Search
< Back to Product

Snapper 7800980 Gas Self-Propelled Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$599.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$617.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Snapper 7800980 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 5
Pros
Durable (7)
High Quality (4)
Reliable (4)
Easy To Use (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Cons
Durability (3)
Unreliable (3)
Expensive (3)
Low Quality (2)
Packaging (2)
73% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
22 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Brendan Garvey
Indianapolis, IN
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
By Putting It Together, Didn't Think I'd Have To Re-engineer It.
Mower arrived a couple days ago. I immediately got to work on putting it together out of the box. The unit looks good. Now I am a strictly by the book guy, so I'm meticulous in following the instructions for setup, etc. Everything was going great until I came to the point of adding on the throttle and shifter plastic housing.

When I tried to apply and tighten the 4 x 30mm box nuts, they would not tighten down. Weird! After inspection I noticed that all 4 hole receptacles were not threaded.... more
View Image
Pros: Durable, Reliable, Features, Price
Cons: Snapper Needs To Pay Attention To Its Manufacturing Quality
Brendan Recommends This Snapper Mower
Brendan's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent experience so far from the MowersDirect.com perspective. Wish I could say the same from the Snapper perspective. It'll be interesting to see if Jose and Snapper will address my request."
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
Mary L.
New Orleans, LA
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bad Choice
We were looking for a dependable mower, and because we were owners of a snapper walk behind and also a riding one, we decided to stay with Snapper and give the Hi Vac series a try, big mistake. We purchased the 875 series Briggs & Stratton with ready start (7800980) 21" on April 04,2016 for $599.99.

The bag was $22.00 and the mulching blade was $39.99, so with tax $727.09 only to be disappointed 3 months later on July 18, 2016. The mower wouldn't start, the string wouldn't move. I... more
Mary Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mary,
Thank your for your review. Your feedback is important to us, and we're very sorry to hear that you've experienced these issues with your new mower. You can reach out to our team directly at 1-800-317-7833 to help troubleshoot the issue.

You could also try locating one of our local authorized service centers to see if they can determine the cause of the issue and see if it is covered under warranty. You can do so here: https://www.snapper.com/na/en_us/support/dealer-locator/find-us-and-canada-dealers/find-product-services.html.

We hope the issue can be resolved for you soon!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Eunicee K.
Lima, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/29/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Snapper Ever
This was my third Snapper and l love this one better than the other two l had. l'm tall and the bar is setting just right for me. It is easy to adjust to the speed you want and the height also.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Eunicee Recommends This Snapper Mower
Eunicee's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"l had an easy experience buying Direct for the first time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Eunicee K.
Lima, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/29/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Snapper Ever
This was my third Snapper and l love this one better than the other two l had. l'm tall and the bar is setting just right for me. It is easy to adjust to the speed you want and the height also.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Eunicee Recommends This Snapper Mower
Eunicee's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"l had a easy experience buying Direct for the first time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lee G.
Medford, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Brainer
This is my second Snapper Hi-Vac. I purchased my first one in 1977. Used it for 39 years and only replaced the engine twice. The rest of the mower was getting worn and since I am now retired, I thought why not buy my last mower and what better mower to replace it with than another HI-Vac.

I would not own another mower.

Over the years think I convinced several other people to purchase a Snapper. They could not believe what a great job it did of bagging the clippings and even mowed... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Lee Recommends This Snapper Mower
Lee's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered it They shipped it. I received it. Doesn't get any better than that."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Kenneth M.
Modesto, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/7/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I have had many snappers most were used this is my first new one, It is the only mower Hi Vac that picks up redwood leaves so I don't have to rake as well.

This one should last many years as long as I use fuel stabilizer as California fuel additives are detrimental to fuel lines and eat metal in carburetors.
Kenneth Recommends This Snapper Mower
Kenneth's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great Deal and free shipping how can you top that?"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Dale Wolfe,
Fortson, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Like other Snapper Mowers I've had, this one does a great job.
Dale Recommends This Snapper Mower
Dale's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers Direct is great! Just a few clicks on the website and a few days later my mower arrived."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Jamie J.
Sioux Falls, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/27/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Mower
Living on an acreage for years, I didn't have the need for a walk behind mower. In the past, I had a Snapper, with good luck, so bought another one. Each time we mow, we bag, so the high vac of the Snapper was what we wanted. We have only used it 4 or 5 times, but it runs very well and we are pleased with the purchase.
Pros: Durable, Fast
Cons: The Bag And Chute Could Fit Together Better
Jamie Recommends This Snapper Mower
Jamie's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to use web site and fast delivery. It was packaged well and assembly was easy. There was one cable that was crimped when I opened the packaging but was still able to use that cable."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Marcie L.
Pierre, SD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/26/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Snapper
This is my first snapper mower, after owning various brands over the years. Great mower!
Marcie Recommends This Snapper Mower
Marcie's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was a very smooth transaction, and very fast ship."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mike H.
Mead, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Mower But.......
Purchased this mower in March 2016. My last Snapper mower lasted over 20 years! Overall pleased with this model. It does a great job of doing what it's supposed to do. Mow the lawn. Here's what I didn't like. Every page in the assembly tells you not to bend or crimp the cables. Guess what? My throttle cable was crimped / insulation worn through to the cable right out of the box! My mower is always set to full throttle so not a big deal to me.

Missing in the packaging were the cotter pin and... more
Pros: Durable, Reliable, Features, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Packaging, Expensive
Mike Recommends This Snapper Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mike,
Thanks so much for your review! We apologize there were some issues out of the box - This will be shared with our team - but we are really excited to hear you are on your second Snapper and like it so far! Here's to another 20 years with our products keeping your yard looking great!
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jon D. S.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/10/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well Powerful
ordered this product about a week ago, it came in about 4 days. I opened up the box and started the assembly. The engine throttle cable was broken, probably from the folding up in packaging. They immediately sent out a new cable, when it arrived I continued the assembly. It does not come with oil, so i needed to add oil.

Once the oil and fuel was added it took a few pulls but started right up. I was able to do a full spring cleanup cutting bush trimmings, twigs etc.

It took a while... more
Pros: Durable, Fast
Cons: Packaging, The Weak Material Used For The Actual Bag Tears Easily And Will H
Jon Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
John P.
Garden City, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/22/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Sat 3 months, but started first pull. It has plenty of power.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
John Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
31
Brian L.
Spartanburg, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/3/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Unreliable
The vacuum is good on the mower. After the mower runs for a short period of time if you stop using the mower it is difficult to start until the mower cools down. It's very frustrating when you have to mow a medium size area.
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Brian Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Andy S.
Graham, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Snapper / Briggs Cheap Junk At A High Price
Bought this mower based on reputation of snapper and Briggs motors. Horribly disappointed. Mower was hard to start (3-4) pulls from day one. Then mower exploded 3 months after purchase with piston flying out side of engine after only using 6-7 times. Called mowers direct, snapper, Briggs all to get sent to a dealer 35 miles away after blaming us for the failure. Dealer said he had one exactly like ours, even newer that Briggs would not repair for the exact same issue.

Blamed both on... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Expensive
Andy Does Not Recommend This Mower
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Andy,
We are very sorry to hear of the issues with the mower. Once the unit is gassed the warranty protocol has to be handled through the local service centers offered by Snapper. The service center locations then will make the the determination as to what caused the issue. We unfortunately cannot overrule the local service centers reasoning behind the failures. Once again we apologize for the issues and if you need anything further, please do not hesitate to ask.

Thank you
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Andy,
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us, and we're very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with your mower. Your comments have been shared with the product team so that they can be looked into for future product improvements.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Cliff M.
Farfild Bay, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/8/16
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Hi-vac Snapper Mower
I am very pleased with my new mower. It is very easy starting. The controls make it very easy to handle. The hi- vac picks up most everything I mow over. I would highly recommend this mower. I am very fussy about the finished job and this mower meets my expectations.
Cliff Recommends This Snapper Mower
Cliff's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery and assembly was not that difficult."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Donald M.
Modesto, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/13/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Mower
I have had a snapper for over 20 years, so I expect the best
Donald Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
54
Chris
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Snapper Not What It Use To Be
Purchasing this was a breeze. Ordered online and received in 2 days. That's about all the good I have to say about this mower. I used this mower once...let me repeat that...I used this mower once in my average sized backyard. Worked pretty well but each time I tried to restart after emptying the bag, it took several tries. Put he lawn mower away and the following weekend took out to mow again. Well, it wouldn't start. Tried and tried, still wouldn't start. Fresh gas (from a well known... more
Cons: Durability, Unreliable, Bad Instructions
Chris Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Leo E.
Nephi, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacing The One I Had.
I had my old snapper for twenty years. They have maid some nice changes to them.
Leo Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
John R.
Florissant, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Mower
Snapper is the only lawn mower I have ever owned.
John Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles N.
Tuscaloosa, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower.
Easy start! Great operations controls. Great hi vac. I really enjoy using this mower. This is my 3rd Sapper. Great price.
Charles Recommends This Snapper Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
John S.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/25/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Can't Use
Blade strikes body of mower where running. Replaced a 1974 Snapper but the quality is missing now. Looking for a new mower.
John Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Donna
REVIEWED
MAR.
15
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bring Back The Old Style!!!
I've purchased snapper push mowers for at least 30 years... I bought one with the ready start systems last year and HATED IT! Returned it to the store. BRING BACK THE OLD STYLE!!! This new version is horrible... If it is the only kind you make.. from now one I will NEVER purchase another snapper again!
Donna Does Not Recommend This Mower
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Donna,
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us, and we're very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with your mower. Your comments have been shared with the product team so that they can be incorporated into future product improvements.
more
Was this review helpful?
57
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Snapper 7800980 reviews.Compare our Snapper 7800980 ratings. Find the Snapper 7800980 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct