Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 965 08 40-01 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$339.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$339.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$339.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$370.33
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$339.95
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Husqvarna 965 08 40-01 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Light Weight (9)
Price (7)
Fast (6)
High Quality (5)
Easy To Use (5)
Cons
Expensive (1)
Not A One Pull Start But... (1)
Very Hard To Start (1)
Unreliable (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
19 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Sharon L.
Kissimmee, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally A Reliable Chainsaw
After buying many different brands of low end chainsaws and always be disappointed in how they performed and mainly how difficult they were to start I bit the bullet and finally got what I always wanted.

I'm so happy with my new Husqvarna it starts very predictably every time no hassle. You know what that means not to get exhausted trying to start a stubborn chainsaw? I love it.
Sharon Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Matt H.
Monroeville, IN
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Saw
We have used Stihl chainsaws for the better part of thirty years and have always been satisfied with their performance so I am not going to jump on the "bash Stihl" bandwagon. I felt this year it was time to add another saw to our collection, and after a great deal of research, I decided to purchase a Husqvarna 455 Rancher.

Needless to say, I raised a few eyebrows in our family of loyal Stihl owners! I am so far very pleased with this saw. It can handle a twenty inch bar, but I... more
Matt Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Wes O.
Dallas, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/22/15
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Chainsaw
Overall pleased with the chainsaw & have a few good hours using it without issue. Seems to run smooth & effectively tackling tasks.
Wes Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Charles R.
Ramona, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/15
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Husqvarna 445
Bought this saw 1 year ago, and it works okay. The spark plug wire wasn't hooked up to the spark plug on delivery, so it took me a few minutes to figure out why it wouldn't start.

When it's warm, it is very hard to start. Other than that, I like it. I don't think I would buy it again only because it's hard to start.
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Durable, Quiet
Cons: Unreliable, Very Hard To Start
Charles Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Douglas S.
Williamsburg, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/14/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cuts Logs Like Butter
I have a 16" Stihl and this saw is sooooo much easier to cut with. Much faster. I like the Husqvarna much better than the Stihl however when the chain loosens on the Husqvarna, the tightening process takes longer and is more difficult. Definitely a hassle with the Husqvarna.

I also bought a carrying case for the Husq and the Stihl carrying case is superioior in ease, size, and handling.
Douglas Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Douglas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The research I did with your website was fantastic. Everything I wanted & needed, and a few things I liked that I didn't even realize I wanted. Spec sheet for example. Negative: Site would not accept my credit card based on search engine I was using? I had to call in the order."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Will I.
Davis, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/22/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Deal
Good saw for homeowners. Easy start and great for limbs pruning and small trees. Was quoted 1600 for clearing up some small trees and limbs. Saw paid for itself 3 times over in one day. Not for cutting cords of wood, but fits the bill for around the yard.
Pros: Fast, Price, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Will Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Timber
Kalispel, MT
Total Helpful Votes
49 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Husqvarna 445, Great Saw
I live in small town Montana and had a old Poulan 55 Super from the 60's hand me down and worked great till a friend ran straight gas through it. so I needed a saw and I was looking to upgrade to a more prosumer saw. Looking around I saw this 445 at just the right price and decided to take a chance. This saw is easy to start, its lite with great features and can handle the small to medium cuts with ease. Me and a friend decided to put the saw to the test and took a 22" diameter tree. ... more
Was this review helpful?
491
Len M.
Clemmons, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/26/13
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Huaqvarna 455 Is A Great Chainsaw For Guys Over 70 Years Old
I used my friends 450 to cleanup my property after a storm. I bought the 445 because its a bit lighter due to the smaller displacement engine. However it has all the same good features and reliability. It eats up the wood just as well and started on the third pull.
It's definitely a quality tool..
Pros: Price, Light Weight, Reliable, High Quality
Len Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
314
Jared R.
Forest, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/15/13
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Saw
Well worth the money. It costs a little bit at first, but it saves a lot of time and that's worth it all in its self. It also light which helps with my back and runs smooth and cuts through logs amazingly. Sawing up fire wood is no longer a chore with this saw it actually excites me to be able to fire this saw up and go to work. Starting has been easy hot or cold.
Pros: Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality
Jared Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Jared Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Chainsaws Direct answered all my questions in a very timely manner and I ordered my saw on a Monday and it was on my doorstep Wednesday afternoon. I couldn't have asked for better service or delivery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
150
Andy
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Little Saw!
I haven't had it long, so can't comment on durability.

It showed up quickly and seems to be a high quality piece. It has a nice overall appearance and the fit and finish of all parts seems very nice.

It starts easily and willingly rips through the small to medium size wood I have used it on. It runs strong and has plenty of power. I couldn't be happier with it.

Free shipping and no sales tax are a great added bonus. I do wish I had known about the extended warranty offered by... more
Pros: Light Weight, High Quality, Price
Andy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
130
Randy O.
Beavertown, PA
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Chainsaw I Ever Owned
Have owned 445 for 3 yrs other than changing the chain and routine maintenance, no problems.
Pros: Light Weight, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Easy On Fuel
Randy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Nolen S.
Lagrange, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/1/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chainsaw For The Price
I purchased this chainsaw a few weeks ago and I have been very satisfied with it. I have no complaints about it as it runs, starts and idles wonderfully. No issues with starting but I am very familiar with Husq as all my yard tools are Husq or built by them. Looking back I do wish i got a bigger one... kinda one of those things a big one can do everything that a smaller one can't. If you are waffling between this one or something bigger, my suggestion is to go larger. If you do decide on this... more
Pros: Light Weight, Fast, Price, Easy To Use
Nolen Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Nolen's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Super happy with the site and service. Great location for a one stop shop to compare and order from. If I need another chainsaw I will be back."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Eric R.
Vinton, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/10/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
I just used it this past weekend for the first time and it performed like a champ. I cut an entire truckload of wood in about 30 minutes. Oak, Maple & Cherry. I would buy this saw again.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Eric Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Eric Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website was easy to use and I will shop here in the future"
 more
Was this review helpful?
91
James B.
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/6/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Jim's New Husqvarna Adventure
I have had this saw a couple of weeks. Have cut up a 12" diameter Ash tree. It saws through it very easily. I haven't had it long enough to speak of it's endurance, but so far so good.

It takes me a few pulls to start it, even following the directions to the letter. I'm starting to think this is par for the course on all chainsaws.

I had read some remarks about the single nut holding the chain bar and the need to make sure it is tight. Knowing this I immediately changed it out... more
Pros: Fast, Price, Easy To Use, See
Cons: Not A One Pull Start But Not Bad Either
James Recommends This Husqvarna Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Good selection, easy to compare feature and competitive pricing. Arrived in two days. I was pleased with the site and the quick delivery for a fairly large item. The saw was kinda loose in the Husqvarna box, so it was rattling around in it when I picked it up, but no harm done. I suppose Chainsaws Direct has them drop shipped from the manufacturer and does not repack. Might be better if Husqvarna put a bit of recyclable stuffing in the box."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Bob
Hobart, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/8/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
2nd Pull
This saw started on the second pull, new!

It went through some 8" branches quicker than any other saw I've had. I couldn't believe how light and maneuverable this was.

I'd buy this again from Chain Saws Direct. It was delivered in 2 days!
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Easy To Use, Reliable
Bob Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Bob's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Could not have been better."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Matt H.
New Fairfield, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/13/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I have used this chain saw to cut about two (full) cords of wood and love it. Starts on only a few pulls and is very easy to pull. Have gotten it bound up a few times with no damage to saw. It is well built. The only issue I've had is that the nut to hold the bar loosened up on me once. That was an easy fix and is something that is likely to happen with any saw. Highly recommend this saw for trees up to 20".
Pros: Fast, Durable, Reliable, Easy To Start
Matt Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Clifford C.
Grand Prairie, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/29/13
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Home Owner - Self Maintain
Used several chainsaws, But this one is at the top of the list if you want to get some cutting done.
I must admit I did have some difficulties at first with the supplied bar, chain would come off, I purchased a Oregon bar and chain and have not had an issue since.

Follow the directions on starting and use the 2 cycle pre mixed gas in the can with no ethanol in it and this thing starts right off and you can set it on the ground and it will just idle away, I normally kill a chain saw when... more
Clifford Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Clifford's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Used Google to validate and check prices. Chain Saws Direct got the nod, and I purchased. I received with no issues, have had no follow-ups, and I'm a happy customer."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Gary G.
Corning, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/15
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Completely Satisfied
I needed to buy a new chainsaw and was tired of disappointments with Poulan and Craftsman models. This saw is simply awesome and head and shoulders above the competition. I was hesitant to part with the additional money but I am convinced this will be the last chainsaw I will ever need to buy. It has more than enough power to handle just about anything you can throw at it.

I haven't had any issues with starting that some have complained of as long as you follow the directions. It isn't... more
Pros: Light Weight, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Gary Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'm very pleased with my purchase experience with these folks and would absolutely buy from them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
John M.
Crossville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/15
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Completely Satisfied
I have used my saw for cleanup after an ice storm that caused much damage to the trees in my area.
I lost a 10' x 20' canopy due to a large limb that broke from the accumulation of ice. My saw performed faultlessly.
John Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 965 08 40-01 reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 965 08 40-01 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 965 08 40-01 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct