Search
< Back to Product

Wayne RUP160 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$72.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$72.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$72.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$73.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Wayne RUP160 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (4)
Quiet (3)
Price (3)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Reliable (1)
Cons
It Removed 40 Gal In 10 ... (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Durability (1)
88% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
18 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jazz H.
Temple, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/12/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stupendous!!!
Its the only word necessary to describe this neat little gadget that's HUGE on performance...
Jazz Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Larry B.
Austin, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/23/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Slow Pump
Pump is not producing as claimed. No where near 50 GPM, more like 5 GPH. My previous pump moved water a lot faster.
Larry Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Larry,
Most likely you're getting air into the discharge line or you need to use a check valve. If you're still not getting the rated out, I'd suggest contacting Wayne directly @ (800) 237-0987.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Larry,
Hi Larry,

Sorry to hear about the issues you've experienced with your WAYNE RUP160. I'll echo what Larry said, it could be that there is air getting into the discharge line, however, i'd like to hear more about your situation. Please email us at cs@waynepumps.com, so we can reolve this for you.

Thanks and we look forward to hearing from you!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gerald L.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/3/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Pump - Wet Bearings Fail
These pumps perform well for the price. I use it for small pond aeration. They fail after about a year of 18 hour daily use from April to November. The lower bearing fails from water infiltration.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Durability
Gerald Recommends This Wayne Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Gerald,
If you're looking to get longer life out of your pump, I'd suggest a Tsurumi Utility Pumps
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan T.
Kansas City, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/24/10
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Upset
No instructions that it will burn out the motor if you're not there to shut it off. Watch return policy. Caution!!!!!
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Dan,
The very first line in the Owner's Manual says "This portable, submersible utility pump is
designed and intended for non-automatic use in water."

"Non-automatic" means it won't shut off by itself. If you need a pump that will monitor the water level and shut off when it's done, you need a sump pump, not a utility pump. Sump Pumps Direct

Our Return policy is listed at the bottom of every page of our web site; just click on the Customer Service button and select Returns.

The pump is covered by a 1 year Factory Warranty from the folks at Wayne, but Factory Warranties only cover defects in materials and workmanship. We're sorry, but they don't cover normal wear and tear or improper use.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Roy F.
Derry, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/5/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great
Not the cheapest pump I ever purchased but it works great. It is so quiet I thought it wasn't working. I use it in my rain barrels and it will empty 55 gallons in no time at all, through 100 feet of half inch garden hose... I've only used it a few times so I can't speak of the reliability of the pump. I'd buy another one.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Roy Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff
Westmont, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/19/13
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Slow And Steady Workhorse
Had est. 90,000 gallons of water in the basement.

I used a 2" gas pump, a 3" gas pump, my injector pump (cycled off and on due to overheating), and this guy to empty it all over 8 hours. Ran off the generator no problem at all.

It ran for 8 hours straight along with the others and worked 100%. It singlehandedly took the water level from 4" down to 1/2" or less, which is when I put it in the sump pit and it ran for another 3 hours while all the drain tile emptied. It... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Sol
Chicago, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wayne Rup160 Water Pump
I have a 12'x16' oval swimming pool 5 ' high. I needed to empty my pool due to not getting it ready in time and the water turned green. This pump is the best one I have purchased in the 25 years I've owed above ground pool. I highly recommend it. J

ust plug your water hose to the pump and out the water goes. I took me about one full day since I do have a pretty big pool, but for the price I paid for this pump it was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles P.
Avoca, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/24/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Folks To Deal With !
I had to replace this utility pump as a result of my
mistake but these folks made it right in no time.
I will keep these people on my go to list.
Charles Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mg
Bellingham, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wayne Oil-free Submersible Thermoplastic Utility Pump
I needed a way to drain the hot tub so not to drain the water to property that was not mine. Wayne RUP160 - 50 GPM (1 1/4") Oil-Free Submersible Thermoplastic Utility Pump was the answer. I have used it several times. It is fast, quiet, and reliable. I just hook it to a regular garden hose, route it in to the bathtub, and almost all the water gets sucked out of the hot tub in a short amount of time. I would recommend this product.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Mg Recommends This Wayne Product
Mg's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I would definitely recommend recommend Air Compressors Direct to anyone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack
Carmel, IN
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Good!!!
I use this pump to to drain 700 gallon pit of water and I recommend using a discharge hose to pump water faster.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Jack Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Red
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works
The pumps work until the plumbers arrived! Probably should have invested in a 2" hose model but it did move h2o as it came in.
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump For Any Price!
This is the second pump we have purchased and they both work hard everyday. I bought the first one because it was inexpensive, the second I bought because it's a great pump! Good Job Water Pumps Direct!
Was this review helpful?
00
Shelley
El Cajon, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/15/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Works Ok
We asked on your site how long it would take to empty our 2000 gallon swim spa and were told an hour. It works good but we had to add another pump as well and it still took over 3 hours to empty. We were not impressed with how long it took to empty the spa.
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Shelley,
Pumping time can vary greatly depending on the size of the discharge hose being used and the depth/distance the pump needs to move the water.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Holger Viel
El Paso, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/10
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saved My House From Flooding
This pump literally saved my house!

I live in El Paso, TX and we are currently in the Monsoon season. On occasion we are getting torrential downpours that are so severe that the grass in my backyard, which is saturated, cannot hold all the water. So the water has nowhere to go but onto my patio and eventually into my living room.

The submersible Wayne RUP 160 has saved me thousands of $$$ in restoration costs as of now. It is very easy to set up and to prime.

It works flawlessly for... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brice
Towanda, PA
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement Pump
This Wayne pump replaced a pump costing twice as much.

Now, if it lasts more than a year it will be a plus!
Was this review helpful?
00
Deb
Roosevelt, UT
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Aaaaaa++++
Pump took it's prime the first time, works great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald B.
Belleplain, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/27/10
REVIEWED
MAR.
20
2010
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Hard To Prime
It is very hard for the pump to pick up its prime.
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Ronald,
You may want to give the folks at Wayne technical support a call, toll free, at (800) 237-0987 to see if they have any advice on getting the pump to prime easier for your particular application.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Karen A.
Topeka, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Wayne Rup 160
Although it will probably work for my useage. The pump removed 40 Gals. in 10 min. way far from the 3000 gal per hour as advertised. I would not recommend to someone that has a basement flooded or a swimming pool that they want to empty unless they have a lot of time.
Pros: Price, It Works
Cons: Bad Instructions, It Removed 40 Gal In 10 Min
Karen Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Wayne RUP160 reviews.Compare our Wayne RUP160 ratings. Find the Wayne RUP160 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct