Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna ST227P Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,049.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,099.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 961 93 00-97 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
3/5
Performance
3/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Price (3)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
Durable (1)
Fast (1)
Cons
Durability (1)
Unreliable (1)
Low Quality (1)
Auger Doesn't Work (1)
Better Skids (1)
57% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
23 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Peter G.
Lebanon, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/24/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Back Thanks Me For Buying The Husqvarna St227p!!!
I've owned a snapper snowblower and recently a Cub Cadet 526SWE. I'm 6'3" and after 3 snow seasons my back simply couldn't take the Cub Cadet's low handles any longer. I ordered the new Husky ST227P, primarily because of the adjustable handles/control panel. (And sold my CC for almost what I paid for it brand new 3 yrs ago)

I was concerned about the recent Husqvarna auger belt failures I was reading about but decided to order this unit from snowblowersdirect anyways.

It arrived in a... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Better Skids
Peter Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Dave
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Very Disappointed
I bought a Husqvarna yesterday at Lowe's, anticipating the blizzard that is about to hit the Northeast. I gassed it up and it started on the first pull. I soon realized that the auger was not turning - sort of an important function of a snowblower. I called Lowe's and they said it should work.
Pros: Looks Nice
Cons: Auger Doesn't Work
Dave Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Bruce T.
Southington, CT
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Beautiful Bew Machine
Just received my new Husqvarna ST227P snow blower. The shipping company was on time and the driver was very polite. I do find it to be a scam that they charge an extra $50 for lift gate service. I would guess that most of their snow blower shipping jobs go to homeowners and I don't know too many people that own their own forklift or have a shipping dock. Anyway the machine was fairly easy to assemble I think it took longer to break down the cardboard and pallet than to assemble.

The blower... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, Fast
Bruce Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Nate
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Worked For An Hour, Then Auger Belt Broke
I bought the Husqvarna ST227P snow blower from a major online retailer in December 2015, and was very excited. I have previously been very satisfied with Husqvarna products, and I currently own a Husqvarna chainsaw, line trimmer, and leaf blower. Whey I needed a snow blower, I went right to Husqvarna -- big mistake.

The snow blower was easy to assemble, had great features, looked fantastic, and started right up. Our first snow came about a month later in January 2016. I began clearing... more
Nate Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Bill
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
227p
Used it for the first time today. What a piece of junk. I have a chain saw that I love so I got the blower. In low gear it goes too fast to handle 6" of powder. I am going to the dealer tomorrow to see if he will take it back for any amount of money. Hand heaters good for nothing.
Bill Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
30
William W.
Lindenhurst, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/29/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed
Just got my Husqvarna and have used it twice. I had some initial challenges getting it started the first time, but other than that, it worked great!

Handled gracefully and had more than enough power for the task at hand. I live in the Chicago area and get a fair amount of snow and would definitely recommend this model.
William Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Patricia M.
Truman, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/10/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Where's The Snow????
Living in Minnesota, I expected more snow by now - but this year we haven't had it. So...the Husqvarna waits for it to come. Maybe singing White Christmas will bring it on.
Patricia Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Dennis E.
Reisterstown, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/24/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Machine
The Husqvarna 254cc snow blower was delivered without issue. Directions were easy to follow and the unit took about 18 minutes to set up after unpacking. After double checking operating instructions and checking the oil It only took 3 pulls to start. Thus far, the unit appears to be of high quality.
Dennis Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Dennis's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good experience overall with Power Equipment Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert D.
Gaithersburg, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
So So
My snow blower came damaged and shipping crate was fine.. I used the snow blower for the first time today and when I was done I found parts in my drive way. I am very disappointed
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Frank V.
Yonkers, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/3/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Don't Buy
Started it up. Ran for about 2 minutes and it started leaking oil. Snow Blowers Direct would not take it back, and told me to call Husqvarna. Husqvarna gave me a local repair center. I called them and they don't service Husqvarna. Called Husqvarna back and they gave me another repair center.

Called them and they only service under warranty if you bought it there. Called Husqvarna back and told them to take it back. They would not. So made Husqvarna set up a repair center to come and get it... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Frank Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Frank,
We are very sorry to hear of the issues with your Husqvarna snow blower. Unfortunately once the unit has been gassed it will need to be handled directly by a certified Husqvarna service center location. If you do hear back from the Husqvarna service center in the next week I would be glad to assist with getting Husqvarna involved to get this issue resolved in a timely manner.

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Amanda C.
Warwick, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/14/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
05
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
It's What I Think
Not for me it make noise is engin company that delivers it just puts it on side walk and u are on your own from there there were so many pallets and cardboard I had to get rid of then I was told it would cost 999.00 I got my bill and it came to 1150 I am going to return I can buy at lowes for 1100 with 20 percent off
Amanda Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Amanda,
I apologize that the unit runs loudly but as an exposed engine, this will be the same noise level that any two-stage snow blower will produce whether it is bought from Snow Blowers Direct or Lowes. Unfortunately as the unit was gassed, oiled, and ran, we cannot return the unit per our return policy, in addition to it being past the 30 day window. We do use third party freight carriers which do not offer the white glove service in which they uncrate and assemble the unit as some of the bigger box stores provide. I appreciate your honest review and once again apologize the snow blower does not run as quietly as you were expecting.
more
Was this review helpful?
03
Gary G.
Corning, NY
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very, Very Pleased With The Product
I purchased this blower after looking at several different brands, and it appeared to have better build quality than its competitors. So far it has lived up to all of my expectations and more.

I need to blow a 200' driveway of upstate New York snow, and this was blessing to have. It never let me down. Only when trying to blow heavy drifts did it bog down. A few extra horsepower would have been appreciated, but it works.

I would absolutely buy again.
Gary Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
191
Anthony N.
Bellport, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/27/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
18
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Disappointed
The day after receiving my blower I assembled the unit in my garage. It was fun, but cold in there, and we had just received 24"s + of snow. The assembly when well, but I like taking my time to make sure everything is right. I gassed it up, plugged it in and it started right up. I first noted that the headlights didn't work. After letting it warm up the grips were not even warm. These two features are some that I considered when shopping for a machine in this price range. After making some... more
Anthony Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Anthony,
Sorry to hear about the problems with your snow blower. This is not a known problem, but electrical components do fail sometimes. Your dealer that picked up your snow blower should be able to file that charge under our warranty policy. Please be sure to inform your dealer of this, so you get a full refund on the pick up and delivery. Rest assured that the dealer will fix the problem, and you will be able to use this machine for many years to come.
more
Anthony's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"It is what it is. Right now I'm not having a good experience. I have to lay out money, be without a machine that I payed for in the middle of an intense snow season, and most likely have to pay for snow removal. I'm very disappointed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
182
Christopher M.
Lexington, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/22/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
I Wish I Bought A Toro.
I have a Husqvarna chainsaw, which was very dependable and was the reason why I chose to buy their snow blower. The 4th time I used it this season, the auger belt snapped.... I'm very disappointed.
Christopher Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Christopher,
We are sorry to hear of the issue you had with the belt on your Husqvarna snow blower. If you contact us directly at 800-710-7499 we can direct you to a servicing dealer that can assist with your belt issue if you haven't taken care of it already. If you have an issue with the design of the snow blower contacting Husqvarna directly would be an option. They can be reached at 800-487-5951.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Christopher,
Sorry to hear about this problem. Rest assured that this problem should be covered under warranty. Please contact your local Husqvarna dealer and advise them of the problem. They will be able to correct this problem so as it doesn't happen again. Once this is corrected I believe you will enjoy operating your Husqvarna snow thrower and get many years of error free use out of it.
more
Was this review helpful?
161
Mark
South Portland, ME
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Impressed
I bought this new model to replace a 20 year old Toro. I'm a big fan of Husky's chain saws and decided to go with this brand because I trust it. I have never been so disappointed with an equipment purchase. The blower struggles in cold weather, with the drive constantly slipping.

The idle also bounces, and at times it's nearly impossible the keep the engine running for more than a few minutes. The hand-warmers are completely useless (big surprise!). The snow chute also has terrible range...... more
Mark Does Not Recommend This Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
We are sorry to hear of the performance issues you have had with your Husqvarna snow blower. We recommend contacting Husqvarna directly to voice your concerns. They appreciate the feedback and may be able to help you out. Husqvarna can be reached at 800-487-5951.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
Mark,

My apologies for the bad experience you are having. In regards to the drive slipping, if it is the tires slipping, you may want to consider a slower speed when going through larger areas of snow. If the drive internally is slipping than I would recommend taking it to you local Husqvarna dealer. This snow blower uses a friction disk drive system, it is possible that oil or grease spilled on the disk in transit, this would cause your blower to have drive issues. I would advise taking your machine to a dealer for the engine issues, as it should have a smooth idle after warming up for several minutes. It may need a minor adjustment which your local dealer can do under warranty.

Please also have your local dealer look at the chute rotation as you may need a cable adjustment so you get complete 180 degree rotation. If your hand warmers are not working, a dealer will also be able to fix these under warranty. While the hand warmers are not a wrap hand warmer, they do offer heat to your fingers and finger tips. Please note that most other snow blowers in this price category do not include hand warmers, but are offered as an accessory for an additional cost.

I would advise taking your unit to a Husqvarna servicing dealer to have them repair the issues stated above.
more
Was this review helpful?
112
Vincent
Freehold, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/26/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Snowblower Works Great!!!
Live in central NJ and just bought this great snow blower. I love Husqvarna products. I also have the or 5225 zero turn tractor. This blower works every time on the first pull. I haven't tried the electric start. I have had some really hard packed icy snow, and this chomps right through.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Vincent Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Vincent's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very happy ordered my blower in right before a blizzard and got here right on time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
81
Ross W.
Stephenville, WV
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
So Far Not Impressed
Used four times, cables froze each time. It doesn't have the power my old Cub Cadet had. It's in the shop now to try and repair the cable problem. Let's see if it gets any better.
Ross Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ross,
This is not a common problem, the dealer that you took this to, should be able to correct this problem so this doesn't happen again. Please let us know if you have future problems with this snowblower.
more
Was this review helpful?
81
Anthony N.
Bellport, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/27/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Problem Solved
Recently I wrote a review about the Company that was a little negative because I had a problem with the product. The problem was with the product and not the company. Snow blowers Direct made everything good. I am very happy with the online Co. I did business with, and will consider them again.
Anthony Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Anthony's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Thanks Guys Anthony"
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Coleman C.
Galesburg, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/25/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1st Timer!
Well I have nothing to compare to. When I received the blower, it was intimidating, yet I put it together and it SNOWED in Illinois. Woohoo!!! This blower is a BEAST!

I have a 36-inch retainer wall down a 6 car drive way. It's all cleaned and clear. The heavy crease that the street plow leaves it gobbled it up too .... 5 STAR
Coleman Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Scott S.
Rockville, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/13/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far - So Good
I bought this model in December 2014 and have had to use it one time so far. I t was super easy to start, very powerful and cleared the 6 inch snow with ease. The distance of the snow throw is exceptional.

The one complaint is that the chute rotates less than 180 degrees. The chute is stopped at about 10:00 on the left side but rotates fully to 3:00 on the right, makes it a little more difficult to put the snow where you want it but overall I am very satisfied with the product.
Scott Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Robert F.
Malden, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/28/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Machine Is A Beast
For the first time my husband is looking forward to our first snow storm. This machine looks like a beast. A few things to assemble but it was very easy. Glad we got all the bells and whistles.
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Kevin
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/16/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Snow
Runs well. Looks great. No Snow yet.
Kevin Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Kevin's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Well done"
 more
Was this review helpful?
18
Wayne M.
Medford, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/31/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Can't Wait For It To Snow
Delivery was on time, shipping co. called ahead of time as promised, very courteous and helpful, easy assembly.

Started right up, good price, no hassle with salespeople at the big box stores that don't know much about the products they are pushing, bets of all i did not give my state any additional unearned sales tax. Just need snow!
Wayne Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
1118
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 961 93 00-97 reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 961 93 00-97 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 961 93 00-97 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct