Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna Z254 Zero Turn Lawn Mower Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$3,556.62
(as of 07:27 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
Husqvarna 967 32 43-01 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (7)
Fast (7)
Easy To Use (5)
Price (4)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Cons
The Battery Is In An Awk... (1)
E It Will Be Difficult T... (1)
None So Far (1)
Very Loud (1)
Changed Rear Tires To Mo... (1)
88% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
34 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Randy G.
Belle Plaine, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/5/15
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
26 Hp Kohler
Plenty of power, quick and nimble. It will take a few times mowing to get used to the ztr. It sure does a good job around my trees. No damage from shipping. Easy to uncrate with a sawsall. Just make sure you turn on the gas valve before you try to start it. Shipping was fast and easy.
Randy Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
72
Jayanta T.
Montgomery, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Customer Service
Happy with the customer service and timelines.
Jayanta Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
72
George W.
Marsing, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/8/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower. Good Shipping Experience.
First zero turn for us .. little learning for a great product..
George Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Curtis W.
Loretto, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Don't Expect Delivery Unless You Go Get It Yourself !!
The right hand don't know what the left hand is doing.Was charged for home lift gate delivery , then got a call from carrier that my home was out of their district ,besides it was a 40 ft. trailer and as I live in the country (narrow roads)the truck could not turn around to leave.

I tried to take my own trailer to meet him 18 miles from my house, the crate was too large for my trailer, so all in all If I can't get it I suppose I don't need it. Reqeisting a Full refund
Curtis Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
86
Michael
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/24/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Buy
I purchased a Husqvarna Z254 from Mowers Direct. Given my 10-year old mower quit, I was in need of a mower and picked it up from the warehouse.

The set up was very straight forward and I literally was mowing an hour after taking it out of the crate.

The increased power (26 hp) and increase of mowing deck has allowed me to reduce my mowing time of my 1+ acre of land from an hour and a half to just over 45 minutes.
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Tim W.
Somerset, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast And Efficient!
This is my first zero turn mower and it is more than I expected! The large deck and ability to turn on a dime have cut my mowing time from 3.5hrs down to 1.5 hours (I mow almost 3 acres).

The controls: I love the controls while on the level areas of my lawn. It does leave a little to be desired when on hills where I cannot approach them head on. Mowing on the side of the hills or trying to turn while on a hill reduces the ability to steer the machine. The weight of the machine is in... more
Pros: High Quality, Fast, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Tim Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Tim's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The order process was fairly easy and painless, plus the finance options were very helpful. I would (and have) recommend this site to others."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Tony M.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/5/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1.25 Acres, Lawn - No Brush
July 30, 2016:
I have had the Mower for 2 weeks and no issues. Runs and mows great. This is my first riding mower.

Ordering Process:
I have never ordered anything this large online so I was a bit nervous. But the process was seamless and the Mowers Direct team did a great job keeping me notified of when things shipped. Suzi did a great job helping me correct an address issue.

Receipt of Mower:
The mower arrived on the scheduled day and the SAIA driver did a great job... more
Tony Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Tony's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"I have never ordered anything this large online so I was a bit nervous. But the process was seamless and the team including Suzi did a great job keeping me notified of when things shipped and even helping me correct an address issue. Before ordering this mower online, I purchased the same model at Lowe's, approximately 15 miles away. What a disaster!!! After giving up Lowe's, I got my money back and went out on a limb and purchased online thru Mowers Direct and have no regrets. The mower arrived on the scheduled day within the scheduled window and the SAIA driver did a great job getting the mower delivered. I would definitely recommend the tailgate service. The only issue that we had was with some accessories. Fedex just left them at the gate and it seems that they could care less if you get the packet or not."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Russell H.
La Porte, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/27/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice
I kicked around buying this mower online for a couple of years. I was afraid of the nightmares that are possible when making a large purchase. I have had a wonderful expirience. The mower arrived packaged up and in great condition. Within an hour I had it uncreated and assembled. Now I have mowed with it several times and all I can say is I should have bought it earlier. Love this mower!!
Russell Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Lonnie M.
Greenwood, FL
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Zero Turn For The Money
This was my first zero turn mower. I an so glad that I choose the Husqvarna. It a powerful and fast mower. I can mower 3 acres in about 1 hour and a half.

I would recommend the mower to any one. The only con is the gas tank. Can't tell how much gas in the tank. It didn't take long to learn how to drive it. Great mower,
Lonnie Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
10
Troy C.
Newtown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/16/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Residential Mower
This is the 2nd Z5426 I've bought. This one is the revised model(Z254). First one is in its 3rd season of use at a mountain house with 3+ acres to cut, and this one is only on about its 3rd cut of about 1 acre, w a 3 bin bagger. Both do a great job.

The first model did have a belt tensioner pulley seize. Easy fix and part was readily available. I think I could have had it done under the warranty, but it was easier for me to do it rather than pack it up and haul to authorized dealership.
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Rear Tires Spin Out Too Easy On Slightly Wet Or Incline Terrain, Changed Rear Tires To More Aggressive Tread At Mountain House
Troy Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
John B.
Terrell, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/7/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Woodturner
Mower is great!!! Shipper was disappointing. The mower was shipped on the afternoon I ordered it. The mower arrived in our area the next day (Friday). The next day it was moved to a central hub in Dallas, (Saturday) and then moved back to our area the next day. I called the shipper, who said the mower would be delivered Tuesday.

Took the day off, to be here for the delivery, only to find out after my call on Tues evening that the mower was never put in the truck. The mower was finally... more
John Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Ryan G.
Lincoln, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Mower Is Great.
I love this mower. The only bad thing is you don't know how much gas is in it. I just top it off every time I mow and its fine. I also got the bagger system for it. It is really easy to stop and dump the three bags and start mowing again. 5 stars in my book.
Pros: High Quality, Fast, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No Gas Gauge
Ryan Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
John B.
Mead, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Mower
Have no previous experience with zero turn mowers, takes a little time getting used to steering controls. After about 30 minutes had a pretty good command of it.

Added the mulching blades because of the size of the new yard and is working great as long as you half lap your path to re-mulch the clippings. Unit is powerful and makes fast work of 1 acre of lawn and 1 acre of native grass area. Has not disappointed.
John Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
00
Dante G.
Belle Vernon, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/8/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good....
Great mower so far i cut 1-1/2 acres and love it. Some people complain about it throwing grass everywhere. I don't think its that bad at all it just really mulches the grass so finely that it does blow around some. The 26hp motor is a little loud for some people I'm sure. Overall, I love it so far.
Dante Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Lora W.
Monroe, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
It came as advertised. I chose to order the lift gate service, and we were able to slide it onto my 8' utility trailer! It's crated up nicely, but a hammer and a pry bar opens it up in about 5 minutes. You have to cut the fabric straps to roll it off.

The only thing to attach is the seat and control bars, which was very easy! I filled it up with gas, checked the oil and started mowing! It looks like it gets about 2 hours with a full tank.
Lora Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Clint T.
Grand Rapids, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/31/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
Great product, delivered fast.
Clint Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
11
Rex D.
Fulton, NY
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
This was my first zero turn mower, it cuts good and has plenty of power. Yes, there is no way to tell how much gas you have but I haven't yet ran out when I mow, and I mow over 3 acres. To the person that ran over the piece of metal, that would have done damage to any mower - you just have to be more careful!!!
Rex Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
22
Robert B.
Archer City, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower For You Wife
I am disabled and my wife takes care of our ranch, she mows with her new Husqvarna about three acres of it. She has had an old zero turn mower and wanted a new one.

I found your company on the web and it was as easy as 1,2,3 and it was in our driveway. She has had a good time on it, and is very thankful for her new Husqvarna. Thank you for all your help.
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Robert's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Your people made this a no-brainer, Thank you."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Harlan K.
Manistee, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/20/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nine But
I am 5 foot 11 the seat does not go back far enough. I have a little bigger belly and when you pull back the bars to go in reverse they hit my belly. Also no way in telling how full gas tank is. Also I bought arm rests. They do not adjust high enough they have no adjustment to raise or lower.
Harlan Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
68
Brian G.
Copperas Cove, TX
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Is A Beast
I have been mowing 4.6 Acres with a regular rider for 15 years and decided to make the change to a 0-Turn Mower. After alot of research I decided on the Z254 and I couldn't be happier. Not only have I cut my mowing time from around 8 hours to about 3 1/2 but the maintenance is so easy on this mower. Zerk fittings in all the important places to prevent wearing out of components so fast, the removable floorboard and the deck wash system tie it all together. Well thought out rig!
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Brian Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
1128
Robert B.
Peidmont, OK
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
Got this mower last year and wished I had it years earlier. Had a 42" riding mower that took about 1 hour to mow a flat 1 acre , this mower takes only 35 minutes and gives a smooth clean cut.

The handles turn the mower very quickly, so be careful or it may tear up the lawn. I practiced in the driveway first and glad I did. The only down side is it took an act of God to get the first oil change done. I would recommend reviewing a YouTube video on how to change the oil and Filter. ... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Very Loud
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
698
Darren J.
Del Rio, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Zero Turn Mower
Bought this zero-turn because I have over 3-acres to mow and lots of trees to circle. The shipping on this mower was super fast, and the delivery guy was helpful.

Getting the mower out of that crate is a challenge. I recommend that you purchase a pry bar, a claw hammer and have a coffee can handy to place the nails.

Took me about an hour to get the hang of the zero-turn, but now I feel comfortable and can complete the entire yard in less than two hours. Great mower, and it starts right... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Fast
Darren Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Darren's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I spent weeks researching affordable zero-turn law mowers rated just below the commercial grade. I then asked a friend, who owns a repair shop, which mower he would purchase. He recommended the Husqvarna. Great mower, you will like it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
488
John
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/4/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Won't Get Clipped Purchasing This Machine
I purchased this mower for my son-in-law after researching zero turns extensively. It arrived 2 days after I ordered it and true to what others testified to it was crated in a lot of protective wood. A saws-all made short work of uncrating it. After a small amount of required assembly, it fired up and we were off and mowing. Wow, what a machine! My son-in-law then drove it on to a trailer and took it home to his 5 acre estate.

The next morning we received a phone call from our daughter... more
John Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
374
Frederick V.
Augusta, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Mower
I have used the mower twice so far this year and have to say I really like it, the low center of gravity, easily accessible controls and the power are all points in its favor. I am very happy with it.
Frederick Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Frederick's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I contacted Mowers Direct prior to purchase with several questions, they provided good answers and made me feel comfortable with the purchase. Gave good notification for the delivery and followed through. Highly recommended. I would use them again, but doubt I will have to as the Husqvarna should last me for a long time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
4816
Steven A.
Andover, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/12/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Z 254 26 Hp Kohler Zero Turn
After assembling the mower I was filling it up with fuel and noticed that there is no way to tell how much fuel you have in the mower. No sight window, no gauge. nothing. Very odd that this was missed by Husqvarna because a major part of a gas engine is GAS and knowing how much you have in the tank.

Second thing I found out is that with the bagger on and you stop to say pick up a stick the muffler burns the grass 6" wide and 30" long. I contacted mowers direct about this major... more
Steven Does Not Recommend This Mower
Was this review helpful?
5021
Jim R.
Simpsonville, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/23/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Late Than Never
After using a riding lawn mower for the past 4 summers to cut one acre with 200 trees on it, my new Husqvarna Z254 is a true time saver. What use to take 3 hours, now takes about 1 hour. I wish I would have made the switch years ago but better late than never.
Pros: High Quality, Fast, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: None So Far
Jim Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
234
Doug
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/13/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Not Just A Beast, A Fast Beast!
I just had mine delivered this afternoon. I followed advice of one of the other comments on this site and had my reciprocal saw on hand. It made it easy to disassemble. I recommend that any buyers sever the top and sides first and do not cut away any of the bottom. Just roll it off.

Unfortunately I didn't know this was part of the directions, but you had to get through the crate first to get to the directions under the seat. Don't be like me and "wing it" on starting the... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, Fast, Easy To Use
Cons: The Battery Is In An Awkward Position Under The Seat And I Believ, E It Will Be Difficult To Change Out
Doug Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
195
Adam L.
Englewood, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Solid Choice
This is my second Zero turn mower and represents an upgrade from my 9 year old Troy Built. It is quick, responsive, agile. Not especially fast on the straightaways. Not especially quiet. Good controls, easy to reach everything.

It's nice not having a separate parking brake. It's nice removing the plate to blow off the deck. Pretty comfortable seat and ride. So it won't blow your mind but you will get your money's worth (assuming it is as reliable as advertised, I have had the mower... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use
Adam Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
132
Johnsam C.
Plainfield, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/22/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
This mower replaced our 48" Craftsman.What used to take 3-3.5 hours is now under 2.Easy set-up out of the crate and no problems at all. We have just under 10 hours on it and all good.

Bought the armrest kit and that was easy install.If i had 1 complaint it would be the need for a fuel gauge on the gas cap.Otherwise very happy!
Johnsam Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
154
James M.
Webster, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/14/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower!
I have close to 3 acres and had been relying on a 15 year old John Deere for the last three years. This mower has cut (pun intended!) my mow time from 3 hours to 1. The only challenging part of buying this mower was removing the crate it came packaged in. Like some other comments, a sawzall did the trick and now I have had a couple really nice bonfires. This is a great mower, solid, fast, turns on a dime. Next step is to install the mulch kit.
James Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
101
Carl O.
Lawrenceville, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than Most
Overall, satisfied. Ample power and clean cut. Couple of disappointments are no sight window for fuel. Understand this has been addressed. Unit I purchased was sold as a 2015 model but has no sight window.

If a change has been made it would be nice if Husquavarna forwarded necessary parts for fuel window. Also, knob on throttle is an afterthought and comes off easily. I would recommend this mower.
Carl Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Carl's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"No problems. Easy piezy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
112
Randy H.
Middletown, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/17/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Investment!!!
This is my first zero turn mower and I'm glad I choose this one. It has lots of power and handles great.
Randy Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
80
Bohdan B.
Howell, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bohdans Funny Farm
Love it. Took a few cuts to get used to the zero turn.
Bohdan Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
80
Tyler
Caldwell, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/22/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Problems In The First 2 Hours Of Use
After unloading my new mower I had only put 2 hours on it before hitting a small piece of aluminum trim that was down in the grass and it tore up the underneath of the mower deck. The spot welds that hold the diverter under the deck in between the blades came loose because of a bad welding job and it: bent 2 blades, broke a spindle, smoked/melted the belt, and bent up the diverter which I had to heat with a torch to get bent back and then re-weld to get fixed, aside from installing new blades... more
Tyler Does Not Recommend This Mower
Tyler's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mowers direct had a good price and was fast and professional"
 more
Was this review helpful?
1217
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 967 32 43-01 reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 967 32 43-01 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 967 32 43-01 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct