Search
< Back to Product

Ingersoll Rand P1IU-A9 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$349.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Shipping$349.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$349.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$599.71
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Ingersoll Rand P1IU-A9 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (5)
Easy To Use (5)
Fast (2)
Price (2)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Cons
Heavy (6)
Gauges Are Not Easy To S... (1)
I Would Like Separate Ga... (1)
Could Use A Wheel Set (1)
Yellow Dipstick Hard To ... (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
25 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
234 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2850 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

An IR compressor speaks for itself with a reputation for durability and reliability- and this unit is no exception. That secured it our "Best" rating because it is great for various jobs such as trim, roofing, decking, framing, sheathing, etc.

The 120V electric motor gives you 4.4 CFM at 90 PSI. The wrap-around design protects the motor, and it's plumbed to run 2 hoses at once, with a separate gauge for each hose, doubling your productivity by letting 2 people work at once, or... more
Steve Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
5218
John Mcn.
Lilliwaup, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/21/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My P1iu-a9
My IR arrived with a bent tank gauge. The factory sent me a replacement, since then it has been in service with little use but works as expected!!
John Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Steven
Cheektowaga, NY
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Smaller Twin Tank Compressor
This has to be biggest baddest liittle compressor around!!!!!!!!!!

Yes, it is lower volume for constant high pressure for like using grinders, sanders, or such , but two of these built multiple 10,000 square foot homes, with two airline fittings per unit.

It's for the average JOE who needs a small high quality unit, which delivers enough air for removing the lug nuts or axle bolts on a motorcycle 15 times a year. It's cast iron,oil lubricated ...That"s the selling point......... more
Was this review helpful?
286
James
Mt. Vernon, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/13/10
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Product Is Perfect
I needed a compressor for general shop use. This product is perfect.

It will easily air up tractor and automotive tires. It's also portable, which is great for those offsite needs (although at 70+ pounds it's not like carrying your lunch).

I'm very satisfied with this product so far and would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
211
Robert C.
Canon City, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/13
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Keeps Up Easily With 2 Nailers
I received the compressor in great shape and took it to the job site immediately. Have used with two nailers, one framing, one trim, working simultaneously with no pressure problems whatsoever.

I have experienced no leaks of any kind and the pressure stays up consistently. The only drops occur when actually using the system for pressure requirements and the system keeps up easily with the requirements.

I highly recommend this compressor.
Was this review helpful?
190
Michael
Arlington, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/10
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Rating After 2nd Try
The I1IU-A9 came to my house fully operational however, the discharge pressure gauge was faulty, only showing a fraction of what the compressor was putting out (3 of 5 stars for Ingersoll Rand not QC'ng their outbound unit).

I was told to contact Ingersoll Rand (IR) for getting the unit fixed. IR told me the they would have to send me a new gauge. After a week I called IR and they told me the gauge was backordered and they did not know when it would be sent (1 of 5 stars for IR customer... more
Was this review helpful?
223
Heather
Bronson, FL
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2008
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I Used To Sell Craftsman Compressors
I am a former employee of the Sears tool territory. I sold lots of compressors and accessories, however Ingersoll Rand was always the brand preferred by many of my customers.

This brand is a true work horse. I bought one for my workshop and I love it.
Was this review helpful?
171
Mike D.
Rockaway, NJ
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Basically unpacked the machine, filled it with oil and turned it on. The tanks filled in about 55 seconds & ran 2 framing nailers all day long.

Been running like a charm for about a month now. Love it & would buy again...

1 issue is that it is very heavy, so I typically leave in the back of my truck and run a few long hoses.
Pros: Quiet, Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Mike Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
131
Peter C.
Stratham, NH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/8/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Weight
I've run pancake, hotdog and other twin stacks but this is my first oil lubed compressor and this takes the cake. Easily runs two roofing guns all day.

Haven't had it for long so can't comment on longevity but it does seem to run quieter than others I've used AND it hasn't blown a breaker yet.

It's heavy but manageable - IR might want to think about coming up with a wheeled version.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Peter Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
110
John Mays
Fairburn, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/27/13
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Little Trouble
I was not satisfied with your customer service at all. You billed my Pay-Pal account two times, and finally got it straight.

The compressor came with broken gauges and no decals. I called IR and great customer service had gauges to me in one day. However still no decals, I guess they do not need to advertise.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Good Compressor However It Came With Broken Guages And No Decals, I Contacted Ir And They Sent Guages Still No Decals
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
John Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
John,
Our records show you placed 2 orders- one thru PayPal and one through the Bill Me Later program. Once you let us know one of the orders needed to be cancelled we were happy to do so.

Your confirmation email asks customers to refuse the shipment if the unit arrives with damage. We're glad Ingersoll Rand replaced the gauges without asking you to file a shipping damage claim!
more
Was this review helpful?
124
David Werkhaus
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2006
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ingersoll Rand 2-hp 4-gallon Contractor Twin Stack Air Compressor Review
I shopped around a lot for a compressor for my work shop. In fact, I "test drove" several. This IR compressor impressed me from the start. It is quiet, powerful, smartly designed and durable. It is the best kept secret in compressors of this size/class.
Was this review helpful?
70
Gene S.
Presque Isle, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/19/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Quality Machine, But Too Heavy
A quality machine, but way too heavy to move around.

Also why would they put a yellow dipstick to see the level of yellow oil. Very hard to read. Rubber cushions on legs too flimsy. The slightest move and they fold over. You need a wrench to unscrew the oil plug to see the dipstick. I should be able to unscrew by hand.
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Yellow Dipstick Hard To Read
Gene Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Tracey Z.
Englewood, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/4/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Perfect.
Thank you, our air compressor is amazing. Everything was perfect from ordering to shipping. Thanks again!
Tracey Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Bruce Mce.
Simpsonville, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/8/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Tools Keep Me Smiling
It is a pleasure to own and use a quality built piece of equipment. Air Compressors Direct is good about getting orders out, even though they are drop-shipped from the factory.

This unit is set up in the work shop of a 70 acre horse farm. One outlet is connected to a 50' retractable tire hose, the other is for shop duty air tools, cleaning, etc. This means very little hooking and unhooking of things.

The unit runs strong and quiet, and I'm happy to have a nice compressor. Good... more
Was this review helpful?
61
Brent
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Quiet
I read the reviews before I bought, this compressor is not quiet. I am comparing it to the wheelbarrow compressors I own. The only positive is that it's lighter than a wheelbarrow compressor

Read the fine print about shipping, 4 to 7 business days and then it ships.
Steve, the Air Compressor Expert
Product Expert
Brent,
Large green letters on the web page for this compressor say "Ships In 4 to 7 Business Days". Business days are Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. We send your order to the factory with 24 hours, but it takes the factory a few days to get the order shipped out.

We email the shipping information to each customer as soon as we receive it. Natural disasters like Hurricane Sandy may slow deliveries down; we do apologize for any inconvenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
83
Jim Byers
Aurora, OR
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2010
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Problems
My compressor was shipped with a damaged tank pressure gauge, plus it was not the one that I ordered.

After doing all the start up procedures...adding oil etc, I fired it up it would not build pressure past 30lb and it popped the reset switch.

Second try, it sounded like it was going to seize up but tripped the switch again. Seems like the quality control at IR has gone to heck. This was my third IR compressor.

ACD RESPONDS: That unit has a 1 year Factory Warranty; please give... more
Was this review helpful?
94
Dean W.
Green Bay, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Low Noise Level
I have used and installed Ingersoll compressor equipment for years. I made the unfortunate mistake of buying another brand of compressor from Harbor Freight Tools. I only needed a compressor for small jobs and inflation needs. The compressor I bought from Harbor Freight lasted less that 3 months, I used it to pump bicycle tires.

I asked Harbor Freight if I could purchase the needed repair parts and the answer was "we don't provide repair parts, if you didn't purchase the replacement... more
Was this review helpful?
62
Jeff R.
Friendswood, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/15/13
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good To Go, Right Out Of The Box
It arrived in less than a week. Literally, I opened the box, added the oil and dipstick to the compressor, screwed on the air filter and was ready to go.

I plugged it in, flipped the control lever to auto and it started up. It is much quieter than I expected and pumped up very quickly and shut off.

It doesn't leak a bit of air and was exactly what I wanted. Excellent air compressor, I would highly recommend this to family and friends.

It's a great garage tool and a compact &... more
Was this review helpful?
62
Jeff
Macon, GA
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Unbelievable, Excellent, High Quality!
I've never used, heard or seen an Ingersol Rand air compressor, until I bought this one last week. Very high quality, and I couldn't believe how quiet it is. Just the sound of it running can tell you this is one very well made compressor. Will definitely buy another IR product.
Was this review helpful?
40
Gary C.
Pensacola, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ingersol Rand Air Compressor
Unit does exactly what I wanted it to do.
It seems to be of good quality.
I hope to be using it a long time.
Gary Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Allen W.
Katy, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/4/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy!
I would add instructions on how much oil to start with. The free oil included was a white bottle and I used about half of it to get the oil half way up the dip stick. That was after a little trial and error- I was afraid to over fill it.

Overall it's a great unit. I would buy it again.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Instructions Do Not Include The Amount Of Oil You
Allen Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Allen Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"It said will ship in 4 to 7 business days. so on the 7th day my notification said confirmed but not shipped. But, by the end of the day I received an email that UPS had dropped it at my front door- so I received it in 7 days. That's service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
63
James S.
Gravette, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yes Sir
Quality product. Runs smooth. Very happy.
James Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thank you for taking the time to review our product! We highly value your opinion and we are more than happy to have met your compressor needs.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mark S.
Coupeville, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/4/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Compressor
As others have noted, this compressor is heavy. It barely meets the definition of portable, especially if you are not as youthful as you may think you are. It could use a wheel kit.

On the other hand it is fairly quiet and powerful and seems well built.

The gauges are hard to read if you are standing above compressor, which you likely will be most of the time.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Could Use A Wheel Set, Gauges Are Not Easy To See When Standing Above Compressor
Mark Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Danny
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Heavy Compressor
Compact but hard to move around
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
Danny Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Jeffrey M.
Foristell, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/4/14
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product, Great Store!
Use PED. You will save money. That's all. Great store and great service.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Fast, High Quality
Cons: I Would Like Separate Gauge For Each Hose
Jeffrey Recommends This Ingersoll Rand Product
Was this review helpful?
43
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ingersoll Rand P1IU-A9 reviews.Compare our Ingersoll Rand P1IU-A9 ratings. Find the Ingersoll Rand P1IU-A9 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct