Search
< Back to Product

Toro SS4225 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$2,599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$2,599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$2,599.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 74721 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Fast (16)
Easy To Use (13)
Price (12)
High Quality (8)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Cons
Tires (5)
Low Quality (3)
Heavy (2)
Unreliable (2)
Durability (2)
82% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
142 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12614 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Toro SS4225 zero turn riding mower offers a 42” wide mower deck and powerful 22HP Kohler engine, which makes it great for wide open areas. Also the 2 anti-scalp wheels on the deck will allow it to float over the turf to prevent scalping of your lawn.

The Toro TimeCutter SS4225 features the Toro Smart Speed™ control system. This exclusive Toro innovation lets you choose different speed ranges with the flip of a lever without changing the engine or the blade speeds. Mow large open areas... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
34676
Tracy & Jason H.
Waxahachie, TX
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Bought This Mower This Time Last Year From Ped
I bought this model last year from PED, and I love it. You want to pay the $50 for lift gate if you don't have a pallet jack at home. The pallet is 7' long and double stacked. It's packed very well. I cut once every 10 days (1.5 acres). It takes about 45 mins.

I'd suggest buying after-market blades so you get an even cut without stripping if you're using the mulch kit cause Toro blades aren't even close to top 10 blades.

I ordered a timer on Amazon and installed it in minutes. Order the oil... more
View Image
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Tires, Low clearance to ground. So you might get stuck.
Tracy Recommends This Toro Mower
Tracy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My wife ordered it for my retirement fun and it arrived in a few weeks as planned. It's actually a joy to drive for me after my orthopedic doctor gave me the okay to ride it. I popped a tire off its bead; but with a rope, wrench, air compressor, and 5 minutes of my time. Overall I'm pleased with my mower I'm looking for "Honeycomb Style All-Terrain Tires" like what can be installed on the John Deer Zero Turn Mowers (exclusive)"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
J. M.
Lake Villa, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
Total Helpful Votes
36 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Used Once Then Failed
got 1 ss4225
and also a ss5425

the 4225 was used once and the electric brake switch failed ( would not release the brake )
it started but cannot move

2 - 3 weeks to get it in to service and be repaired

keep in mind its brand new, just got it - i want to use it and not use the old push mower

cant blame the local dealers - if there schedule is full its full

ordered replacement part ( $150.00 ) with shipping
put it in and back to service

what i am disappointed in is... more
Was this review helpful?
367
Larry T.
Adams, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Mower Has My Vote
This is a very good residential mower and I have a good sized yard (less than an acre with trees and landscaping) so it is perfect for me. If I had an acreage, I would go to a heavier duty mower that could stand up to heavier usage.

This is not a knock on this mower as it was built and priced for residential yards. I made the right choice. For the money, you will not find a better mower.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Price, Features
Larry Recommends This Toro Mower
Larry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I buy a lot of things on line. This was the best service ever. I ordered the mower one day and had it in my driveway the next day no shipping charges. It was crated very well. Short of a serious truck wreck, handling would not damage it. It came from Illinois which is not that far from southeast Minnesota but still that is good service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John W.
Port Deposit, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/1/16
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than My Old Wheel Horse
I have never owned any mower other than a Wheel Horse (Toro) this is my first new tractor since 1987 .My old tractor still runs fine ,just a little slow, considering it has over 4500 hours on it, (18hp Kohler).

I have cut my 1 acre yard with it twice ,it has a beautiful cut but I am still getting used to the zero turn that my son talked me into. Don"t get me wrong it is alot faster than my old garden tractor and I am sure once i get the hang of it i will like it even more .
John Recommends This Toro Mower
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The mower came well crated, took about 45 minutes to uncrate fill with fuel make the necessary adjustments and get to it. The truck driver took it off the truck put it in the driveway, fell in love with my old Wheel Horse. I had a cup of coffee. Talked about his old tractor, quite similar to mine and helped uncrate it considering I had just had knee surgery a week earlier ,his help was much appreciated"
 more
Was this review helpful?
180
David G.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
I Had A Lot Of Problems
First, I paid for lift gate service. The shipping company's lift gate was inadequate so I had to find someone local with a forklift to help unload the mower.

I hadn't had the mower for 20 minutes before the drive locked up. It is the control/brake unit. It stuck with the brake locked. I figured out how to unlock it manually. The brake unit no longer works but fortunately it is stuck unlocked so I can still operate the mower. I came back to mow the lawn again a week later and the... more
Was this review helpful?
171
Cheryl D.
Murfreesboro, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/15/16
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Was Happy, Now Disappointed
I purchased this mower after some research comparing to other name brands and the Toro had the most positive reviews. While I was excited to get this mower, my excitement turned to disappointment.

After just four times cutting the yard, the mower's electric brake module goes out and it won't move. I had the mower for 2 months and already it's in the shop. I really am hoping this is just a fluke and not a scenario of things to come. It performed just fine until this.

You know maybe... more
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use
Cons: Durability
Was this review helpful?
140
John C.
Cordova, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love My New Toro Timecutter Ss4225
I've owned a Craftsman zero turn with 42" cut with 24hp Briggs and Stratton. It doesn't hold a candle to this Toro. I ordered a bagger with the mower and it works super. Glad I bought a Toro.
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
140
Don F.
Pocatello, ID
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Notoro
I bought this one on my dealer's recommendation. The second time I tried to use it, it would just grind when I tried to put it into forward or reverse. Dealer came out and said it was the electric brake, so he removed the cables until he could get a new brake.

It worked awesome. The third time I tried it, it wouldn't start as if no battery. Thinking I might have left the key in the "on" position, I removed the key and charged the battery up. Same thing, no start. Now just waiting... more
Was this review helpful?
141
Scott P.
Woodville, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/16
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower With A Glitch
I mowed for a month with no problems. Great mower, cuts great, mows fast. I am able to get 3 acres done in two hours with many trees in it. After a four times of trouble free mowing I shut it off and it would not start again.

Took it to a Toro dealer for warranty repairs, and after two weeks I still don't have it back. The part that is needed is back ordered with no information about when it might come in. Great mower, bad parts management on Toro's end.
Was this review helpful?
131
Dennis M.
Egg Harbor City, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Break Controller
Ordered my Toro on a Thursday, was delivered on following Monday, great fast service from Mower Direct, cut my lawn 4 times, went to do it again, it wouldn't move. Started ok, but wouldn't move...called mower direct,they said call Toro customer services,wouldn't give any info over the phone,all they kept saying is take it to a dealer in your area....which i did with great difficultity,these thing are hard to transport if you don't have means to do it....I was not pleased with Toro,they didn't... more
Was this review helpful?
121
Leon R.
Murrysville, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Bad Timing
After giving a good review I ran into some bad luck. I went to use my newly purchased mower to find out the battery was completely dead.

After charging the battery and hoping to get my grass cut before the storms came thru my mower is now stuck in park and won't move.....electric brake from what you tube says. Only a month an a half in with this mower and I'm not to happy!!!!!
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Tires, Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability
Was this review helpful?
80
Harry C.
Catlettsburg, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/28/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Off To A Good Start!
The mower was delivered on time by a friendly and helpful driver, and I assembled it easily by following the manual. I used it four times in the first two weeks on the fast growing grass on about two acres. It cut like a champ.

Getting ready for the next use, when I approached the mower in my garage I heard a buzzing and clicking sound. The ignition key was "off", so I turned it to run, start- nothing happened.

I had to disconnect the battery to get the buzzing to stop. Turns... more
Pros: Fast, Price, Quiet, Easy To Store
Harry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
91
Jason W.
Florence, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Quality Issues Out Of The Box
Shopped for months and was so excited to get the mower. Had a 28" craftsman rider for years and wanted something to reduce mowing time while improving quality of the cut. Unfortunately out of the box the brake control module was bad.

The module is an integral component to make sure all of the various safety systems are working. When the module is bad you cannot get the mower to start. Now I need to pay someone to come pick up the mower and have it serviced.

It will be 2-3 weeks... more
Pros: Fast, Price
Cons: Low Quality
Was this review helpful?
70
Gregory L.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/17/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Battery Died After 3rd Use(3 Weeks)
I was happy with my new Toro mower until I tried to mow my lawn on the 4th occasion(4 weeks after purchase). On this occasion I turned the key and absolutely nothing. I took the battery to Advanced Auto Parts and it had no registered activity! How could this happen?

They kindly charged the battery for six hours and I was able to cut my yard. I have tried to contact a local Toro certified repair dealer but they declined to service my mower since I purchased this on line. What good is my... more
Was this review helpful?
92
Janet
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower Once We Got It Running !!!!
Rolled mower off the pallet. Followed all instructions. Mower would not start. I had to carry it 30 miles to a dealer, he had it for 2 weeks waiting for parts. Electric brake was faulty. Once I got it back home and running it was great. Warranty covered all but freight on the parts....ridiculous!!!
Janet Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
70
Ryan C.
Pleasanton, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/10/16
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower
Purchased this mower on a Friday and it was in my garage the following Tuesday!! Mowers Direct was a breeze to work with and a great experience. Secured the lap bars and hooked up the battery put some fuel in and it fired right up!

The name says it all (timecutter) this mower cut my mow time down by half and the cut looks professional!! I thought the 42 inch would be a bit small for my yard but it's not and allows me to get into areas I wouldn't be able to with a 54 or 60 inch that I was... more
Ryan Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
70
William H.
Edinboro, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mowers Direct Zero Turn Purchase
After researching zero turn mower prices and reviews I decided to go with Mowers Direct and was not disappointed. The price was lower and then with the pay by check and free delivery was an even better deal. The mower started right up and has run and cut well.

My only complaint was in the packaging of the mower. The design which would have allowed the mower to be backed off the shipping pallet allowed the mower to shift during shipping and fall of the track. It then became quite difficult to... more
William Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
60
Cullen B.
Rocheport, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/2/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Mower Quit After 3 Hours
Mowing with it was great for the three hours I had it. Parking brake motor decided to start running on its own, in the garage while it was off and no key in it.

Had to pull the battery cable to get it to quit. Locked it up to where I couldn't move it. Had to manually release it and roll it on a trailer. Still waiting for to get fixed at the shop.
Was this review helpful?
60
Charles W.
Madison, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/17/16
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Love The Unit
It's been cold here and snowing off and on, slow spring. But I have been using the roller. The drive levers need some adjusting with both are all the way forward unit pulls to the right, couldn't find any thing in the book about adjusting.
Charles Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
60
Guy F.
Port Orchard, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/8/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needs Grab Rail
DON'T Pull Levers to get on or off mower, or step on mower deck with foot-So Jump? Integrate loop strap high up on the seat OK
Guy Recommends This Toro Mower
Guy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"All Good!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
George H.
Odessa, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Great Price!
I currently have a 42" Craftsman Lawn Tractor that is only 2 years old and run and looks like new. My yard has too many tight places around trees and fences. It takes a lot of forward, reverse and tight turns.

I have been thinking about a ZTR for some time now and finally decided on a Toro TimeCutter SS4225 with a 22HP Kohler engine. I looked at the one Home Depot had and liked it, then I found Mowers Direct.

I saved over $300 and they shipped it the same day I ordered it. It... more
George Recommends This Toro Mower
George's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct was awesome and shipped it when they said they would. I would recommend them to anyone!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Eldon R.
Aberdeen, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This mower works great. It mows great, it turns great, it rides smooth, and it mows fast.

I just had some trouble with the automatic brake system that kept running my battery down.
Eldon Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
John H.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice...but
The mower worked great and started right up after uncrating. It cut well and took me half as long to cut my grass vs. previous mower. After one week, the battery was dead though. I charged it and two days later it was dead again.

The battery checks out fine and it charges quickly. Something is draining the battery, even with the key removed. The service centers in my area cant get to it quickly and I can't be without a mower so I will have to wait until the season is over to have the problem... more
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Nancy S.
Norman, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/19/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Bumpy Start
I mowed no more than 30 minutes when it quit. Had to get mower into the repair shop (fortunately warranty covered work). I have gotten it back and mowed a little. It feels light weight compared to the Toro that it replaced, but hopefully it will do a good job for me. I remain to be convinced.
Nancy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"When I called Mowers Direct about my mower problem I was told to call Toro, that Mowers Direct could not take care of my issue. I called Toro. I later received a call from M.D. (or maybe it was Toro) offering to pay for my transportation for repair costs."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Robert B.
Kansas City, MO
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Complaints
I purchased a Toro Timecutter SS4225. The transaction was smooth, and the price was very competitive especially without sales tax. Delivery also went smooth I was given one day notice from the delivery company and they arrived & put it in my garage in a crate. Getting the mower out of the crate took some time as it was very thoroughly packaged in a wood and cardboard crate.

I added the mulching kit and striping kit and if you're getting the mower out of the crate it took me about an hour... more
Pros: Fast, High Quality, Features
Cons: Does Not Handle Well On Steep Grades
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
61
Edward S.
Haddon Heights, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/22/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Online Purchase
Free shipping, no taxes, good price, and quality product.
Edward Recommends This Toro Mower
Edward's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good online experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Fred H.
Benton, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/2/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower, I Would Buy It Again
Works great, perfect size for my yard. I did have to buy the multi kit.
Fred Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Fred F.
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I Don't Know What To Say
I have not had my mower but 22 days used it one time wanted to use it today will not start battery is dead are they putting used battery in them I don't no who to call for help.
Was this review helpful?
73
Jack I.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Even more maneuverable than I thought it would be. The engine is a bit loud, but ear protectors (which I always wear anyway) quiet it down just fine. Nice even cuts that show no ridges or skips.
Jack Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Charles R.
Appling, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zero Turn
This is my first zero turn mower as well as my first Toro. I have only used it twice so far, but it is a real time saver. I wanted this model because it had a Kohler engine. The frame and the mower deck seem to be very sturdy and well built. Just wish it had an hour meter. Order was delivered in a very timely manner. I believe I made a good decision on both the mower and Mowers Direct.
Pros: Fast, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Charles Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Charles Q.
Salkum, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/22/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Zero Turn Mower
It took me longer to get out of the carton than learning to drive a zero turn. It's fast, I have cut my mowing time almost in half. It gives me more time to do things my wife wants done!! If I have a complaint, it's getting on and off the machine.
Charles Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Donald T.
Harrisburg, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tamayo's Toro
OUR CRAFTSMAN LAWN TRACTOR GAVE UP THE GHOST! Time for a new mower and since grass was coming in after a tough winter...and my husband broke his ankle, we decided to try a zero turn. HE LOVES IT! Maybe more than his ATV.... CUTS EVEN, steers easily and delivery was on schedule. We are very happy with our new mower...THANK YOU MOWERS DIRECT!
Donald Recommends This Toro Mower
Donald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I TOLD A FRIEND AND SHE BOUGHT A NEW BIGGER ZERO TURN THE NEXT DAY!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
51
Eugene B. Jr.
Savannah, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/19/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Purchase I Have Ever Made.
Being a senior citizen, I need all the help I can get (lol) in terms of laboring over maintaining a lawn. This purchase makes it not only easy, but fast.

I also saved on shipping, paid no taxes, and saved 2% by purchasing it with a check... it doesn't get any better. Now all I have to do is figure out how to get it off the pallet. Believe me, I will figure it out.
Eugene Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
51
Dennis M.
Egg Harbor City, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
The Headaches Start
ordered my mower on a Thursday, was delivered on Tuesday of the next week...very quick service,very easy to set mower up and get running...cut the lawn 4 times in half the time it took before....then i went to use the mower again ,it started,but wouldn't mover....called mowers direct which told me to call Toro customer service which i did...they were not very helpful, they said i had to take it ti a auth. toro dealer, wouldn't give any info over the phone,just keep saying to take it to a... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Eldon R.
Aberdeen, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does What It Says:
Love this zero turn. It is so fast that I mow in the trim mode rather than mow mode. I save gas and time with this excellent mower.
Eldon Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Alan S.
Lufkin, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/2/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Lawnmower!
This was my first riding mower, and I am so happy we chose a Toro. I can't wait to use it again!
Alan Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Kim V.
Hamiton, OH
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Never A Craftsman Again!
Traded my 22 HP for the TORO ZTR went out and normally takes me an hour to mow the lawn, took me 15 minutes without any issues!

Now it seems my kids are volunteering to mow the yard!&#128515;&#128077;
Kim Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Scott
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/16/16
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow
I don't remember enjoying cutting the lawn, however this time was different. The machine arrived just as expected. boxed very nice, on time 3 days and was easy to put together and operate. Cut very even and this was my concern because the last rider I had did not. plenty of power. This was easily a 5 star experience for me.
Scott Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Bernard H.
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/12/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro 42" Time Cutter Ss 4225 Zero Turn Mower W/ 22 Hp Kohler Eng
I did a lot of research on Zero Cut Mowers. Toro had the most best reviews. I order it from Mowers Direct. It came in about 2 weeks. Very well crated. Delivery was great. I check fluids and put gas in it and it fired right up. Didn't have to adjust anything.

I never had a Zero cut mower before so i just drove it around to get used to it.It was great. The only problem I have is If the grass is a little wet it slides on my hill behind my house.

It's not too steep, its the front wheels... more
Bernard Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Aaron S.
Sandyville, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/25/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Machine
Arived on time. We didn't request lift gate service, and the truck didn't have it, so don't just assume you'll get one even if you don't request it, even though other reviewers have said so. We had our tractor with forks on it ready to go though. They called us a couple of times to keep us informed about when they would get here. The trucker stayed around and helped us open the box enough to ensure the mower was delivered undamaged.

We sat it down in front of our garage after he left and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Features, Durable
Aaron Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Wendy N.
Minneapolis, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great.....but.....
After one month and 5 days the brake control module went out...the park brake stays engaged, will not move... .now it was not the electrical part, but the gearing inside.

The part has a small motor with a series of plastic gears and the small gear mounted on to the motor shaft came off.
The mower is under warranty and I needed the mower now.

All Toro repair shops were 1 to 2 weeks out for repairs.

I found the needed part for around $100 and fixed myself.
Because I fixed myself and... more
Wendy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everyone is very helpful"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
John C.
Lafayette, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Deal
I truly like to buy locally, but when I was shopping for a mower I discovered Mowers Direct. Not only did the website provide almost all of the information I needed to purchase a mower they were hundreds of dollars less than what I could get it from a local (over 50 miles away) dealer. The lady in customer service was very helpful with my questions also. Ordering was as easy as drinking a cup of coffee and it came to my door. It was great.

P.S. The mower really works great also.
John Recommends This Toro Mower
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"The local trucking outfit had a lot of trouble getting the mower off the truck and on to the lift gate. Finally my son came and he, I, and the driver were able to get the mower off the truck."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ivan V.
Manahawkin, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Don't Buy
I purchased the unit 3 weeks ago, and then it started to make clicking noise with no key in the ignition. Mowers direct tells me to bring it for repair which is 30 miles away. Now how am I supposed to get it there? Toro tells me to rent a trailer and drive it to the repair shop which is an additional cost to me.

I am very unhappy with my purchase. How is it possible to buy something brand new and then have to repair it after 3 weeks? I recommend anyone looking to buy a mower to purchase it... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Ivan,
Sorry to hear you are having issues with the mower we recently found out the Toro has had issues with their brake modules which prevents the mower from starting, this is covered under warranty and in most cases they do cover the pick up and delivery. If you need help with the manufacturer please let us know and we can contact the manufacturer on your behalf.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Donald P.
Tolland, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Prompt Cheerful Delivery Was Well Crated
The new Toro 4225 twin cylinder 22 HP replaced a 7 year old Toro 4220 because the 4220 Kohler single cylinder was blowing blue smoke while pulling the DR Equipment Lawn Shredder Vac.So I gave the old 4220 to my daughter who has rather light duty compared to my service needs.

So I can compare them.

On the frame:
The new 4225 has a lighter frame compared to the old 4220 by eliminating the rear cross member. On the 4225 a light duty angle hitch is furnished that bolts to the rear screen... more
Donald Recommends This Toro Mower
Donald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Super fast delivery, friendly driver unloaded to exact location desired, and price was very competitive with other locations. Saved at least $300 over in-state purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Sherry B.
Elkland, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Ztr
The toro time cutter is a great little machine.. It cuts mowing time in half and is really fun to drive. I would recommend it to anyone with a small to medium sized yard.

I would also recommend mowers direct for all of your mower needs ... you save enough in shipping to make it worth your while ... also no sales tax ... good deal all the way around.
Sherry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Don M.
Littleton, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/18/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zero Turn Radius Convert
We live on 2 acres in a Denver suburb, and I switched 30 years ago to a riding lawn tractor. It took me about 4-5 hours to cut our grass. Now that I have caught on and am using the Toro zero turn radius, it takes me half that time -- and as a beginner I am going at the lowest of the 3 speed ranges.

It is great having that ability to maneuver so quickly, but it also takes some serious getting used to. It has no "brakes" as such, and it is really possible to get yourselves moving... more
Don Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Steven F.
Sewell, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Time Cutter Ss4225
My 33" inch Cub Cadet walk behind was on it's last leg. I was going to purchase another one, and then I remembered all the trouble I had with it from the get go. I was hesitant to purchase a riding mower due to space. I am so happy I purchased the Toro zero turn mower. This thing makes cutting grass a joy. I actually get sad when the grass cutting is done.

It is so fast, I can't cut the grass on high speed, my yard is not big enough. It was a little tough at first getting used to the... more
Steven Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Ken S.
Pearland, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Mower Does What It's Advertised To Do
We have 5 acres to cut. It's not a golf course. There are some uneven areas. This Toro cutting deck can rise high enough to cut the tallest grass and not bog down. It is much quicker than my old riding mower and easier.
Ken Recommends This Toro Mower
Ken's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivery was timely. Mower was out of box and ready to mow within an hour."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
John M.
Dunnellon, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/7/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Transaction
The whole transaction was flawless.. They even brought a lift truck just in case at no cost.. The best part was saving cash.. Cheapest deal around! Can't wait to buy from Mowers Direct again!
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Melvin M.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine, But Beware Of Sensitive Steering!
I purchased this mower to use at my country place and decided to start by mowing the yard around the old house. Right away I took a left turn into a corner and I couldn't get out of that corner. The unit is too heavy to pull or push by hand so I had to get my Polaris Ranger with a long rope and literally drag it out of the corner.

I didn't realize how sensitive the steering (turning radius) was! Therefore, be forewarned, if you have never steered one of these zero turn mowers, start out... more
Melvin Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
William B.
Germantown, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/7/16
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Customer
I had a Cub Cadet tractor that had been a constant maintenance issue for years. Electrical problems with various parts. I finally had enough & decided to replace it. I found Mowers Direct on the internet & really liked the Toro zero turn mower I selected. Looked like a good value for my needs.

The mower arrived less than a week after I ordered it. The truck line called before delivery, the lift gate dropped it off at the bottom of my driveway. Perfect condition - no problems. ... more
William Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Brian W.
Hartwell, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Satisfied But Issues
Ordered the mower with the mulcher kit (it is a lot easier to install on a new mower). First time with a zero turn and wish that it had a lower speed for trimming, has three speeds but can't tell much difference in them. Mower cuts great, zoysia yard looks good and will see if the mulcher works or will have to collect trimmings. I had to adjust the steering because it wasn't balanced, would think this would have been checked at factory.

Ordered using a check to save a few bucks and that... more
Brian Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Brad H.
Painesville, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Ztr!
I ordered this zero turn mower after completing hours of research. I ordered and installed the mulching kit. It took a little to get on to the steering but as others have posted, one gets a feel for it after a few times mowing.

I did notice that the zero turn does not inclined terrain as well as a lawn tractor. One needs to use extreme caution about stopping or turning while on an incline. The mulching ability of the mulching kit and the 22hp Kohler is superb! The best of any mower I... more
Brad Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Peter B.
Jacksonville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Timecutter Ss4225
I bought the mower in August, and mow my yard and neighbors yard (two acres) with lots of trees. I love this machine and look forward to the next mowing.

It takes a little time to get used to using it, but every time I mow I get better. I bought some extras i.e. hour meter and mulching kit which does a GREAT job. As of now it has cut my time by 1/3.

I would highly recommend this mower and Mowers Direct.
Peter Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Ellis E.
Ponchatoula, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Ss4225
I purchased the Toro 42" cut mower. I am very satisfied with the mower and the service provided by mowers direct. The key and service Manuel were missing. I called Mowers direct and they shipped the two items mentioned within 4 days.
The people I talked too were very helpful and took time to hear my problem. Will do busines with mowers direct in the future.
It is very important to read the Manuel before using this product if you have never used a ZTR mower.
Ellis Ernest
Ellis Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
James
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/14/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Muffler Burns The Grass
You better mow fast because if you pause too long you'll singe the grass, and if you stop for more than 30 seconds you'll be looking at a big dead spot....other than that, I love the mower so far.
James Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Chad R.
Neenah, WI
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Thing Moves!
I upgraded from a slow 38" Simplicity. The first time I put the Toro on the fastest setting my flip flop flew off when I turned. I wasn't ready to mow that fast. Now after a full year, I love this mower. I have a 1.2 acre yard and I'm done in less than an hour. I follow the service recommendations and I have not had any issues yet. Plus my neighbors are all jealous. That makes it even better.
Chad Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Mary J.
Wewahitchka, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/29/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Have Fun Mowing Your Grass
The old standard 42" width riding lawn mower broke after 9 years of use. It did see a lot of action being used in Florida and mowing 2 big yards each week. We live out in the country. I read about the zero turn lawn mowers and thought this is what I need. I am a woman who is 5'2" tall and 55 years old and I love this lawn mower. It use to take me 6 hours to mow grass. It now takes me 3 hours.

I told friends I kind of feel like a kid riding a go cart. It's that much fun mowing... more
Mary Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Peter B.
Jacksonville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Ss 4225
Just got the mower and only used it twice. As of now I love it and I can't wait to mow it again. But it's going to take a little time to get used to it
Peter Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary C.
Johnstown, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No More Trimming
I have grass edging around entire lawn (half acre) and the new toro cuts very nicely so that no trimming is necessary. That alone makes it worth the cost, let alone the time saved. I have a mulching kit, but haven't installed it yet, so more to come later.
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Russell S.
Brighton, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mowing In Half The Time
I have a John Deere 48" riding lawn mower and purchased the Toro 42" and still am able to cut my mowing time in half. My lot is 1.3 Acre and also mow the 1.2 acres next to me.
Russell Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Colleen S.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/4/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower!
I've had a chance to give my mower a couple of months use now, so I feel my review might actually be useful. It came in great condition though the truck driver was not very helpful. The mower was very difficult to get out of the crate, and being a small framed woman, I had to call a neighbor for help. After taking a sawzall to it we finally got it out of the crate.

This mower is amazing! It took a little time to get used to but once I got the hang of it I am so pleased. My yard is just... more
Pros: Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Packaging
Colleen Recommends This Toro Mower
Colleen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"I would purchase from your business again. Very smooth transaction."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Kenneth G.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower And Seller
I ordered this mower at mowers direct, and it shipped the next day. GREAT web site and distributor. I had it at the trucking company in about 3 days.

Great mower, worked perfect out of the crate. I am extremely happy with this purchase and this mower.
Kenneth Recommends This Toro Mower
Kenneth's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"All around excellent!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
William K.
Lakewood, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/15/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
This mower is easy to use and also very safe. Three speed ranges provide great versatility. With the Toro recycling (mulching) kit it leaves no trace of grass clippings, something that isn't true of other riding mowers. The pneumatic tires don't leave tracks like the hard wheels of walk-behind mowers, so you don't have to change your mowing pattern each time you mow.

Like any zero-turn mower, you have to develop some finesse to avoid leaving skid marks from abrupt stops, gouging divots... more
William Recommends This Toro Mower
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered online late at night and they shipped the unit next morning. You can't ask for quicker service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary C.
Johnstown, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zero Turn Toro
like so far, but sent only one deliveryman. If it hadn't been for my son to help we could not have gotten machine out of truck. Takes some practice, but does what I wanted in terms of cutting close to beveled brinks surrounding lawn. More after some additional use
Gary Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff J.
Rockledge, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/15/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower!
Love everything about this mower! I bought and installed the mulching kit and it works fantastic.
Jeff Recommends This Toro Mower
Jeff's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct had the best price hands down. Mower shipped to my house as promised. 100% satisfied with Mowers Direct...highly recommend to EVERYONE."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jack I.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Timecutter
Be sure to ask the truck driver to take it off the shipping pallet. This is not the shipping crate, but the pallet. We got our mower off the crate and the pallet with a bit of maneuvering, but all is well. It would have been better had we known.

On the positive side, the mower started right up. The oil was full. It cuts just great and solved the problems I had been seeing with the old mower. It goes quite fast on the Tow setting. I think I have not had it long enough yet to say that... more
Jack Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Leon R.
Murrysville, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Shorter Cut Time
I had looked into buying a zero turn the previous year and after borrowing my neighbors zero turn mower I knew I had to get one myself.
Pros: Fast, Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Better Tires With More Grip, Tires, Tires, Tires
Leon Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Eugene G.
Mclean, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower!
I love it! It is well built and starts right every time! I have a bad back and neck and I can mow in comfort. Love the zero turn and mobility of it. It doesn't take long to mow now. I wish I had bought one a long time ago! Love the free shipping and taxes. I highly recommend this mower! Thanks Mowers Direct!!
Eugene Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
George C.
Monkton, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/7/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Model 74721
Very powerful. Starts easily. A little tricky to steer as all zero turn mowers but as you use it gets easier.
.
George Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert B.
Hale, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like My Toro 4225, But- Had Some Problems
After i got the mower out of the crate, takes a while since it is very well packaged, I checked everything out and mowed my yard. Parked the unit on the driveway in front of the garage, and when I moved it I noticed a large pool of oil. Checked the oil and the engine was almost completely empty of oil.

Closest dealer was 40 miles away had to take it there to find out that Kohler engine had not tightened something which I could not get to and it was blowing oil out as a result. Did not... more
Robert Recommends This Toro Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Dealing with Mowers Direct was easy and pleasant. Placed my order and mailed a check to save extra money. Two days after I ordered they called and said the price had gone down. I told them I had already mailed the check and they said they would send me a check for the difference in price, which they did. Wow that impressed me. Only problem I had with shipping was no notification from Mowers Direct that they had shipped the unit, didn't know until the carrier called to arrange the delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Andrew P.
Elk Grove Village, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Astonishing Performance
My new Toro replaces my old Trusty but aging Kubota. What a difference. It is so manuverable so quick easily halving the work.
Andrew Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Jose C.
Florence, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Loving This Machine
I got my mower from Mowers Direct. The purchase could have not been easier. And I have used it twice already and love it. Shipping was free, and extended warranty made it a great buy. Thank you!
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
Cons: Takes Getting Use To The Zero Turn But Awesome
Jose Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Barry E.
Granbury, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Barry
The mower arrived as promised in excellent condition.
I've only mowed with it a couple of times, but I'm impressed by the power this mower has. I cut a yard that was overgrown (grass/weeds 24"/30" high) and this machine cut it like a hot knife through butter. This mower is also very comfortable to use. It's seat is padded and well sprung, as well as being adjustable. As are the hand bars.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Barry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Andy B.
Blue Mountain, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/8/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Buy This Mower
Mower's Direct is a great buying process, My Toro Timecutter is the worst experience ever. I test cut about 30 minutes. it worked fine, Did another cut 1 hour fine. Parked it after washing underneath with wash plug.

Got back on my Timecutter 1 week later and the Mower was locked up. It would crank, but would not move. Took it to the dealer and they said Brake Box was gone.

Part was ordered May 20, still have not received it. Had dealer call Toro, and they didn't have the part, so the... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Lori H.
Martinsville, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Disappointed
The mower worked for 15 minutes and then stopped. It has been with a nearby dealer/repair shop for two weeks and we were told yesterday that the part still hasn't come in. Extremely disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
10
Ronald F.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
Very pleased with the mower. Meets all of my expectations.
Ronald Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Gina W.
Stone Mountain, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like It...
Smooth start, handles well, mows great, looks good, takes 1 1/2 hours off cutting time...
Gina Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Joel S.
Arabi, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Done Toro
Mower arrived in about 5 days, I had it unboxed and off the pallet in about 30 minutes, no problems. Adjusted control arms, and took a practice lap around the lot. It is different than a steering wheel mower but takes no time to get used to. Made my first cut on Friday and loved the way the mower handled, and the cut it produced. Wish I would have gotten this one the first time instead of the Craftsman that only lasted 5 years. Seems to be a great product and handles well, I am very satisfied
Joel Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Steven
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
A Disappointment
Much cheaper than I thought. There is something constantly going wrong. A starter last year and selenoid. The machine is only two years old. Housed inside all the time and taken care of. Should have bought something else. BEWARE PS the tires suck. NO tread if it gets wet oh no
Was this review helpful?
65
Matt E.
Bristol, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/12/16
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far, So Good!
Dealing with Mowers Direct was great! I would have never thought purchasing such a large item on line would be so painless, but it was, and fast shipping too. As far as the mower, I am very happy.

I took it out for the first time last week and was very happy with the cut quality and speed of this machine. This is my first zero turn mower and have never been on one, so there is a learning curve.

I suspect I will be proficient about half way through the mowing season and cut my mow... more
Matt Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
21
Bruce P.
Oak Harbor, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Nice mower fast and easy to use.
Bruce Recommends This Toro Mower
Bruce's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Excellent experience!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ted O.
Brookston, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not So Happy
The mower showed up in perfect condition. The packaging was prestine however when I tried to move it off of the crate that it was shipped in I could not get the brakes to disengage. I worked with this for a few days and for some miracle after talking to a local dealer for Toro things got better.

I thought the mower came to me DOA but I was wrong and even the dealer does not know what made the difference since I tried all of the suggestions he had several days before he suggested them to... more
Was this review helpful?
43
Jerry J.
Wolfforth, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/15/16
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Mower
I love it. The wife loves it.
Jerry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Stephen H.
Boerne, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/24/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Relief!
We have 26 acres, about half open, half dense cedar. We keep about 6 acres mowed to keep the varmints away. Of that we keep about 2 acres mowed and trimmed as a lawn.

My gardener has been trying to keep up using a 22" push mower. Was he glad to see the TORO show up. He takes about 30 minutes a day and mows an area early in the cool mornings and he runs out of things to mow.

He's thrilled and I'm thrilled with the price.
Stephen Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
John D.
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Warning - Bad Product
Please don't waste your money.

Season 1, a bad battery - I checked the date on it, and they had sold me a new mower with an expired battery. I guess they save a couple bucks. Ran for two mowings, won't start, to the shop it goes, $200 repair.

Season 2 won't start again, back to the shop it must go. My yard is a half acre, so not like it has had that much mowing time. For $3,000, I expected more. By the way, I tried to post a review on the Toro site, they denied it, said it didn't meet... more
Was this review helpful?
11
Nicholls M.
Prairieville, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sad Story
Was doing fine until it went under water in Louisiana.
Nicholls Recommends This Toro Mower
Nicholls's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Have a special discount for flood victim?"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ben S.
Spanish Fort, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
I have cut my yard 4 times with this mower, and so far it's awesome. It's extremely fast and powerful. I bought the mulching kit and hour meter with it. Neither were difficult to put on, mulching kit was time consuming and maybe wouldn't have been as bad if two people are involved. The financing process was easy to get set up. I bought it on a Tuesday and it was delivered the next Monday. Pretty great experience with Mowers Direct!
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Ben Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark B.
Clinton, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/17/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Is A Timecutter
This mower is a pleasure to operate and cuts the grass evenly on my bumpy and hilly lawn. It does not suck up rocks and small limbs. I have a lot of rocks in my yard and it glides right over them. The blade sets up in the deck and this keeps them from hitting the rocks.

Great mower, very sturdy built and engineered well. Plenty of power and does not bog or slow down at all. Easy to clean and remove and replace the blades. Also very fast, I use the lowest speed and cutting time for me is... more
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark B.
Clinton, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/17/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Is A Timecutter
This mower is a pleasure to operate and cuts the grass evenly on my bumpy and hilly lawn. It does not suck up rocks and small limbs. I have a lot of rocks in my yard and it glides right over them. The blade sets up in the deck and this keeps them from hitting the rocks.

Great mower, very sturdy built and engineered well. Plenty of power and does not bog or slow down at all. Easy to clean and remove and replace the blades. Also very fast, I use the lowest speed and cutting time for me is... more
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard G.
Parkville, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/4/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Timecutter
I love this thing. It mows so much better than my walk behind. My wife wants to know why I volunteer to mow the neighbors yard!
Richard Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Douglas M.
Rockville, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Great deal on the mower. Fast shipping. Great customer service.
Douglas Recommends This Toro Mower
Douglas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A friend recommend this site, and it turned out to be the best."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Don D.
Carrabelle, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
Had never had a zero turn, love it is all and more than expected.
Don Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Melvin B.
Wilmington, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I get my lawn done in haft the time
Melvin Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
James S.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Super Lawn Mower
My new 22 horsepower 42-inch cut Toro is extremely fast and quiet it is a good dollar value.
James Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
James H.
Kernersville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than I Expected
Delivered, put gas in it, checked the oil and mowed 1.5 acres. It took me a little over an hour. It took a few minutes to get used to zero turn. Super mower, great delivery and away we go!
James Recommends This Toro Mower
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Loved it!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Wayne P.
Alburtis, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/17/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower So Far
I've only used this mower twice so far for a total of one hour use due to the extremely dry summer so far. Everything is working well to date. The steering is a little touchy but I'm told from friends that as it breaks in that will alleviate.
Wayne Recommends This Toro Mower
Wayne's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was shipped by Old Dominion freight. I ordered the lift gate service as I had no other means to unload. The driver was very courteous an even had an electric pallet jack to deliver right into my garage. Delivery was fast and time with the tracking info. Good Job Everyone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Wendy N.
Minneapolis, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
amazing mower
Wendy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Fred F.
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
It Has Been A Bad Decision For Me
I used it one time and it wouldn't start the next time I try to use it. The brakes locked up, I couldn't move it, and couldn't get any help from Mowers Direct at all. If I had a do-over, I wouldn't buy from mowers direct I had to go all out to get Toro to get it to a shop ben there for a week still not fix I thank I made a bad decision.
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Fred,
Sorry you are having issues with the mower. Toro recently has found out that they are having issues with their brake boxes on some mowers and are replacing them under warranty. If you need help locating a service center, please let us know.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Patricia H.
Yorktown, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/27/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Dissatisfaction
I am absolutely unhappy with my machine. I found when I got the machine that is that is too much for the area that I have to cut and I was told by Toro and the Dealer I have no recourse.

A retired senior citizen and I can't handle the machine. If I had known ahead of time that I couldn't return the mower I would never have ordered it. That is my ignorance and I will just have to live with it
Was this review helpful?
00
Fred F.
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
I Don't Know What To Say
I have not had my mower but 22days used it one time it will not turn over cant get no help from toro nor mower direct I wish I had got my mower somewhere else this one not good
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Fred,
We're sorry you feel this way. Let us know if there's anything we can do to help.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve
Hanover, PA
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Mower
I did a lot of shopping and comparing brands before I decided on purchasing the Toro Timecutter from Mowers Direct. There are so many brands to choose from these days. I read all the reviews on Mowers Direct as well as watching video's on YouTube. I was sold on the Timecutter.

This mower is fun to operate and cuts through grass easily and has other features and options to make any yard project more manageable. The Kohler motor has a lot of power and does the job easily. I have used Toro... more
Steve Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Jay A.
Hudson, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Awful, Had It Three Weeks And Already Dead...
I purchased this Toro 3 weeks ago, and it is already dead. I tried to start it today, and.....nothing. Tried a new battery....nothing. Called Toro, got absolutely zero information other than a dealer's name and number. So, my new three-week old mower is now off to the repair shop.

This was a replacement for a Cub Cadet that I used for more than 10 years, and it never was in the shop, not even once. I cannot begin to tell you how disappointed I am in this machine. Ridiculous...
Was this review helpful?
00
Phil O.
Pleasant Prarie, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Junk
Bought Toro SS4225 in early May only a few hours on it & it wouldn't start or even turn over nothing "DOA" I checked fuses, of course gas in the tank, oil level, spark plugs, fuel filter, air filter, everything on the damn checklist. I called Mowers Direct which said warantee is through Toro & connected me immediately.

Don't get me wrong - Mowers Direct has been great from purchasing to delivering quickly. However Toro gave me a list of all the dealers in my area & I... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Alan B.
Burlington, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Smart Buy
So far, so good. It took awhile to set up, the hardest part disassembling the crate. It has literally cut my mowing time in half. Tricky to operate at first, but once you do it for awhile it's a blast to run.

I'm still running in "trim" setting. "Mow" is a little too fast for me. All in all, I like it way more than the walk behind it replaced. That lasted 10 years. I hope this will too.
Alan Recommends This Toro Mower
Alan's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery. Arrived quickly and in good shape."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis M.
Egg Harbor City, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Timecutter Ss4225
Shopped local, but saved $400.00 getting it from mower direct... quick delivery... very happy with mower, takes a little time to get used to it... cuts great, very happy with my purchase.
Dennis Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Andrew C.
Lake Stevens, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/5/16
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Great mower and good Direct service. Mower was on promised delivery date. Too bad that Mowers Direct does not offer a Military Discount like Home Depot.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Loud
Andrew Recommends This Toro Mower
Andrew's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"very good, would be better with a military discount"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Brandon H.
Maryville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/15/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Buy From A Local Dealer
If you have an issue or are unhappy with your purchase you are stuck with it. I had the parking brake malfunction 20 minutes into owning the mower. The Co-op in Maryville, Tn (closest authorized service center) would not assist me claiming they only service items purchased from them.

This was a lie however, but once I called them on it they advised it would be 4 weeks until they could look at it. Dickens Turf and Landscape Supply in Knoxville did an awesome job assisting me. Should have... more
Brandon Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Brandon,
We are sorry to hear you experienced issues with your mower. We can accept returns within 30 days of delivery if the item has not been used or gassed and is in its original packaging materials.

This policy has been put into place by the manufacturers to ensure proper use, maintenance, and to answer any further technical questions regarding their product.

Rest assured all engine equipment is covered by a warranty through the manufacturer. We will assist in any way possible, but we are required to follow the warranty process put forth by the manufacturer.
more
Was this review helpful?
23
Charles A.
Olathe, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/8/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
Received the mower in excellent condition. I like the mower, it is taking me awhile to adjust to the zero turn. covers a lot of ground in a short time, and does a great job. i was surprised that the hour meter was not included. your people did a great job in creating, and sending out promptly. thanks
Charles Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Raymond D.
Marlborough, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Timecutter Ss4225
Excellent product
Raymond Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Larry H.
Houston, TX
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
The Worse Lawn Mower I Have Ever Own
The toro 42 " time cutter is a piece of crap!
I wasted my money on this investment!
1. It has a very bad cut it leve a scalp mark from one blade and only on one side of the blade! I've taken to toro dealer and I keep paying for repaires and it still cut the same. I've own it for three years now spent tone of money in fact I spent more on repairs than I did for the mower!
2. the exhaust keep loosing bolts this is my fifth time replacing them and they still come out and I'm told that the... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
611
Larry B.
Jacksonville, NC
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awsome Machine
Bought this mower a few days ago the best in its class it is 100lbs heavier than the ss4325 good strong Kohler engine with automatic choke super fast cold starting.

Added hour meter and anti skid floor mat. I need arm rest hard to find exact part for it. Other than that no complants
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Larry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
8019
Ernest W
Medford, OR
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
80 Plus Hours
80 plus hours on mine. I run synthetic oil. Still running great! I mow my three acre lawn, a lot.

I've had to replace the bearings in the blade assembly. Inexpensive repair but complicated enough you might want to just replace the entire housing (I'm a mechanic, so I "rebuild" when I can).

Grease fittings on the bearing/blade housing assembly would be nice! I suspect they overheat from the long hours of continual mowing.
Ernest Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
523
John C.
Longmont, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/2/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Love The Speed And Quiality Of Cut
This is my first zero turn mower, my old mower was a LT155 John Deere, it was durable and lasted 18 years. My old mower finally lost too much power and was too slow for my taste. My new Toro SS4225 setup was easy, just a couple of screws to move for control arms and attach the negative battery cable, filled with 87 gas and off I went.

Within 5 minutes I felt like a pro mowing my lawn at 7mph, I have 2 acres and it took me less then half the time it took in my old John Deere, even when it was... more
Pros: Fast, High Quality
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
488
Garrett J.
Perry, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Quality Mower For The Price!
I was looking for a good quality mower to replace the Husqvarna riding mower that died on the last mow of the year last year. After looking at various places online I couldn't seem to find a mower that had great reviews at a price I was looking for. I finally found one here. I never hear the Toro brand until I started looking around at all the other lawn mower guys doing it for a living were on a Toro.

Other than a simple nut and washer missing from the package this thing works great right... more
Garrett Recommends This Toro Mower
Garrett's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Pretty simple process for getting a mower. Website design is easy to navigate and has plenty of resources to help with the purchase (better than any other I was looking at). Wish I would have started here first."
 more
Was this review helpful?
393
Bob H.
Camden, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simple
All i can say is where has this machine been for the last 15 years (excellent) as others have said takes longer to unload then to get running someone mentioned a chain saw (good choice if you can run one).

I ordered it on a Tuesday with regular freight - delivered on Friday, and ABF driver helped unload and even helped me get started on unpacking (good help like him is hard to find).

Mowed my lawn and neighbors -lesson one for anybody if you have never driven one of these things.

Start... more
Bob Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
340
Gaston N.
Jasper, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Zero Turn Mowers Is The Best Lawn Mowers Are The Best Thing
I have been thanking about buying one for some time now. It cuts my time mowing my lawn down to half the time than before using the Toro. I am 80 years old. So I don't need to spend three hours on a mower my lawn. The only complaint I have is it took 8 day shipping time.
Gaston Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
322
Raymond M.
Corinth, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Retired
Have only used it once and it was nice. It does take some getting the hang of operating it. I think after a few times it will be just fine.
Did not have as much trouble getting it out of the packing material as I read in other review.

Just backed it off the pallet. Did find it cheaper at Home Depot, but the sales tax would have made comparable in price however I would have been able to have the mower immediately.
Raymond Recommends This Toro Mower
Raymond's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Not the deal I thought it would be and the waiting period was longer than if I would have done a big box store purchase with the cost being about the same."
 more
Was this review helpful?
303
Timothy R.
Mcleansville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/15
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Toro
Being a novice to the zero turn controls, it has taken me a few mowings to gain confidence. But since gaining experience, I have really enjoyed the maneuverability, power and comfort that comes with mower.
Timothy Recommends This Toro Mower
Timothy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Driver unloaded mower with a hand jack and wheeled directly into my garage. Uncrateing mower was a challenge but not impossible for one person."
 more
Was this review helpful?
5023
Bob H.
Camden, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Good Machine
I posted back on 5/17 and said i would get back later after using the Toro a few times posted under (SIMPLE) well have used 16 or so times do a few neighbors lawns also. many side hill and valleys and a couple of ponds. like everyone has said learn to respect this machine it can hurt you.

But if you enjoy mastering a machine then you will enjoy this toro. I learn something new each time I use it. I would use trimming gear the first 10 or 15 times I have cut my mowing and trimming in half.... more
Bob Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
251
Mike T.
Salt Lake City, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Zero Turn Ss4225 Mower
Mower arrived extremely well crated, not a scratch on it. Freight carrier was very helpful. Removed from crate and read manual, checked out position of ALL controls, adjusted seat, installed hour meter and placed floor mat into position!!! I was READY to GO!!! Practiced on my driveway for about 30 minutes... And away I went... Whoa!!! Tried as I might but could not master the mower even at low speeds very well... I have been so used to a steering wheel and especially a foot BRAKE. I have some... more
Mike Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
329
Karl
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Value
I'm a big Husqvarna fan but I had to chose this mower because I needed it to fit thru a 48" gave. The transaction and delivery are very smooth with good communication with delivery company. I didn't pay for lift gate but luckily delivery truck had a lift gate on it. Mower came in a wooden crate and I had it running within 20 minutes (I'm intermediate in the handiness level).

I have some previous experience with a zero turn and I'd say this is a very powerful engine for residential... more
Pros: Fast, Price
Karl Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
276
Doug A.
Castle Rock, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Residential Zero Turn
Great mower! Upgraded from a Craftsman rider. Mow in 50% less time and better cut. Added Toro mulching kit and it works great.
Doug Recommends This Toro Mower
Doug's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Bought online and Mowers Direct had it to my house in 3 days. Can't believe they can offer free shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
243
Francine W.
Kansas City, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Timecutter Ss4225
I love my Toro TimeCutter, it makes my lawn tractor a dinosaur.
Francine Recommends This Toro Mower
Francine's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My mower to me is space age technology, it takes me half the time to mow my yard I love it ."
 more
Was this review helpful?
191
Eric R.
Gothenburg, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
I have nothing but good things to say about Mowers Direct and my new to Toro SS 4225. The mower was delivered to my driveway and I had it running after a couple of hours. I'm not sure about the exact size of my yard but I had a self propelled mower before and it would take a little over an hour to mow. With the new Toro it takes about 25 minutes. I am very happy. Wish I had made this purchase sooner. Thank you Toronto and Mowers Direct. I think the guy that delivered the mower may be... more
Eric Recommends This Toro Mower
Eric's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Nothing to say except outstanding."
 more
Was this review helpful?
202
Sandra C.
Cumming, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/15/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Toro
The hard part was getting it uncrated. Took about an hour.
I really like it, but it will take some getting used to. This is my first zero-turn mower. The grass really looked great after I cut it.
Sandra Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
192
Matt H.
Woodridge, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Mower, Great Cut
Needed a new mower and I'm very happy with my new Toro. The yard is 2 acres and use to take me 3 to 3.5 this past Friday I did the yard in 1.5 hours. This was my first zero turn and took a little getting used to but figured it out quickly and will never go back to a tractor.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Should Really Come With An Hour Meter
Matt Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
151
Steven R.
York, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/20/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Machine.
I would recommend this machine to anyone. Starts with a touch of the key like your family sedan, smooth running with lots of power and speed, and does a better job of cutting than my old tractor type mower in 25% less time. I actually look forward to mowing the lawn!

A word of caution: It handles like a sports car, so like with any high performance machine, you could easily get yourself in trouble if you pushed it to its limits before you are completely comfortable with a zero turn.
Steven Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
152
Michael T.
Nappanee, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Buying Made Easy
I don't buy much online, I'm more brick & mortar kind of person. When I called Mowers Direct.com, right away I felt at ease. They answered a few questions that I had. I ordered it, the TimeCutter SS4225. The mower is 25% smaller cut than my tractor, but I get done in about half the time.
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
120
Mark V.
Mason, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/20/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Long Delivery Time
Took 2 weeks to get my crated mower which I could have bought 60 miles away at Home Depot for the same price. Additionally if I had not have had a tractor to lift it off of the double pallet construction it would still be sitting crated up on the double pallet.

The unit should have been able to drive off of the top pallet but the design of the pallet framing left spaces too large for the mower to drive off of the pallet.
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
110
Tim M.
Franklin, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/24/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Timecutter Ss4225
I have only used the mower three times so far, but it has performed flawlessly. The delivery was quick and easy. The SAIA freight driver was easy to work with and helpful getting the crate in the garage.

If you cut on the dotted lines at the top and bottom of the box the top comes off and the sides come off. I put gas in it checked the oil level and connected the battery up a couple of 2X10's under it and drove it off the pallet.

The Toro runs and cuts like a champ! For a medium sized... more
Tim Recommends This Toro Mower
Tim's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I could have bought the same mower locally for the same price but would have had to pay 9.25% sales tax. Free shipping and no sales tax sealed the deal. Mowers Direct is the way to go."
 more
Was this review helpful?
111
Patricia W.
Estero, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower For A Great Price
What a great deal! Free shipping no sales tax and paid by check an saved more. Mower was shipped on time and arrived to my garage. Thanks for great customer service. The toro gives you a great looking yard. This is my second Toro. Patricia in Estero, Fl.
Patricia Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
90
Scott B.
Monroe, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/24/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good!
I ordered this on a Wednesday, and it arrived in Utah on the following Monday! Absolutely incredible. It was fun unpacking it. Got it all hooked up and running in about an hour. What a blast to drive! Just fun! Mowing the lawn is now fun, rather than a chore. My kids fight over who gets to mow the lawn!

Love the powerful engine. It cuts through my lawn without even breaking a sweat. My neighbors with their cheap riding mowers are all green with envy. The three speed feature is a must. I... more
Scott Recommends This Toro Mower
Scott's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Bought it online. Never needed to speak with a representative. The order was processed in about 8 hours. The mower was on a truck the next day. I got an email with shipping information very quickly. The driver called me twice. Once to tell me he was a few hours away, then again when he was a few minutes out for delivery. He helped me unload it as well. Nice guy! Ordering this mower was a painless operation. I would order from them again in the future."
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
Sandra M.
Sebastian, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Toro has a winner with this one. Easy to use, great cut. Just wish the grass discharge did not stick out so far. Seat is comfortable. CAUTION: On non level areas care should be taken as front end is light and can raise up both front wheels off the ground. I suggest the trim mode. Unit came fully crated which took time to remove but end result was worth it.
Sandra Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
92
Merlin E.
Orderville, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/29/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
We purchased the time cutter 42 inch with the Kohler engine. It was easy to set up and get started. The only somewhat frustrating part was that I ordered the mulching kit and it was a bit of a pain to put on.

Also, it took longer to get our Toro delivered than I thought it should, but we are very rural and some freight companies do not come through on a regular basis.

Overall the price was competitive and fair, the mower is great, and mowing lawns is no longer a chore.
Merlin Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
72
Dominic C.
Platte City, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Legitimate Website And Service
Wanted to avoid paying tax on a mower since I already pay tax for my land. Picked out a mower from a this reputable company and got it shipped for free. No issues what so ever. It came in a week. Loved everything about the mower and website. Thank you so much!
Dominic Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Vince C.
Reading, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Great Mower
Received very promptly and well packed, no damage. Took longer to unpack than to set it up. Turned the key and zoom, off we went. Had ZTR previously but nothing like this Toro Time Cutter. Very responsive. Very well made. Just a wonderful and well built machine. Reasonable for all its features. Will cut my mowing time in half. Happy, happy, happy with Mowers Direct and Toro. Thanks.
Vince Recommends This Toro Mower
Vince's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Used yesterday for only the second time. Very sensitive and responsive mower. Takes some getting used to but it is obviously a quality product and with a Kohler engine to boot. Now have two Kohler engine lawn mowers. Love'em."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Grady M.
Orlando, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/3/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awsome Machime
I use my Time Cutter SS4225 in a commercial application in the high humidity state of Florida where grass is always wet in the summer months. My machine has 25 hours on it and still going strong. Even tall grass is no match for this machine.

I did purchase and install the recycler kit and if you install this kit be mindful you need to remove the cover plate and clean between the deck and mulching plate as wet grass gets trapped under the plate and may lead to premature rusting of you... more
Grady Recommends This Toro Mower
Grady's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Received my mower in September and dropping the deck and installing the mulching blades and the mulching kit was very easy. I even rehung the cutting deck by myself. Very reliable machine."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
James K.
Barberton, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/19/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower
Very pleased with mower performance. Had initial setup issue. Negative battery connection to starter was loose. Mowed failed to start. Finally found problem. Otherwise well pleased.
James Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
41
Bradley W.
Midland, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I have used this mower twice since I received it about a month ago. It has done a great job, easy to use, cuts well. If one has ever driven a Bobcat loader it won't take any time to master the steering arms. For the money I would recommend this mower for small to medium size acreage.
Bradley Recommends This Toro Mower
Bradley's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The only thing I would suggest is staying in contact with MD or the shipping company. Delivery was delayed due to the shipping company did not notice a large zero turn mower setting on their dock...REALLY so, my delivery was a few days late. But as for MD the order process was smooth and painless and customer service was very helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
74
Bill C.
Ellington, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/2/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Machine
Easy setup right out of the crate. Started immediately and runs great. Easy to handle, cuts well. Need to be careful on hills and turns on wet grass.
Pros: Fast, Price, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Bill Recommends This Toro Mower
Bill's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Worth the wait because of savings by sending check and sales tax."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Toro 74721 reviews.Compare our Toro 74721 ratings. Find the Toro 74721 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct