Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Liberty Pumps 441 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$282.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$282.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$282.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$282.00
(as of 06:32 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$411.69
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Liberty Pumps 441 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (7)
Quiet (6)
Reliable (3)
Features (3)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Cons
Expensive (4)
Bad Instructions (2)
Check Valve Small Could ... (1)
Wiring Setup (1)
Low Quality (1)
92% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
26 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
30 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1281 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Liberty Pumps 441 Battery Backup Sump Pump System is not your ordinary backup system.
For a small pump, this baby packs some punch and that’s why it receives our “Good” recommendation.
It provides plenty of power to drain your sump pit up to 7.5 continuous hours. Since your pump starts and stops, it can actually backup your pit even longer. Best of all, this kit will handle a maximum 24 feet of head and a pumping capacity of 1830GPH @ 10 feet.
The 441 includes an advanced 5-Stage... more
Jim Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
6415
Eric P.
West Chester, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/6/14
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Fine & Priced Right
I finally decided to install a battery back up pump to my pit. I decided on the liberty because all liberty reviews on any of their products were good. The price was reasonable as far as these units go and the gph rating was one of best for this price range. The install was easy to do myself. The only thing I had to buy beyond what was included and the recommended marine cell battery (which I got at Walmart) was another check valve for under this pump, above my main pump and a rubber... more
View Image
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price
Cons: Bad Instructions
Eric Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Eric Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I called and placed my order as I didn't want yet another online account with passwords and logins I needed to remember. The order took just a few minutes to place and it was shipped that day. I got email notice of my package progress and it arrived on the Wednesday (2 days) after the Monday which I ordered it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
170
Lenny J.
Broadview Heights, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/15
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice, But Pricey.
Nice setup. Pumps Well. Alarm functions as it should. Easy to install. Comments:

1. The backflow provided in the kit is junk, which then does not allow you to install per Method A in the instructions. And then renders the provided T useless. Plan to buy PVC pipe and fittings and plumb yourself.

2. EXPENSIVE! The pump and battery box are the SAME unit as provided in almost every other battery backup that is $100-$150 less. I bought this setup due to the fact that the charging system had... more
Lenny Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald V.
New Baltimore, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/4/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seems Well Made & Out Pumps My 1/2 Hp Main Pump
I installed this back up pump without using T type connection as shown because this seemed to be a little weak with the 1 1/4 pvc pipe holding a fairly heavy pump, so I installed the back up pump to set level on the floor of pit beside primary pump and tee'd primary and back up pump discharge pipes above sump pit cover, this method is covered in instructions also, but if you have 18" sump pit this type of installation you won't have the room for this type of installation and will have to... more
Donald Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Donald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sump Pump Direct was easy to deal with and have many types of systems that will work for your situation, unlike walk in stores that don't have much in the way choices."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/25/12
Total Helpful Votes
32 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pumps 441 - Battery Back Up Sump Pump System (1830 Gph @ 10') Review
I bought the Liberty Pump to add as a battery back-up to my 2 AC pumps. The pump is not too high to fit inside the sump above the AC pumps, and no special battery is needed.

I purchased a no-maintenance deep cycle battery from a local chain store. Connection was easy, but I did add a union coupling to remove the pump if necessary.

I tested the pump and it worked great. The alarm goes off when the pump activates and shuts off when it stops. You can also manually turn it off by a switch... more
Was this review helpful?
329
Patrick
Cleves, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/14
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Battery Backup
It only happens once. You get woken up to the sound of your high water alarm in your sump pit at 2AM on a weeknight. My only solution was to use a hand bilge pump to drain the sump pit. After one hour of bilging (and a 2 inch water drop), I swore I would get a battery backup. I have a Liberty primary pump and was impressed by the quality so I decided to go with them for a backup.

I ordered the Liberty system the next day and connected it to my primary discharge with the included fittings.... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, Easy To Install
Cons: None Yet
Patrick Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Dan D.
Staten Island, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Simple Fix For 441 Problem
Purchased liberty 441 backup sump pump and liberty 257 sump pump. I also purchased Costco 27m deep cycle marine/rv battery. $80. After installing to manufacture directions I flooded the pit with water. 257 worked great. I unplugged 257 to simulate power loss and 441 turned on but dud not pump. Tried a few times and it still did not work.

I called liberty and they told me that back up pump needs to be on a 45 degree angle because the pump gets air locked. They also said that they are in the... more
Dan Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Bruce J.
Oxford, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/11/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Beware The Battery Costs...
I installed this pump and i have not had to use it yet. The install came out pretty slick, we will see how it performs in an emergency, beware that the recommended battery, which is an old school lead-acid battery, is expensive and the acid is expensive too and the battery needs over the usual 6 quart package I had to order another one quart package of acid to finish, I got the basement watchdog 7.5hr battery at lowes. If you factor in my time and the cost of the battery and acid, this battery... more
Cons: Expensive
Bruce Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
81
William G.
Lehighton, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Liberty 441
I installed 3 of these, 1 in an 18" pit and 2 were in 15" pits. No problem fitting them into the 15" pits. I can't comment on how good they are or how well they work since they were not needed yet and I hope they never will be needed. I installed them for some peace of mind after doing the generator thing during storm Sandy. Didn't need that either but it's all insurance.

The install was easy even in the 15" pits. You will need to buy some 1-1/4" male adapters for... more
William Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
William Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good pricing and fast S&H. Would buy from again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Kim B.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bad Design?
Got installed OK, but it seemed like it would vapor lock. I called support and the said to tilt it. That worked, but it does cause a problem with having to raise the lower threshold.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Low Quality
Was this review helpful?
61
Andrew H.
Tower Lakes, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/2/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
24
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Priming The Pump
Pump installed great but had no pressure, would not open the check valve. After calling Liberty they advised me to turn the pump to 30 degrees off vertical and it will prime. Now it works great.
Was this review helpful?
40
Bruce I.
Troy, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/3/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally A Pump That Works!
Finally found a back up pump that works!. I have had water back ups, and cheap battery backups and was not happy with any of them.

This pump works just as good as my main pump. Has an alarm when it pumps. Nice charger, the switch is adjustable. Very happy.
Bruce Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Bruce's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service, very happy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Gary P.
Bay City, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Appears To Work Great
Installation went very well. I had a special sump situation that required the purchase of a few extra fittings. During the initial test the pump would not operate. Soon it was determined that the float switch was defective. Sump Pumps Direct passed me off to Liberty Pumps and Liberty was very helpful, friendly and prompt at replacing it. Final testing went well and all is in place for an actual power outage or master pump failure.
Pros: Features, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Gary Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Kirk J.
Chalfont, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/22/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Pump, Concern With Wiring Setup
Selected for replacement of existing backup sump pump. I liked the specs (capacity of water movement) exceeded my current backup pump (watchdog). One flaw was the wiring setup. I had some issues and needed to replace connector (spade electrical connector). It came detached due to tight fit and attempt to remove for rerouting wiring. All is good now, quiet pump and does move the water comparable to the main powered pump
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Use
Cons: Wiring Setup
Kirk Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Kirk's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Nice selection of quality products and product information to help make purchase. Good prices, free shipping, items arrived quickly in perfect condition"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Robert F.
Newark, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Battery Backup
Added this pump to liberty cast iron pump. Compact size, good float, can use any marine battery from the mart. Nice quality wires and everything you need except the battery, teflon tape, pvc and glue. Float is easy to adjust to the proper water level. The only thing that could be improved is the very small check valve.

I added a Zoeller check valve to my installation to ensure no water would back flow thru the drain line. Also check valve allows easy disconnect in case I have to remove... more
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Compact
Cons: Check Valve Small Could Be Better Quality
Robert Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
Actually you don't need to be there if you have a home standby generator. Please check out our Home Standby Generator Buyer's Guide
more
Robert Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast delivery. All items delivered in brand new condition."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Jon C.
Fayetteville, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/22/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Excellent Service
Needed 3 back up pumps for client. I ordered them, everything came to me quickly. Unfortunately, the client cancelled the job. Sump pumps direct took the items back no questions asked.

2 weeks later, the client called back needing the pumps installed after all. Reordered them with the same great service as before.

The pumps were installed easily, and the client's happy. Great job Sump Pumps Direct!!
Jon Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Richard G.
Lakewood, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/20/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Sump Pump 441
I just hooked up my liberty pump with the watchdog battery. I bought the acid at home depot. It was very easy to hook up. The directions are explicit and easy to follow.

I tested the pump the following day, after the battery showed to be charged. the pump worked fine. I have a 10 foot rise and it was no problem for this pump. I am very pleased with the whole package.
Richard Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Vik
Plainfield, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/18/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I have a 10 feet high basement with dynamic head of about 20 feet. I tried some other backup pumps and they were not able to pump at this height.

After doing some research, I ordered Liberty 441 and it worked great. I filled up the pit with the hose and it pumped out the water quickly. Need to buy a check valve for the primary pump though. Overall, I'm happy with the performance of this pump
Vik Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve C.
Oelwein, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/30/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works So Far
Just got it installed and it test ran fine. Ask me in a year or two about the reliability but I am hopeful it will exceed my expectations. I am sure it will be better than the Basement Watchdog system I previously had as it was an unreliable piece of junk from a company that had no customer service.
Pros: Easy To Use
Steve Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast delivery as promised."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Jonathon S.
Adamstown, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty 441 - Hopefully Will Be My Saving Grace
Here in the DC area, we have had a ton of rain this year. In my neighborhood, SERV PRO is now the norm. Over 25 finished basements have flooded. I bought this Liberty 441 backup model to supplement my Flotec 3/4 HP pump (also from SPD). Installation was easy for me, but I have installed quite a few pumps in my day (instructions could be better if you have never done it before).

Make sure to TEST your setup, so the pumps don't fight one another. After testing, I now have piece of mind... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Features, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Bad Instructions
Jonathon Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Len H.
Minnetrista, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pump
Installed but not activated yet. Good to have the piece of mind if power goes out.
Len Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Len's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Arrived quickly and purchased because of quality reviews. Item that I hope is never needed!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joseph C.
Batavia, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/27/15
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit
I installed this unit with ease. Great product with a reasonable price. I had one problem the check valve that comes with the pump was defective and wouldn't hold.

I had to purchase a new valve and feel the valve is poor quality. I recommend keeping a spare valve and would appreciate if Sump Pumps direct would send me one.
Joseph Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Rickie D.
Monroe, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/28/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty 441 Backup Sump Pump
After doing a lot of research, and reading reviews I chose this pump. So far I haven't had a need for it...for the price, it seems to be a very good quality pump. It was very easy to install as well. Sump pumps direct made my purchase easy and it arrived very quickly. After my basement flooded and I realized I had a need for a back up sump pump, I was very relieved when it arrived and I promptly installed it.
Pros: High Quality, Features, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive
Rickie Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Rickie Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Thank you Sump Pumps Direct for the great service and the fast delivery on my Liberty 441 back up sump pump! I feel more at ease now that I have this installed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Anthony H.
Moseley, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/4/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready To Go
quick delivery.

it is installed and tested and awaiting a excess water when needed.
Anthony Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Roy H.
Barrington, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value
Easy to install, works as advertised, good value.
Pros: High Quality, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Easy Install
Roy Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Steven B.
Milford, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/31/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Safe Than Sorry
I purchased the liberty in case of power failure. I did not want to come home to a flooded basement.
Pros: Durable, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Steven Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
46
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Liberty Pumps 441 reviews.Compare our Liberty Pumps 441 ratings. Find the Liberty Pumps 441 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct