Search
< Back to Product

Puma PK-5020VP Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$599.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Freight$599.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Puma PK5020VP Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Reliable (3)
Price (2)
Easy To Store (2)
Features (1)
Cons
Low Quality (2)
Durability (2)
Expensive (1)
Unreliable (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
78% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
25 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2851 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

This unit from Puma earned our Good slot with its sturdy construction and value.

It has several features found on more expensive air compressors, like an oil sight glass, Swedish steel valves, and a cast iron pump.

We also like that it can be plugged into a regular 115V outlet, or easily converted to 230V service.

The vertical tank takes up less space, and it's easier to move around than a horizontal tank. All-in-all a good combination of features and price.

Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
450
Michael B.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice, Not Made In China
I could have bought a cheaper (price) Chinese made compressor at Lowe's or Home Depot for less money. But this one seems to be very nicely made, it works great, and it was delivered to me on a pallet.

It is much quieter than the Sears oil-less compressor that I had before. I wish it were quieter still, but that's probably not possible these days since everything is made to a price point rather than made to last.

This Puma is a heavy little sucker.
Michael Recommends This Puma Product
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This purchase came with free liftgate service, which meant that there was no struggling to get this into the house. That was a great advantage to picking this model. It arrived within 10 days (7 biz days) of ordering."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
James R.
Murrysville, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/17/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pretty Decent Machine
I bought this same model compressor 2 years ago and it has been fine. I use it for light industrial use and it always works.

I liked it enough to buy another recently and it also seems to be running fine.
James Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris R.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/20/12
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Compressor
I bought a Craftsman 20 gallon vertical, it was always out of air and constantly running. Louder than hell, too.

I sold it to my neighbor and bought the PUMA. While using a blow gun it never gets below 80 psi, and has a great recovery. It is a lot quieter, also. I wish I had never wasted my money on the Craftsman.

The only problem, is it is not made in America.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Chris,
You can enter "Made In USA" in the Search box for units that meet this legal definition (85% or more of the parts must be made in the US; it can't just be assembled here). They tend to be more expensive, however.
more
Was this review helpful?
192
Mark
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Wanted
The home owner model I wanted was limited because I needed the 240v option. This one fit the job although the only wiring diagram was on the back of the motor cord lid.

Also don't forget to buy oil, and break the unit in- no air compressor load for at least 20 minutes.

After using I turned the power off and so far no leaks in air for a week. There is a convenient water drain at bottom side of tank. Solid rubber wheels. The belt guard is good and sturdy unlike Chinese brands I compared... more
Was this review helpful?
151
Tom E.
Lacey, WA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Puma Compressor High Quality
I have been running this unit now for a couple months and it's running good. I put the tank for my old piece of crap Harbor Freight unit in line to give me some additional capacity and the thing fills up quick and quietly compared to the old Harbor unit.

"Penny wise and pound foolish" was never truer! Glad I found this unit. Shipper was great too.
Was this review helpful?
140
Charles K.
Kaukauna, WI
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Hard Time Getting Service And Parts
Good luck trying to find service for replacement parts for a PUMA A/C. The worst customer service I have ever experienced.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Charles,
You may want to try contacting the folks at Puma directly; their number is (901) 744-7979.
more
Was this review helpful?
185
Tom
Salem, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/25/12
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All Good So Far
I am no expert on air compressors, but I like this one so far. It is nice and quiet, and looks like it is made well.

It's about the perfect size for my little wood shop. I am happy with it. It's a good little air compressor.

It is definitely better than the one I was thinking about buying at a big box store.
Was this review helpful?
100
Kim M.
Burleson, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
I received this compressor as a Father's Day gift and have been using it for projects ever since.

I am very happy with my compressor.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
Kim Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Stan L.
Alta Loma, CA
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy So Far
I researched home/shop air compressors for several months. I seemed to always come back to this model.

After receiving the delivery, which the delivery company was great, I put the compressor to work. The unit is fairly quiet, a lot more than my last compressor. The pressure built in a short time to the 135 lbs. it claims and I used it for the remainder of the day.

I am very happy with my choice and the unit powered my accessories with no problems. This is not an industrial compressor.... more
Was this review helpful?
80
Michael S.
Santa Rosa, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/6/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
The Puma Works Well
I do bowl turning and I use the air compressor many times a day to blow of chips and clean up my work area. It works great! It is close to me and it does make noise while pumping air, but given the close proximity it is not that loud. I can blow off things 5-6 times before the pump starts up again.

I might go for a 30-40 gallon compressor next time. Hopefully, that is many years out!
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Michael Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Sonny
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/10/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value
Very pleased with the performance compared to similarly priced compressors.
Was this review helpful?
40
Rodney
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/9/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Move & Store
It is very good compressor for small around-the-house jobs. It's easy to move and store.

I would like to have a compressor with more CFM, but I don't have the room, and they are too hard to move.
Was this review helpful?
73
Eric
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Poor Quality
I initially purchased a PUMA PK-5020VP air compressor to finish a basement in a home I owned. Unfortunately, before EVER using it, my job was transferred to another state and I simply stored my compressor to be used at a future date.

When I finally plugged this thing in, it worked great - the first time. The 3rd time I used it, the brass check-valve on the side of the tank blew out an obvious factory defect in the casting of the valve.

Upon contacting Puma's sales and service, I have... more
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Eric,
This unit has a 1 year Factory Warranty, so you can contact the folks at Puma directly at (901) 744-7979 if you are still within the warranty period.

Please be sure to have the serial number of your compressor handy when you call them; you may also need a copy of your original invoice.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Don
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/27/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Almost Perfect
I heard from the transport company before I saw any notice on the web site. The compressor came in the specified time, 7 - 14 work days, but closer to 14. It was packaged well and strapped to a pallet with absolutely no damage. The truck was here and gone in 10 minutes.

I added a Quincy (model # in rating doesn't match) automatic electronic tank drain but had to buy a 45 degree brass elbow because the tank drain already angles out about 45 degrees, so a standard 90 degree elbow would exit... more
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Don,
Just click on the Accessories tab, select Air Hoses, and then click on Hose Reels- there are several to choose from!

We're sorry your picture didn't upload; it may have been too large. Currently we can accept 338x338; although we're working on making more space available.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Tom E.
Lacey, WA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Puma Product Well Built
For what was described as a mid-level product I was very happy with the quality of the manufacturing.

I will follow up after a few months to let you know if it's still performing as well as it is now.
Was this review helpful?
30
Steve
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/14/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Compressor
Great compressor, Cast iron parts instead of plastic you would find on other similarly priced compressors.
Shipping company was professional.
I would recommend.
Was this review helpful?
30
James
Denver, PA
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great And Runs Quiet
I originally bought Sears Craftsman air compressor. I picked it up on a Monday after work and took it back on Tuesday after work. It had a part broken on it right out of the box.

It still ran but was louder than my Harley and vibrated so much you could hardly read the gauges.

I searched the Internet and found Air Compressors Direct, which had a good deal on a Puma model# PK5020VP.

The Puma works great and runs quiet. I am very pleased with this item and it's quick delivery.
Was this review helpful?
30
Jerry Larsen
Lakeville, MN
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quieter And Appears To Be Good Quality
I replaced a very noisy, poor quality,oil-less compressor with this unit.

It runs good, is quieter, and appears to be good quality.

Even the paint and appearance is appealing. The only thing I find BAD is it isn't stamped MADE IN U.S.A.
Was this review helpful?
30
Ken D.
Auburn, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
The Puma is great, your company is great- thanks.
Was this review helpful?
20
Milton S.
Atlanta, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/14/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Would Recommend
It only took one week for shipment to arrive. The shipping company (R&L) was on time, kept in contact, and was very professional- which is rare these days.

I must say that I wasn't sure how the compressor would hold up during the shipping process, but while unpacking right away I knew this was packed well. Not only was it strapped down to the pallet, the box had six 6 straps holding it together and the box had to be 2 1/2 inches thick.

This compressor is WELL built from its rubber... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gary Neilson
Salt Lake City, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/10
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Whole Process Was Well Done
So far very happy with the compressor choice. The whole process was well done, and ordering was very convenient.

The truck driver and delivery were exceptional.

Based on a rating of 1 to10, with 1 being very displeased, I would rate you guys a 9.5... excellent job.
Was this review helpful?
20
Derek L.
Lebanon, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/13/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Compressor
I love this compressor! It works really nicely inside my apartment with very little noise. My next door neighbor couldn't believe how quiet it is so I can restore my old gun stocks and repair power tools for people in town.

Very nice unit. It has plenty of air volume for my spray gun that is 2.3cfm, so I can spray away and I can use the air ratchet for about 1 minute before it kicks in and fills back up from 100 psi to 135 psi in 1 minute and 10 seconds.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Features, Price
Derek Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles W.
Houma, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like It!!
Ample supply of air to run impact or ratchet, but hungry air tools would cause this to run all the time.

Works great for my application, plus it can be moved if needed. Shipping was good and the compressor was packaged very well. Lift gate service was a big plus, did not have to go to a terminal.
Charles Recommends This Puma Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Lars H.
Thomaston, ME
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
No Service After The Warranty Expired
I bought this model air compressor. after 2 years of very light use,( Perhaps maybe 10 hours of use ) the motor will not run. After e-mailing puma, they will not help with parts or a replacement motor. Id avoid puma products, as they just want your money, and could care less , after the have your money.I did not buy this from Air compressors direct. I Just wanted to get the word out , about shoddy equipment, that puma makes and sells Thank you
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Expensive
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Lars,
Our customers have been very happy with Puma products- they offer excellent performance for the price.

For those reading this review I'd like to explain about Factory Warranties, which seems to be where this person was disappointed.

A Factory Warranty protects the buyer from defects in materials and/or workmanship for a specific period (in this case, 1 year). That means if the company that made the unit did a bad job, they will fix it during that first year. It doesn't cover normal use, wear and tear, a lack of proper maintenance, or abuse.

Once the warranty period is done, the manufacturer (ANY manufacturer) does not have to provide free parts, discounts, or warranty service.

For those interested in Puma products, just click on this Service Center Locator and select Puma to see their national network of service locations.
more
Was this review helpful?
48
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Puma PK5020VP reviews.Compare our Puma PK5020VP ratings. Find the Puma PK5020VP Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct