Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 964 95 40-03 Reel Lawn Mowers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$159.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$159.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$159.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Husqvarna 964 95 40-03 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (8)
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Easy To Store (3)
Durable (3)
Cons
Unreliable (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
Long Grass Gets Caught A... (1)
76% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
33 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
91 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12427 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

Who ever thought a company known for its chain saws and its riding tractors could produce such a terrific reel mower? Just check out the Husqvarna 64.

Itís one of the quietest reel mowers available. It is easy to use and lightweight. It will take a bit longer to cut your yard with this models 16Ē cutting width, but the narrower width makes it easier to maneuver and easier to push through patches of taller grass.

This model features a greater height adjustment range than most reel... more
Jose Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
7811
Jean S.
Lansing, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Reel Mower. Glad I Bought It.
Cuts well. I'm a 74 year old woman and I put it together myself - my work looks clumsy, but hey, the mower cuts fine anyway. I will probably ask someone to loosen the roller bolts just a bit. I also purchased the blade sharpening kit in case the blades get dull some years hence.
Jean Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Jean's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Reliable."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary A.
Auburn, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/24/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Convinced Yet
I just recently received the mower and am not yet convinced it was a good purchase. I have used it only twice and find that, due to the lack of traction on the plastic wheels, it skips along working only 50% of the time. Taking a back and forth approach is better but if I were to cut the entire lawn like that it would take hours. Oh for the old rubber wheel days!
Gary's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"The plastic wheels slide making a constant cutting action nearly impossible."
 more
Jose, the Lawn Mower Expert
Product Expert
Gary,
slightly loosening the wheels may help them to turn easier. Don't over-loosen them though, just make sure they're not over-tightened. Best of luck, and thank you for the helpful review. We appreciate your feedback.
Was this review helpful?
40
Carol
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/28/13
Total Helpful Votes
35 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good For Females
I have a Gardner but wanted the ability to maintain my lawn whenever I wanted to. As a female I don't have the upper body strength to pull the cords on other mowers to get them started. This mowers was perfect for me. It was very easy to use. I can cut a portion of my law in less than an hour and it gives me a great work out. Since it is quiet, I can cut my grass at 7 am without disturbing my neighbors and before the sun comes out. I love the independence that this mover gives me!
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Light Weight
Carol Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
351
Molly W.
Forest Grove, OR
Total Helpful Votes
34 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Almost Makes Mowing Fun!
We recently moved from a farm to a small house in town with a small fairly flat lawn. Because we have so little storage space I wanted a mower I could hang on the wall so a reel mower seemed like the right solution. I did quite a bit of research and finally decided on my Husqvarna because of the quality of their products. Then I had to decide where to buy it. I chose Mowers Direct because of the free shipping and quick delivery. I placed my order late Monday and expected the mower to... more
Was this review helpful?
340
Sherri M.
Lafayette, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/13
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love My New Mower!
I used a gas mower for years on our small patch of grass in the backyard. Clunk it out of the garage, hope it would start, put on the clippings catcher bag, LOUDLY push through the yard for 15 minutes, then do the whole process in reverse. When a neighbor got his new Husqvarna reel mower and raved about it, I took him up on his offer to borrow it. I ordered mine that night and it arrived a few days later.

Now I love to mow the backyard and can do it at 6:30 on a Saturday morning, which... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Durable, Quiet
Sherri Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Sherri Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything was easy!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
230
Loren B.
Huntsville, AL
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Terrible Product
This mower represents some of the worst engineering I have ever seen. After owning several cheaper, lesser known brands, I decided to spend the bucks for a name brand - was I ever wrong. The height roller is made of lightweight plastic, has no weight and bounces as soon as you start pushing the mower. As a result, the grass is very uneven - I have to mow my grass both ways and at least 4 times to get it even. Don't waste your money on this unit.
Was this review helpful?
285
Mike T.
Morris, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/30/13
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hot Knife Thru Butter
The first time I mowed the grass was really long, we had a lot of rain and it had grown a lot. But as soon as it dried up enough for me to mow I set the mower to the tallest setting and it worked like a charm. I waited a couple of days and lowered it a couple of settings and mowed again....no problem. Bare in mind we have a very small yard. When I used to mow with the 20 inch power mower I was done in 25 minutes to 1/2 hour.
It's so nice, no more buying gas or oil or filter.....no more... more
Was this review helpful?
221
Geoff
San Mateo, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/6/15
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use Mower On Hillside.
Researched several reel mowers, conventional gas and electric models. All were too heavy to lug up/down 43 steps to a hillside lawn or too expensive.

Then read about this Husqvarna model. It's easy to use along a 20% incline (diagonally or side-to-side). Cuts clean and easy. Weighs in at less than 20lbs. No gas to buy or batteries to charge/replace. A nice an efficient tool. Bought optional grass catcher, and sharpening kit.

Mower comes in a box, and can be assembled in just a few... more
Geoff Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
130
Amy C.
Madison, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower, Excellent Customer Service.
The mower is very easy to use and manage for my small yard. I received excellent customer service (despite UPS headaches), and wouldn't hesitate to purchase from Mowers Direct, or to purchase the mower again.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Amy Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Amy Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I received excellent customer service. UPS damaged the first mower, and sent me and Mowers Direct in circles, but Mowers Direct was very helpful, followed up with me at multiple points, and got everything taken care of. It was very nice to have solid customer service and have everything taken care of."
 more
Was this review helpful?
141
Nathaniel H.
Billings, MT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/14
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy!
I wanted a reel lawn-mower because I don't want to wake up my neighbors early in the morning (even though they do it to me all the time). I particularly wanted a reel-mower made here in America. I was told by a customer service agent that this was the only one offered. When I got it, set-up was very easy and I went to mowing. Unfortunately, the grass and weeds in my yard were over a foot tall when I got the mower because I just moved into this house. So it took about 7 passes over each spot... more
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality
Nathaniel Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Nathaniel's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Free shipping! Friendly customer service always a plus. Love the rating system."
 more
Was this review helpful?
120
Dan
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/23/14
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Cuts Great!
This mower is so lightweight and it cuts great. I love not having to worry about gasoline and it is so quiet also... This is exactly what I was looking for. I have already recommended it to friends!
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Dan Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
120
William C.
North Augusta, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/25/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Mower
I recently moved into a smaller home and needed to downsize. I found this excellent little mower at a great price.

I was delighted with ease of purchase, super quick delivery and a great product. Within a few minutes I attached the handle and was in business.

It has extremely smooth operation and is an ideal weight for ease of use and clean cutting. I highly recommend this product and Mowers Direct.
Was this review helpful?
102
Debbie V.
Buffalo, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love My Husqvarna 5 Blade!
I bought the 5 blade.....because my grass grows very quickly....and I need to mow often. This machine is wonderful....it gives a nice even cut...and is easy to use!....I get a good work-out using it!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price
Debbie Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
92
Ira D.
Brooklyn, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/17/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Top Of The Line
For a small property, in my case backyard, this hand mower does a fine job of cutting through the weeds and grass, allowing me to keep the area manageable without having to bend down and rip the weeds out by hand. Easy to put together and easily stored. Good price.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Price, Light Weight, Reliable, High Quality
Ira Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
71
Rowena
Canadian, OK
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Exercise Program
At 73 years of age and getting lazy, I decided to develop my own exercise program. With my new Husqvarna reel mower I get plenty of walking and some upper body work also. I love the fact that it is light weight and easy to push.

I no longer have to drive 30 miles round trip to purchase gasoline or pay for new spark plugs, oil or maintenance. When I am ready to mow so is my mower--no battery to charge. I can mow as much or as little as I want and not have the hassle of restarting the... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Patricia R.
Chisago City, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/26/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well For Lazy Homeowner Birders
I have a lot of mowing to do on my 2-1/2 acre lot. My mower works well cutting everything down to size. The height adjustment is quick and easy to use. I especially like the way the sound of the mower causes birds to chirp in the evening.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: Long Grass Gets Caught Around The Wheel Shaft
Patricia Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Linda N.
Bismarck, ND
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/28/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Mower
I was pleasantly surprised at how well it works and leaves the lawn looking quite beautiful. I would definitely recommend this mower and I have a very large lawn, good exercise!
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Linda Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
50
Maury
Tyler, TX
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bad Investment
I wish this review was a good one. I could be happy with the product. The mower is too light weight to keep traction to the wheels. Light weight is great if all you plan to do is carry it around. Without traction between tires and ground the blade jams and you don't mow. I plan to add a weight to the top of the mower as a band-aid fix. I could not advise anyone who wants this type of mower to buy this one.
Was this review helpful?
61
Aldo
Auburn, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/12/11
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Lawnmower
I received it and had the handle assembled within 10 minutes. I tried it out and love it! The only thing people need to remember is that, it does not get close to the edges and you need a trimmer or edger to clean them up.

I recommend it to anybody that wants to get some exercise and not pollute the air.

I also received it a day ahead of schedule, thank you!
Was this review helpful?
50
Jan M.
Knoxville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/25/11
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Quiet
We have a small amount of grass in our backyard due to extensive planting beds. I decided this spring I'd find a reel mower. Our lawn person uses a mower which is too large to come through the gates into the back. For the past 3 years he has used a trimmer and I was never satisfied with the results.

I am quite pleased with the Husqvarna. I especially like the quiet of mowing with a reel mower. It's my time. I get some much-needed exercise and the grass is actually cut. This mower fits... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Carey
Granville, NY
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Pusher
My husband works for a Husqvarna dealership and thought I'd like one of these, so he bought me one and I LOVE IT!

It is so much easier to mow around my dogs and pool. Cuts Great...Plus the kids are always asking to mow with it, And BEST YET- NO GAS NEEDED, JUST LEG POWER!

Can't get no better than that!
Was this review helpful?
40
Cindy
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/17/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna
I have a large back yard and steep sidewalk along the street. I bought this mower to mow the slope and when I have much time to mow. It works great for me and my family, light, easy to handle, and quiet. Great product.
Was this review helpful?
30
Elan
Kansas City, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2011
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Wheels Keep Jamming
I bought this because of the good reviews but I can't mow my lawn with it. The wheels jam every few steps, even after adjustments. There were no sticks or anything caught it in either. For the grass it did end up cutting though, it cut well. Maybe I just got a bad one.
Was this review helpful?
30
Chris
Plainfield, IL
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower
I love the mower. It was easy to assemble, and easy to adjust the cutting length. The only issue I had was the fact that the bagger was $50. Pretty high priced for what it is. However, I don't regret the purchase one bit. I went to your retail location in Bolingbrook, IL and bought it. The customer service was superb.
Was this review helpful?
30
Mike
Fort Worth, TX
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Reel Type Mower
My wife has wanted one of these for years. Finally gave her one.
Lost some nuts and bolts putting together. My Bad!

Mows easily - cuts well - easy to height adjust. We were born in the late 1930's. This is all they had back then. Everyone needs one. Thanks
Was this review helpful?
30
Joe
Columbia, SC
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!!!!
This mower really works great.

The neighbors keep coming over asking to use it.

It's time for them to get their own :-)
Was this review helpful?
30
Richard C.
Clinton, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Good Start
Delivery was excellent....on time as promised. Product was easy to set up to proper cutting height. Really important to mow before grass gets any higher than 3 to 3.5 inches. Doesn't cut crab grass very well but generally does a good job.
Richard Recommends This Husqvarna Mower
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael J.
Seaback, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Great Mower For A Great Price
We could not believe how wonderful this mower cuts and the range of heights you can set it for. We are building a practice chipping and putting green and needed to cut the grass at less than one inch. The Husqvarna can be set as low as half an inch and mows like a dream. The price including shipping was impossible to beat!
Was this review helpful?
20
Richard J.
Vineyard Haven, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/15/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower And Company
I used my NovoCut 16" for the very first time this morning. Wow!! It is light weight, easy to push, use, and performs exceptionally well.

I would not hesitate in the least to recommend this mower and it's purchase from MOWERS DIRECT. It is great and so is Mowers Direct.
Was this review helpful?
20
Ed R.
Hot Springs Village, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/31/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not A Good Investment
I would not recommend this product to anyone as it does not meet expectations. I have Zoysia grass and this mower does not cut evenly (even though I re-aligned the cutting edges). You have to make several paces to get the lawn looking good. In short, it takes two to three times as long to mow my small yard than it did with my old gas mower.
Was this review helpful?
88
Paul S.
Otsego, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/19/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not What I Expected
This mower is a lot of work. Constantly needing to have something pulled out of it. I'm really disappointed.
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
1015
H M.
Kelowna, WA
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not For Me
I would not recommend this. It does a terrible job and I've gone back to polluting the environment with my rotary gas mower.
Was this review helpful?
313
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 964 95 40-03 reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 964 95 40-03 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 964 95 40-03 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct