Search
< Back to Product

Ohio Steel 42CPA Aerator Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$171.90
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Ohio Steel 42CPA Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Pros
Price (5)
Easy To Use (4)
High Quality (1)
Cheap (1)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
Cons
Low Quality (3)
Durability (3)
Unreliable (2)
Had To Buy Extra Washers... (1)
Packaging (1)
57% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
34 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12608 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Ohio Steel 42CPA core plug aerator easily handles aerating jobs at your home or other property. Aerating helps to reduce soil compaction, which it turn allows important nutrients to reach your lawn's roots.

The Ohio Steel 42CPA has a very simple design that aerates a 42-inch path with 32 core points. You'll pull out 8 plugs per square foot - a pattern that is ideal for helping maintain a healthy looking lawn.

The Ohio Steel 42CPA also has a lever that let's you engage and disengage... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
292
David D.
Gardner, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/16/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Plugging Machine
I used a sandbag for weight, and it performed very well.
David Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James H.
Downingtown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/2/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Damaged Product
The product arrived damaged with dents and scratch paint. Since this piece of equipment is meant for yard work, returning the product because of the damaged was not worth the effort.

The assembly processes was OK but a little tweaking on the length of the plastic bushings was required. I expected a better product to be delivered from this company.
Was this review helpful?
10
Stuart H.
Petersburg, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Could Be Better
After using the aerator for about an hour, I decided to check it for bolt tightness, initial wear, etc. The plastic spacer on one end of the main shaft had worn away the enlarged end of the bushing next to it and both were inside the first aerator assembly.

I took the main shaft back out and put steel washers next to each aerator assembly and at the end of the shaft where the first spacer wore away. A better design is definitely needed. Aerator worked good after the washers were installed. more
Was this review helpful?
00
John A.
Mcdonough, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Plugger Only Way To Go
Got plugger ,very heavy,must put multiple washers on wheel opposite handle or bolt will hit plugger.Handle to raise and lower plugger too loose will not stay locked with wheels up.Bolts for wheels need lock washers ,or wheel comes loose and angles off to side.Tray for weights needs more holes for hold downs.Bolts to hold pluggers on plate block dirt plugs from coming out,thus building sod up and not working,not bad once you get done fixing all the engineering mistakes
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Had to fix many engineering mistakes,you should pay me for fixing your goofs.45 years as aircraft mechanic helped."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Doug H.
Edwardsville, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/16/14
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Edwardsville, Il
I purchased an Ohio Steel Tow Behind Plug Aerator Model 42CPA. The assembly was not easy but I got through it in an hour and thirty minutes with lots of lubrication to get the spools on the axle. I was able to get 80% of my yard aerated before a weld broke on one of the plug spools. I had used the aerator just under 2 hours. It took forever to get through to Customer Service at Ohio Steel, I gave the lady the part numbers I needed and received the new parts in five days. When I opened the... more
Pros: Can't Think Of One Positive Thing
Cons: Low Quality, Durability, Difficult To Assemble, Difficult To Receive Proper Replacement Parts
Was this review helpful?
200
Chris
Milford, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/22/12
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great, Assembly Wasn't Easy
The plastic spacers that separate the tines were very tight on the axle, making it difficult to assemble. It took some creative thinking, a 5 lb sledge, and some serious elbow grease to get this thing together.

That being said, it is well constructed after it's together and does the job well. I recommend at least 3 cinder blocks for weight as the tines need that little extra push into the ground.
Was this review helpful?
170
Howard S.
Beaver Dam, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Assembly
The unit came with the tines assembled to the hubs with the nuts located on the inside of the tines thus partially blocking the exit for the cores. This caused some plugging of the tines but by reversing the direction of the bolts so that the heads were on the inside of the tines this problem was eliminated.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Howard Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Pat
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/12
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Company
I had a problem with a bent part. I filled out the online form and received the part in about 3 days.

I like the product and would buy an Ohio Steel product anytime.
Was this review helpful?
120
Larry R.
Leonardtown, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/12
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Aerator
Fast service. Easy assembly. Seems to do a good job for the price.

My lawn service wanted over $300 to aerate my yard one time so this seemed to be a good investment.
Was this review helpful?
131
Frank V.
Massapequa Park, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Worked Great
I like the unit. Just make sure you have room to store it. Assembled, it is pretty wide.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Frank Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Denise N.
Bossier City, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/15
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
The Frame Is Very Weak
I was able to use this 1 time, and it did a great job with the core plugs. However, the frame bent on both ends and needs to be welded and repaired before it can be used again. was not a happy customer at all... poorly built
Was this review helpful?
102
Randall Vaughan
Vinita, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/2/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Aerator
Washers were too small on main rod and some other washers and pin missing. The clip that holds the pin in the hitch was too brittle and broke when I tried to clip it. Called customer service twice and left messages for two weeks but still haven't heard back.

Haven't used the product yet.
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Randall,
We will have someone in customer service contact you now. In the future, you can reach our customer service team during the daytime Monday-Friday at 1 (800) 837-8247.
more
Was this review helpful?
102
Steve
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/14
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Overall Pretty Good But Flimsy Tray.
I just received my aerator yesterday and assembled it last night. Overall it seems like a decent unit. The only major glaring issue I see is how much flex the top tray has with the wheels down (tines up). When you lift the tongue and push forward or back, the whole top tray flexes. It's almost like there's a support that is missing. The top tray and side pieces came pre-assembled and it appeared to be complete. I'm going to get a couple pieces of "L" iron and weld across the top... more
Steve Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
91
Ed C.
Spokane Valley, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/22/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product Needs Tweaking
The tine bolts and nuts blocked the plug ejection.

The weight pan needs to be wider and the lip deeper to keep the weight from sliding off.

The opening in the tines could be wider in diameter.

Should include a pin to hold the handle when wheels should be up.
Pros: Price, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Tines Need To Be Free From Plug Blockage, Better Weight Pan Wider And Higher Lip
Ed Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Debbie
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/30/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ohio Steel 42'' In. Core Plug Aerator
Instructions were good. It was not hard to put together. I used it after the summer months of heat before a good rain that was expected. I just cut my grass for the second time today since using the core plug aerator just two weeks ago . The grass is up green and growing. I love it. In fact after seeing my lawn turn green so fast and growing, one of my neighbors as already asked to borrow it. I guess the grass is greener on the other side.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Debbie Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Mike
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/24/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Well
The aerator worked well and was easy to assemble. Sturdy construction.

I'd buy another, but hope not to have to!
Was this review helpful?
81
Landscaper
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/15
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Handyman Special
If you want bullet proof, simply add angle irons to the box, replace every plastic part with cut pipe pieces to sleeve over the shaft, add a washer next to every moving part.

Now this unit is ready to abuse and can handle around 75 lbs of weight if needed. If you're not handy, spend another hundred or two for a less plastic model.
Landscaper Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Edward B.
West Allis, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/11/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow!
I purchased this aerator, and I think it came in 2 days. I did turn the nuts and bolts around in the plug, that took the longest time otherwise it went together quickly. Then I aerated, and it took about 45 minutes. I'm very Happy with it! Thanks!
Edward Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Dan S.
San Jose, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/28/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Expected More Got Less.
Frustrating assembly tops it all!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Bad Instructions, Had To Buy Extra Washers To Offset Tines So Everything Would Fit
Was this review helpful?
71
Steve
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Junk!
Purchased new in April 2014. Claims 140lb weight capacity. First time I used it with 110lbs of weight, the bearings that separate the tine assemblies ground smooth allowing the assemblies to move side to side on the axle and collide. The bearings are PVC! So I contacted Ohio steel and they sent new ones.

Took all apart and replaced them. Used it today for only the second time, this time with about 100lbs of weight. Did my whole yard (1 acre) and as I was finishing, the tine assemblies... more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Steve,
I am sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with the Ohio Steel Core Plug Aerator you purchased. I will let Ohio Steel know the unit does not work efficiently with the weight load it lists it is rated for. I appreciate your review and apologize once again for this not working as you intended.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Dan B.
Greenville, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/27/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Junk
Only used once and the main frame is already folding up. The only weight I have in it is 4 landscaping blocks. Don't waste your money.
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Dan,
Thank you for the review. Ohio Steel has a 1 Year warranty on this product, so if you call them they can help you with the issue you have with the unit. 1-800-652-2321
more
Was this review helpful?
61
James G.
Chassell, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/4/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Aerator Performance
Exceptional - Very Durable!

When I first pulled it across the hard dry lawn a number of the points did not penetrate very well - Yet there was no damage! Once we had the next rain the points penetrated quite well and I'm sure the grass will be taking oxygen, water and fertilizer much better than before we had purchased the Ohio Steel from Mowers Direct!

I was very surprised at how well the aerator tracked and was able to maneuver so well around tight turns when I used the unit for the... more
James Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Gary P.
Middletown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/11/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Core Plug Aerator
It was alright but did not do as good as expected.
Was this review helpful?
52
Jensen J.
West Richland, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/12/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Get A Different One
It came.with a piece missing. Ohio Steel sent it out, and used it the next weekend. Put 140lbs on it, broke a spindle within an hour and destroyed another PLASTIC spacer in the process. Upon further inspection, the upper plater is twisted and both wheels are badly bent. I paid $180 for piece of equipment I only got one use out of. I won't ever buy Ohio Steel again.
Cons: Low Quality, Durability, Unreliable, Packaging
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Jensen,
Sorry to hear that the product is not working correctly, I would recommend calling Ohio Steel directly since this product still has a warranty they will cover it as a defect. If you need help getting in contact with them please let us know and we can call them on your behalf.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jim V.
Piedmont, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/18/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great Bit Came With Wrong Manual.
Aereator came with wrong manual so putting it together was a challenge. Tried to email supplier but got no reply from them.

Used approx 130 lbs of weight after good rain on my yard and it did a great job.
Jim Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Dennis W.
Fulton, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/26/15
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Compact Areator
Purchased the Ohio Steel Aerator and had a little difficulty in assembling it. Mostly related to figuring out the wheel placement for proper function but after disassembling and reassembling a few times, I finally got the hang of it.

The until requires just the right amount of weight and soil moisture to work properly but with the right combination it works really nice. Good purchase.
Dennis Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Roger S.
Huntington, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/22/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Quality Product
Although I will not use the product until spring, just by assembling the product it's easy to see the quality of it's manufacture.
Roger Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Earl V.
Clarksville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Products
Bought this, and it worked fine. I'm well pleased. I bought a 46 inch snow blade for winter as I am in my 70s. I got too old for shovels.

Assembled both products I bought there myself. I'm well pleased with both. It was no trouble putting together.

If in the future I need anything else, I will buy it there. Great products.
Earl Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Brian
Aurora, CO
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Cheap
This thing was very difficult to put together in the first place and then just fell apart the first day. I felt like it was a bad design and just of poor quality.
Pros: Price, Cheap
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Cheap
Was this review helpful?
43
Michael P.
Gibsonia, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/29/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Satisfied But Squeaks
The aerator works well but there is a squeaker big noise from the wheels. There aren't any fittings to grease. I'm going to try and take apart the wheels and try to grease them
Michael Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Douglas D.
Kearney, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/26/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Aerator
Ground froze before I could put it together, will need to wait now until spring .
Douglas Recommends This Ohio Steel Product
Douglas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Order and shipping went very smooth."
 more
Was this review helpful?
04
Cann
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Ok
I just worked my yard for the first time and did not have experience, but it turned out to be OK.
Was this review helpful?
310
Mike Z.
West Hartford, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/1/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wish I Owned More Property!
For years, I used to use a 21" mower & would always consider mowing my lawn to be a 3 - 4 hour "chore". With my new 32" TimeCutter I'm done in 45 minutes - I wish I owned more property!

It took 2 - 3 mowings to get use to the feel of it, but it's the perfect size for getting around landscaping, so mowing is no longer a "chore".

The bagger attachment is a definite plus. It not only does a beautiful job picking up grass, this time of year in New England... more
Was this review helpful?
320
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ohio Steel 42CPA reviews.Compare our Ohio Steel 42CPA ratings. Find the Ohio Steel 42CPA Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct