Search
< Back to Product

Toro 20334 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$399.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$374.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Toro 20334 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (10)
Features (7)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Reliable (4)
Price (3)
Cons
Packaging (2)
Difficult To Use (1)
Heavy (1)
If You're Looking For A ... (1)
The Term Recycler Is Mis... (1)
81% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
52 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Helen B.
Sequim, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/15/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Toro Mower
I have used my Toro mower and I like as a mower, I was disappointed about 2 things.

1-the battery is difficult to get out and more difficult to get back in, the directions for the installment is not clear enough, need more pictures that are clear.

2-I thought this electric start would be push a button like the Sears mower I had in the past, but no you have to pull a rope, so how is this easy start. As far as how the mower does as a good mower as of 2 uses, it works fine.

I feel that... more
Helen Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
02
Eugene S.
Golden Valley, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/13
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Towers Is Tops In Lawnmowers
We bought one for ourselves and then we purchased the same model for our son. He loves it as well as we do. He says its like a warm knife cutting butter when doing the grass. He sure did appreciate it. I hope it serves us well.

He had one 10 years old without the electric start, the drive wheels went out (rear) and it was very difficult to use. We took it to a repair shop and we hope he can fix it for a spare.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Eugene Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
180
Catherine L.
Broomfield, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/14
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best In That Size.
This is my second Toro electric start lawn mower. I sold my first one when I moved. I would recommend this mower to anyone who doesn't want to have to pull on the cord to start. Great machine!
Catherine Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
140
William H.
Orange Park, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/13
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Toro Electric Start Model 20334
Received the mower faster than I had expected. Set up was minimal. Took around 25 minutes and I'm 75 years old.
Initial charging of the battery took slightly over 30 hours. The only problem I've encountered so far is that the starter button sticks in the "Start" position quite often. I've sprayed some silicon lubricant on it and it'll be OK for 3-4 times and then stick again. I use the tip of my knife blade to pry it back. It could use more of a spring to remedy this. Other than... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Battery Could Use More Protection
William Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
152
John P.
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Good Cut..... Horrible Mulching
I bought this mower based on recommendations, but it is worse than my 15 year old Lawn Boy!!!! The Electric Start is good, the personal pace is nice, but at the end of the day, what's the point if the mower doesn't cut and mulch properly?

After a week and a half, I contacted Toro about the problem, and their answer was to provide me instructions on how to cut my grass. So, I tried to contact them again and received yet another canned response. So, I phoned them and explained my story, so... more
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
143
Doug J.
Paducah, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/15
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Mower!
Well, here it goes! I fell over the corn-hole board in the driveway and hurt my shoulder. Dr said don't pull-start the old mower any more, so I checked with local stores. The price was way over the one from Mowers Direct.

Placed the order online, free shipping and got it in 3 days. I charged the battery, the mower started instantly, and I mowed the 1 acre yard without any problems. Started every time. Very easy to use.
Doug Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
124
Carolyn C.
Muldoon, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Love Electric Start
I am a 73 year old who loves to mow my lawn. I was frustrated with my Snapper walk behind with pull start. I always had to have my husband start up the mower and he often had problems!

So, hopefully the electric start will continue to work as it has so far, if that proves true, I will LOVE TORO!!

The plastic on the handle that helps in the speed of the mower bothers me, I hope it will hold up over time. I will watch closely during the 3 year warranty.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
Carolyn Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
124
Ronald D.
North Collins, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/1/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
I love the mower and my wife does too. The electric start is a must and starts every time. The ease clean out is great to. Only one thing went wrong. The plastic handles on wheel adjust broke the first time out.
Ronald Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Ronald,
Ron,

Please feel free to give us a call and we can assist you in getting new plastic handles if you would like them. If you have any other issues, we are happy to help in any way we can.
more
Was this review helpful?
81
Terry B.
East Moline, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
The Rig Damaged Electric Start Upon Arrival
I unpacked the mower and removed it from its packing box and found it had a bent right front height adjustment arm. The electric start wires were pulled lose from the plug in. The mower runs good and starts easily with the pull start cord. Need to find a repair shop to get the electric start repaired.
Terry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
81
Don G.
Hampton, GA
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Happy
I purchased my Toro from Home Depot in July 2011, used it two weekends, tried to recharge the battery would not charge. Did not return it to Home Depot until April 2013. They sent it to Toro for repair, got it back and it worked fine for one cutting. Tried to recharge the battery, would not charge. I thought it may be the charger that was defective. Went to Home Depot to see if they could order me a charger, They informed me that I would have to bring the mower back and they would send it... more
Was this review helpful?
125
Cheryl
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/8/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I'm The Mrs. And This Is My Mower.
This is our third personal pace mower. The electric start is wonderful however, the few times I have had to use the pull start, I have had no problems. It starts easily, and I have NO upper body strength. The personal pace feature is amazing--I can move at my own speed--I can even pull weeds along the edges of the flower beds without stopping.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Reliable
Cheryl Recommends This Toro Mower
Cheryl's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website is very user friendly and we received the mower within 3 days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Joe S.
North Richland Hills, TX
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Lots Of Problems
I bought my Toro in April of 2012. I have already replaced the spark plug twice. Apparently the engine runs too rich and keeps fouling the plugs. When I first went to buy a new plug, I found out they quit making it. Called Toro and tried to get help. The spark plug # they gave me wasn't a good #.
Cons: Unreliable, Bad Instructions
Joe Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
104
Chuck
York, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/2/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed To Replace A Craftsman That Was 6 Yrs Old
So I decided to browse Mowers Direct. I chose this mower for it's power as I have some grass in hilly areas and areas that are rough to operate in. Even though it doesn't have large rear wheels, it is very maneuverable. It's power is great. the bag is much easier to use than the Craftsman, and empties more easily. You can switch to recycle/side discharge and never have to disconnect the bag also which is nice that you can store the mower with bag attached no matter how you are going to... more
Was this review helpful?
71
Roger R.
Thomaston, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice, Even Cut
I purchased this Toro because my John Deere mower blew the engine after just three years. This was in October, 2012. Here in Maine the stores get rid of their lawn care equipment in September and replace it with snow blowers and plows.

My online search led me to Mowers Direct.com. I couldn't believe how quick they got the mower to me. I ordered it late on a Tuesday afternoon, I was notified it had shipped the next morning, and by noon Thursday FedEX had delivered the mower. It got from... more
Was this review helpful?
61
John H.
Orange Beach, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Assembly
Poorly assembled, 2 Wheel adjustment levers were bent, and had the covers installed incorrectly. I love the electric start, and wash out features.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Packaging
John Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Bob W.
Fort Worth, TX
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seven Years Out Of The Box And Still Running Strong.
I have owned one of these mowers for the past seven years and it still starts right up with the electric start with the original battery. You do need to hit the priming bulb three times before you crank it. I bag my grass and love it, but I do tie the cut off bar to the handle with a shoe string to keep the mower running while I empty the bag. Height adjustment is a bit cumbersome, as one of the rear adjustment bars has bent, but overall I love this mower. This mower replaced a $500 Snapper... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Durable, Reliable
Bob Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
40
Don
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Won't Start
Starts when cold but when you stop to empty grass bag it will not start again. In for repairs $110.00 DO NOT BUY! Big piece of #%&*# junk!
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Don,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

First be sure to have your mower filled up with fresh gasoline. Old gas can also lead to problems starting. If you have last season's gas in your mower, drain your fuel tank and fill with fresh gas. Other possible causes include:

• Loose, Dirty or Disconnected Spark Plug in Your Lawn Mower: Check it out, clean off debris, re-connect and tighten.
• Dirty Air Filter: Clean or replace.
• Fuel Not Reaching the Engine: Tap the side of the carburetor to help the flow of gas. If this doesn't work, you might need a new fuel filter.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
73
Donald S.
Danville, PA
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Retired Homeowner
I bought this mower last fall. It couldn't be used because of winter. The electric start worked but the engine wouldn't start. After many tries it did start. After starting the speed control did not work, it ran fast or not at all. No variation, I'm truly sorry I bought this machine. Disgusted home owner'
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Donald,
"First be sure to have your mower filled up with fresh gasoline. Old gas can also lead to problems starting. If you have last season's gas in your mower, drain your fuel tank and fill with fresh gas. Other possible causes include:
• Loose, Dirty or Disconnected Spark Plug in Your Lawn Mower: Check it out, clean off debris, re-connect and tighten.
• Dirty Air Filter: Clean or replace.
• Fuel Not Reaching the Engine: Tap the side of the carburetor to help the flow of gas. If this doesn't work, you might need a new fuel filter.

If you are still experiencing issues with your Toro mower, please bring your unit to the nearest dealer for servicing within three years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free per our warranty statement. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free)."
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Paulette J.
Victor, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/13
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Toro Self Propelled Lawn Mower
Wow....is what I say. Living in the Northeast, yesterday was my first opportunity to cut the lawn using my new self paced lawn mower. Everything is just as described on Power Direct website. The electric start is phenomenal! Just turn the key and you are on your way to a beautifully cut lawn. Being self paced is one of several beauties of this mower. Wash port is great feature along with the easy fold handle. And, it is very easy to not only fill the gas tank but also to check and fill the oil.... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Jennifer P.
Brighton, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Purchase
Mower purchase and delivery was quick and easy. The electric start and pull start are quite easy, I have tendonitis in both elbows and I can pull start without issues. Although when trying to pull mower backwards to get out of a spot it can be taxing. Other then that, mower starts right up as advertised and works well on the hilly terrain I have to mow. Manual can be a little difficult to go through. Basically the format was a little confusing. But all items I was looking for where eventually... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Does Not Pull Back So Easy Even When Lifting Onto Back Tires Only
Jennifer Recommends This Toro Mower
Jennifer's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website has several comparisons, made my shopping quick and easy. Mower arrived 2 days after ordering."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
David M.
Knoxville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dependable
I have used the mower 3-4 times now and am happy with it. There is a hose connection to be used to clean the underside of the mower after use, but I find that I have to flip the mower over anyway. I do like the simple push-button start.

I use the self-mulch feature and have no complaints about that - I have not used the side chute or rear bag - but I like being able to choose the different options. The front wheel height adjustment could have been better designed.

I wanted the... more
David Recommends This Toro Mower
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I live in East Tennessee. Mowers Direct is in Illinois. I ordered online on a Wednesday at 1:00 PM. The mower was on my doorstep Friday at 5:00 pm. Free shipping and no sales tax. Good job! Use them for your mower needs."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Thomas S.
Owatonna, MN
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Rear Wheel Drive System
In the previous 2 years I've had to replace the drive wheels on the self-propelled, different side each year. This year the right wheel drive mechanisms fell apart again. Not happy at all with this lawn mower. To add to the troubles the electrical start went out last year (2013) and the battery would have had to have been replaced. To repair all these items the dealer mentions that it would cost more to replace then the lawn mower was worth. I bought this lawn mower new at a benefit auction... more
Thomas Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Fred C.
Dardanelle, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Features
My wife and I are disabled and the electric start and the light weight self propelled features are great, would defiantly recommend this mower to others.
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Fred Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
30
Joyce Lee
Heber, UT
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Pull String Keeps Breaking
We bought this one because we are old people; we thought it would last the rest of our lives.

The mower is 4 years old but not used much, we have just a small lawn. The pull string keeps breaking- we have replaced it twice and also a part with it.

It is broken now again. I would not buy another. I am sure old people don't have the strength to pull it too hard. When it works it is an easy start- that is why I think there is something wrong with it.

Is there any guarantee?
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Joyce,
Toro has a 3 year power train warranty, a 3 year Guaranteed To Start warranty, and a 2 year Full Coverage warranty on this mower.

There should also be a short warranty on replacement parts and service; please give the folks at Toro a call at (888) 384-9939 (toll free).

The electric start option should keep you from having to pull-start the mower; the folks at Toro can talk you through the process when you call them.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Joyce,
This mower is equipped with an electric start button. You may find this to be an easier way to start the mower rather than the recoil cord.

If you are having trouble with the electric start feature, please call our customer service number (888) 384-9939 (toll free) and we can assist you with this process
more
Was this review helpful?
30
James C.
Mt Holly Springs, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/2/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Less Than Expected!
The mower arrived with the rear height adjustment levers bent. One was so bad it wouldn't engage the adjustment cogs. After charging the battery overnight, It worked for six starts and then didn't. I recharged overnight and tried again. But, the starter still didn't engage. Still don't know what the problem might be. Good thing the recoil starter works really well.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Packaging, Durability, Expensive
James Recommends This Toro Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
James,
We are sorry to hear about the adjustment levers being bent. If you are in need of new ones we would be happy to send new ones out at no charge. In terms of the electric start, this may be a bad battery or switch. Please give us a call or contact a local service center and we or them can assist in getting this problem corrected. If you have any other questions, again please contact us as we would be happy to assist any way we can. 800-710-7499
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Leroy P.
Mansfield, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Problems
There was no instructions for attaching the springs to the rear deflector and it took us a long time to figure out how to attach it. Why it was not already attached is a mystery to me.

The 2nd time we used the mower, the fuse blew. After replacing the fuse, the battery slide would not go back in and we finally had to force it. We never did get it in far enough to put the screw back in.
Other than that, we love the mower.
Leroy Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Brian G.
Hales Corners, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower For Great Price
Great mower that runs and cuts well. Electric start feature is great.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Mower Height Adjusters Are Cheaply Made And Very Hard To Operate
Brian Recommends This Toro Mower
Brian's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Service and delivery was great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael V.
Saint Clair Shores, MI
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Very Dissapointing
This mower does not mulch, the term Recycler is obviously meant to refer to being able to bag and dump clippings. I was having a little trouble with my 22 year old Toro mulcher so I figured why start throwing money at it, just get a new one. So I gave it to my next door neighbor for his use at his cottage. I wish I had it back. Don't waste your money on this mower, it's pretty obvious that enough field testing was not done on this one. Also if you have any uneven areas in your lawn, the... more
Pros: Features
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, If You're Looking For A Mulcher Do Not Buy This Mower, The Term Recycler Is Misleading No Good For Mulching
Michael Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Jamrs D.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mower
My wife loves it, now if you had a big mower for my landscaping business I'd love that I'd like a 48" zero turn commercial mower.
Was this review helpful?
42
Suzi
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/20/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gave As A Gift!
I have an older model of this very mower. It's an electric key start. I've had it for about 9 or 10 years and it's been so easy for me to start every time. I'm not very big or very strong so I needed something easy to start, and it is! My sister's mower started causing her trouble and so my other two siblings and I bought this for her because she's done so much for us. She was delighted!
Was this review helpful?
20
Martin W.
Ocala, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
My New Toro: A Dissapointing Purchase
I am sorry to say that the purchase of a new Toro motor has not been a good experience. The self propelling system simply was not functional as received. I adjusted the cable as per the manual but it does not move as fast as the Toro that I replaced.

This is obviously poor quality control on the part of Toro. It should never have left the factory in such a condition. A brand new, out of the box mower in a non-functioning condition!

I contacted Toro and asked if there was any other... more
Was this review helpful?
31
Marlin A.
Salina, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/17/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cadillac Of Mowers
I am 88 years old and considered hiring my lawn mowed. The Toro model 20334 sounded great to me as I sometimes had trouble starting my old self propelled mower. I hesitated to purchasing it because of some of the feedback saying it was hard to back up with it and I have a lot of shrubs that require lots of backing and turning the first couple rounds of mowing.

I have no trouble backing. It does a beautiful job of mulching. I absolutely love everything about the mower and am so happy I... more
Was this review helpful?
31
James P.
Grantham, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/5/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
Hi. Sorry it took so long to send a review but we had snow here until mid-April. I have never sent a review but when something works as well as this machine does you should let somebody know about it. Set up was a breeze. Love the oversize height control arms on the front and back wheels. Makes it easy to move them. I serviced the mower this past Monday and rolled it out to the lawn for a try. Turned the key and it started right up. It is very quiet compared to others. Does a super job... more
Was this review helpful?
31
Elaine
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/4/12
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Elaine
I don't like the handle shape. I'm 5' 2' and when I walk behind and push the pace handle my wrists rest on the other handle
and it hurts. I've padded it but like my old Toro pace much better. The shape of the handle curves down. If I hold it there that's when my wrists hit the stationary handle. If I hold it at the highest part of the handle my hands are too close together to comfortably push the mower.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Elaine,
Thank You for the suggestion. We will make our design team aware of your feedback. Toro sells many 22" Recycler models with an adjustable handle to accommodate a larger variety of operator heights.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Phil J.
Lancaster, NY
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Built Not To Last
Picked up my 3rd replacement after yet another breakdown. The self-propel design is inadequate and due to fail. Home Depot is still selling the models that are listed in the July 2011 recall. Now I must transport the piece of junk to Toro dealer for the recall repair as a brand new product. Nice work Toro, thanks! I have wasted gas, time and money to fix your "quality" product, before I use it!
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Phil,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

Recalls, while painful, are crucial to ensure operator safety and performance. We hope that your replacement mower is meeting your expectations.

If you are still experiencing issues please call our customer service number at (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Rick
Naperville, IL
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Warranty Work For Corroded Battery Contacts
I purchased a Toro 20334 2-years ago. Smooth transaction and great service from mowersdirect.com.

I loved the mower for about 3 months before experiencing corrosion to the battery terminal. The fuse terminal is essentially disfigured from corrosion and the fuses no longer fit tightly. Vibration from normal use dislodges the fuses and disables the electric start. Based on another review from this website, I took the mower in for warranty service to correct the problem. I figured the... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Dan
Medicine Hat, IL
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My New Mower
I really can't understand what there is to complain about with this mower. I just bought mine and really love it.

I researched and looked at many models but found this mower to be the best value for the buck. Compared to my old Yard Works, which was a good mower but pushed so hard, this thing makes grass cutting too easy.

I really can't believe I never got one of these before. The closest competitor was the entry level Honda, but it does not have as many features as the 334, and is more... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gordon
Waseca, MN
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2010
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Design Flaws
I agree with others on three counts:

1. Battery compartment allows corrosion from wet grass. (My lawn mowing time is 1-hour+.) Fuse and fuse holder contacts require work at least once each year. The first time the fuse contacts were completely disintegrated inside the fuse holder contacts. This year the fuse did not open completely, but resistance went to 1000 ohms. The battery is EXTREMELY difficult to re-install.

2. Height adjustment is very hard to change.

3. The mower is much... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Tom Pitts
Gig Harbor, WA
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2010
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Toro 22" Electric Start
Major issue with battery compartment loading up with rotten grass; it corroded the battery terminal off and corroded beyond use the fuse holder.

The local big box store would only offer to sent to TORO for repair/evaluation. Since I felt myself getting really upset, I decided to just clam up and leave.

I think it is a design issue with the battery/fuse location. I'm going to move the fuse up to the handle bar and try to somehow seal the battery compartment.

It's only been used six... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Tom,
This unit comes with a 2 year Factory Warranty from Toro. Before making any changes and voiding the warranty, why not let Toro fix the problem?

We checked the Toro Service Locator, and it shows 5 Authorized Service Centers in your area- Cliff's Precision Saw & Tool, Vashon TrueValue Hardware, Island Lumber & Hardware, JDK Small Engine, & Len's Mower Shop.

We suggest giving the location you choose a call before you take the mower over so you can find the one with the shortest waiting period.

Bring a copy of your receipt and the repair place will submit the Warranty paperwork to Toro for reimbursement should they decide that it is a Warranty repair.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tom,
Please bring your Toro mower to the nearest dealer for servicing within two years of your purchase date and Toro will fix your unit for free. Please call our customer service number if you have any other questions (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Stacey P.
Vienna, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/2/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought For My Mother
My mother has to do her own yard and is in pain everyday of her life. She loves this mower, she no longer has to jerk on joints that are already painful, made a job so much easier.
Stacey Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Loretta D.
Jennings, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice, Even Cut
The mower was delivered quickly and was easy to assemble. It does a nice, even cut on the yard and handles with ease.

The washout port is very nice to use.
Was this review helpful?
10
Dan
Owatonna, MN
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good But Not Great
I replaced an 11 year old John Deere with this. I wanted the battery start due to arthritis. It is now 3 years old. I have not experienced any issues with the battery. Charge it in the spring and go. Have not replaced it. Quality of cut is good but my JD was better. One oddity is that this unit has some drag when pulling backwards. Ya know, like under a tree. You push forward then pull it back. Not a biggie but noticeable.

Replacing the bag is no different than my JD was. You... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Shirley Agliano
Lutz, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/2/10
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Toro Story
This is my third Toro electric start mower, so I knew what to expect.

My Toro experience have always been good. I had one minor problem adjusting the wheels, it took a lot of strength and it was quite a struggle.

I wish those were easier to adjust. I am seventy and not as strong as I use to be.
Was this review helpful?
10
Donald Lehr
Keene, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/27/10
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Toro Mower
The whole process of ordering was very easy. The delivery schedule was great and as promised.

I am totally satisfied with the service I received from this company- I would recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
10
Barrie
Abingdon, MD
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2010
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Less Than Enthusiastic
This mower seems to be underpowered. Where my old Honda, who's engine was still strong but the deck was rusted out, would sail through, this one would bog down.

The Toro did produce finer mulch in heavier grass than the Honda. When the mower would stop due to a clog, it was difficult to get it going again.

Both my wife and I were less than enthusiastic about the Personal Pace feature. It seemed to only work well on flat or slightly down sloping terrain. Corners and uphill proved to... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Barrie,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower. We recommend adjusting the height of cut to a higher setting. This will lessen the amount of grass you are attempting to mow at one time, reducing these instances.

Today Toro offers many models equipped with personal pace and a traction assist handle to help maneuvering difficult terrain.

If you are still experiencing issues please call our customer service number at (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Dr Goode
Westland, MI
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Getting Worse!
Both my wife and I hated the "Personal Pace" feature of the model 20334 Toro. It is very difficult to manuever especially making sharp turns. The spring loaded flap over the bag makes it difficult to remove and replace the bag unless one has three arms.

Does it mow the grass?
Why, of course. but with more labor than with an older MTD or Lawn Boy. Who wants a mower that makes things harder?

It seems the newer safety? features have become more of a nuisance.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dr,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro Mower.

Today, Toro offers many models equipped with personal pace and a traction assist handle to help maneuvering difficult terrain.

If you have having issues with any of our safety features please contact our customer service number (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Bill
Littleton, CO
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2009
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Toro Mower
I Purchased the Toro Sunday,and I Am Taking It Back Thursday. the Frame Is Too Light, You Seem to Push It, and It Comes Off the Ground. the Electric Start Does Not Work. There Are Bolts Missing. We Found Them in the Bottom of the Box. Not Happy With the Name Toro. I Had a Sears Model. I Had It For 18 Years and It Is Still Chugging Along.
Was this review helpful?
10
Ronald B.
Indianapols, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Perfect
Would not start with electric, however started on first pole. Cut grass and one of the real wheels slipped because notch was not correct to hold. CORRECTED WITH A PAIR OF PLIERS.
Called nearest Toro dealer to fix electric start, told it would be at least 2 weeks. CHECKED BATTERY AND IT was CHARGED TOOK STARTER BUTTON ASSEMBLY APART AND FOUND WIRE OFF.
Have used a few times since and happy with results. Shipping was excellent!
Ronald Recommends This Toro Mower
Ronald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Evidently was not inspected or tested at Toro or wherever it was assembled."
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
Lonnie D.
Dunedin, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Damaged Part
I basically like the mower. My complaint is that it was poorly packaged. The right rear tire elevator lever was bent. I had to use a hammer to bend it enough so that it locked for height adjustment.
Lonnie Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Terry B.
Davison, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast And Easy
Received the mower the next day! have enjoyed everything about it!
Terry Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Miche
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Lousy Engineering
Bought mower April 2011 taken it back to dealer repair shop 5 times. Electric starter was repaired and stopped working each time after one or two uses. Had to reorder new battery. April 2012 it's back in shop for self propel transmission the second time as well as electric starter. My first Toro and I researched it for product reviews but will NOT buy a Toro mower again! Apparently Toro dealers are back logged because each repair took forever, the manufacturer took 2 months to send the... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Miche,
We are sorry to hear you are having problems with your Toro mower.

If you are still experiencing issues please call our customer service number at (888) 384-9939 (toll free).
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Donald P.
Oklahoma City, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/20/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
How We Like Our Toro
I like the mower very much, one of the best I have ever had. Not happy with the electric start, I need some advise. Other than that it is great. Power and speed.
Donald Recommends This Toro Mower
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Toro 20334 reviews.Compare our Toro 20334 ratings. Find the Toro 20334 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct