Search
< Back to Product

Swisher WBRC11524 Rough Cut Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,549.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,549.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,549.00
(as of 07:32 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$1,746.52
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$1,746.52
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Swisher WBRC11524 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Fast (1)
High Quality (1)
Price (1)
Easy To Use (1)
Reliable (1)
Cons
Bad Hand-control Design (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
Heavy (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
18 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12612 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Swisher WBRC11524 is the perfect option for people looking to take down areas of overgrown weeds, brush, small saplings and just about anything else your typical mower is going to be over matched for. Unlike the larger tow-behind models which call for an ATV/UTV or tractor of some kind to tow, this machine can be easily pushed through the same type of overgrowth. It is great for users who have some clearing, but in small areas and not acres.

Equipped with an 11.5HP Briggs & Stratton... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
362
Mark C.
Richmond Hill, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/2/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine - One Problem
This is a good rugged machine. The engine starts easily and runs well, and the machine operates as it should.

One problem - the shift lever is held onto a transmission shaft with a bolt and some washers. That bolt was loose when I received the unit. I used it that way for a while, but had trouble shifting. I removed the rear cover and tightened the bolt, and it was fine for about 1/2 hour.

Then the shift handle came off in my hand. Upon inspection, I discovered the head broke off the... more
Mark Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
We are sorry to hear you had an issue with your machine. Please call us toll free at 800-222-8183 so we can determine the problem and resolve the issue. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Douglas R.
Taylors, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Great Power, Poor User-controls
After several uses I've found this machine to be very powerful and capable of going through a significant amount of brush without slowing down.

It is a heavy machine though, so difficult to maneuver in tight areas. The hand controls are poorly designed though--it's like they built a great machine (engine/blades/housing) but didn't think about how someone was going to use it. Since the transmission shifter is located low by the motor, it's difficult to quickly shift between... more
Pros: Durable, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Bad Hand-control Design
Douglas Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Douglas,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments regarding the controls will be passed along. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Douglas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website, good prices, and the shipping was extremely fast!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael T.
Cisco, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/17/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mean Machine
I saved almost 300 dollars buying direct. This is the best investment I ever made. I have used it a couple of hours already and have got so much accomplished I give it 5 stars.
Michael Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thank you for the great review on our walk behind rough cut. This machine can really power through the tough stuff. We are happy you are enjoying your new machine. Thanks for choosing Swisher!
more
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"very good value very good service saved 120 dollars on shipping alone."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Matthew T.
Independence, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/27/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Tough Mower
cuts everything as advertised, tough mower, loud as hell, handlebar controls are rather flimsy compared to the rest of the mower, reverse lockout is a pain to operate. overall i'm very satisfied with this machine. a quieter muffler and better control levers would be quite an improvement(worth a few extra dollars)
Matthew Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Matthew,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are happy that you are pleased with your purchase. Your suggestions will be passed along. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael B.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/23/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Does what I got it for - mowing trails at my Deer lease
Michael Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James R.
Simonton, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
Have not had the issues other buyers have reported (bolts loosening, etc.). Starts easily and performs as advertised. I am happy with my purchase and would recommend this mower to anyone.
James Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy that you are pleased with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John F.
East Point, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/20/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Swisher To The Rescue!!!
Had paid someone with heavy equipment to clear off about 1/2 acre at my North West Florida (East Point) land. About 3 months later, growth was coming back.

In Florida everything grows quickly and thickly. Used my swisher to cut it back down and the place is beautiful! I like how rugged the swished and how simple every thing operates.
John Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear your machine exceeded your expectations. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert D.
Girard, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Solid Deck And Motor But Very Poor Design.
This was obviously designed by someone who never actually cut out a bunch of brush. The handle bars are lightweight and the controls have no chance of long term survival.

The gear lever bolt snapped off after approx.3 hrs of use...seriously a 1/4-28 bolt!. Also the most absurd placement...if you're in deep briars and need to back up the last thing you need is a face full of thorns trying to reach the lever.

If you are cutting tall grass or an established path then it is OK.If you have... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Swisher takes all consumer reviews that are less than four to five stars very personally.

The vast majority of Swisher Brand product reviews are very favorable, including reviews on this specific Walk Behind Roughcut Mower.

We would like to speak with you directly to work through your areas of concern regarding your Walk Behind Mower and also work hard to make you satisfied Swisher Brand customer.

At your convenience, please call us toll free at 800-222-8183 and every effort will be made to address all issues you may have with your Swisher Walk Behind Roughcut.
more
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers direct couldn't be better. Fast and efficient."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William L.
Wills Point, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/3/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Mulcher
Definitely pleased with my purchase. Handles heavy brush with no problem. You may choose to glue the handles on, as they will slide backwards. Otherwise this is just what I needed to handle my 3 wooded acres.
William Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with your purchase. Your comments will be passed along. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
George S.
Conroe, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Purchase Was Ok, But ,,,,,
Purchase was OK, but shipment and delivery was a challenge. The shipping company could only deliver the product in a large tractor trailer truck that could not pass through the entrance gate to my home, even though the entrance has a clearance of 13 feet 4 inches.

The Swisher mower package would easily fit on the back of a pickup truck, but the shipping company indicated that they do not have trucks as small as pickups and wanted me to come get the package from their warehouse.

After a... more
George Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
George,
We apologize for the issues you had with your delivery. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
02
Jc J.
Hartsdale, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/15
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Have a small farm which is difficult to keep clear of brush. For years had been doing the clearing with hand held brush cutter. With this mower was able to clear an area 3x as large as usual in less than half the time. This mower will go through anything, it is incredibly strong and overall very agile. Only complaint is the reverse gear has a safety that you have to bend down and pull up before you can go into reverse. After awhile it becomes a chore. The mower came extremely well packaged and... more
Jc Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jc,
Thank you for the positive review on your machine. Your input on the reverse gear will be passed along for review. Thank you for choosing Swisher! UPDATE...

The mechanism must stay there for safety purposes. It is there for two reasons; the first is it forces the operator to use two hands when switching from a forward gear to a reversing gear. This does two things, it automatically kills the blades since they are required to use both hands and it makes the operator fully aware that they are changing directions of the drive systems so they are not caught off guard.

The second reason is because the lever on the transmission that allows the operator to switch gears is very easy to operate and does not take much force at all. The safety mechanism keeps the operator from accidentally switching to reverse (or being knocked into reverse by debris etc.)
more
Jc's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Even with lift gate service machine very heavy, you will need plenty of help to move until have machine uncrated and running."
 more
Was this review helpful?
120
L. S.
Arkadelphia, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Swisher Rough Cut Mower Does The Job
Purchased the Swisher (24") to clear an old house place we purchased. The land was covered with Wisteria and 1 to 2 inch saplings. The engine runs great and never seems to pull down in heavy vegetation.

Sometimes the heavy vines will turn off the ignition switch but otherwise, flawless performance. Engine runs great and is easy to start. I would recommend this machine for any homeowner wanting to clear rough vegetation.
L. Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
L.,
We are happy to hear you are pleased with the performance of your machine. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
L.'s Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Lowest price and fast (FREE) shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
120
Mike S.
Glen Arm, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/19/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Cuts The Mustard
Just broke in my rough cut mower today and we gave each other quite a workout. I live on 5-1/2 acres I'm in the process of reclaiming large swaths of lawn from encroaching woods and my Swisher has the power to get the job done, taking down spice bush saplings and making short work of fallen branches buried in the long grass.

I took the advice of another user and wrapped my rubber hoses in aluminum foil to protect them from the motor's heat. I also found it useful to hang pruning clippers on... more
Mike Recommends This Swisher Mower
Mike's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sometimes no news is good news. I have nothing negative to say about my experience with Mowers Direct. The product arrived as promised in good condition and the price was equal to or better than other sites. Can't ask for more than that."
 more
Was this review helpful?
100
Monty F.
Kingston, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/24/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Piece Of Equipment
I have only used once for approximately 1.5 hours. So far, the machine really works well. It has a solid feel, starts easily, and tackles grass, weeds, and small saplings effortlessly.

My only recommended improvement would be a longer transmission gear shift that allows grabbing the reverse gear to back out from beneath trees and fences without having to reach over the handles.
Monty Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Monty,
Thank you for your positive review. Your suggestions will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Thanks for choosing Swisher!
more
Monty's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good purchase experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
100
Gerald R.
East Springfield, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/10/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Job
Got my Swisher and started my 1 and 1/2 acre weeds that are 5" high because of rain in my area. This walk-behind mower chopped the weeds with a breeze. I love the job it does. Wish I would have purchased it earlier.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, High Quality
Gerald Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gerald,
Thank you for the positive review. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the performance of your machine. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
113
David M.
Berwick, ME
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I bought this machine about a month ago and have only positive things to say about it.

I was considering the DR model as I have a DR trimmer but couldn't justify the price difference between the 2 machines.

Am glad I went with the Swisher. It has been rock solid.
David Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the performance of your machine. Thanks for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
80
Robert S.
Edgewood, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rough Start
We are very happy with our Swisher walk behind mower. When it arrived, one of the parts was not working, but when we contacted them, they sent it out via UPS. It took a week, but is good as new.
Robert Recommends This Swisher Mower
Was this review helpful?
91
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Swisher WBRC11524 reviews.Compare our Swisher WBRC11524 ratings. Find the Swisher WBRC11524 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct