Search
< Back to Product

Toro SS5000 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$3,299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$3,299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Toro 74730 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Easy To Use (3)
Reliable (3)
Durable (3)
Fast (2)
Cons
Packaging (2)
Low Quality (2)
Gas Consumption (1)
Removing The Mower From ... (1)
Durability (1)
80% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
30 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Frank G.
Eagle Pass, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/28/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Fast Toro!
Couldn't believe how fast the Toro ss5000 was I drive a John Deere z235 at work and thought it was fast but now that I have my Toro I am pretty please with its performance. So far I have done five yards with the Toro and let me tell you I have cut by work in half, the cuts are nice and need lots of power with the Kawasaki engine. Cons so far are the flats on front tires but the the slime liquid to avoid future problems other then that great mower.
Frank Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
51
Owen
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
This Thing Sucks
I live in WI and my family got this one and it never works and we have only had 3 years and we have spent way to much money on this peace of crap... If you wants some advice... Don't buy this ####.
Owen Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
33
Dennis T.
Daingerfield, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower!
This is my first zero turn mower. I mow 2.5 acres with a lot of turns and close work. I love it after the first mowing. I especially wanted the Kawasaki engine. The oil drain is not convenient, but usable. The engine is responsive and powerful. Great mower, well built.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Reliable, Price
Dennis Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert K.
Oxford, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Don't Buy This Mower, It's Junk
I bought this exact mower 3 years ago and have been moving it one mile between my mothers house and mine. So I purchased another one to have one at each house, lazy me. Waste of more than $3000. I used it 3 time, please let me say it again 3 times, 45 minuets each time and now it's dead turn the key and nothing.

Now I have to transport it an hour away to have it fixed. Hoping for some help on the phone or online but no, i have to find a Toro Dealer. 3 years ago they made good product... more
Pros: Looks Nice
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Bad Instructions, Expensive
Robert Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
Sorry to hear about the mower please let us know if we can be any help with the service center if you run into issues.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve P.
Mesa, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy With My New Toro!
I was glad to get the online price and free delivery. The freight delivery was on time, too. I broke it out of the shipping crate and took it for a spin around my pasture. So far so good. I'll call if there are any questions.
Steve Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Darren S.
Sunnyside, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/25/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Friends Want To Mow My Lawn
I've had this mower for a couple months now and have had 4 other people volunteer and willingly mow my front acre of pasture-lawn. :) it is rather fun and easy with the zero turn and bagger. Shipping and price were excellent.
Darren Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill C.
Texarkana, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Mower
I had never driven a zero turn mower. It was so easy to learn. The mower is so fast. I am mowing my yard twice as fast as I was with my John Deere My son borrowed my new mower. He liked it better than the $10,000 zero turn Kobota he had borrowed from his wife's grandfather. My son says the Toro is faster than the Kubota.
Bill Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ted L.
Pembine, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Do Your Homework
I looked at several zero-turn lawn mowers and after comparing them, reading reviews and talking to people who owned the mowers I compared, the Toro time cutter was second to none. Ordered it and within two days it was here.

The best price combined with, no tax & no shipping saved me several hundred dollars. I simply followed the instructions and started cutting my lawn. I wish I would have bought this 10 years ago, it would have saved me a lot of time.

I now mow my lawn in half the... more
Ted Recommends This Toro Mower
Ted's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The website is great in comparing a wide selection of mowers, the features and benefits. The individual I spoke with was very helpful when discussing several different mowers. The shipping was great, here within two days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Darren S.
Grandview, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/25/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Deal, Great Service
Received prompt delivery of the Toro zero turn mower. Was exactly what I wanted at a lower price than I expected.
Darren Recommends This Toro Mower
Darren's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great price, & nice quality machine."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
James M.
Montgomery, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Recommend
First zero turn mower. Mowing about 3 acres and saves about 1/2 the time. Cuts very good. Took a few times to get used to operating it but now my wife mows. The Kawasaki engine is the way to go. Awesome machine. Highly recommend.
James Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Don D.
Southwick, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/2/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ss 5000 Zero Turn
Purchased in April 2016 have 15.2 hours on the mower, to get to the point the auto safety brake module failed,so you will not be able to move the machine. Spoke to the dealer who was very helpful, he informed me that the failure rate on this brake module is very common.

The module was replaced under warranty, but Toro won't cover transportation to and from the dealer for the repair. I like the mower but this auto brake is a poor design and it will fail. Something to think about before you... more
Don Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Rynn S.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro
Great mower. Had small problem with handles being of alignment but a quick you tube video and it was fixed.
Would highly recommend It's just darn right fun to operate.
Rynn Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Nelson G.
Miami, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/5/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro 50" 23 Hp "kawasaki" Zero Turn Experience
I have a 1.5 lot. I was lucky to be able to buy the last of the discontinued Toro TimeCutter with a Kawasaki motor on it. It appears that now Toro is trying to implement their own motor on it. This is my first zero turn and it is a bless to have. It is definitely a huge difference from the regular tractor mowers.

The delivery service is very good. The mower did come in a pallet and it was a bit uncomfortable getting it out of the pallet because at the time I was not aware of how the... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Packaging, Gas Consumption
Nelson Recommends This Toro Mower
Nelson's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I received very good customer service, especially on guidance on how to obtain 0 apr financing. the shipping company provided excellent service and was very nice over the phone. The driver was very professional."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Russ F.
Clarkston, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Ss5000
What a great experience. Ordered online, mower was delivered within one week. Less $$ than i could find anywhere near my location. Highly suggest Mowers Direct.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Packaging, Removing The Mower From The Crate Requires 2 People But It Was Pa
Russ Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard T.
Skiatook, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Mower arrived in 2 days. Great service from truck line. Lift gate is a must. Easy to assemble. Added gas and ready to cut. Love the Kawasaki engine. I recommend spending the extra money to get it. Mower has lots of power and gets my 2.5 acres done quickly. Entire transaction was easy and no hidden costs. Thanks mower direct you saved me $300.00.
Richard Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary R.
Rogers, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Downgraded In Size From 60 Dixie Chopper
I have only used this mower twice. So far it is what I expected. It gets places that the big mower wouldn't. So far very pleased with my purchase. It seems easy to access the components you need to get to. Fun to operate.
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I paid with a check and had to wait extra 5 days. It was worth the wait. The mower arrived in perfect condition. Was mowing in less than 1 hour. The whole process was just like Mowers Direct had described. Had no surprises."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven C.
Bethlehem, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Toro Ss5000
I loved her from the first time I turned the key, I/we got all the extras we wanted. She is fast and powerful.
Steven Recommends This Toro Mower
Steven's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The best"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom G.
Hanover, PA
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Low Quality Mower
I only use this to cut my lawn & have had it for 5 to 6 years. The 1st time I used it the mower belt broke. Had to fight to get a replacement was told belts have no warranty. I am now on my 3rd belt. All 4 tires have had to have tubes put in them. They also don't wear well. Have had to replace a hydraulic motor (big money). There is no access hole in the frame to be able to check the fluid level in the motors. You have to take the motor off the mower to check the fluid.The wheel spanners in... more
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Tom Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
N. B.
Bonaire, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/28/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Got It Right
Awesome piece of equipment. Overall, totally satisfied with my purchase.
N. Recommends This Toro Mower
N.'s Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Took sometime to remove it from it"s crib, about two to three hrs. Gave it some fluid's and checked the fluids (check) .Connected the battery (check). Checked tire pressure (check). Assembled the lap bars(check). Then fired my new baby up and oh boy how sweet the sound, very quiet but powerful and fast. Have 1 acre which took about 30 min. to manicure. TORO got it right , very good quality, good price. Overall a BAD mean machine. The only thing left is the test of time. Mean time happy happy happy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Ed B.
Galveston, TX
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Should Of Listened To Reviews
Fired it up the first time, mowed great WAS super happy with results THEN, two days later started it back up and wouldn't go into gear, trouble shot it, nothing, called Toro gotta bring it into a dealer, no trailer and warranty doesn't cover them to pick it up to haul it, each dealer has a different cost to do that, second use, no support, no lawn mower that works!!!!!!!

Tried it again 2 days later, doesn't start or even turn over, looking for a make it right quickly or I will just send it... more
Ed Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
James C.
Fort Pierce, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/15
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
This mower is really fast compared to the old tractor mower i had before. Trying to master turning. So far, I've only cut down one fruit tree. Go a little bit slower in the beginning.. I love the speed and power.
James Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
291
Larry M.
Clay City, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/16/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Big Yard - Little Time
This mower has cut my mowing time by 1/3 and cuts great. My yard has rough areas, and it may be a little stiff over those areas, but can't really complain. Seems to be made solid, and is a very good value!
Larry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
210
Maryanne C.
New Market, AL
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Good For Uneven Ground
We have about 3 acres and the ground has holes and trenches. The mowing deck will not stay on and is a pain to put back on.
Maryanne Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
269
Rt L.
Iowa, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/27/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower/great Service
Great mower. Great service. The mower came in great condition. The customer service was excellent. I highly recommend using Mowers Direct for any outdoor lawn equipment purchase. I will be a repeat customer. Thanks!
Rt Recommends This Toro Mower
Rt's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very pleased with my purchase. The mower arrived well-packaged and in excellent condition. The customer service was great. Keep up the great work!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
226
Ernest K.
Bethany, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Timecutter Ss5000 50" 23hp Kawasaki Zero Turn Lawn
I am somewhat disappointed when the mower was delivered. No ignition key or operators manual. Why aren't the necessary items to operated the mower included with the shipment. Another item that should be included is the hour meter.

I believe most customers would rather for the hour meter already included in the price paid for the mower. Other than the above mentioned items, I am pleased with the operation and has cut mowing time by 50%. Will take some time to become an expert but you... more
Ernest Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
195
John
Rolla, MO
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Year Later And Very Happy
I took delivery on this mower in Sept. 2014 and am very happy. I have about 30 trees to mow around and pick up leaves, so I also purchased the double bagger. I actually leave the front weight that comes with the bagging assembly on all the time, even if I am just mowing.

It helps in some of the uneven areas. The Kawasaki motor fires up quickly and runs great. Also, with the two speed option, it really helps around landscaping. I would recommend this mower to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
80
Matt
Galena, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/24/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Leg Room
I've had the TORO, 50", Kawasaki engine, for a couple of months and have gotten about 8 mows under my belt. I did a lot of research and went to a lot of stores to look at all the brands in person. The Toro won out because I'm 6'3" and there is leg room to spare on this thing. The seat is high too allowing a comfortable ride especially up slopes. Mowers direct was awesome through the purchase and delivery process. I'm glad I requested the lift gate because the freight company that came... more
Pros: Durable, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Matt Recommends This Toro Mower
Matt's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I spent a lot of time on Mower's Direct website (the best in the business) and called to ask a few questions. The rep. I talked to was great and didn't try to rush me through to get to the next caller. I was ready to order, but made one last trip to a store and had a chance to get the mower slightly cheaper. The hassle they put me through to coordinate delivery and waiting for it to be in stock was painful. I literally walked out of the store, called Mowers Direct from the parking lot and the mower showed up within 48 hours on my driveway - BAM!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
113
David S.
Sharps Chapel, TN
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Mower
I've had this mower for three seasons now. No complaints as of yet. Kawasaki engine is strong and a gas sipper for a 23 horse. Great cut every time.

I cut five large yards a week so this review is a real good example in my opinion. I think the dual speed control is useless unless you are learning, then it wont be used again.
David Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
82
Elbert P.
Locust Grove, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/2/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine
I am very satisfied with this awesome machine. It does a great job. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Elbert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Gary T.
Camden, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/7/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
I am very pleased with this mower. It has extra horsepower that makes a mowing get done quicker. The only downside is the size of the grass ejection chute cover seems excessive but that seems standard for all mowers.
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
75
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Toro 74730 reviews.Compare our Toro 74730 ratings. Find the Toro 74730 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct