Search
< Back to Product

Kohler 20RESA Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$4,117.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Freight$4,117.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$4,117.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Kohler 20RESA Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Pros
Reliable (3)
Easy To Use (2)
Features (2)
Quiet (2)
Durable (1)
Cons
Unreliable (2)
Durability (1)
Low Quality (1)
Heavy (1)
57% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
11 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Myrna S.
Norman, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/29/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Kolher Generators Are Good, But Has Its Flaws
I installed a 20kw single phase residential standby genset . Everything was great until I went to program the genset . The controller was bad, so next step is to see how well Kolher will do on taking care of the issue.
Pros: Can Not Comment On Gen It's Not In Working Order
Cons: Unreliable
Myrna Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Myrna,
We apologize for any issues you have experienced. We're not sure exactly what you mean by programming, as the RDC2 controller is factory-set, and should not require any programming adjustments outside of setting the date/time and weekly exercise. You can set the date/time by navigating to the "Date And Time" menu, and you can set the weekly exercise by navigating to the "Genset System" menu. You can also refer to the generator's operation manual for further details.

If you feel that your generator’s controller is defective, please contact a certified Kohler dealer for service support. You can find a list of certified service dealers by visiting our online dealer locator at http://www.kohlergenerators.com/sales-service/find-a-dealer, or contact us by phone at 1-800-544-2444 from 7 AM – 5 PM CT, M-F.

If your generator was not installed by a certified Kohler dealer, please also ensure that you register it in our warranty system by visiting http://www.kohlergenerators.com/product-registration.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Steve B.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/25/12
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic
My experience with Electric Generators Direct has been fantastic. The service was extremely professional and timely. Jim was very helpful in confirming my equipment choice, and delivery was as promised and on time. The price of the generator went down after I sent in my order, but before it was shipped; Electric Generators Direct was more than happy to refund me the difference.

This is an extremely well run company.

The only thing better than dealing with you guys has been my Kohler... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
205
Jacob S.
Woodmere, NY
Total Reviews
8 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
240 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
An Excellent 20kw Generator
Kohler 20KW Generator is an Excellent Whole House Generator. Quiet (Relatively for its class) It can power an entire house including central air conditioners. EGD offers the Best Price and the Fastest Delivery
View Image
Pros: Quiet, Price, Features, Reliable
Jacob Recommends This Kohler Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Jacob,
Unfortunately, we cannot post this video…..the first generator may be closer than 5 feet from a window shown and the second generator is definitely less than 5 feet from the basement window.
more
Was this review helpful?
1010
Dale O.
Vacherie, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/13
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good So Far, Didn't Have To Use It Yet
The only thing I am not happy with that Kohler don't honor the warranty unless you get a authorize dealer to come witness the start up. I called four defiant dealers and they wanted from $700.00 to $1000.00 to check it over and fill out warranty papers. If that's the case you shouldn't be able to buy them and install them yourself it should only come from a installed dealer.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, Reliable
Dale Recommends This Kohler Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Dale,
I'm sorry that you got some wrong information. Either a certified electrician or a Kohler dealer. The main difference is that if a Kohler dealer does the start-up, the 5-year warranty begins on that day. If a certified electrician does the start-up, the warranty begins on the day it left the factory. Typically this is only a 1 month difference.
more
Was this review helpful?
179
Mike B.
Quemado, NM
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/15/12
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stand-by Generator For A Remote Cabin
The Kohler 20RESA Generator is an excellent product. My cabin is completely off the grid and solar / wind powered. The generator is only used in the event of a system failure.

The mechanical design of the enclosure and particularly the systems connections are well thought out and easy to use. Periodic maintenance will be a snap thanks to the easy access filter and oil drain tube.

The system's remote start capability allows my power system controllers to determine when the generator is... more
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Mike,
We need to remind folks that off-grid use of stand-by generators will void the factory warranty; they are intended for use with standard electrical power installations only.
more
Was this review helpful?
149
Steven T.
Boca Raton, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Installed & Ran For 2 Days Then Died
The control module was defective. Did initial start up and ran. Then got an error code on module and refused to run. Service tech deemed to be a faulty control board. Waiting now 2 weeks for replacement part from Kohler. Live in Florida and experience frequent power outages from FPL and hence the need for a standby generator. Right now, unit looks good and that is all. No word when the part will be available. Not a happy camper!
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Unreliable, Durability
Steven Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Steven,
We apologize for the issues you're having with your generator. If there's anything else we can help you with, please contact us.
more
Was this review helpful?
117
Chad M.
Cream Ridge, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Top Of The Line, But Access To Warranty Service Is An Issue
I am very happy with my transaction from EGD, but I've had a couple issues with installation and service.

PROs
The unit is solid, generally well made, and well thought out. I really enjoy the OnCue system in particular.

CONs
The air intake access panel is impossible to replace once removed. I damaged it trying to put it back on, and I've been waiting weeks for Kohler's local distributor responsible for warranty service to respond.

12/7/12 After the heavy demands on the generator... more
Was this review helpful?
1410
Mervin F.
Interlaken, NJ
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Kohler Composite Enclosures Crack
I have a 3 year old Kohler 20 kw Composite Home Standby Generator. I just noticed several cracks in the composite enclosure and although the generator has a 5 year warranty, there's only a 1 year on the composite enclosure. This should have been a red flag that the composite enclosures were junk. The fix will not be cheap, either a new generator or changing out the enclosure which would be a major undertaking.
Mervin Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Mervin,
I would suggest contacting Kohler directly or a servicing dealer. These composite enclosures have been on the market for sometime now and I'm unaware of any issues regarding them cracking.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mervin,
We apologize for the issues you’ve experienced. Our customer service and field service teams have been working on this situation for you recently, and it is our understanding that you have been contacted by the Kohler field service supervisor, who was able to come to an agreement on a resolution for you. We will politely consider this matter to be closed at this time to mutual satisfaction.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Keith W.
Edmond, OK
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/28/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Perfectly
The unit was delivered on time and in perfect condition. Got it all installed and the Kohler unit worked perfectly. I'm very well pleased with every aspect of the purchase.
Was this review helpful?
78
Edward R.
Kirkland, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/21/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
The generator was recommended by my electrician and is everything advertised. It works perfectly. Now, I am waiting for a storm.
Edward Recommends This Kohler Product
Was this review helpful?
46
Bruce
New Orleans, LA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/13/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Performance
Purchased this generator after a passing hurricane knocked out power for 6 days. We vowed not to have it again. A year and a half later it finally had its time to shine. After a tropical thunderstorm knocked out power on a summer night, the generator performed flawlessly. It powered the entire house including two 3.5 ton A/C units.
Pros: Reliable, Durable, Features, Easy To Use
Bruce Recommends This Kohler Product
Bruce's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Free and fast shipping!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
35
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Kohler 20RESA reviews.Compare our Kohler 20RESA ratings. Find the Kohler 20RESA Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct