Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 960 93 00-25 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$799.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$799.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$849.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Husqvarna 960 93 00-25 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (8)
Durable (4)
Price (3)
Reliable (3)
High Quality (3)
Cons
Low Quality (3)
Durability (2)
Unreliable (2)
Heavy (2)
Packaging (1)
65% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
26 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
22 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1651 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Husqvarna DRT900 is high performance rear tine garden tiller that has the capacity to till deep Ė even in compacted soils or clay. If you are working in a space that is more than 700 sq. feet, you neednít look any further for the answer to all your tilling needs.

The Husqvarna DRT900 is one of the few dual rotating tillers on the market. What does dual rotating mean? The Husqvarna DRT900 functions as both a forward rotating cultivator and counter rotating deep soil tiller, making this... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
10215
Jack L.
Hillsboro, OR
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Drt 900 Third Season Coming Up--hoo Boy!
I picked up a DRT 900 17" in 2013. Easy to assemble, easy to start and it runs as good today as it did out of the box. Older guys (me) use both hands, the kids single hand it. Very nice machine!
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Jack Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Jack's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The whole purchase/ shipping experience was without drama and exceeded my expectations. The tiller's performance is strong and effective. All in all its worthwhile."
 more
Was this review helpful?
72
Dean P.
Boerne, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/11/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Problematic For Me
From the first time I used it I found it difficult/quirky about shifting gears from forward to reverse to reverse tines and forward tines. It would some times take several attempts to get it to shift.

Finally I think the linkage broke and now the handle moves freely but the gears don't change at all. I am now having to get it repaired and I have used it less than 5 hours. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
30
Rick C.
Round Lake, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/12/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Meets Expectations
I used this tiller in March to precondition about 1200 square feet of garden space in my back yard. Two thirds of this was previously unbroken hard-packed clay, the former site of my firewood supply. The rest was our pre-existing garden with well-conditioned soil and a heavy top cover of birch and maple leaves piled there last fall as mulch. The tiller handled the job well. Now in May, I just re-tilled to add more top soil, manure, and compost. Again the tiller performed well.

The... more
Rick Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Rick's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Web site contained the information I needed to compare many tillers using relevant decision making criteria and information that has proven reliable in my experience the past three months using this tiller."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Dean P.
Boerne, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/11/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Ok But Shifting Is Sticky
I got the tiller and went to immediately use it. I noted that the gear shift to go into drive and reverse and such was a little sticky. I would lift the back end up and down and it would finally shift into the gear I wanted. It was really slow...I found putting it in neutral was faster than letting it drive out to our garden area.

Our ground is hard pack dark clay and we have had a lot of rain. I liked how deep it would go, though the clay would stick to the underside and I had to spend... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Greg F.
East Bend, NC
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Second Tiller In One Year With Griding Noise In Transmission
Purchased new tiller last year at this time. First one dealer had all serviced and ready to go. Soon as I got it home and in garden, it began to make a very LOUD grinding noise. Immediately returned and was given another new tiller. Used this at least 6 or seven times last year with no issues until this past weekend.

Brought out tiller from storage building checked all fluids and started tilling up garden. 1/2 hour into tilling, it began making same grinding noise as first tiller. I have... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Steven V.
Reading, VT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/2/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Total Satisfaction
As with many people, my experience with a Rototiller was limited to those that I rented from the Rent-all store. In contrast, the DRT 900 is sturdy, stable, easy to use, and sufficient.

I was concerned about spending so much money on a tool that might not work as I needed or expected. No problems here, however.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Steven Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles P.
Creedmoor, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/31/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Eh----
Not sold on the Hus DRT900

First machine delivered was returned. One piece did not fit and I did not want to force it. The second one went together is a snap---very easy----45 minutes into it the belt came off and when I put it back together it came off again-shredded

Picked the darn thing up took to Hus Svc center. That's all the support I was told I would get---I first called the help line and was told that no one was there to help lol---- the svc guy at the service center was a nice... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Bad Instructions, Durability
Was this review helpful?
00
Patrick P.
Hollywood, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/13/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Great Tiller, Just Needs More Aggressive Tines
I have had this tiller now for about a month. After some fairly difficult issues with putting the thing together due to a nut being welded onto the frame crooked which was insane to tighten through, this tiller ran like a dream. Lightweight, manageable, easy to steer, and very economical when it comes to gas usage. My complaint is that the tines are non-aggressive.

If you want to bust sod, then you must go over the ground several times in order to get this accomplished. Also, the tines will... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
00
Harley N.
Bloomington, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/2/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Tough Machine
I tore down my house and had a new house built. When the builder dug the foundation they also went around the yard and took most of my top soil, and never returned it. they left me with a yard full of clay, so I tilled it up. I hit a lot of rocks (Granite), a lot of cement chunks, pipes, tree roots, old concrete pavers. Then I bought 120 yards of black dirt and tilled that in.

The machine did what I expected it to do but I never expected to run into that much crap. I had the same trouble... more
Pros: Reliable, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Harley Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Darrell
Merkel, TX
Total Helpful Votes
34 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Machine
This unit was delivered and was simple to assemble. It has lots of power and will penetrate even hard Texas clay. It helps to soak the ground first. I found the shifter is difficult to select a gear (the indicator doesn't tell exactly what gear it is in) Shifting is sometimes extremely difficult. In reverse rotation it penetrates the slightly moist soil extremely well. Even in dry clay it does a good job. Economical on fuel. I ran mine all day on a single tank, working it hard. Overall, I would... more
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Difficult To Shift
Darrell Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
344
Michael B.
Abingdon, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/14
Total Helpful Votes
26 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Product
Used our new tiller in our garden and could not believe the ease of use. The tiller dug 6 inches effortlessly and quickly. Can't believe the time I saved with its use. I had a walk way I also needed to level and dig. I knew this would be the real test as the soil is all clay. The tiller did not care went thru the hard soil quickly and easily. I would recommend this tiller to anyone. I am 62 yrs old and I handled the tiller it did not handle me. Great product thanks guys.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Price, Reliable
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
266
John
Thompson, ND
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeds Expectations
After receiving this tiller I unpacked it and after some light assembly I used it to till approximately 1/2 acre of untouched land. Since then I have used the tiller for flower beds and other minor gardening needs around my farmstead. This tiller has not even thought about struggling since I have owned it. The only thing close to a con I have is that the transmission is a little hard to shift. However I have had 4 different tillers and they have all been hard to shift. Overall I am very... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
John Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
200
Melanie
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/8/15
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Belt Comes Off & Wheel Pin Broke
This tiller works well, when it's running. Unfortunately, in two months the belt has come off 3 times and the right wheel has broken it's pin and the wheel has fallen off at least twice.

It's a pain in the butt!

When it does work (belts are expensive) it works well.
Maybe we just ended up with a lemon? We've called the company and left emails but received no response.

We would not buy from this company again because of the unreturned calls & emails.
Cons: Unreliable, Durability, Belt Slips Off Often, Wheel Pin Keeps Breaking
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Melanie,
We apologize for the inconvenience. A Husqvarna dealer may need to inspect the tiller and make some adjustments. Your nearest dealer is

ALPINE EQUIPMENT RENTALS, INC
ALPINE
(619) 445-6214

Husqvarna provides a 2 year warranty on this tiller. You may contact them at 800-487-5951.
more
Was this review helpful?
110
Damion W.
Beaufort, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/26/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement Tiller
Tried this Tiller out and love it, this thing digs like no tomorrow. when the fall growing season ends, and I can get to really till the whole garden it should really grow next season. The old front tine tiller just was not doing it for me. The Briggs and Stratton Engine is quiet and very powerful.
Damion Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Aaron T.
Appleton, WI
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Hunk Of Junk
Bought this tiller. After 5 minutes had terrible grinding noise. Dealer said the gear was installed by factory incorrectly. Nice. Tiller has been in garage for 3 months now as parts are back ordered due to the number of the same issues. The only thing worse than this tiller has been Husqvarna customer support. A joke. Stay away.
Was this review helpful?
61
Howard R.
Mansfield, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/22/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seems To Be A Good Tiller!
After SAIA FINALLY got around to delivering my tiller, the driver was very helpful in unloading it. I opened the crate and was happy to see a big orange tiller in great shape.

Assembly was a little bit awkward for one person, but went very well. After about 4 pulls, the tiller fired off and ran like a charm. It handles these Western Arkansas rocks better than I expected.

Starts most of the time on the first or second pull. Weather hasn't allowed for as much use as I would prefer; but... more
Howard Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Joseph D.
Cape May Court House, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lives Up To The Husqvarna Name
The tiller is just fine, easy starting, easy to use, and it cuts up and tills most any type of soil.
Joseph Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Alex H.
Appleton, WI
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Don't Buy Me!
Bought this unit and tilled already broken soil for less than one hour. Loud grinding noise began. Transmission/gearbox issues and back to the dealer now. After reading other reviews sounds common. Unit is underpowered and chugs badly in reverse mode even when not deep tilling move on and don't buy me!
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Alex,
I do apologize for the inconvenience.

Please take your tiller along with purchase receipt to an authorized service center for warranty evaluation.

If you need help finding your nearest service center please call 1-800-487-5951 or visit the link below.

http://www.husqvarna.com/us/dealers/dealer-locator/
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Maurice F.
Fredericktown, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/15
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna First Time Used
I got it out of the box. (easily) The assembly was easy. (simple) Checked and topped off the oil. Then pulled the handle 4 times, and it started right up. I then put it in hard clay with some small rocks. (golf ball size) I went down and back 2 times in the same area.

The soil is VERY loose down 6 inches! The tiller works smooth, not jerking around, or bouncing. My last tiller was an original Troy Built from the late 70s. I'm very happy with my purchase and I'm looking forward to many... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, High Quality
Maurice Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jerry O.
Elizabeth, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/26/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Stiff Lever
Tiller starts first pull and works very well. Only drawback is that the lever to move tines and wheels is very stiff and very tiring to squeeze continuously while moving forward. Except for that problem I would rate it 5 star.
Jerry Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Dr. Gary S.
Bowdon, ND
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/3/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Underpowered For Heavy Clay Soil In North Dakota
The tiller appears grossly underpowered. I have to constantly keep upward pressure on the handles to move it forward.

Not at all what it is advertised as. Not impressed!!!

To make matters worse it now is subject to a recall. I am in a very isolated rural area. The nearest "dealer" is 30 miles away. Not a happy customer
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Product Expert
Dr.,
Clay can be tough to get through but setting the tines in the forward rotating setting should help for the first pass. Your tiller was purchased after the time period affected by the recall. You may confirm this with Husqvarna at (877) 257-6921 and your serial number is 960930025 01.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Kirk M.
Tonawanda, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/18/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Good Rototiller
This unit is easy to assemble.After going through the learning curve of adjusting depth of tiller tines and using the forward and reverse tiller options.This is one nice machine.The only complaint is shifting the gears its like trying to shift a Sherman tank.I hope this will smooth out in time.
Kirk Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gus
Mendocino County, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/7/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Needed
I received it on Tuesday and "assembeled" it that afternoon. It needed oil, and I was unable to get some until the next morning. Fueled and oiled, it started right up, and I tried it out in a tight area. I've been renting for several years, and the Husqvarna DRT900 is really easy to use.

It keeps moving about two feet after releasing the drive handle in both forward and reverse. Once I learned that, it's a breeze to plan ahead. The ability of the tines to rotate both forward and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging, Free Shipping Was Nice But It Took Over Three Weeks To Arrive
Gus Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary F.
Rexburg, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/24/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Works Well.
It started right up and works well. No complaints.
Gary Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
54
Jerry O.
Elizabeth, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/26/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Stiff Lever
Starts first time and tills well. The only drawback is that the lever to engage the wheels and tines is very stiff indicating that the spring is too strong. It is very tiring on my left hand to hold the lever down while moving forward for long periods. There is also a noisy clanking/rattling while the drive belt is engaged.
Jerry Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Jerry's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good experience except that TD emailed me with a Husqvarna Recall Notice for some of these tillers before I even got the thing. Of course I was upset. It took 3 messages to get them to tell me that my tiller was not included in the recall. Communication could have been much better."
 more
Was this review helpful?
12
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 960 93 00-25 reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 960 93 00-25 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 960 93 00-25 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct