Search
< Back to Product

Swisher RC17552BS Trail Cutter Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$2,699.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Freight$2,699.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$2,699.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$2,824.14
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,736.26
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Swisher RC17552BS Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (2)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
High Quality (1)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
Cons
Packaging (2)
Expensive (2)
Parts Missing (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Quality Control (1)
93% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
15 Reviews  Sort by 
 
John S.
Franklin, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Cutter
I replaced a Swisher 60" finishing cut tow behind with the trail cutter and am very pleased with the decision. I totally overestimated the capabilities of the finishing mower.

It's OK for large yards but totally inadequate for fields. The rough cut is excellent. The final cut looks like a finished cut. Just make sure the control box is secured. It can fall out of the ATV and be damaged if you're not careful.
John Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that you are happy with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Greg L.
Claiborne, TN
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Avoid At All Costs
Don't actually know how well this is going to work for my application because right now it is sitting in my yard mostly as a lawn ornament.

This purchase has to be the worst thing I have ever done.

Mower got to the shipping depot, we had to go get it due to the remote and hilly area we live in, I expected this, so it was no big deal on that account, I have a 6x8 single axle trailer and - anything smaller you are probably not going to be able to use.

The mower and packaging crate... more
Cons: Low Quality, Packaging, Expensive, Quality Control
Greg Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Greg,
We are sorry to hear about the experience you encountered with your purchase. Power Equipment Direct's website points out that you must purchase the battery locally. We do not ship batteries with our pull behinds due to shipping regulations. In regards to your missing keys and hardware, it sounds like they were lost in transit during shipping. We will gladly send replacements to you at no charge. Unfortunately, we do not have your contact information since you are not a verified purchaser on Power Equipment Direct. Please feel free to call us toll free at 800-222-8183 during normal customer service business hours (Mon-Fri 8am - 4pm CST).
more
Was this review helpful?
05
Kevin B.
Nevada, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/26/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pull Behind Mower
We have only used it once, but we are very happy with our mower. We got it to mow around pond dam and under trees and it worked awesome.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Kevin Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kevin,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are pleased that you are happy with your machine. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Kevin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have only used it once, but so far so good, I am very happy with the product."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brooks J.
Lillington, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/22/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine!
Smooth riding and cuts great! Ease of use is awesome... open the crate and she's ready to go.
Brooks Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brooks,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy your mower exceeded your expectations. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
10
John P.
Anna, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Beast
I cut 22 acres with it, what a machine, cuts small trees ,Gone, better than I thought. I call it the Beast, well worth the money.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
John Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear you are pleased with your "Beast". Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience with Mowers Direct, all my lawn equipment comes from them."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Harvey Kelley
Mitchell, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/18/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Cutting Machine
Just got unit and used it for about 3 hours. Started up great, runs, and cuts fantistic! Cutting sand sage and cat tails from 1/12 to 2" thick.
Harvey Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Harvey,
We are happy that you are pleased with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
82
William Dinger
Columbia Cross Roads, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/13/14
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like It!
I bought it for 2 reasons...to mow my trails thru my woods and to open up CRP fields.

CRP is a gov't program in which if you choose to mow a field...it has to be mowed 6" high. This mower goes 7" and it is the only one I found that will mow this high.

Also, I like the idea that it is a rough cut. I cut some small trees 1-1/2" with it and it did fine - you just go slow.

I have not mowed any 3" stuff yet but I'm sure that day will come. I offset it to mow the... more
William Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
We are very happy that you are pleased with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
104
Annie K.
Rewey, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tough As Advertised - Ya Gotta Love It!
I've had this Swisher rough-cut mower for a month and a half and put it through its paces - tall grass, thistles, burdock, wild parsnip, marsh grass, poison sumac, multi-flora rose, prickly ash. Everything I could throw at it, it handles as good as I wanted.

Because you pull it with an ATV you can go places where a bat wing would be too wide and a skid steer mounted mower would get stuck (like in wetter soil). You just have to use common sense and drive slower when in real thick brush and... more
Annie Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Annie,
Thank you for your very thorough review of our machine. It does tackle the tough stuff with ease. We are happy you are pleased.Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Annie's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Phoned Mowers Direct and the folks are very friendly and helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Edward B.
Medon, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/16/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit
Had to pick this unit up at the Trucking Company. My trailer is 5 ft. 7 inches wide. At first glance, I didn't think it would fit because it looks real wide in the crate. Thought I was going to have to un-crate it before loading it, but I didn't. When I got it home and un-crated, it started right up and I cut my trails for about 30 minutes.

It did stall out on me in some real tall blackberry bushes. When I tried to restart the unit with the "choke" on, I flooded it out and... more
Edward Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Edward,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you are pleased with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Swisher.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve G.
Columbia, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
No problems used it all summer best mower I ever owned still waiting for the control mounts
Steve Recommends This Swisher Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve G.
Streamwood, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Missing mounts for controls.
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging, Expensive, Parts Missing
Steve Recommends This Swisher Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Steve,
Sorry about the missing Items, we have contacted Swisher and they are shipping the mounts for the controller. They where delayed a few days due to that the parts were not in stock.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas T.
Lavinia, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Swisher Pull Behind Mower
First let me say, the guys at Mowers Direct were great. Very knowledgeable. I didn't really know what I needed and there help was priceless. I have had my mower a couple of months and it has lived up to the reviews and my expectations.

Great built piece of equipment. If there is a downfall, it would be the way you have to adjust the mowing height. You have to have some sort of jack or lift. No way to do it easily. Only drawback so far.
Thomas Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
Thank you for your review of the rough cut mower. We are happy that you are pleased with the performance of the machine. Your suggestions on the cutting height adjustment will be passed along. Thank you for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
10
William R.
Newalla, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Mower, Not A Brush Hog
The mower is working very well, considering I have a large field of 3-4 foot grass. I must go very slow to keep the mower from bogging down as I cut it to the 7" level. I have cut a small section down to 4" and it looks great. I can't wait until I get the entire field cut and can drop the mower to the 4" height of course here in Oklahoma, I have to wait for the flood waters to recede and the field to dry enough for me to be able to drive on it.
William Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thank you for your feedback. Please feel free to contact us toll free at 800-222-8183 if you have any issues or concerns. Thanks for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Glen K.
Perry, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/13/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding Product
This is a great product.....looks to be tough as woodpecker lips..........
Glen Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Glen,
Thank you for the positive review. We are confident that your machine will tackle your brush cutting needs for years to come. Thanks for choosing Swisher!
more
Was this review helpful?
65
Richard R.
Mt Pleasant, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/13/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built.....
I have not yet used my Swisher...but...it did arrive in good condition....packed in a crate and well anchored.

It is well built and appears far more sturdy that anticipated!

I purchased the recommended battery, checked the oil, fueled it up and started the motor.

All is well so far. I expect it will "cut" as described!
Richard Recommends This Swisher Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
Thank you for the positive review. Swisher strives to deliver top notch American made products. We are happy that you are pleased with your purchase!
more
Was this review helpful?
98
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Swisher RC17552BS reviews.Compare our Swisher RC17552BS ratings. Find the Swisher RC17552BS Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct