Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Liberty Pumps 404 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$220.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock$219.80
No Sales Tax* (Except CA)
Visit Site
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$220.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$220.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$217.29
(as of 06:32 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
Liberty Pumps 404 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (14)
Quiet (13)
Price (10)
I'd Buy It Again (10)
Reliable (5)
Cons
Can't Forsee Any (1)
Durability (1)
My Last One Lasted 3 Yrs (1)
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
39 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Charlie
Tampa Bay, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/20/14
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump For Kennel House
We built a room for our dogs to spend the day while we are at work. We added a tub to the room so we could give then a bath when needed. Key to successful install was running the drain about 140 feet to our sewer connection. We called you guys and you recommended a Liberty 404 pump. It was easy to install, runs quietly and works very efficiently. Thank You Sump Pumps Direct!
View Image
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, High Quality
Charlie Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Charlie's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Explained what we wanted to do and got the help we needed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
76
Stephen E.
Paramus, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/27/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pumps
No story, I have used Liberty Pumps for years and years. Only one pump ever gave me trouble and that was fixed with no fan fare. I would recommend to everyone
Stephen Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Douglas H.
Covington, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/14/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For My Salon!
Allows us to put sinks in without bustin up any concrete!
Douglas Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Randy C.
Hinsdale, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/11/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
I've had it installed for about 3 weeks and it works perfect so far. very quiet running.
Randy Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Edward L.
Jackman, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Quite and flawless. I love it
Edward Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ernest C.
Gastonia, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/11/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump So Far
I Installed this pump under our laundry sink in the basement, about a month or so ago. Had to pipe it into the 2 inch drain line in the house. It is plastic pipe so not that big a deal. The hardest part was installing the vent pipe thru the block and brick wall and up the side of the house to terminate above the roof. The pump has preformed fine since then.
Ernest Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel
Kennebunkport, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
The 404 Liberty pump works great on my utility sink. The pump is quite and is doing the job.
Daniel Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/26/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For Basement Utility Sink
Needed a replacement for a pump which we manually had to flip a switch to turn on/off for our utility/laundry sink. Installation was pretty easy for 2 people with basic plumbing knowledge. Built in float switch works perfectly and this also runs much quieter than the manual pump. Only regret is that I didn't buy this 8 months sooner.
Pros: Quiet, Reliable, High Quality
Kevin Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel M.
Marble Falls, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/3/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built
This appears to definitely be well constructed. I was looking to transform the laundry area of my smallish garage and install a double utility sink. I purchased this to allow me to do so, and pump the gray water up to the in-wall laundry drain.

In order to accomplish this, I had to use one inch PVC pipe out of the check valve, and clamp a 1 1/8" washing machine drain hose to the upper end of the PVC. I had not tie-wrapped the drain hose yet prior to testing, and the pressure blew it... more
Daniel Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Daniel,
In response to your installation, I would suggest using 1-1/2" PVC for the entire discharge. By using a smaller 1" pipe, you're restricting the flow of the pump, which requires the pump to work harder, decreasing the life span of the pump.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
David M.
Sykesville, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/25/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Little Pump, So Far
I purchased this pump about a month ago. No problem with install, pretty straight forward. It is quiet while running (very nice). Seems to handle the laundry sink water with no issues. Pumps water out at 8 ft elevation will ease. So far, so good.
David Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert G.
Newport, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/12/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Pump
THE PUMP WAS SHIPPED QUICKLY AND IN GOOD SHAPE.

I had to install a new pump in a very tight space and this pump fit perfectly. I had to add a check valve. The piping I used was 1 1/2 " PVC, it worked great.

A very good buy.
Was this review helpful?
40
Rick S.
Greenville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/31/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Described
Removed old pump, re plumbed new pump and it was up and running in about 45 minutes.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, High Quality
Rick Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
63
David F.
Akron, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/5/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replaced 1950's Vintage Pump
After extensive basement waterproofing project I decided to replace the old cast laundry tub and pump. I installed a plastic double laundry tub and Liberty model #404 pump. After easy install, system's working fine.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Extremely Satisfied
David Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Mike M
Westchester Co, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/16/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty 404 Sump Pump
Had to replace my laundry sump pump after only four years. Found the Liberty 404 on your website. The reviews for the item were excellent. Told my plumber about the item and the price. He could not get it from his wholesaler for the same price. He advised to buy it asap. I did. Got it installed last week. Works great and is quiet. Would highly recommend this webite and product.
Was this review helpful?
20
Chas R.
Downers Grove, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Reliable Low Profile Sump Pump.
We are happy with the Liberty Pump - it is the lowest profile sump pump we could find for our application.
Chas Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Raymond K.
Carmel, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Made Unit
Quality of pump unit far above what can be found at the box stores. After many replacements of those, I've gone with this unit for all my installations. The float service hatch is an excellent idea affording you access to the sump without taking the plumbing lines apart.
Raymond Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Raymond's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Well run outfit, fast shipping!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Earl B.
Saint Clair, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/16/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Set Up - Compact
Needed a pump that fit in a sink base for our basment kitchenette. You can tell by the construction that it's a well engineered system. I had no issues installing it.

Only one thing would make it better, and that's the addition of an extra side port 90 degrees from the current location.

This would give you more options to route plumbing, but it worked out for me anyway. Also, I was surprised on how quiet it is. You can hear it for sure, but the thick case does a good job of dampening... more
Earl Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
65
Steven N.
Hamburg, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/31/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
I Hope This One Lasts
This is my 3rd liberty under sink pump. The first one lasted 16 yrs., the 2nd one lasted 3 yrs. Hopefully that was a fluke so I took a chance and gave liberty 1 more try.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: My Last One Lasted 3 Yrs
Steven Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
76
Matt
Marshall, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buying Experience
Thanks to Sump Pumps Direct for a great buying experience. Fast shipping, great price, and an easy purchase process have all made me a happy customer.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Matt Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
54
Dave A.
Washington, NJ
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow What A Difference Liberty Makes
After to prior two purchases of another similar system about 5 dollars less in cost and the switches did not work correctly from day one .

This pump has many nice features including the separate switch inspection cover. It has worked the first time wow to pay for something and it comes assembled and it works as advertised.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Durable, Quick To Connect
Dave Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Jonathan
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/12/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well With My Washer
We had to move our washer and dryer, and as it turns out (we have a 130 year old home), the waste line was on the other side of the house. Our plumber wanted to put in a $400 pump in order to make the new location work...after a bit of research and reading, we grabbed this one and it works very well. Its only been a few weeks so far, but as of today, it does what it needs to do.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Price
Jonathan Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Robert H.
Beloit, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/3/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Laundry Sump
I replaced my old laundry sump after 15 years. The Liberty 404 Remote Drain System fit my needs perfectly. Sump Pumps Direct had a great price compared to big box stores and plumbing shops. They shipped it free and it arrived in 3 days.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Dustin S.
Lumberton, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/17/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Sump Pump That Works
I owned one of these pumps for five years when the starter failed. If you spun the pump and plugged it into the outlet, it would run. It just would not start without assist. It worked well for five years though and without problems.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Reliable
Cons: Durability
Dustin Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John A.
New Freedom, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/10/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does What It Should
Easy to install, even for a non-plummer. Duplicated piping to create identical to prior Liberty pump 403 . The 404 seems better designed. PED shipped quickly at good price.
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight
John Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
John Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick shipment. Good price. Would recommend site and company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael K.
Boomer, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy & Good
I needed to install a sink below grade and wanted a pump that worked well and fit in space I had to work with. Liberty #404 pump fit the bill.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Michael Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Michael Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy install and working fine."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Rolan
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/10/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Unit Failed After 18 Years Of Service
New unit installed easily. Capacity before pumping less so unit runs more often, not sure that's a good thing. I have high hopes for another 18 years of use.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Ask Me In A Couple Of Years Just Replaced Same Model After 18 Ye
Cons: Can't Forsee Any
Rolan Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sam
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/23/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
Im using this pump as a laundry/utility sink pump. Easy hook up using 1 1/2" PVC fittings. The pump keeps up with the washing machine discharge, no problem. And best of all it is quiet. Much quieter than I expected. Hard to beat the price to. Appears to be quality made.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Sam Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Geri M.
East Amherst, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
Many years ago we had a motor hooked near our wash tubs in the basement. The washer would empty the water into a wash tub and the motor acted to pump the water up and out to the sewers. I can't tell you how many times I forgot to go down and turn the switch on.

So what happened was that I had a small flood each time. Then I saw this pump on line and decided to try it. Well it is great, the switch can be left on all the time. When the washer empties the water goes into the pump and is then... more
Geri Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Timothy H.
Whitehouse, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Sump!
Have had this running for 2 years now with constant use (collects and pumps water from several 24/7 dripping water lines, runs multiple times daily). Have had zero issues and needed zero maintenance. Highly recommend it.
Timothy Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard R.
Mt Holly, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/9/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!
We were building a new break room at our plant. My boss wanted to install a kitchen sink but we would have had to cut the concrete floor to install the drain. After some research I came upon an advertisement for the Liberty Pumps.

This solved our problem immediately. Less cost. No down time while cutting the floors, no dusty mess from the floor cutting. I would recommend Liberty pumps to anyone who needs to have a waste drain in an area where they may not be able to conventional piping.
Richard Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Angela D.
Towson, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/15
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet, Effective, Strong!
Our plumber said Liberty pumps are great pumps. We were surprised at how quiet it is! Arrived quickly!
Angela Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
55
Elias D.
Clinton, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/27/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pump Model #404 Is A Champion
I have had this pump for the last few months, and it performs very nicely. Please keep up the good work.
Elias Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
55
Don H.
Bath, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/2/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
Unit was easy to install and its compact size was just right as a replacement. The unit works very well so far. It's quiet and seems to be energy efficient, yet effective.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Fast
Don Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
55
Kevin Riley
Fargo, ND
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solved My Problem
My kitchen sink/dishwasher drain at the lake froze last winter due to lack of snow when it got real cold. I put this in under the house and piped directly to the stack and it works like a charm.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Durable
Kevin Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Neil S.
Vernon, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looking Good
I've only had this unit for a few weeks but so far it has lived up to expectations. It is very quiet. It appears to be very durable but only time will tell.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Durable, Price
Neil Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Don Wall
San Diego, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
These Come With Different Output Thread Sizes
I was replacing one with 2" pipe threads. Didn't notice that this one had 1.5" threads. Bother! But it only took 45 minutes to modify the ABS pipes. Also, this unit keeps tripping the GFI. Works perfectly on a regular outlet. Don't know if this is a defect or not.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable
Don Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Don,
It's clearly stated in the product's title, features and specs that the threads are 1-1/2". As for the GFI issue, in most instances, it's the actual GFI outlet. They can wear out over time. If you still think it is the pump, you may want to contact Liberty directly @ (800) 543-2550.
more
Don Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Lowest price on my item and good service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ted
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
We built a new building in 2010 and this is the model that was used for the washing machine tub. We have (2) apartments and that means (2) washing machines with a lot of use. I purchased this pump as a spare unit considering the amount of cycles the one in place must have on it. So just in case I have a problem, this pump will take it's place or I may use it in my own home to replace the unit I have there. Great pump, no problems.
Was this review helpful?
11
Alan A.
Fairport, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/9/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excelent Product Easy To Install
If you have a pump up need this is the only unit to buy! Hook it up and done.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Light Weight
Alan Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Tom W.
Easton, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/20/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Almost A Direct Replacement
The new 404 is 3 inches shorter than the old one. So I built a 15 inch square by 3 inch high platform for it and all the old pipes needed no adjustment.

It is installed to handle a small kitchen type sink. It runs quieter, empties quicker and, although I hope I'll never use them, I like the new electrical features operate without the float switch and replace the float switch with the pump in place.
Tom Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Liberty Pumps 404 reviews.Compare our Liberty Pumps 404 ratings. Find the Liberty Pumps 404 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct