Search
< Back to Product

Red Lion RL12G05-2W1V Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$299.99
(as of 06:27 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$347.64
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Red Lion RL12G05-2W1V Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Price (16)
I'd Buy It Again (10)
Easy To Use (9)
High Quality (4)
Fast (3)
Cons
No Cons (1)
It Said 2 Wire In The Pr... (1)
Heavy (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
39 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Donald B.
Knightdale, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump So Far!
I replaced a jet pump with this submersible pump. It is installed in an 105 foot well with 100 foot head. It has been in service for 3 weeks and i am very pleased . Wish I had done this years ago. It is pumping 40-60 PSI and is working perfect. I would recommend this pump and the price is very good for the quality pump.
Donald Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kenneth S.
Grove, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/14/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
1/2 Hp Works But
Installed this pump at 125 feet deep well and it pumps water at very good rate at about 5+ GPM. However, it takes 29+ amps to get the motor started and 9.5 amps to keep it running. That blows my 20 Amp circuit. I was under the impression that this unit could operate on a 20amp breaker without fail. I was wrong. Cost me more to run more wire and get a larger breaker on a single circuit. Not pleased with the electrical performance.
Kenneth Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
11
David Q.
Freehold, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Produc
So far it works as it should.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
David Recommends This Red Lion Product
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to order, no problems."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel M.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Review By The Man In Charge Is Spot On
I spent hours diagnosing the problems with the pump in my yard. The pumped worked as expected. Then there were some issues. Turns out to be an electrical problem. Since this has been resolved, the water has been pumping furiously. Great pump.
Daniel Recommends This Red Lion Product
Daniel's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website. Fast service. Wonderful experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Denis S.
Cillamook, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Little Worried
Pulled it out after 30 days was getting some rust buildup on it. Pumping good at 2 months Hope it runs 20 years like the last one. There are good products from China .
Denis Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Odilia S.
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Redlion
I'm a new to this well pump, I do know it was cheaper in price then Lowes or Homedepot. With a better warranty. Its been working great.
Odilia Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Clyde D.
Pecos, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Beautifully
I put this pump in a shallow well to replace a centrifugal pump because I got tired of having to prime the pump every time the foot valve didn't hold. It is an automatic system so it was a real pain. This pump is working beautifully. I just ordered another one for a second well for the same reason. I am confident it will do just as well.
Clyde Recommends This Red Lion Product
Clyde's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My experience has been great, except--all WEB sites should allow you to give a street address and a P. O. Box number. It's a long story, don't have time for it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Clyde D.
Pecos, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
Doing great at this time.
Clyde Recommends This Red Lion Product
Clyde's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"So far, great with this pump."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ben B.
Greer, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/17/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Value For The Buck.
Easy installation.
Ben Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Stuart S.
Albuquerque, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Installation. I Will Update Later
This pump went into a commercial tank and will be run consistently for a half hour daily. So far it appears to be running cool after one cycle. Easy installation to a relay. The drip irrigation system it supplies has 80psi at the end of a 3/4" x 200' run.
Stuart Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Brian
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeds Expectations...
The headline says it all - for pump AND service from waterpumpsdirect.com. Our order was processed and shipped within 24 hours! Great response time!!!

I bought this pump to replace a failed water treatment sprinkler pump that I thought did a great job. Boy was I wrong! The moment I flipped the switch on this new pump I was impressed. The pressure from this pump is great for driving sprinkler heads, and since it's designed to pump from greater depths, we can assume the pump doesn't mind the... more
Brian Recommends This Red Lion Product
Brian's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"GREAT all around experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Javier S.
Falfurrias, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/14/16
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
115 2w Submersible 1/2 Hp Well Pump
Works great, I plan to order another.
Javier Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Edwin B.
Douglas, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/22/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pump Is Working Great
I can't vouch for longevity, but the 3-yr warranty is good enough for me, considering the price. I am pumping from 120ft static level up another 80 ft or so to a gravity feed tank, and it's filling the tank as quickly as expected. Startup takes a lot of juice, I'm running of a generator. The first generator I got was only 2000W and couldn't start the pump. Once, going, energy consumption is modest. I'm using my neighbor's gen right now which has starting watts of about 6000 and plan to get a... more
Pros: Price, Features, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Edwin Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
202
John B.
Eugene, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/7/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Well Install
Works great for a 120 volt 1/2 HP unit!

Pumping from just 30 feet against no back pressure (open 1 1/4" pipe) it moved 30 GPM for a 70 minute well test, and did it running off a 3KW inverter on a battery bank and 400 watts of solar panels.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Too Soon To Say On Reliability It's New
John Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
122
Fernando B.
Laredo, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/20/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Buy
Deep well pump woks fine at 90 ft.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Excellent
Fernando Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
91
Valerie Vanwitzenburg
New Canton, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/7/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Pump!
This pump is a great product at a great price! Performs as advertised/expected. The only issue I've found so far is that the product description states 2 wire and the actual pump requires 3 wire, as one of them is the ground wire. Big difference when purchasing wire for pump hook up.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use
Cons: It Said 2 Wire In The Product Description And It Is 3 Wire
Valerie Recommends This Red Lion Product
Valerie's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"If I need another pump, this is where I will go! Great deal, fast shipping!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
92
Jerry Pollock
Valley Center, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/13/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement Pump
Most providers in my area offered a pump by a different manufacture with only a one year warranty. After reading all the reviews of their pump, there was no way I was going to buy their pump. It was a stroke of luck that I came across Water Pumps Direct. The pump was better quality, cheaper (less expensive), longer warranty period and delivered to my door.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Jerry Recommends This Red Lion Product
Jerry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My new pump arrived before I had time to pull my old pump."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
John E.
Boulder, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/9/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great So Far
After losing two pumps to flooding in the well pit I finally got smart and bought this submersible pump. It was simple to hook up and the two wire system didn't bother me as the pump is only 6 feet underwater and easy to pull out. I would recommend it to anyone needing a small pump for household use.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Fast
John Recommends This Red Lion Product
John Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Arrived in good shape earlier then promised, hard to beat that!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
104
Ed
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Entirely Satisfactory
I needed a submersible pump for installation in a lake to lift water approximately 100 ft.

After getting information about the Red Lion RL 12GOS-2W1V (all my questions were answered promptly); I ordered the pump and installed it in a four-inch ID pipe as instructed in the owner's manual supplied and placed it in the lake.

It delivers adequate water for the application and is entirely satisfactory.
Was this review helpful?
60
Terry D.
Fort Payne, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I am very pleased with the ease of installation of this pump. So far it is performing as stated. Good company to deal with, placed order and three days later the pump arrived at my door step.
Terry Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Kellyann P.
Le Grand, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/3/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice
It works quite well ,easy to install. Do recommend to friends!
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again
Kellyann Recommends This Red Lion Product
Kellyann's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Product wanted easy to find, quick shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Randy D.
Colchester, VT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Red Lion 115v - 1/2 Hp Submersible Pump
I'm using this pump for a septic pump station and it fits the design of the system being that it's 115 volt pump. I'll buy another just to have on hand when another customers pump dies.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Very Good Warentee Of 3 Years Better Than The Others
Cons: No Cons
Randy Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Mark G.
Avon, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/11/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fabulous
Converted from a shallow well jet pump that was nothing but problems, added a lake strainer, and now the cottage has water like never before!

Great pressure and no priming!
Was this review helpful?
83
Gary S.
Encampment, WY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mountain Stream
Pumping water out of mountain stream for a cabin water supply. Added a box frame to keep off of the stream bottom and it is working just great.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Durable
Gary Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Joseph M.
Vanlear, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/21/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pump Is Working Great
Got the pump put in. Its lightweight and easy to handle. Work's great good water presser.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Fast
Joseph Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Tom
Ridgeley, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/12
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Irrigation Application
Lawn is 60' above lake. Pump is working fine, delivering a little more gpm than I expected. Have been able to increase the # of sprinklers per zone, and eliminate at least 1 zone (still working on the sprinkler installation)
Was this review helpful?
40
Jerry J.
Grandfield, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/14/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pumps More Than Advertised
I have a well that is 33 feet deep and I put the well on solar power. The pump has a 25 foot discharge hose on it and it takes the pump about 50 minutes to fill my 1000 gal water trailer to the top.

Here in SW Oklahoma we are having to haul water to the cattle and trees. I am very satisfied with this pump's performance.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Jerry Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Jeb J.
Baytown, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/19/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Did The Job
I replaced a Goulds brand submersible pump with the Red Lion. It was an exact duplicate. The pump has only been in service a couple of weeks so I can not speak to reliability. The price was half the cost of the replacement Goulds pump. I am happy with the purchase and recommend the Red Lion pump
Pros: Price
Jeb Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Dennis S.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/9/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Retired Guy Here
I went 5 weeks without running water prior to contacting your company. Your reasonable price & delivery service made it possible to shower & flush toilet again.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, High Quality
Dennis Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Donna
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
Great pump - works nicely. Shipping was fast and exactly as described.
Was this review helpful?
41
Steven R.
Prescott, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Liittle Pump
I just use this to water the grass using a 25 ft deep well. Installed really easy and seems to working great. Hard to find a 3 wire 115 V pump but made it work. Hope lasts a few years, Great price and delivery.
Steven Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Gordon P.
Centerville, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/1/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
This pump was easy to wire and install, and it went right to work. We own some high mountain property and believe this pump will give us just the service we need at an exceptional price.
Gordon Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Brian B.
West Hills, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/26/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Worked
I had tried to sue a shallow well jet pump. I needed to lift water about 14' and was at 7,000'. The altitude does not impact this type of pump. The shallow well jet pump could not generate enough pressure to properly prime and flow.

This one I made a small 4" PVC collar system for it and a T at the bottom. The only issue I had was the 4" collar I made (used a 3" reducer) required the wire guard to be removed (2 screws) then I had to make a hole in the PVC for the wire.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, No Drama
Brian Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
31
James P.
Henderson, NV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/21/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump
This is the second property that I am installing a Red Lion at - not yet completed. The first pump was a great success with no problems and when I powered it up it worked the first time. Good volume and my pressure tank was charged in very little time.
James Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Gavriil T.
Strongsville, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/31/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Perfect Until Now !
I am grateful how it's working .
Gavriil Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Jose R.
Tampa, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Pumping
Is working well in Cuba.
Jose Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Jason H.
St. Cloud, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied Customer
This Red Lion pump is working flawlessly pumping from inside our aeration/holding tank which allows the hydrogen sulfide gas to leave the water. The pump is on a pressure switch set to 50-70 psi and it delivers plenty of gpms at that pressure to do whatever our family of 5 needs to do. I attached a float switch to this pump as a safety in case our well pump fails to deliver water to the aeration tank. I like that it's a clean install with no external control boxes or additional equipment on the... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Reliable
Jason Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Michael C.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best!
Bad azz pump!!
Michael Recommends This Red Lion Product
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Perfect!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
12
Clifford C.
Martinsville, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/15
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wrong Pump
Well, to tell the truth, I purchased the wrong pump and I'm thinking of sending it back. I didn't realize this was a 115v pump. I just saw 2 wire and assumed it was 220v. I know the description says 115v, but it also says 2 wire, so I thought 115v on each wire. Duh!!!
Clifford Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
16
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Red Lion RL12G05-2W1V reviews.Compare our Red Lion RL12G05-2W1V ratings. Find the Red Lion RL12G05-2W1V Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct