Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

MTD Yard Machines 490-241-0038 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$34.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
$34.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$34.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$34.98
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$34.98
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
MTD Yard Machines 490-241-0038 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (2)
Features (1)
I'd Buy It Again (1)
Light Weight (1)
Easy To Use (1)
Cons
Expensive (2)
81% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
31 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Kenneth
Madison, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/16/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My New Roller Skid Snow Thrower Skid Shoes
I have a new concrete driveway and a new paver block sidewalk from driveway to front entry door. I didn't want to scratch driveway or sidewalk with scrapers slides so I purchased roller shoes.

They work super and no scratcher marks. Super easy to install and look great. Waiting to use again with more snow coming, and helps to turn blower much easier than sliding metal shoes. Love them.
Kenneth Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
20
James C.
Homer, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Does Not Fit Toro Snowmaster Line
Purchased a pair of these in Oct. 2015 for my new 24" Toro Snowmaster. The hole spacing on the Toro is non-standard, and these won't fit. I contacted the manufacturer, and they have no intention of making a set for the Snowmaster. I should have returned them, but with the high cost of shipping, I will hold onto them, and see if I can figure out a way to mount them.
James Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
James,
I apologize for these replacement skid shoes not working properly for your snow blower. Unfortunately we do not carry any other roller skid shoes with varying bolt hole centers other than the listed 2-3/4" or 3" bolt centers for this model.

I appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope you have a great weekend.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Anthony B.
Ronkonkoma, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/8/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mtd Roller Skid Shoes
Just replaced the standard Ariens skid shoes with the MTD ROLLERS much easier to move the snow blower around without having to drag the it on the stock skid shoes. It rolls great on dry pavement right now we haven't had any snow on Long Island yet.
Anthony Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Howard V.
Poplar Bluff, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/13/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Goog Invention
Makes machine easy to handle & will not hit high edges & stop keep you from running over snow thrower.

Sending my son-in-law a set.
Howard Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Joseph H.
Camanche, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/4/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mtd Roller Shoes On Pavers
I purchased these MTD rollers to replace OEM skids. Only used once, but noticed much better forward traction with my Troy Built 1030 snow blower while clearing 4 inches of very heavy wet snow over a layer of thin ice.

They also roll very well over slight variations in the paver surface levels. Roller durability remains to be seen, but so far they appear to work well. I don't know why these aren't seen on more machines. I would recommend them for replacement of fast wearing skid shoes.
Joseph Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas Z.
Weirton, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/30/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Absolutely Great
I purchased these for my snow blower and don't know why snow blower don't come pre-equipped with these. Absolutely effortless movement on any surface when removing snow. The snow blower actually moves by itself.
Thomas Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Thomas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great site, easy ordering and quick delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David W.
Frederick, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Undersized And Doesn't Work
This doesn't work for normal size 30" snowblowers, like the Husqvarna. The size they report is not correct and I had to dremmel out the slides to fit, but the wheel binds with the bolts and it is half the size of the normal skid.

I recommend you DO NOT purchase this unless you have a VERY small snow blower.

Waste of money!
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
David,
I apologize for the inconvenience these skid shoes have caused you. I have reached out to the manufacturer to determine if the dimensions listed have changed.

I appreciate the time you took to let us know about your purchase, and I'd also like to apologize once again for the inconvenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Williamschmidt S.
Hawley, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/29/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Looks Ok.
To bad it is not made out of powder coated steel.
Williamschmidt Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
01
David G.
Winchester, MA
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Do They Fit Ariens 24" Deluxe Snowblowers
Do they fit model 921024?
David Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Jack S.
Brutus, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/14
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Helps Protect Deck
Product shipped fast...I have a 27" Husquvarna track drive blower...I had to modify the MTD skid by drilling a hole to fit the mount bolts but this was easy since the MTD is phenolic heavy-duty plastic.

It worked well and protected my deck from skid damage. I have to change back when working with packed snow because the MTD tends to roll up and over. All-in-all a good product, but it's a bit pricey. Shipping was high but it arrived fast and in good shape.
Jack Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Mark
Muskegon, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/4/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
These Things Are Great!!!
Got these roller skids because i have an old cracked and somewhat uneven driveway. The steel skids that came on my new snow blower sucked. I could feel them dragging badly and could smell the rubber drive wheel getting hot trying to push my machine. The steel skids got stuck on every crack and uneven spot. After jolting to a stop a few times and spinning the wheels I decided I had to find a better skid. Did a Google search, and "bam," here I am.

These roller skids are great and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Mark Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Mark's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"You guys are great!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Robert J.
Wilmington, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/9/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does Not Fit My Snowblower
I own a Craftsman 10.5 HP 30" 2-stage snow blower, which has bolt holes for the skid at either 1.5" or 2.5". Unfortunately, the MTD Roller Skid (made by Arnold) has slots that are 2 7/8" on center. I need to return this product.
Robert Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Leonard A.
Norwalk, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Size Does Matter
I bet these would work...they didn't fit my machine...so be careful when you order...measure accurately....
Leonard Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Leonard,
They're made to fit most 2-stage snow blowers to replace skid shoes with 2-3/4" or 3" bolt centers. They can also be adjusted up/down. It is important to measure your snow blower's skid shoe fittings to be sure they fit. Give us a call if you have questions on this or need additional assistance.
more
Leonard's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"I really wish I could have put these on my machine...my driveway has high sections due to tree roots....I thought this would be a good solution....the size prevented me from bolting down both side....I tried to operate the wheels with only one side bolted, but it just didn't work....wish there was a LARGER one"
 more
Was this review helpful?
94
Michael C.
Holbrook, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/6/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
They Really Work!
I have a Troy-Bilt 26-inch 2-stage snow blower. It is four-years-old and I have struggled turning this snow blower from the first day.

This model is all-wheel drive, and it works perfectly, but doesn't turn well at all. I just recently purchased these skid shoes. I used them a few days ago and the machine turns easily while in either forward or reverse gear.

The skid shoes lift the snow blower over obstructions. Glad I purchased them!
Michael Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Warren L.
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic
This item goes a long way in protecting the cut blade and rolls smoothly along. I couldn't be happier and already have told multiple friends what a great idea these are to have on your machine. A great investment.
Warren Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Warren's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Got my parts shortly after placing the order on-line. Great job everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Don
Trenton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/24/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Love The Way They Work But Made Of Plastic
these worked fine on my rough driveway, just wish they were made of steel. Feel they would last forever.
Don Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Bill C.
West Chester, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Fit On 3" Bolt Centers
I like the design...will see how well they work next winter.

Tip... try using stainless hardware to attach new shoes. You will thank yourself the next time you have to change shoes..
Bill Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Bill's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Received product in less than 24 hours."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Bob
Orange, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Work Great
Replaced my worn skids on my 22-year-old Toro with these.

They work great. Seemingly overpriced. Now have to see how long they last.
Bob Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Alfred T.
Altoona, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/7/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Investment I Made
I was always having trouble with my snow blower catching on uneven side-walk. driveways, with the new roller glides it's a breeze i can even just push my snow blower without power if I want.
Alfred Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Frederick A.
Charlottesville, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/15
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Did Not Fit But I Made It Work.
Modified the plastic slots on the wheel bracket with a Dremel tool. We will see how it works next winter.
Frederick Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Russell P.
Media, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/25/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Good Product
Easy to install and works very good...
Russell Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Russell's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"FAST SHIPPING."
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Peter H.
Clayton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/12/15
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
I have a white 28"

*Perfect fit
*Perfect installation
*Perfect shipping & packaging
*Perfect idea, skid plates were ok this is much better
Peter Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Peter's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"EXCELLENT"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gerry S.
Pomfret Center, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/6/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Concept
Works very well. I hope it lasts!
Gerry Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard B.
State College, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Getting A Real Test This Winter
Purchased this pair of skid shoes to replace worn out originals on my MTD Yard Machine. Easy replacement in about 5 to 10 minutes.

Working well so far. Really being put to the test here in central Pennsylvania this winter.
Richard Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Richard,
We're glad they're working out for you. Thank you for the review. Best wishes.
more
Richard's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Purchase experience was easy and delivery was quick."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Douglas S.
Florence, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/27/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well
Had to wait for snow before I could review. These rollers work very well. The tapered leading edge allows the blower to rise over uneven sidewalk joints, something the skids didn't do. The only thing left is to see how they wear.

Had to buy two carriage bolts as the rollers don't use one of the same holes as the skids. But on my Cub Cadet blower, there is an unused hole that allows the rollers to fit with no modification.

Just needed the extra bolts to put in the rear holes previously... more
Douglas Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Douglas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert Z.
Brielle, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/17/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
We'll See
purchased the mtd blower back about sixteen years ago, and its been a great tool to have around. It has about 700 hours on it now, and starts right up and gets the job done.

I replaced the shoes a few times of course, and always used the original type, which were stamped steel. the first set lasted a long time, but successive ones didn't fare nearly as well, although I took pains to reset them as needed.

So I bought this new composite set with the wheels, and am just gonna hold my... more
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
We have sold these roller skid shoes for a few years now and have had good success with them. We are positive they will add to the maneuverability of your snow blower. Please contact us in the future and let us know how they work for you.
more
Was this review helpful?
23
Eric H.
Barnegat, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/27/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Skids Don't Fit.
Sorry to say, my slots are further apart. I have a long skid.
Eric Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Eric,
I am sorry that the skids do not fit your model blower, would you care to return them? Give me a call at 1-888-317-7669 and I'd be happy to help you out in any way I can.
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Wayne H.
Derby, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/13/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Snow Blower Roller
Got them, installed them. That's a snap to do.
Went out and drove it down the drive seems okay.
Now to wait for snow to see if they work as advertized
Pros: Features, Quiet
Cons: Expensive
Wayne Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
57
Daniel Wood
Altoona, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/21/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Looking Than Stock
Right now all I can say is they look better, but I haven't had a chance to try them out in the snow yet. Thank god.
Daniel Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
14
Ralph J.
Wentzville, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cannot Wait To Use It
I installed the rollers, it's a no brainer. Blower rolls around floor with ease. Hasn't snowed yet, send me another e mail in Feb. By then is should have snowed.
Ralph Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
47
Michael T.
New Lenox, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/29/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Frame Saver
Looks like it will work perfectly
Michael Recommends This MTD Yard Machines Product
Was this review helpful?
49
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest MTD Yard Machines 490-241-0038 reviews.Compare our MTD Yard Machines 490-241-0038 ratings. Find the MTD Yard Machines 490-241-0038 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct