Search
< Back to Product

Mantis 7940 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$429.99
 
In-Stock /
$429.99Visit Site
 
$439.00Visit Site
 
$494.10Visit Site
 
$489.93Visit Site
Mantis 7940 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (5)
Easy To Use (4)
Light Weight (3)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
High Quality (2)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Plastic Choke Flimsey (1)
The Kickstand Could Be M... (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
96% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
23 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
22 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1650 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Mantis #7940 cultivator/ mini tiller is easy to start, quiet and the Honda 4-cycle engine means no fuel mixing required. Originally manufactured for professional landscapers in the late 70s, ten of thousands of these Mantis cultivator/ mini tillers have been sold to home gardeners.

The Mantis #7940 cultivator/mini tiller features the patented Mantis reversible serpentine tines. You can till a 9 path that is suitable for preparing the ground for gardens and edge lawns. The powerful... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
14927
Sylvia C.
Washington, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/27/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Garden
Great little machine. I'm 79 and it handles great for my garden which I had to start new since I lost the land where I previously had gardened.

Now I have a 16' x 32' raised bed a 16' x 16' strawberry bed and an 8'x8' asparagus bed which I just planted.. It has been easy to start and handle. Hope it lasts for several years-----
Sylvia Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Barbara R.
Salem, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/30/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Sorry
I am sure you won't print this. I am truly disappointed. The machine bucks so that I can not control it. I can't imagine how you could hold a straight line with the edger attached. Since it bucks so much you have to hold on the handles so tightly that you are putting it in high gear.

It was also not easy to assemble. It took my two grown sons. Some of the screws are at hard to reach positions. Sorry for the review and the product.
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Barbara,
Barbara,

We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent purchase. We sincerely apologize for the issues that you have experienced. We will definitely pass this review on to Mantis, so that they are aware of the issues with the drive control and assembly concerns.

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
12
George S.
Lovettsville, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/21/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Tiller
I no longer needed my large Troybilt Econo Horse tiller, so I sold it. I did want a smaller tiller that I could use around the garden, flower bed etc. I read all the reviews and felt Mantis would be the best choice.

It was a little clumsy to put it together, but I managed to get it done. When I fueled it up and pulled the starter it came right to life and I did a little test.

It does pull you along, so it does take getting used to. My Troybilt had wheels and was a bit easier to maneuver,... more
George Recommends This Mantis Product
George's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The product came pretty quickly and was packed well. All the parts were there and it went together pretty fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Larry H.
Lower Burrell, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/25/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mantis 4cycle Plus Cultivator
This is my first cultivator so I decided to spend the extra money and glad I did. I chose to go with the 4 cycle for the ease of starting and not having to mix the gas.

The tiller works great in my raised bed .This was my first purchase PED and all went well. I will be doing business with them in the future.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, High Quality
Cons: The Kickstand Could Be Made Better To Hold Up The Tiller
Larry Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Pamela Dowling
Ferguson, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/16
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husband Commented
My husband does not like gardening. Every time I asked him to help me prepare or dig the garden soil we usually had a quarrel or argument. Now, he goes to get the mantis and worked quietly without us arguing. He just go and kept tilling the garden soil.

He said to me, with a big smile "Of all the tools you bought for the past years? This mantis is the best garden tool we have ever had, then said to me" How and where in the world you found this!" "I just love to kept... more
Pamela Recommends This Mantis Product
Pamela's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Never had any problem. No messy dirt flying on me while husband started tiling l the garden with my little assistance. Motor was quiet compared to other tillers we had use before. Easy to clean and very satisfied. We are proud to own a mantis 4 cycle.Thank you tillers direct for you assistance."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
David B.
Pocatello, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/20/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dave's Mantis
this is the third mantis we have had....the first one burned up in a fire, and the second one he just wore out....

The minute he got this one, outside he went for the day...he absolutely loves it and the new handles are perfect.... can't live without it
David Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Richard G.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Charm
Shipping was fast, assembly was easy, hard ground or soft it works.
Richard Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Candie R.
The Dalles, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/24/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
# 7940 Four Stroke Garden Getter
received on time delivery, set up was easy requiring minimal tools, add oil and non- ethanol fuel (my choice) and your tilling.
First time out this thing is a weed killing machine and dig in deep is easy with a vacuuming style motion. Deeper rocks that had not been bothered by the Horse tiller were detrimental to the Mantis tines with two of them breaking the tips off the end of two tines.

After the initial round through the entire garden and removing a couple fist size rocks I have had... more
Candie Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Dennis G.
Heber City, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/4/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Small Tiller
Many years ago I bought a tiller that is of the type. I liked how it worked the ground, but it was cheaply made and I left it at my previous residence. Recently I had the need again. As I was assembling this tiller I could see how much better it was built. It runs great and it works a more difficult soil. I will recommend Mantus over any other look a like being on the market Thanks for making a great product
Dennis Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Joe S.
Bolingbrook, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mantis 7940 Was Great!
I wasn't sure if this model would be heavy duty enough to handle cultivating my entire 8 x 40 ft garden. It worked great, was easy to handle, and I was even able to clean up in between bushes and hard to reach areas around the house. Great buy!
Joe Recommends This Mantis Product
Joe's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Chuck C.
Neosho, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/26/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Surprise
Received tiller in two days. Very easy to assemble. Fired up on 3rd pull, runs good. This is my 2nd. First one was a 2-stroke, didn't last two years, motor bad. Hope this one does better. Been too wet to give it a good test.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, Plastic Choke Flimsey
Chuck Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John K.
Waterford, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cute And Worthy Of Respect
It's a cute little machine that well deserves respect as a hard worker that does it's job well.
John Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Matt M.
Saint Louis, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ease And Dependability!!!
Starts right up when cold, lightweight design makes it an ease to use. No mixing of gas and quiet operation makes this unit all to easy to use. Would definitely recommend!!!
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Features, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Matt Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Pamela S.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/21/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Work Horse
A friend of mine has this same tiller, I borrowed it a couple of times. I found that I love it so much that I bought one of my own.
Pamela Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald W.
Apple Valley, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/25/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy At Last
Ive had a 2-cycle Mantis tiller for many, many (frustrating) years. I always loved the job it did in actually tilling the soil but was always frustrated by the difficulty in starting it and in keeping it running long enough to finish the job. The choke was extremely fussy and could never be totally opened up even after the engine was warmed up. It never would idle without dying. When I saw that they now had a 4-cycle Mantis with a Honda engine, I decided to give it a try.

It arrived with... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Ronald Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt Holewinski
Racine, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Beast
love this tiller-- lightweight, simple to use.... a real workhorse. dethatcher attachment works great-- if it lasts even 10 years (I know people that have had theirs 20!) it will definitely be worth the price. quality is always worth a little more-- no one likes working with junk! this tiller is high quality
Matt Recommends This Mantis Product
Matt's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"fast, free shipping. awesome"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Garry C.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mantis The Little Mighty
We were searching for a tiller small enough to use in our established gardens and yet strong enough to break ground if necessary to expand our flower beds. This tiller has been everything we needed plus is a quiet running tiller!

The unit went together in about 30 minutes and has performed well. We have had to stop to clean out long weeds, but once done, the tiller will keep those areas well weeded. We are very happy with it:)
Garry Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark S.
Lakeland, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Extra Kickstand
Hi, I like my Mantis Tiller. The four cycle Honda engine started ON THE FIRST PULL after filling the oil and gas. Unbelievable!

My only problem is that Tillers Direct offered a kickstand as a accessory but my unit came with a kickstand.

You should have known that I do not need two kickstands. Please contact me regarding arranging for a credit return.
Mark Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Russell S.
Charleston, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well
I have only used the tiller a few times, and I'm always impressed with it.

Thanks, great product.
Russell Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary J.
Hartford City, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/21/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful Little Monster Machine
Buy a Mantis, they are dynamite. This machine eats clay and spits it out into little pieces. Everyone should own one. Easy to start also.
Gary Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Rich T.
Monte Vista, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/2/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
Only used twice so far but seems of good quality so far. Has good power to weight ratio, is perfect for my already established garden beds.

Also considered a full size tiller but glad I chose the mantis instead. If it lasts in the years ahead then it will be a very good purchase.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Rich Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Norman C.
The Dalles, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Mantis
Have used this new Mantis, to get ready for the garden, and absolutely love it. Very happy with the price, the products performance. Highly recommend it for small garden use, would probably be good for larger gardens also. Had to wait awhile as it was back ordered but it was worth the wait.
Norman Recommends This Mantis Product
Was this review helpful?
160
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Mantis 7940 reviews.Compare our Mantis 7940 ratings. Find the Mantis 7940 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct