Search
< Back to Product

Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$209.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$209.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$209.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$277.86
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Light Weight (3)
High Quality (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Quiet (1)
Cons
None to display.
95% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
21 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Marissa, the String Trimmer Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
34 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1534 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL is a time tested professional trimmer that is engineered for the pro contractor looking for the quality and durability of Tanaka's PureFire« low emission 2-stroke engine and the ergonomic features unique to a straight shaft.

Easy starting features such as air purge, makes this tool as reliable as it is durable . Steel torque tube drive shaft and durable gear box that is designed to hold up to more commercial applications.

The Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL string trimmer is... more
Marissa Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
228
Beverley
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Monster Machine
Cuts through thick weeds, small limbs and cactus on a couple acres. Guard is a little small so rocks and debris do fly. Wear protective gear. I made a strap to help carry even though it isn't very heavy,...I'm not very strong (I'm a women).

Vibration a little annoying but tolerable. Easy to start, easy to replace line and fuel.

Line "bump" to extend worked well while operating. It takes about 10 feet on line to fill (not in the manual). Also, note the oil gas mixture is... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Beverley Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Bob A.
Myakka City, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/16/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Trimmer Ever
6.5 acres of fence posts to trim, lightest most powerful and easiest starting. Buy it!
Bob Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Martin F.
Denison, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/15/16
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed Early
My Homelite trimmer lasted 17 years and the starter section failed and not sure how to repair it. I like the Tanaka very well so far. It hardly smokes at all, starts easily, and has enough power to knock down the tall grass.

The only drawback so far is the location of the kill switch. Have accidentally shut it off several times, usually when switching hands.

I like the no-clog design of the power head.
Martin Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Bob S.
Jenks, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Weed Trimmer
Extremely happy, starts easily, plenty of power, light, and very easy to handle. There's minimal vibration. Overall, I'm very satisfied.
Bob Recommends This Tanaka Product
Bob's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy ordering. I had a question, and they got back with me quickly. Overall, it was a very good experience with String Trimmers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Warren H.
Fenton, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Powerful When Compared To Trimmers Twice The Price
Starts very easily, light weight, the head does not tangle excessively, and mows through one inch thistle stalks!
Warren Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Dennis S.
Krum, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/3/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good
Bought as backup for aging Husqvarna trimmers so far the performance has been great and has become the primary trimmer do to its light weight.
Dennis Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Roger H.
Kenyon, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer!
A coworker told me about these, he has had one for 10 years with no problems. This thing starts right up and runs like a champ and you cant go wrong with a 8 year warranty. The shipping was fast.
Roger Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Tim A.
Blountville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/4/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Powerful Weed-whipper !!!!
Very skeptical about the reviews I read on this unit, However, I am impressed with the amount of power this unit produces with tall grass... Excellent!!

It starts easily, light weight and manageable the head doesn't get tangled in tall grass, and it even sounds powerful.

The only disappointment I have is that it holds very little string and changing the string often tends to be a pain. I have to maintain 2 acres of un-mowable grass and this has cut down my weed whipping time by 2/3.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Tim Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Vince B.
Phila, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/19/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine. One Problem
I purchased two machines in the Spring and have sinced used them 3 days per week. GREAT BUY. Noticed the on/ off switch on both have failed and need to be replaced. Otherwise totally satisfied. Even have a new one still in box purchased recently. GOOD VALUE
Vince Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bradley P.
San Angelo, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/3/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Trimmer
The trimmer was very easy to assemble and started on the second pull. It has nice power and is very light. I am very pleased so far.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Light Weight, High Quality
Bradley Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave C.
Meraux, LA
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Trimmer, Vibrations At Low And Medium Throttle,
For two hundred bucks so far I can't complain starts and runs good, light compared to my other trimmers,
Only complaint is when not running full throttle it does have vibrations but go away once high speed is reached. Hope this review helps. I'll call company and see if they recommend a fix and post later.
Was this review helpful?
00
Luis F.
Elmsford, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Product For The Price
Powerful trimmer, so far very good.
Luis Recommends This Tanaka Product
Luis's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Only used it a couple of times, but I like it because it's not as heavy as the one I had before, and it's powerful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward H.
Mckeesport, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/24/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Took only a few minutes to put together. Works great so far. Used a few times very light and easy to use. Replaced a snapper with no regrets...
Edward Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff B.
Richmond, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tanaka Review
Feather light, plenty of power. Great value.
Jeff Recommends This Tanaka Product
Jeff's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped in 2 days. Perfect."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul R.
Webster, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/1/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I will not write a review till I have used the product more than once. The whole process of ordering, receiving and setting up was a breeze. This little machine has so much power it is unbelievable! Lightweight, yet has the capability to compete with the heavyweights out there. Runs and operates just like I need it to.
Paul Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Vern B.
Spring Hill, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Should Of Got It Much Sooner
Only ran 1 tank of fuel through it, loved it already though. Easy to pull & quick to start. Wished I had bought a straight shaft long ago. The only improvement I would like is remote control, so I can sit in my truck with the AC on and Deep Purple playing on the radio.

I don't much like yard work. I own a Tanaka top handle saw, which has survived my son in law's abuse for several years. I hope he abuses this new trimmer in my yard as well. I think u know what I mean.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Vern Recommends This Tanaka Product
Vern's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"What's not to like? Free shipping and fast shipping. Great selection."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff M.
Harpers Ferry, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Upgrade For Me
I am extremely pleased with my new Tanka String Trimmer. It is a huge improvement over my old unit (which was a mediocre unit purchased at a big-box hardware store and a compromise from the start). There is very little compromise, however, with my new machine. It is easy to start, VERY powerful and does what it is supposed to do with ease.

I live on an approximately 1 acre lot that I would call wooded although not densely so. That does mean, however, that I have lots of trees to trim... more
Jeff Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dwight T.
Eubank, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
2nd Time Around
Bought a Tanaka at local store, was to have a 5 year warranty after 2 years it locked up took it back to store to get worked on they said take it to a local repair shop so I did and they said no we don't work on them anymore went back to store .with no luck I toke it apart and fixed it my self, now I just buy on line less problems.
Dwight Recommends This Tanaka Product
Dwight's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great deal, thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Shawn S.
Islip, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Worth It.
Great cutter.
Shawn Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David B.
Fayetteville, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/1/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
Nice and light, easy to use, starts right up. I wish that the angle of the string head was slightly better for taller customers. The angle of the line coming out of the trimmer head causes the line to dig into the soil. I am over 6 feet tall.
David Recommends This Tanaka Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL reviews.Compare our Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL ratings. Find the Tanaka TCG22EAP2SL Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct