Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Liberty Pumps 257 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$139.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$139.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$139.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$138.60
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Liberty Pumps 257 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (40)
High Quality (40)
Price (33)
I'd Buy It Again (23)
Durable (15)
Cons
None So Far (16)
Heavy (2)
Can't Hard Wire The Powe... (1)
Very Noisy (1)
Charged For Shipping Bec... (1)
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
132 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
30 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1280 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

Built in the good ol’ U.S.A. the Liberty model 257 is a well known name among plumbers and is a superior pump for the money. This cast iron pump is very efficient with 1/2 the running and starting amps of most other 1/3HP pumps in the same league and with a pumping capacity of 2700GPH at a 5 foot lift and the magnetically operated vertical float switch, this pump is one mean sucker! The 257 will handle any light duty applications with ease.
Unlike many other pumps out there, this pump features... more
Jim Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
7310
William T.
Manchester, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Thank The Big Box Stores
We were getting ready to seal our sump with a radon remediation system. I was concerned leaving an 18 yr. old pump in the pit. I looked in Lowes,Homedepot and True-value. All three had pumps made in China. I was able to get this American made pump tax free , free delivery to our door for less money. I'm a retired maintenance man from a local University. I am very impressed with the quality of this pump and would highly recommend it.
William Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Todd H.
Otsego, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/13
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Float Issue Flooded Basement.
Bought this pump in July of 2013. It is a quite and heavy duty pump but the float will stick if it sits idle for too long. My sump system is very clean and I keep the pump and float clean so residue from water is not a problem. My basement flooded last month because the float stuck. I'm very disappointed with the sticky float so I ordered an electronic level switch. Do not buy any pump with an automatic switch.

Should have ordered Liberty none automatic pump with solid state switch combo.
Pros: Runs Quite
Cons: Bad Float Sticks
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Todd,
I'm sorry to hear of the problem you experienced with your Liberty pump. Unfortunately, most issues are caused by switch problems with most any pump. Have you followed the installation instruction instructions regarding the regular inspections and testing of your pump system?

2. Pump should be checked frequently for debris and/or build up which may interfere with pump or float switch operation. The float must be able to move freely through its complete travel without any restrictions. Pour enough water into the sump to activate the pump periodically (at least every 3 months) when not normally in use to verify proper function.


You can also call Liberty tech support at 800-543-2550 for additional troubleshooting assistance. If you have any other questions or Liberty directs you back to us for resolution of your issue, please let me know.

Sincerely,
Jim Owiecki
Sump Pumps Direct Product Expert
800-710-7499 X125
630-685-0025 - Direct
james@pedstores.com
more
Was this review helpful?
10
John S.
Plainfield, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
I installed the pump about a month ago. Had 3 inches of rain 2 days later. Worked like a champ. I did have to secure the pipe to my wall as the pump did move inside the plastic pit
John Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Pump arrived fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Rick M.
Benton, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/17/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pump 257
Just tested it today. Very quiet. Works great so far.
Rick Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Rick's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Service, order processing, shipping. Exceptional. I definitely would do business with them again. Their knowledge base is most helpful in determining what to order."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lenny J.
Broadview Heights, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/15
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Pump. Well Made!
Nice pump.Well made, in the USA. Very quiet, easy to install. Float is high quality. I like this pump a lot and look forward to many years of trouble free service from it.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None So Far
Lenny Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Orest M.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/1/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Heavy, Very Quiet Pump
Our house is 16 yrs old and had a sump pump installed in a sump pit when it was constructed. The pump works a lot when it rains and outside of a couple of incidents (air lock - the builders didn't drill a weeping hole in the exhaust pipe) it had worked wonderfully. But you always knew when it would turn on. It was loud enough that you could hear it on the second floor of our house. Given the pump's age and the fact that the float switch had broken, I figured I'd replace it.
After a bunch of... more
Orest Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Orest's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Oh, and delivery was almost instantaneous. I ordered on a Friday and received it on the following Monday, or was it Tuesday? Buying from Sump Pumps Direct was great. The range of products you offer was outstanding, value was great, ordering was simple, and most importantly, shipping was expeditious."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeremy S.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Pump, Solid
Very quiet, solid pump. Float switch located on side of pump, lessons the chance of getting hung up or broke. I'm a first time user, so buy a quiet or silent check valve when you install pump directly below your bedroom!! Even when you brace pipe you still get the hammering.
Jeremy Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Jeremy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast shipping!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas N.
Orange, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Submersible Sump Pump
Very happy with my pump works great everything hooks up fine. Heavy duty cast iron body. I would recommend the pump to my friend very good quality built. I would buy from this place again very happy with the product.
Thomas Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Thomas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The sales staff was very helpful in helping me find the right pump for my house. I would recommend them to my friend and would buy future products in the future from them. I'm very happy with them, great place to buy from."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gerald J.
Northfield, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/16/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Service Was Great - Next Day Delivery
I needed a particular size and style to place in the sump to avoid changing the piping This one did the trick and works great.
Gerald Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen N.
Piermont, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
High quality pump at a great price - don't waste your time and money on anything less!
Stephen Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John T.
Lewiston, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Solution
After I got a whole house generator installed I decided to change my old sump pump combination of an AC primary and battery backup to two AC pumps on separate circuits. I felt this would give me the most reliable system. The problem was my sump pump pit is only 14" in diameter. I looked at several pumps but it was Jim who proposed the 1/3 HP Liberty pump as an option. The more I looked into the size and specs. the better it looked In particular, the float switch is very compact. I... more
John Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'm very pleased with the both the product and service by SumpPumpsDirect."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert I.
Stow, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/16
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Sump Pump
Pump runs very quiet. And most of the unit is kept out of the water after running.
Robert Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas K.
Churchville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/6/16
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I wanted a second sump pump. I've tested this several times. Works great.
Thomas Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank S.
Townsend, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
My new home had very loud sump pumps. I purchased two pumps and now I can not even hear them run.
Frank Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas K.
Churchville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/6/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pumps Great
Shut off one pump to install this as second pump let glue cure 2 hours. Started Liberty pump, ran quiet pumps great.
Thomas Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dale C.
Avon, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/28/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement Pump
Installed this pump as a replacement for an over 30 year old pump that I had neglected. Hope to have this one work for so many years. Looks like a quality unit built to do the job. While only a few cycles so far it is working as expected. I'm sure that Spring will provide more run time soon.
Dale Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Dale's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very much like the web site search and shopping cart. Thanks for the attention to detail."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott
Charlotte, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/13/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Pump
I have a below grade crawl space and we have had TONS of rain in NC this year, causing my AC condenser pump to be overrun multiple times. After speaking with someone at SumpPumpsDirect and explaining my situation (needed to pump up about 5-6 feet and then horizontally for 20 feet), the 257 was the recommendation. This pump is powerful.

I have a 2 ft deep hole that's about 12-15 inches across where my water pools. It drains the hole when full in literally 3 seconds. The pump sits... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, Easy To Use
Cons: None So Far
Scott Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill
Morganville, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/9/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleased With This Pump
Pump arrived quickly. Installation was easy. Runs much quieter than my previous pump
Bill Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin C.
Friendswood, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/21/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump Arrives In Less Than 24 Hours
Ordered the sump pump on line Thursday around noon with standard free shipping and pump was delivered the next day around 10 am. Pump works great and I am very pleased so far.
Kevin Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Kevin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sump Pumps delivered the pump in less than 24 hours and I didn't pay for overnight shipping only the free standard shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary C.
Medford, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/4/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pump 257
I ordered online and it was on my doorstep the next day. Easy install, quiet, works like it should.....What's not to like.

Finally bought something online that I'm completely happy with.Will absolutely buy this model again.
Gary Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Wolf S.
Salinas, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/24/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!
Needed a sump pump in my yard to get rid of excess water on my back patio from El Nino rains. This pump works great and is impressively heavy and good quality. I would recommend it.
Wolf Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Wolf's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Received my pump on time. Great web site, much better than the competitors!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jared G.
Ozark, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/8/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Quiet!
Just finished installing this pump in my crawl space and it's so quiet. You can't hear it at all from inside.
Jared Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ryan W.
Shawnee, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/11/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
My sump pump was starting to fail after 12 years, so I found one with excellent reviews and low enough amperage to not trip my breaker. Unfortunately, the house was built with the sump pump on the basement/garage lights breaker. Install was easy and it's been great with the rain and melting snow. Couldn't be happier!
Ryan Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ed D.
Mount Airy, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/11/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Very easy to install and extremely quite. I replaced a Rigid pump that was purchased at Home Depot, which literally fell apart when I pulled it out. It was only three years old. I have no idea how it was still working. The original pump that I replaced with the Rigid was a Liberty model 237 and it still works! Just goes to show you that you get what you pay for.
Ed Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin Teixeira
Morgan Hill, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/18/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Product Works As Advertised
Product works as advertised. Had to buy some plastic pipe for it to replace the old. Never installed a pump before. Was straightforward.
Kevin Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim H.
Boyertown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/13/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pump Works Great
As a first time sump pump buyer I was expecting a noisy pump. This pump works great and is extremely quiet. I would recommend this pump!
Tim Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Warren A.
Easley, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/14/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Rugged Pump
Have serious water problems under my house. I needed a heavy duty pump to handle large amounts of water coming in every day.
Warren Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Warren's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent price. Super fast shipping. It doesn't get much better than this."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard
Cary, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/10/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Should Be Rated "best"
After owning several different brands of sump pump, I decided to try this one. I love it. It is installed with a silent type check valve and it is very quiet. Simply put, this Liberty pump is the best in its class.

Compare it side-by-side with the Zoeller M53 and you will be hard pressed to find any reason for giving the Zoeller a better rating. Consider the following:
- Price: The Liberty is $135 The Zoeller is $150
- Start Amps: Liberty = 8 Zoeller = 25.9
- Continuous Amps:... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Richard Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Richard Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This is my first experience with Sump Pumps Direct and I am 100% satisfied with their performance."
 more
Was this review helpful?
180
Dana
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/21/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Good Pump, But...
We were sump pump novices, having never owned a house with one before, when we realized that every time ours went off, the sump was filling halfway back up again from backflow. We learned about check valves, which ours didn't have, and got nervous that our 10 year old pump had been doing double duty. Sumppumpsdirect was extremely helpful in educating us and helping us make a good choice. We were going to get a Zoeller but found too many reports of switch failures, so we got the Liberty 257... more
Was this review helpful?
162
Phil
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/8/13
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Sump Pump
With spring close at hand, I needed a new sump pump to replace my old Zoeller that had a bad switch. (My plumber advised against buying another Zoeller because it has only a 1 year warranty.) After reading the reviews at Sump Pumps Direct, I bought a Liberty 257. I was so impressed that I bought a second one to use as my auxiliary pump. Solid, quiet, dependable, made in the USA. I especially like the three-year warranty.
Was this review helpful?
80
Yvon
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/13
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Works Great!
We purchased an inverter and battery to backup our main sump for power outages. After we installed the inverter, we discovered that our old pump was requiring more amperage than what the inverter could handle. Based on the reviews and recommendations on several sites, we purchased the liberty pump because it drew half the amount of current for the same pumping flow of the old pump. It works like a charm with the inverter. Within a week we had a torrential rain that was kicking the liberty... more
Was this review helpful?
80
Larry
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Quality Sump Pump
My last Made in the U.S.A. Liberty Pit Viper pump lasted over 20 years and still works. Remarkable. I kept the old one as a spare. Went to the Liberty website and e-mailed Liberty and they helped me pick the right size model. I am in a low lying area in New Jersey and it is used to drain ground and rain water from the sump. Put this new one in just to be safe and wanted another Liberty made pump, not a plastic one the chain home stores sell. It is cast iron, heavy and well made. Install... more
Was this review helpful?
80
William F.
Breezy Point, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/9/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump, Super Quiet...
Needed a good pump, went online to Sump Pumps Direct and ordered the Liberty 257 pump...Very happy with the pump. No problem installing to my existing configuration, easy hook up...Super quiet, had to check to see if it was on and working...So far I like it, had other pumps, but they were too noisy...Glad I read the reviews...All cast iron casing and nice float system, it works with a magnetic switch in the float... Sump Pumps Direct, sent it out in a couple of days...
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
William Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Charles K.
West Caldwell, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/30/14
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Pump Is A Monster & Fits In Small Pits
I first bought a Zoeller but returned it unopened and exchanged it for the Liberty because I was afraid that the float on the Zoeller would be an issue in my small pit. I'm sure the Zoeller is a fine product as well and would have served the same purpose but I didn't want to take the chance of it not fitting in my small pit.

I installed my new Liberty pump and it is an amazing difference to the Flotec. Built in the USA still counts for something!

Also I've not read any complaints about... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None So Far
Charles Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Charles's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Make sure you read the fine print and be very, very sure you have the right pump for the job! Because if you need to return the product, you will pay for the outbound shipping. (Sump-Pumps Direct will not pay for your mistake!) Jim's guidance throughout my entire 'sump-pump project' was a tremendous help."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Paul
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/29/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump User
Old sump pump was dying. Replaced with this one and now works great. Twice the pumping action and quiet.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Quiet
Paul Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
60
John G
Pittsfield, MA
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow!!!
Ordered the 257 to replace an aging hardware store pump I bought 6-7 years ago when my previous pump failed. Just waiting on that thing to die which seems inevitable.

Wow is this thing heavy and well built. If the guts of this thing are anything like the outside, it may last forever!!!

It's not even installed yet, but it sure seems like it's a keeper. All of the connections look pretty standard and well-made, so I imagine installation will be a breeze. Here's hoping.

The float... more
John Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Larry C.
Elkhorn, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/18/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Old Pump Very Noisy And Only Lasted 6 Years.
Ordered the Liberty pump online and got exactly what I needed and on time with no added charges. Installed the pump in less than an hour and it is so quiet compared to our old pump its amazing. I am extremely pleased with the service and the product.
Larry Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Larry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to find what was needed online and price was very competitive. Order was sent and delivered on time. Very pleased and would not hesitate to recommend Sump Pumps Direct to friends and family."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Brian
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I needed a replacement pump after the original Wayne pump's switch failed after 8 years. I read the reviews on the pumps and decided on the liberty pump. I was leery of the Zoeller pump since there seemed to be issues with their switch. The price couldn't be beat even with a lower quality pump at the box stores.

The pump arrived in a few days at my home. The packaging could have been better, but the pump was in good shape. Easy installation, pretty much a direct replacement. It is so quiet... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None So Far
Brian Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Jeffrey P.
Clarence, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/21/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Testimonial
I have lived in this house for a little over 20 years and have had 5 sump pumps during that time. This Liberty Pump is the quietest and most efficient pump ever. Sump Pumps Direct made the selection and purchase so simple I will never buy one anywhere else, if I ever need one, it even came a day earlier than predicted.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Quiet, Reliable
Jeffrey Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Neil K.
Downers Grove, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Made In The Usa
I did my research on this pump and only positive reviews I have read.I didn't want to buy something that was going to fail like the big home stores sell. I have a co-worker that bought one from the Home store and bragged about how it has a lifetime warranty. Needless to say it failed after one year. He received replacement for the failed one and it also failed within 6 months so what good is the LT warranty if you have to keep replacing them. I have referred him to SPD to get A+ customer... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: Non
Neil Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Art
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pump
The pump arrived well packaged, very easy to install and has been working as it should. We have had a lot of rain in Milwaukee these past few months and to protect our investment, remodeled basement, we replaced our old pump with the Liberty. Much quieter than our old one and its been working very well.
Was this review helpful?
40
Dave
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Charm
When I found out through a home inspection that my sump pump wasn't working, I obviously had to get it fixed - and fast! I went on line and found Sump Pumps Direct. It was highly rated by its users and easy to navigate. I quickly settled on the Liberty 257 and within 3 days it was at my door! After removing the old pump, I was able to install the Liberty in a just a few minutes and it began working immediately. Thanks Sump Pumps Direct!!!
Was this review helpful?
40
Victor B.
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/13/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump With Some Precautions
This is a nice quiet efficient pump that does the job. The float works nicely and pumps over a narrow range so it doesn't take much change in water elevation to get it to kick in. Some fine sand slipped through our filter, but the 257 handled it. The price seems right and the components seem sturdy.

Just two precautions: First, make sure you have an adapter before you set it up and second, the float pump tends to wobble a bit so make sure your net filter (or anything else) does not block... more
Victor Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
30
David P.
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/1/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
Everything went better than planned! Price, delivery, shipping, installation, and operation. I was hesitant to replace my sump pump. I'm not a big fan of plumbing jobs. But this went well. Thank you for a great buying experience.
David Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
David's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This place is great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
R. S.
Lancaster, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/15
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
Quiet, made well. Only draws 5.2 amps.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Durable, Reliable
R. Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
30
John T.
Middleburg HTS., OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/7/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty #257 Is The Best Ever!!
I have installed many sump pumps, but until I tried the #257, I really did not know how I ever kept the phone calls down. Most people think that a sump pump is forever, but after 5-6 years they are gambling. The #257 seems to fit the forever category...(with obvious regular cleaning of the pit).
I now only use the #257
Pros: High Quality, Price, Reliable, Brand Recognition
Cons: None Found
John Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Charles A.
Clarence Center, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Liberty 257
Pump came shipped in its own box and came pretty beat up. I was not sure if pump was damaged or not so I called SPD and they told me to inspect it and try using it. I did and it seems to be working. I drilled the 1/8" hole in the discharge line as instructed. Pump cycles very often and runs a lot more than my previous Ridgid pump that lasted 12 years.

I wish there was a way to adjust the float so that it would not cycle as often. During big rain storms it goes on every 20 seconds... more
Charles Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
William W.
Oakland, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Good As Expected
My experience with Liberty Pumps has been great for about thirty years.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Durable, Reliable
William Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Top of the game."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Eric
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/8/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid And Quiet
This pump is solidly built and I like the integrated magnetic switch, which should last a long time since there are no mechanical contacts to wear out.

The only thing I would like to see is a little longer stroke on the float, which would reduce the on/off cycling in the sump.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Short Switch Throw
Eric Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Ricky And Cheryl P.
Lexington, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pumps Direct
The Liberty pump was the 257-1/3 hp I picked it for the low amp draw that it had over other pumps. It looks to be well built with very little to no noise.
Ricky Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Devoy M.
Elkhart, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/24/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Quiet
Our old sump pump was so noisy, that it interfered with our sleep. We tried every thing to quieten it down. After a year of this, we decided to try a new sump pump.

What a difference. We can barely hear it run when we're standing next to it. It never wakes us up at night. Sanity has returned to our house.
Devoy Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Devoy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great product, good prices, and free shipping made for a great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Christopher L.
Bothell, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/16/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cool Sump Pump
It's so pretty that I hated to stick it in the water. Yes, the fit and finish are that good.

I have a medium freezer on the same circuit, and the breaker is not fazed if the sump pump kicks on when the freezer is running.
Christopher Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Dennis P.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/6/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Sump Pump 101
You want service, price and longevity. Service was prompt, the price was right, we will see on the longevity
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Cons: None So Far, Heavy
Dennis Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Randy P.
Saranac, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/3/14
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty 257 Pump
I ordered this pump and had it in two days, very fast! I installed the pump, very quiet, high quality pump! I will be buying another to replace another pump that I have! Sump Pump Direct is outstanding to do business with!
Pros: High Quality, Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Randy Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Randy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Outstanding to do business with! I had my pump in less then two days delivered right to my door! Free shipping and no tax! Before I ordered I called and talked with one of their customer service people, very helpful and right to the point! Was able to determine what I needed and put the order in! Overall great to do business with!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mark M.
Naperville, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/21/14
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Discovered That I Needed A New Pump During The "great Snow"
After noticing an almost full sump, and my pump not running (and after bailing numerous buckets of water from the sump to prevent overflow), I then went to see what I could do about replacing the pump. In my research I determined that going to one of the typical home improvement stores would result in buying a likely lower quality pump that might not last very long, or give performance problems in a relatively short time.

After doing some research, I determined that Liberty makes a... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, Features
Mark Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Brad C.
Chilton, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/19/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet Pump
Cant hear pump run unless you here the check valve at the end of cycle. Tried other various pumps and was disappointed from the local box store. Gave the Liberty a shot and its all I will use from now on!
Pros: Quiet, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Brad Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Brad Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast Shipping. You should reward returning customers."
 more
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Brad,
We are currently in the developmental stages of a program to reward repeat customers. Make sure you sign-up for an account so you can keep up to date with all of current sales, promotions and articles.
Was this review helpful?
20
Gerald H.
Nashville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/9/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty
Have only had pump a short time, but it is extremely well built & quiet. I like that the vertical float is close to the chassis. Of course, the switch's durability cannot be tested over a short time, but I'll bet it holds out well, if the rest of the pump's quality is any measure.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, Durable
Gerald Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Gerald Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website. Simple & easily navigated & very informative. It helped me make a good decision on which pump was right for our needs."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Eric S.
South Bend, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/4/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Pump
The pump works great. It's very quiet. Only minor complaint is it has a short on/off cycle and heard some people say that over time it may cause the motor to go out. Don't know if that's true but so far everything is great.
Eric Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Eric's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Never had a problem. Shipped very fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom D.
Denver, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
This is my third liberty pump. They are easy to install and very quiet. Have not had any problems and am very happy. I had to put in three pumps due to the way my foundation was laid. Would buy them again.
Tom Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff K.
Longmont, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/11/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Quiet
This pump replaced a smaller 1/4 hp sump pump I thought would be less noisy.. Wrong. The liberty pump makes a fraction of the noise and is 1/3 hp. I now have 2 in my sump pits. My only wish is they had a longer float arm and a longer time between cycles.
Jeff Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Darryl Z.
Baton Rouge, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/13/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Ploblems With The Model 257
The 257 pump, i'm totally dissatisfied with it. The suction hole is too small and trash gets caught in it. I had the next size down which doesn't have the single hole for suction. It worked fine till it finally stopped working. I decided to buy the 257 thinking it would even be better and that was my mistake.

It advertised as it would be better than the smaller one, but that isn't the case. Now I'm stuck with it and cannot use it. I went ahead and purchased the smaller and less... more
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Darryl,
We're sorry to hear you're disappointed, but unfortunately the problem is that you're using a sump pump where you should be using a trash pump. It may even be a good idea for you to go with a grinder pump if you're experiencing clogging. If you need further help picking the right pump, give us a call and we'll help you find the right pump for your application.
more
Darryl's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sump pumps direct was fine, it's just that model 257 that I was very unhappy with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Spencer M.
Arverne, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/20/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Very Good Pump
I have been buying sump pumps for years, I bought the the 257 1/3 hp pump, it has perform very well so far, very quiet, and well made.
Spencer Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Spencer's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I went thru a lot of pumps, this pumps has performed great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Roger T.
Fort Gratiot, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/18/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mighty Little Pump!
When the Rigid pump I bought at a local big box store gave out after just 5 years, I consulted the Sump Pumps Direct website. They had plenty of good advice and a solid list of recommendations.

I chose this model as an inexpensive, highly rated one that seemed to suit my needs to a T. It's working like a champ, and seems to pump with greater vigor than the 1/2 horse it replaced. I highly recommend it!
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Cons: None So Far
Roger Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Roger's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very helpful advice from experienced pros. I greatly appreciated them sharing their wisdom."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Douglas S.
Prince Frederick, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement
The pump got to me quickly! I've had it for about 4 months and it works great. I will order from here again.
Douglas Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Darrell S.
Fyffe, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Fine
The pump was installed in a small basin in the crawl space near the exterior basement wall of a church building. So far it has worked well.

The basin was surrounded by crushed stone so the water that is being pumped is pretty clear, but so far no problems with this pump.

The first one I installed did not run long before it quit pumping. I am in process of obtaining instructions for returning it to Liberty for repair or replacement.
Darrell Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
David L.
Salem, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/14/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
David Langsather
This sump is to replace a much more expensive unit that barely lasted two years. I read positive stories about this brand. The design is compact, and unit appears well build. It runs very quietly. Now if it will give 20 years of service....
David Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John M.
West Orange, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pump 257 - 1/3 Hp
So far, the pump is working fine. I like this pump because it has a VMF.
John Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great Pump"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael D.
Lancaster, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/10/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought To Replace A Zoeller M53
My Zoeller m53 started making some noise after it was stuck on due to a faulty switch. I had to replace the switch in the Zoeller 3 times in about 6 years and I was sick of it.

The liberty pump looks to have a much better switch design but time will tell. The pump is built very nice and has been great so far. It is much quieter than my Zoeller and even uses less power.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Price
Cons: None So Far
Michael Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Best price online plus free shipping and no tax!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael W.
Frontenac, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/2/15
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Made In Usa
very nice to find a great pump made in the USA
Michael Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Brian P.
Somerville, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/15
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet And Low Amp Draw
Replaced an ancient pedestal pump with the 257. The pump is very quiet, nearly silent. I used the clear silent check valve. The selling point for me was the low amp draw (around 5 amps if I remember correctly). I don't have the sump on a separate breaker, and the circuit it's on is with a bedroom.

The 5 amp starting draw has no noticeable impact on other devices and lights on the circuit. The pump feet do need a solid, stable foundation. There aren't many feet and they are small. Great buy!
Brian Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Andrew D.
Castle Rock, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/15
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
The 1/2 HP I bought last year was noisy. I thought bigger was better - WRONG. It evacuated the water in about one second and let the whole house hear it as well. My plumber friend said the 1/2 HP will pump against 40 feet of head. I have yet to hear this 257. Even when I hooked it up, I was pouring a pitcher of water in to make sure it would work.

I barely heard it at that point. It took maybe 2 seconds to pump it down but "quiet" was the objective - OBJECTIVE ACCOMPLISHED!... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, Durable
Cons: None So Far
Andrew Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Andrew,
The inlet is located at the bottom of the pump to ensure the reservoir is fully pumped empty when it runs. Some people like to place small concrete blocks under their pump to raise it up out of the dirt.

You could also replace the PUMP BASIN to keep the water cleaner and place the pump flat in the bottom.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jason H.
Quakertown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works
It was very easy to install. The pump seems very well buit and has been working as it should since installation. It does recommend a 1/8 in hole drilled in the riser.
Jason Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Donald D.
Gahanna, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/20/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
Love it! It's nearly silent. Solid construction. Install took less than 1 hour.
Donald Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Donald's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company. Fast delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Bruce J.
Beecher, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/13/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement Pump
Delivered quickly, and easily installed. Plastic float appears cheap, but pump works good.
Bruce Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Al Z.
Bolingbrook, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump/liberty
Bought pump one month ago and seems to be quieter and efficient comparatively to old one. It gets the water out quickly which is important as I'm in a high water table area. It's built solid and hopefully will last a long time.
Al Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Karlyn N.
Thomasville, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/24/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Great!
This little gem is doing exactly what it was designed to do, and working great for me. Vertical float fits compactly in well & doesn't catch on side of well.
Karlyn Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Joe M.
Lockport, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good!
I bought the Liberty pump after going through three pumps from the "big box store" in a year and a half. The pump is so quiet, I had to check on it to make sure it was working.

The pump is located under our great room. The old pump could be heard through the floor. It's performance so far is excellent.
Joe Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Emilio P.
Round Lake Beach, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/11/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Pump
A very solid, good value & quality pump. I replaced the original pump that was still working strong after 21 years. The detachable float switch needed to be replaced for a 2nd time over that time span, so pump was way over due. I appreciated the customer service received, plus the very quick delivery (ordered on a Wednesday and received next day.)
Emilio Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Chester Ostrach
Depew, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/6/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Pump
nice and quiet works well great pump. Fast delivery, received it in 2 days. Thanks Sump Pumps Direct!
Chester Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Chester's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"i am very happy with product and service thanks again"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Rick B.
Lansing, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Well Made & Quiet Pump
This pump replaced a Lowe's Utilitech pump, made in China, that failed after just 9 months.

Before that, a Flotec pump lasted about 30 years! It is good to be able to buy an American product.

The pump is so quiet you hardly know it's running. I am looking for at least several years of use from this pump.
Rick Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Rick's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Jim and his crew were very professional and helpful in making suggestions and in selecting a pump. Keep up the good work!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Stephen H.
Leawood, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/7/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump And Good Service
If you are using this 257 pump and need a back up that is not electric dependent consider Liberty's city water powered jet pump = Peace of mind. Our order came promptly and was easy to install.
Stephen Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Stephen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Needed it quick, and got it quick, Thanks, Steve, Kansas City"
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
George H.
Island Heights, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/1/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pumps 257 - 1/3 Hp
As of 10/23/2014, the pump is working as it should. We've had a lot of rain in the past 48 hours. And all is well. This pump is solid and I expect it will perform and last for a long time.
George Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
George's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Pump was delivered very quickly. Sump Pumps Direct was very helpful and answered all my questions before and after installation."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul J.
St Albans, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/15/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Shipping
The fastest shipping I every seen from a online vendor. Great job Sump Pumps Direct - two days from online order. The pump was boxed well, there was no damage, but the rod that holds the float switch and float was out of the bottom guide hole...no big deal - just placed the rod back in the guide.
Paul Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Dan J.
North Ridgeville, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/9/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Little Pump
This pump is working great. Very quiet and plenty powerful for the size of my sump pit. I'm very pleased and would recommend this to anyone who needs a new sump pump.
Dan Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jay
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump Novice
I've lived in Northern Virginia for almost 20 years. Prior to that I lived in California. I've never had any experience with sump pumps.

I never thought about it and never knew that they had a life expectancy. The pump in my basement is the one that the builder installed about 25 years ago. A couple of years ago I started having issues with the pump not shutting off after the pit was emptied. A tap on the switch shut it off.

That's when I started my sump pump research and found Sump... more
Pros: Quiet, Price
Cons: None So Far
Jay Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sheridan T.
Champlain, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/11/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pump 257
Very quiet, good quality unit, fast shipping, highly recommend this product.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None So Far
Sheridan Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Lawrence M.
Southampton, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/11/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding!!
Outstanding product and outstanding customer service !!
Pros: High Quality, Price, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Lawrence Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Kenneth B.
Greeley, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/5/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Pump, Excellent Price
Replaced a 15 year old Little Giant pump with a Liberty 257, 1/3 hp. Was very impressed with quietness and overall build quality in comparison to the previous work horse. Solid, great finish and fittings. Purchased a second unit exactly the same to have in case of emergency.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Kenneth Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John O.
Darien, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/29/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Never Heard Of This Sump Pump
I did some research on the internet to buy a good reliable pump. I am glad I found this pump. Looks great so far.
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Low Float Travel
John Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Walter
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/28/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeded Expectations
Installed in my mom's basement. They were forced to go with "rural water" and not sure what they did to the original well, but the basement flooded for the first time in 100+ years. Dug a hole and set the new pump in a sump bucket nearest the water entry, which happens to be nearest to where the well is located. I would almost say that the pump is overkill for the amount of water it sends out. Went with 2" pipe because that is what they were using temporarily with a borrowed sump... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Walter Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul T.
Dresher, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/14/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Lot Of Pump For The Price
I replaced a 10 year old pump as preventable maintenance. The liberty 287 was highly rated. Since this pump is used to remove condensate from a large dehumidifier it will run fairly often. The pump rate at the relatively low amperage demand is a plus. I like the design of the magnetic switch. Time will tell the whole story but the pump seems very well made and runs like a champ.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, High Quality
Paul Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Paul Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent web site and shipping was very prompt."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul
Mequon, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Class Product
I was looking for a heavy-duty cast iron sump pump with low start-up torque. This pump is beautifully finished and operates smoothly and quietly. Very pleased with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
21
Eric
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/11/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I replaced an 8 yr. old plastic Flotec with a tether float that decided not to run one night, causing 2 inches of water in a finished basement. Based on recommendations from Jim and others at Sump Pumps Direct, I purchased the Liberty 257. It's a well-made pump, cast iron, 3 year warranty, made in the US, and has a vertical float. No chance of the float getting stuck on the side of the basin.

My old pump was pretty quiet, but I don't even hear the Liberty. That's good and bad because I... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Dave
Rochester, NY
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Replaced The Liberty 232 Model Dated 9/92
I replaced the sump pump that was in the home we purchased recently with the 257. The old pump was still pumping well but the on off switch was beginning to fail (was not turning off properly).

I sure hope that I can get the same life with the newer Liberty pump, I'm now 60, that will take me to 80. It just doesn't get any better than that. Made locally and the 3 year warranty over the big box stores 1 year is fantastic.
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark M.
St Marys, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Water Backup Pump & Liberty 257 Sump Pump
At first the water back from Libertydidn't work very good . I hooked it up to a 3/4 inch line it now work fine. I don't have the best water pressure but with the 3/4 inch line, it works fine . I also have the 257 1/3 pump. It also works great.. just hope I don't need them. but I'm sure they will get the job done.
Mark Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James C.
Braintree, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/5/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Strong Pump
Used for basement sump pit. Works as expected
James Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Prompt and as advertised. Thanks"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Alfred I.
Sterling, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/20/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Overall Experience
Sump Pumps Direct is the place to go for top quality products and second to none service. I had a Zoeller pump that came with the house and served me very well until it finally quit. I decided to go with the Liberty pump because I have a 15 amp circuit breaker and the equivalent Zoeller pump draws too much starting current. The Liberty pump draws significantly less current while being able to handle a higher head. It is also very quiet.

The sales representative was very helpful as was... more
Alfred Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Alfred's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sump Pumps Direct is the place to go for top quality products and second to none service. The sales representative was very helpful as was the Liberty representative whom I called with some technical questions. Placing the order was a breeze. The pump shipped for free and surprisingly arrived the very next day even though I didn't place the order until around noon. Now that's what I call Excellent service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank H.
Boothwyn, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/9/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump ... Easy Install
The pump arrived quickly and looks to be of high quality. I dropped it in the sump and fully expect never to see it again. Runs very quietly. Very happy with the purchase experience.
Frank Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Sandra V.
Macungie, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/26/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Dump Pumsump
Great quality pump. Easy to install. Working great so far.
Sandra Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruce D.
Wapakoneta, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/25/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
Easy to install. Runs quiet. Everything you need.
Bruce Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Bruce's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Patrick
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Impressions
Seems well made, solid. Works like expected. No problems. I'd recommend it. Not sure how it compares to the lower priced pumps, but the cast iron body gives it heft. Gave this 4 stars for features because it really doesn't have any other than a metal body.
Patrick Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outdoor Sump Drainage Ditch
I had to tear up the deck that was in my yard. The previous owner essentially dug a hole and put a deck there. When it would rain it there would be about 6 inches of water under my deck. So the wood rotted in about 1.5 years. My fix for this was to "regrade" the ground have it pitch away from the house into a "ditch" that had a sump inside. So I first looked to get a sump pump from one of the big box stores. Problem is the ones they have are never in stock, or are just poor... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Durable, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Bob Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Janet D.
Battle Creek, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/20/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
I had an old working liberty pump and decided to replace it before anything happened to it. I placed my order one day and got my new pump the next day. Great service. New pump is working great so far, but I have only had it installed a week.
Janet Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank B.
Monticello, IL
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pumps
I used the original version of the Liberty Pumps 257, the Pit Viper SS314. It was in service for about ten years. It was still working fine when I replaced it with a Liberty Pumps 257 that I purchased seven years ago to use as my emergency go-to pump. Back then I figured the Pit Viper would fail at any time since I was at the three year warranty period. That was almost seven years ago. Yesterday I felt I was pushing my luck so I installed the "new" pump and immediately ordered... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: None So Far
Frank Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid-quiet-american Made
Pump is very quiet and well constructed. I was happy to purchase a quality American made product. After installing this pump I immediately ordered a second unit to proactively replace my second pump before it fails.

Pump was delivered on-schedule and undamaged. However, my only complaint was that the cardboard packaging was thin and ripped easily at the handles. The cushion inserts are made of thin cardboard as well.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging
Mike Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ray G.
Wadsworth, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Back-up Pump
Replaced an existing pump that still worked. Needed a replacement "just in case." Seems to be fine.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Durable
Cons: None So Far
Ray Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ryan Kovach
Malvern, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/21/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Small Sump, Made In The Usa.
Needed a sump for a small pit. Also wanted one with low amp demand. Went to home depot and lowes and all their sumps were made in China and plastic crap. When i ordered this pump it was made in the USA. When unboxed it the sheer weight of the pump told me it was well constructed and solid. Liked it so much, i bought an identical one for a backup. 2 years and no problems. Buy it, you wont be dissapointed.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: None So Far
Ryan Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Eugene Dillon
Manchester, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/28/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Water Removal
so far working great
Pros: Price, Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: None So Far
Eugene Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Daved Griffiths
Currituck, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Driveway Was Underwater When It Rained
Our driveway collects 6 inches of water when it rains. The old sump pump was a cheap plastic pump that sat in a sub-crock below the driveway grade. That pump burned out when the float got stuck. I looked at several models until I found yours, which fit the hole and had the kind of float I wanted. I only wish that I could hard wire power to it. The DIN connection prevents that, so I have to run the power cord out of the crock to an extension cord.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Reliable, Fast
Cons: Can't Hard Wire The Power Crd
Daved Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike
Appleton, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/30/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Good - So Far!
Installed the pump just prior to the rainy season this spring and thus far am extremely happy with how reliable it has been. In addition, it is very quiet as many of the other reviews have indicated. I looked for this pump locally and in addition to being hard to find, they could not and would not come close to the price I purchased it at. Shipping was on time and packaged OK. Am looking forward to years of worry free use. I guess time will be the ultimate test.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: None So Far
Mike Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Mike's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to navigate the site, quick service and shipping as promised. The reviews I read were very helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Phil M.
Stoneham, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/6/14
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Heavy Duty But Somewhat Noisy
Nothing to add.
Pros: Durable, Reliable
Cons: Very Noisy
Phil Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Phil,
By design, electric motors are fairly quiet. Most of the noise that you hear from the sump pump is the sound of the impeller moving the water. As far as sump pumps go, this is probably as quite as you're going to get. Installed in a standard size basin at least 18" x 24", with a basin cover, will minimize the sound the most.
more
Phil's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick delivery, solid product, noisy though."
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
William A.
Cumming, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/13/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I would recommend this product to who ever needs a very well built pump.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
William Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Glenn M.
Morristown, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/27/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Satisfied
Great price. Fast delivery. Easy install. Works like a champ so far.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Quiet, Easy To Use
Glenn Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Lee
Clifton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/1/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fits In Small Sump Pits 9in X 9in
Yep works great.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Lee Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Lee Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Thanks for your fantastic service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Martin S.
Hamburg, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/12/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Replacement Pump
I've owned it for a month and it has worked very well so far. My father who is a Master Plumber in Buffalo NY recommended this pump. Most people do not know that the big box home supply stores do not sell quality merchandise like this pump.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Martin Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Martin Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was very impressed with Sump Pumps Direct service. They shipped my pump right away and I took receipt of the pump in a very short amount of time. Thank you for the great service, when I need another pump I will be purchasing from this website again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald C.
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly As Advertised
I ordered this pump on the Sunday before Thanksgiving and received it in three days! The pump is the same as in the picture and it matches the specs exactly, right down to the amperage that it draws. This is the reason I bought the pump in the first place!

We live on the East coast of Florida 6 blocks from the shore. The water table is 16 inches below ground when it is not raining. When it does rain the water in our crawl space rises quickly, and the pump will get a lot of work. The low... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, Durable, Reliable
Donald Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert C.
Santa Cruz, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replaced Cheap Pump Installed By Contractor
Replaced an existing sump pump installed by a contractor. Liberty Pump 257 is obviously a better built pump. I expect that it will last much longer.
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: None So Far
Robert Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ian K.
Bronx, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump, Great Service
The pump is great. The service from sump pumps direct was even better. If your buying a sump pump there's only one place to shop " Sump Pumps Direct"
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Ian Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Chester F.
Huntington, WV
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/7/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pump
Was ready to order another Little Giant pump until Liberty pumps came up. So read reviews and ordered a Liberty pump thru Sump Pumps Direct. Great pump, quiet, moves water better than the little giant pumps that I have been using.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Chester Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Russ W.
Pasadena, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Little Pump
This is a high quality light duty sump pump. It was easy to install and runs very quietly. I am very satisfied.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Quiet, Durable
Russ Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Todd H.
Otsego, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty 257
After doing some research on sump pumps I realized that the sump pump in my 3 year old house was sub standard at best. I figured that I should replace it with a real one and get rid of the all plastic builders grade pump. Really only considered Zoeller and Liberty. After much research I think that the Liberty 257 was my best choice. It is built very well and I am confident that it will be more reliable than any other pump.

Sure enough when I went to install the liberty 257 the float was... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Charged For Shipping Because Of A Check Valve That I Ordered
Todd Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Todd Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Only took 2 days to get my order. The check valve was sent in the same box as the pump which makes sense, but I should not have been charged for shipping when they are shipped together. Both items were packaged well and arrived in good condition. Thanks for stocking high quality products!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Margaret M.
Wilmington, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dry Dry Dry
I've only had it a short while but it seems to do the job. I have the pump in a crawl space well and the only dampness after a heavy rain (we've had plenty) is under the pump.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Margaret Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark D.
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/1/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy With Selection
Works as described. I was glad to find a site that rated their pumps.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, High Quality
Mark Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump-wash Down
I use this pump as a wash down pump on my boat, works great. Needed a pump that I could run off a small Yamaha Generator. This pump was selected because of the amp draw and the gph output. Ran 30' of 1 1/2" I.D. hose to the front of the boat then reduced to 25' of 3/4" I.D. hose, very high volume and better than expected pressure. Lot of bang for the buck!
Was this review helpful?
22
Jerry P.
Plainfield, IL
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Design/easy Install
I purchased this sump during the recent storms/floods that hit Chicago. Everyone and their cousin was looking for sumps and the big box retailers were sold out. After remembering about PED stores, I made the trip to their Bolingbrook facility. Pickings were somewhat slim by the time I got there but this sump was available. Very pleased with the purchase. The float design is better than my earlier sump and the install was super easy. The sump has been running without a hitch. Very quiet and... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry M.
Caledonia, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/6/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump
My last pump was a Liberty pump. Last 17 years in water. Nice solid body. Fewer moving parts. Well worth the money.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan
New Palestine, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/4/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Home Owner
Replaced a sump pump that was getting old. The unit I purchased was reasonably priced, easy to install and appears to be working well.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/20/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hasn't Had To Work Yet
Arrived and easy to install. Hasn't rained yet but I will say this--quality of manufacturing appears superior to pumps at the Big Box stores. Pleased to buy a product where pride in their product still shows.
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet Anti Backflow Check Valve
Made of plastic but installed easily and makes no noise when opening or closing.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/27/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Service
Web site easy to navigate and very informative. I value Jim's recommendations and like not having to worry about a damp crawlspace. I couldn't believe how fast my pump arrived. Less than 48 hours. When you get this kind of excellent service I think its important to let the people know that they do excellent customer relations.
Was this review helpful?
00
Rich C.
Woodridge, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Good But Not Reliable
I installed this pump last May in a pit that gets clear water from my air conditioner and humidifier. I have had four instances where the pit overflowed. The pump air locks and continues to run while not pumping water. The magnetic switch was replaced by Liberty which made no difference. Sporadically, it will air lock and with the pump running let the pit overflow. I do have a water sensing alarm but I am going to switch brands as I can't rely on this one.
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Rich,
It sounds as if you do not have a weep hole installed on your discharge pipe. This is a simple 1/8" hole which should stop the air locking and you should see no more issues. If you have any further questions, please let us know.
more
Rich's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sump pumps direct indcated that I needed to call Liberty. Both parties were responsive but the pump just is not reliable."
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Liberty Pumps 257 reviews.Compare our Liberty Pumps 257 ratings. Find the Liberty Pumps 257 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct