Search
< Back to Product

Toro 20340 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$409.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$409.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Toro 20340 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (6)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Features (2)
Fast (2)
Cons
Durability (1)
Low Quality (1)
Not Owned Long (1)
Expensive (1)
Heavy (1)
72% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
18 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Sean S.
Puyallup, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/17/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower Delivered Fast
This is my first Toro mower. I received it about a week after ordering it and it arrived packed well and in good shape. I removed it from the shipping carton, added oil, fresh gas, and two pulls later it was running like a champ. I set it to a fairly low setting and attacked the 5 inch high grass.

All of my lawns are on a slope, so the RWD on this mower worked wonderfully and I particularly like the variable speed function of this mower. It cut well, has lots of power, and it... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Sean Recommends This Toro Mower
Sean's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A great mower at a great price with free shipping and no sales tax in my state....Try them, you won't be disappointed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Matt W.
Iowa City, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Happy
First off, the back wheels and drive system are very cheap. Back wheels are very wobbly and loose. Problem #2 is that the mower starts fine when it's been sitting a few days but if you mow for a few minutes and shut it off it will not start up again until it cools off. Very frustrated with this mower. I would take my money back in a heartbeat.
Matt Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Matt,
If you feel the wheels are damaged in any way please let us know and we can send you parts to resolve it also, if the mower is having starting issues it does have a warranty which is covered by any dealer in your area.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Matt,
We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your Toro drive system and wheels. If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. This mower has a two year full warranty and covers all manufacturing defects. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
52
Jorge R.
Pompton Lakes, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
I purchased this mower about a month ago and have used it 3 times before this review.

1st mow was with the bag and it cut well even with damp grass, no clumping or clogging. I was impressed!

I did have 2 complaints. 1st when the bag is starting to fill it gets very heavy and the front of the mower tends to lift making hit hard to maneuver. 2nd when using the bag there is a small gap between the bag and the deck and grass clipping start to come out.

After adjusting the personal pace I... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Jorge Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Jim B.
Lynden, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boom
Ok, fast delivery. Open box, unfold handle, add oil and gas.....Boom. I'm 6'6"" long legs and this mower moves! Love it!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Jim Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
John M.
Mount Joy, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Bad Experience
Mower was a house warming gift for my daughter and her husband that just closed on a new home in late August. My son-in-law and I took the mower out of the box, added the oil and gas as outlined in the directions. One pull and it started as promised by Toro, had some light blue smoke, started cutting the grass and got about 10 feet and one of the rear wheels fell off.

Really poor workmanship in my opinion if you cannot go more then 10' and the wheels fall off. Reinstalled the wheel and... more
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Quincy E.
Lohn, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Does The Work And I Get The Exercise.
Never in 60 years have I had a mower like this. Starts first pull every time and before I know It I'm through. Wouldn't take for it. My first Toro and I'm hooked. By the way the "right out of the box" thing is not to worry. In five minutes you're mowing.
Quincy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Martin Winegarden
Eau Claire, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/31/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Better Than I Feared
My 7 year old son has been helping me (or trying) mow since he could walk. Starting with the plastic toy model and graduating to a manual reel mower last year. I was convinced enough that it wasn't a phase that I decided to try out self-propelled mower for primarily his use while I stuck with the non-propelled version. My priorities were to find a model that allowed him to activate both the engine grip and wheels without strapping anything down. And to allow a low enough handle angle that he... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, Not Owned Long
Martin Recommends This Toro Mower
Martin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was a little nervous about shipping but it turned out to be fast and no damage to the box. And while you certainly will save some money buying here than a local dealer, be aware that your warranty service will also need to be done through that same local dealer. You may expect less than stellar service when they find out you didn't support them with the purchase. Or maybe they'll be just fine with it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Peter S.
Henderson, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/16
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice For The Price
The mower arrived on time in good condition. The assembly was easy and the instruction were good. The mower started on the first pull as advertised. The 11" power rear wheels work great. The self adjust speed also works great. I used it just once and if it continues to perform like it has, I will be more that satisfied with the purchase.
Peter Recommends This Toro Mower
Peter's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The product was easy to order and to track. I don't know about service after the sale. Hopefully I won't have to fine out."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Kathryn G.
Fircrest, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/29/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Dead Mower
I followed the directions for adding oil and gas to the mower. It started nicely and then began billowing blue clouds of smoke and dripping small amounts of black oil from underneath the left side of the engine onto the surface of the mower. I called mowers direct and they said "not my problem". I am now dealing with the Toro/Briggs and Stratton engine dealer in my town who will also address the two rear rear wheels that were loose and ready to fall off. I am not a very happy camper... more
Kathryn Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Kathryn,
We apologize for the issues with the mower. Once the mower is gassed and oiled the manufacturers warranty takes effect and it has to be handled by a local service center. We also state this information under our return policy. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience. If you need anything further, please do not hesitate to ask.

Thank you
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kathryn,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Some blue smoke is normal upon the first start. Sometimes during shipping the engine gets shifted around moving oil around. However, and oil drip needs to be addressed by a local service dealer. This mower has a two year full warranty and your local service dealer can help you fix your issue at no charge. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Keith G.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Very nice
Keith Recommends This Toro Mower
Keith's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great mower"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael S.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Personal Pace Is Great, But Mower Appears To Be Cheaply Made
Order this mower on a Monday and was told it would ship Tuesday. Called Tuesday and was told it would ship Wednesday. Called Wednesday and told it was shipping that day. It actually didn't ship until Thursday. Mower arrived via FedEx on Monday morning. Took it out of the box, set it up and it started on one pull A little bit of smoke, but that quickly burned off. Began mowing the lawn and was very impressed with the personal pace.

Cutting the lawn was a breeze, the mower did all the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Light Weight, Fast
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Michael Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Boyd M.
Millington, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Toro
Love it easy handling compact storage.
Boyd Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Phillip R.
Stow, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bad Investment
I couldn't be more sorry for purchasing this lawn mower. What an absolute disappointment. The mower feels very cheap & unstable. The rear wheel completely fell off within the firest 10 feet of pushing it. So sorry I wasted my hard earned money on this machine.
Phillip Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Phillip,
Thank you for your feedback. Rest assured all engine equipment is covered by a warranty through the manufacturer. We would be happy to provide you with a list of the authorized service centers in your area.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Phillip,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. Please reach out to PED directly for information regarding shipping damage. Please call our customer service number (888) 384-9939 (toll free) and Toro will reimburse you for items covered for warranty within two years of your purchase date.
more
Was this review helpful?
33
Mark B.
Slidell, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Spoiler
You need to change the name of this toro to " spoiler" . Glen put it together which about 10 minutes, this includes taking it out of the box. He put the oil in that you sent, you don't have to use the entire 40 ounces, filled it up with gas,pulled the rope once and about 10 to 15 minutes later my front yard was cut. The toro did all the work all i did was to walk behind it.i'm 73 and in about 10 years i'll buy another one, just like the one i have now. When i finished my front... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Mark Recommends This Toro Mower
Mark's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I HAD A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE AND YOU HAVE AN EXCELLENT PRODUCT IN THIS TORO. YOU ANSWERED ALL OF MY QUESTIONS AND I'VE LEARNED A LOT FROM YOU,AND PASSED THIS ON TO MY NEIGHBOR ACROSS THE STREET,WHO ALSO PURCHASED A TORO FROM LOWE'S."
 more
Was this review helpful?
-10
Paula B.
Woodbridge, VA
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Products
I have owned these mowers for years! i just ordered another one. With proper care and protection, these mowers hold up exceptionally well. Commercial lawn and garden contractors often use this brand. Plus, they are assembled and manufactured here exclusively in usa.
Paula Recommends This Toro Mower
Paula's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"SPEEDY DELIVERY AND SERVICE."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Christopher B.
Milford, NJ
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Very Good
I have used this mower for 2 years. does not mulch well, even with the mulching blades. has to be cleaned with the hose after every use. the grass gets stuck in the chute area between the mower deck and bag if the grass is long or even slightly damp...even if I go real slow. it is also under powered. This mower is really only good if conditions are perfect and rarely are they.

Pretty disappointed for a Toro product. Mowers direct is a great site and I have nothing but great things to say... more
Christopher Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
12
Darlene B.
Rockford, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/19/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My Third Toro Mower
Good mower, great cut. One major problem, a rear wheel fell off the second time I used it.

Also if turned on it's side the mower will not start again for about an hour. Aside from these 2 things this is a great mower.
Darlene Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Pp M.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Decent "no Frills" Mower
I purchased this mower to do trimming in tight areas that my commercial mower cannot easily get at. I have about 10 hours on this mower so far. It cuts very well and is generally easy to use once you get used to the albeit limited controls.

It was a bit cranky when starting the first few times that I used it (took more than several pulls of the pull cord and would not stay running), but is starting well on the 1st pull and does stay running now. The engine controls are dumbed down -... more
Pp Recommends This Toro Mower
Pp's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct processed my order and shipped very quickly. They have a very good website that is easy to use. -Will order from them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
-22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Toro 20340 reviews.Compare our Toro 20340 ratings. Find the Toro 20340 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct