Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna ST224 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$799.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$799.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$849.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$1,314.27
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$799.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 961 93 00-96 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Reliable (3)
Price (3)
Durable (2)
Not used yet. (2)
High Quality (2)
Cons
Not used yet (2)
None (1)
instructions are picture... (1)
Heavy (1)
87% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
23 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
42 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
6199 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

Want a great snow blower without having to spend a fortune? Look no further than the Husqvarna ST224. Boasting a powerful 208cc Husqvarna-branded LCT engine, it won’t have any issues handling even the heaviest snowfall.

The Husqvarna ST224 comes equipped with a 120V electric start feature, as well as everyone’s favorite, heated hand grips. The friction disc drive transmission lets you easily and effortlessly adjust through all six speeds and one reverse option.

The all-new Slim Line... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
40947
Pearce T.
Cincinnati, OH
Total Helpful Votes
46 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Attractive And Powerful
Well it looks good. Took it out to play with it yesterday for practice (never used a snowblower in my life), even though I own a lawn care service in Cincinnati Ohio.

The ST244 is very heavy. It's hard to turn, I'm assuming with snow on the ground it'll make it easier. It's got 6 gears, nothing too hard to get used to. 6th gear can "GET IT" though. You're moving pretty good in 3rd gear. It only has 1-reverse gear unlike other blowers with 2. No problem, that reverse gear is good... more
View Image
Pros: Durable, Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Pearce Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
467
Daniel B.
Hebron, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/24/16
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Buy A Husqvarna Product If You Expect A Rebate!
I recently purchased a snow blower that was advertised as having a $50.00 rebate in the form of a Visa card after my purchase, if you registered the product. I have registered my product more than once but never received the after registration email that is supposed to have a number in it that I need to properly apply for the rebate. Husqvarna doesn't list any contact numbers on their web site for help. Worst customer service I have ever been exposed to. Doesn't look like I'm going to get... more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Daniel,
We sincerely apologize for the issues that you have experienced with the Husqvarna rebate offer. We have included the Husqvarna rebate form below as well as a direct contact telephone number for Husqvarna.

Husqvarna: 800-487-5951

Rebate Form

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
106
Tim B.
Mishawaka, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/17/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Snow Monster
Very easy to set up. If you are DIY'er like myself, the instruction were plain enough. Bought also a universal cab over that fit well over the controls with no obstruction. This Monster cuts through the snow like butter. It is very well built and will last a long time if you take care of it.

I am very happy with this product and would recommend this to anyone living in North that doesn't want to spend 45 min or more cleaning off their driveway every time it snows 2 or more inches. One of... more
View Image
Tim Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Tim's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website very easy to navigate. From order to arrival was only 6 days. Package was undamaged and all parts were there. The snow blower was solidly held down by bolts and straps."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Paul H.
Richmond, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/24/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
I Have Not Used Yet, No Snow. Survey Is Way Too Soon, So I Am Gi
I have not been home since snow blower delivered.
Folks, it is a snow blower. I live in Virginia. It has not snowed anywhere close to Virginia this season.
Getting warranty registration with Husq was a nightmare.
Pros: Not used yet.
Cons: Not used yet
Paul Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
I am very sorry to hear of the issues with the warranty registration through Husqvarna. I will be passing this review along to our representative over at Husqvarna.

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul H.
Richmond, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/24/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
I Have Not Used Yet, No Snow. Survey Is Way Too Soon.
I have not been home since snow blower delivered. Folks, it is a snow blower. I live in Virginia. It has not snowed anywhere close to Virginia this season. Getting warranty registration with Husqvarna was a nightmare.
Pros: Not used yet.
Cons: Not used yet
Paul Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
I am very sorry to hear of the issues with the warranty registration through Husqvarna. I will be passing this review along to our representative over at Husqvarna.

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
10
John G.
Greensburg, PA
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Professional Review
I bought my snow blower the ST224 early before winter storm Jonas in Jan 2016.
I bought it from Lowes as it was 799 and I get 10 %military discount and it was put together already
This was the best machine I could afford with the money I had prior to the storm.

As of this writing I have probably done about 15 driveways and have probably used it at least 10 hours.

PROS
This is one of the most ergonomic snow blower I have seen or used. Choke and throttle are one unit, with 2 knobs, up... more
John Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
131
Roger R.
Austin, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/9/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
I shopped and read several reviews and now I'm glad I found this one...
It is the 1st snow blower I've bought or used and it is one bad unit. My driveway is 350+ feet plus a circle and a wider parking area.
My review - 1st the con - the hand warmer isn't great, but I had on thick gloves and my hands were still cold.
Other than that I have nothing but rave reviews for this unit. Buy it! Snow blowers direct delivered it on time and hassle free.
Roger Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Kelly G.
Northbridge, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/29/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
I have never owned a snowblower or ever used one. But after last winter and the historic snow levels in New England I was not doing all that shoveling again. My house is on a state highway which gets plowed constantly.

This results in a huge pile of ice at the end of the driveway. I used this for the first time today and it worked so well! It just handled all that ice with no problem. It was relatively easy to handle even though it's bigger than I am! It is much more fun to use this than... more
Kelly Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jimmy O.
Layton, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/7/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Want Power?
This machine will throw the snow as advertised. I did have carburetor problems when I first put gas in. Dripped gas all over the floor. Took the carb off and let the needle and seat clean it self out.

Must of had a piece of sand caught in there. Bye the way I highly recommend that all small engine use no ethanol gas to avoid carb problems in do time. Very Costly!
Jimmy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Jimmy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Since we only got snow 3 times last winter the machine didn't get it's potential work out. But can say it has plenty of power."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Diane H.
Lebanon, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/3/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Although I haven't used it yet, everything from the delivery to the set up was impressive and easy.
I can't wait for our first snow fall!!!
Pros: Reliable, Price, Light Weight, High Quality
Diane Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Rob C.
Upstate, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Product
Easy to unload and assemble. Can not wait to try it out. First impressions are good. Will write back later when I get to really use it.
Pros: Features, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Rob Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Rob's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Told me with standard shipping I would get in 7-10 days and it arrived 3 days later. Arrived on a pallet and delivery company brought it right down to my garage."
 more
Was this review helpful?
12
Michele E.
Erie, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/17/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Still Waiting For Snow . . .
I was a little hesitate to order from an unknown site, but the price was good. The snow blower arrived in great condition with minimal assembly required. This appears to be a very well made snow blower.

It was delivered by ABF and they were very accommodating in scheduling the delivery. Much easier & cheaper than trying to figure out how to get one home from the local big box store!
Michele Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Michele's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Another plus was the rebate form which was emailed to me with the receipt (and I could create a pdf of the receipt right from the website. (Some Lowes carry this model, but didn't have the rebate & charge to deliver)."
 more
Was this review helpful?
12
John T.
Lockport, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/17/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
So Far So Good.....lets See How It Works In The Snow.
It is very difficult to review an item that hasn�t been used for the purpose it was intended. However it was very easy to put together, it took about an hour.

Started on the second pull�we didn�t bother with the electric start but will probably use it when the weather gets cold snow starts. If it functions as good as advertised I would definitely recommend the machine.
Pros: Quiet, Price
Cons: instructions are pictures no words
John Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
13
James H.
South Bend, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/24/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
No Snow
Bought on 12-1, but no snow yet.
James Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
025
Brett
St John, IN
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Beast Cometh
I finally got my 1st use out of this model I purchased from a dealer locally. We had 20 inches of snowfall and it was of the very dense "heart attack" variety. Let me tell you it chewed through all of it!

Never a sputter or a stoppage including some really heavy plow cast off at the curb. The heated grips worked great since I forgot my gloves. Turning and chute manipulation work well too. I have no bad to say...great machine!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, Performance
Cons: None
Brett Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
170
David
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/17/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Failed First Use
I live in CT and we just had our first significant snow fall of the year on January 26th of 5 inches. My brand new Husqvarna ST 224 worked awesomely for 10 minutes until the 2 rear wheels locked up. I had to get a neighbor to help me drag it back to my garage where it awaits the local power equipment repair store to pick it up and repair it. Very disappointing to say the least. I am headed back out to shovel the driveway.
Was this review helpful?
164
Bruce K.
Oakdale, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/14/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Blower
I just wanna say this Husky is a bear. Awesome throwing, awesome clearing, and the headlights and heated hand grips are a big plus. Haven't got too much snow in CT this year but its tossed everything we have got out of the way.
Bruce Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Bruce's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience and the blower got here before Christmas which is a plus cause it was a gift for my dad."
 more
Was this review helpful?
143
Joseph D.
Clifton, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine
I've only used it 3 times so far, but it has really impressed me. The chute deflector is absolutely necessary because it throws the snow 30+ feet when on it's highest setting. Packed snow at the end of the driveway is no match for this machine.

It has electric start, but I find it unnecessary because the pull cord is surprisingly easy to pull. The handle for turning the shoot is a must. It moves the chute much more quickly than the machines with crank handles.
Joseph Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Joann H.
Craig, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/18/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Buyer Beware
The machine is a beast and on the first try it seemed like it would be an excellent product. Right out of the crate it had issues though. After the short assembly process, we fueled it, checked the oil, and went for a test run.

Unfortunately one of the cool features I liked on the machine (the LED headlights) did not work. I was also very disappointed to find out that there was a lot of plastic on this machine. In all fairness though, I will admit that it did blow the snow. I will... more
Joann's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"I would not recommend buying a machine like this on line only because you can't see exactly what you are getting and try it out. First time out of the box I had to call Snow Blowers Direct and have them send me new lights,"
 more
Robert, the Snow Blower Expert
Product Expert
Joann,
We're sorry to hear that you've lost trust in online shopping. While we don't offer the option of trying the snow blower before you buy it, we do stand behind our products. We strive to offer the best options with the most helpful information available. This way you can be sure you're choosing the model you really want. To compete with the "big box" stores, we also offer free delivery to your door. This will save you the time and trouble of picking it up at the store and loading/unloading your truck. Plus the cost and time associated with renting a truck if you don't have one. You were understandably frustrated by the experience, but please know that we will continue to do everything we can going forward to provide you with the best possible service should you choose to shop with us again. Thank you for your review, and have a very happy holiday season.
Was this review helpful?
124
Ron R.
Kutztown, PA
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
St224 Is Amazing
I was replacing a 1984 Hahn Eclipse that was my Grand Pa's. Need the adjustable height handles for my wife.

I have used it three times so far and it is excellent. Throws very heavy snow easily and cleans right down to the walk or pavement.

I am VERY happy with it. Dual headlights are great! Heated grips are a very nice feature.
Ron Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Ron's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great price and excellent shipping! Easy to assemble."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Ron D.
Hampton Bays, NY
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Heated Grips
Unit starts with electric, but I can't pull-start it. I do need feel grip warmer at all.
Ron Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
38
Michael G.
Jessup, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/28/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Can't Wait For It To Snow.
Good looking unit. just waiting for it to snow.
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
2699
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 961 93 00-96 reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 961 93 00-96 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 961 93 00-96 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct