Search
< Back to Product

Troy-Bilt 21AK146G766 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$299.00
(as of 07:12 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$327.81
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Troy-Bilt 21AK146G766 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Light Weight (3)
Price (3)
Fast (1)
Easy To Store (1)
Cons
Oil Diirections Could Be... (1)
86% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
22 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
22 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1651 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Troy-Bilt TB146EC 4-cycle cultivator combines exceptional power and proven durability in a compact, gas-powered cultivator that will make even the most finicky gardeners happy.

Not only does the Troy-Bilt 146EC have the tines to mix up and churn garden soil, it can also help you weed your garden bed or aerate your lawn. This little machine can be quite a time saver this spring when you start your gardening chores!

The Troy-Bilt 146EC is really lightweight, so you wonít have to... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
7415
Charles R.
Greenwood, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/20/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Tiller
My wife and I both are limited in fiscal activities so we decided to try this tiller , we always had problems trying to start a tiller or even a walk behind mower . We purchased a starter for this tiller and to my surprise it worked great . By the way. I'm 77 and my wife is 72. Tiller runs great .
Charles Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Frances R.
Gonzales, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/17/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Broke Within First Hour Of Use!
Shortly after I starting using it, it starting running ragged and then it would shut down. Finally it started running better, but now the throttle is stuck and it won't stop the blades from turning. I am very disappointed to say the least. I plan to contact the company about this tomorrow.
Was this review helpful?
20
Harold V.
Albuquerque, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Great!
I purchased it to till the garden areas around my home. It did the job in a quarter of the time or less and even tilled an area of space I wanted to plan grass seed in.I am pleased with it's performance and would recommend it to others. It is lighter in weight than I expected which makes it easy to lift in and out of the areas I have fenced off to keep our dogs out.
Harold Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Gerald B.
Punxsutawney, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/10/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Impressed
I am not one that impresses easily, but this tiller is a 10 in my book, based on first use.
Gerald Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ben G.
New Albany, OH
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Well Made.
Have not used it yet. I assembled it (very easy, no tools required). Appears to be well made. Bought it to use with my full size tiller for later garden tilling and for flower beds.
Ben Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Rosemarie D.
Warwick, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/2/16
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Value For Light Use
Used tiller for a 500 square foot garden. Required multiple passes for hard ground. Good till depth - six inches max. Forward tines pull through the soil. Lightweight and easy to handle. Would recommend for small application.
Rosemarie Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert E.
Salem, OH
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Happy So Far
I read over the product reviews - was originally going to purchase a Honda, but the reviews seemed to indicate this unit was a better buy. Tiller came as promised, simple to put together, fired right up. I ran it for 3 hours, no stalling no problems. Tills up the dirt nicely. I have run it three times since purchase with no issues. Not long enough to say it's great, but I have been happy with the purchase so far.
Robert Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
-10
Orville B.
Oklahoma City, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/2/14
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Tiller
My husband loves his tiller. He's had knee replacement surgery recently and this tiller is just the right thing he needed to be able to begin gardening again. Thank you so much!
Orville Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
164
Mark
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/24/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Have a very large garden (several actually). Have a walk behind tractor with tiller which is great for many jobs, but when you don't want to use the beast, this tiller is easy to use, light, easy to control, does an excellent job, and wife loves it. Easy to start, especially if you use a battery hand starter (which we use for a weed whip also).

Over the years we have had rear tine tillers, front tine tillers, large tiller behind garden tractor, walk behind tractor with tiller and this... more
Mark Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
92
Brown P.
Murrells Inlet, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/2/15
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This One's For Me
So far I am very pleased with my cultivator. I am 80 years old. My Troy-Bilt TB14EC is easy to start and easy to use. I recommend it for us old folks. I was pleased with your quick shipping.
Brown Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Brown,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we're happy to hear we've served you well. Let us know if there's anything else we can help you out with in the future, and we'd be happy to do so.

Best wishes, and have a very pleasant summer.
more
Was this review helpful?
70
Gary
Houston, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/16/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It Starts Easily
This replaces an Echo 210 which after 4 years hard starts, new carburetor, carburetor kit, tune ups was sent to the curb as a free giveaway.

The Troy (so far) starts with a couple of pulls or with electric start assist. The Troy is not as aggressive at tilling as the Echo, seems to be slightly under-powered. The Troy engine with the Echo tines and gear case would be ideal. But it WORKS!
Gary Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
114
George D.
Port Charlotte, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/10/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Tiller
It will do my job we'll. Great price, received order on time, easy to unpack, easy to use. Would buy from you again. Thank You.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
George Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
George's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything was easy. From ordering to using my tiller."
 more
Was this review helpful?
1811
Gibbs K.
Union, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good In Soil - Not Good With Rocks
It works fine in loose soil - has some trouble with clay etc. If you have somewhat rocky soil, this is not for you Rocks 1"-3" in diameter cause it to bounce up in the air.

Use for cultivating, preparing ground for a second planting.
Was this review helpful?
82
Kathi C.
Trion, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/11/15
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love It
It's light, easy to move, and easy to crank. I would highly recommend it, and I love not having to mix the gas and oil together
Kathi Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
71
A.j.
Tennille, GA
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Troy-bilt Cultivaters
I bought 2 of these and both mess up on pull rope could not crank 1 only one day old bad experince.
Was this review helpful?
40
Thomas A.
Mineral Wells, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quick Thoughts
So far, so good. I bought this for my sister for her birthday and helped her set it up. The oil directions could be better written. Was hard to figure that out. Other than that, it started right up and she used it for a couple of hours.

Ran great, pull started real easy, and the electric start worked real easy too. She likes it a lot. Even if it does not last like other reviews state on this site, I do not feel we are out a lot, and as long as it works I am one satisfied customer. Thanks... more
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Features, Easy To Use
Cons: Oil Diirections Could Be Better Written
Thomas Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Pat D.
Saint John, IN
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied With My Troy-bilt Tiller!
Does a good job in my garden....my problem is my air filter cover vibrates off two minutes after I start running it. It will not stay on no matter how tight I tighten the bolt. Need to correct that problem. N.D.
Pat Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jerry R.
North Troy, VT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/5/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Troy-bilt Triller 4-cycle Front Tine
I'm amazed how well this little tiller works. It does a really good job of weeding between the rows. I would recommend.
Jerry Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Brooke H.
Okanogan, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/10/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Little Jumpy
Works well between rows but if you hit a rock or hard patch of ground you better be hanging on or it will take out your plants.
Noisier than i had hoped.

Hand pull big weeds then till. Big weeds just wind around wheels and make it have to work harder. Easy to start. Overall pleased because it cuts down my hand weeding.
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Easy To Use, Fast
Brooke Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jack M.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/25/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Front Tine Cultivator
Works great, easy to use, and no mixing fuel! We have sandy soil, so not having to go through hard ground. Really great for the small jobs.
Jack Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ronald B.
Magna, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/30/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like It
It did the job that I wanted it to do. I'm very pleased with it and I think the price was right.
Ronald Recommends This Troy-Bilt Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Troy-Bilt 21AK146G766 reviews.Compare our Troy-Bilt 21AK146G766 ratings. Find the Troy-Bilt 21AK146G766 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct