Warren Recommends This Zoeller Product
Warren's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivered on 2nd day after. Very pleased with all service. Old sump pump developed a dead short in the switch. Not an emergency but the service treated me like it was."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark L.
Queenstown, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Do It...
Worked like a charm. I wish everything I bought over the internet worked as well as this does. Easy installation and works as advertise.
Mark Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Zoeller SPD-N53KIT reviews.Compare our Zoeller SPD-N53KIT ratings. Find the Zoeller SPD-N53KIT Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct