Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 960 83 00-09 Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$449.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
Free Freight$449.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$449.95
(as of 07:07 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$449.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$449.95
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Husqvarna 960 83 00-09 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (8)
Reliable (5)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Price (4)
Durable (4)
Cons
Can Push Forward And Rev... (1)
Back Wheels Could Be Bet... (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
Heavy (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
34 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Robert, the Tiller Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
22 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1631 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The Husqvarna FT900 front tine garden tiller is a perfect choice for homeowners who want to prepare gardens and flower beds without the back-breaking labor needed to do this with a shovel or spade. If you are working in soil that has been tilled previously, or you want to start a new garden in an area with soft soil, this is the machine for you.

The weight and size of Husqvarna FT900 front tine garden tiller makes it extremely easy to handle, maneuver, transport and store. The Husqvarna... more
Robert Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
2610
Arlo M.
Newcastle, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/27/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Kicks Ass!
This thing is an absolute beast. Tilling a garden is childsplay with this thing.

I've actually been using it for light excavation. Took me about 6 hours, but i was able to cut 18 inches into a hillside and move the earth back 15-20 feet to level a 20x40 foot space for a playground in an area that was impossible to get an excavator into. That's a powerful rototiller!
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Light Weight, Power Power Power
Arlo Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Michael R.
Kennedy, AL
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Transmission Is Junk
after going through two different tillers and 3 transmissions, this model tiller is nothing but junk....as the above critical post says, the transmission is the weak link and will not last past the warranty period if it is used in any serious tilling situation....save your money because it will tear up not long after purchsing it
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/17/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Solid Tiller!!
I purchased a new tiller after my old one died after 26 years. I'm very impressed with the Husqvarna. The power it shows is shocking. I wish this was around sooner. I hope this last as long as my last tiller!!
Jeff Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Jeff's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My first shipment was damaged, but Tiller Direct was on top of the issue and sent for a pick-up and my new one was delivered in days. Great Job!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dick S.
Sedona, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/22/16
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Penny
We received our new Tiller, and could not be more happy with it. Have already used it for a few hours and boy, does it do a nice job. No problems, and only praise for it. Great machine, great deal, great service. Says it all.
Dick Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jay T.
Anaheim, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/13/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product, Great Store
Glad I bought this product. I think the other ones that I looked at would have been too small.
Jay Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
William H.
Otterbein, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tiller
Very happy with the tiller. It starts on the first pull every time hope it holds up as good as my old tiller which was over 40 years old and hard to find parts for now days.
William Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Steve W.
Whitehall, MT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/20/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My New Tiller
I have been using my Honda rear tine for 20+ years. Its a fine machine but difficult to maneuver between rows of corn, beans etc.

It was in need of some serious repair, which I am doing, so I wanted a tiller for this season and a machine easy to work the row crops.

My new Husqvarna is just the ticket. Starts with one pull, runs smoothly and quietly and works the soil like a mad-man. LOVE IT!
Steve Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A seemless purchase and delivered in a very timely fashion."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John F.
Galeton, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
Quick delivery. Shipper was very easy to work with in scheduling delivery. Filled with oil and gas and started on the first pull and it continues to start on the first pull every time.

Used for about four hours so far, in 30'x100' garden....digs 10" to 12" and is easy to handle and really pulverizes the dirt. Very pleased! Wheels are of questionable quality...time will tell whether they will hold up.
John Recommends This Husqvarna Product
John's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"East ordering process and prompt shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Andrew M.
Covington, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Money Spent
This tiller has done everything that I was expecting. When delivered, it was well packaged with a crate on the bottom. This was the best price around with quality at its finest. You will be very pleased.
Andrew Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
James S.
Lakewood, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Ft900 Rototiller
Works great. My only problem was that after 35 min. of use a little white smoke came out of right side of upper transmission shaft, which was too hot to touch, I oiled it and after running it 45 min. later there was no smoke and the shaft was less hot, so evidently the smoke was some gas burning off during break-in.

The manual says to run it with tillers upraised and running for 5 minutes before use, and oil the shaft where the chain goes down to the tillers inside the transmission. It has... more
James Recommends This Husqvarna Product
James's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"The internet notification of purchase should include date of purchase, so that any trouble later can use a dated receipt to establish ownership date for purposes of warranty use when the product is taken to dealer for repair/replacement. I had to download the shipping file from the shipper to get a piece of paper with PED order number and shipper and date of shipment and product name, to get that piece of paper for future warranty use."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Bud B.
Hudson, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/11/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tiller
This is a great tiller for all size gardens. Easy to operate. Very good on gas.
Bud Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary G.
Walkerton, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/16
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy With This Purchase
Easy to assemble. Started on the very first pull and has run smoothly ever since. Must say the FT900 has performed beyond my expectations. Only thing I have a negative about would be the wheels, could be more sturdy.
Gary Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Steven J.
Aloha, OR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/27/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Tiller Killer
So far so good broke up hard ground with roots yesterday Husqvarna ripped it up fast, just hope chain drive trans holds up. Same trans I had in last tiller where motor outlasted transmission.
Steven Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin B.
Elkhart, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/12/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Reasonable Tiller
They're not as heavy as I'd like. Fine for previously tiled ground, not a good sod buster. Starts easy, runs nice, easy on gas. No fault other than it is what it is so there's limitations.
It's a 7 out of 10 overall. They're just not built like they once were, same as with anything else.
Kevin Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Randy B.
Whitehall, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/15/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tiller!
This thing is a beast!! I love it!
Randy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Susan H.
Reedsburg, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Tiller
Love it
Susan Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan G.
Plymouth, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Ft900 Works Great!
Ordering from Tillers Direct was easy. Delivery to Minnesota took only a couple days. Easy to assemble with only a few bolts and they give you the oil needed. Only caution is that the Briggs and Stratton Engine on the unit was not the same as identified in the assembly literature.

This meant the controls for choke, fuel on and off, speed and the on and off switch were different. Just a caution but not to difficult to figure out. The rototiller worked great. Took less than half the time to... more
Dan Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Dan's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Tillers direct web site was easy to navigate. Quick response after purchasing. The delivery was amazingly fast. Only a couple days. The delivery window was a bit large at 4 hrs but was manageable. Would purchase again from Tillers Direct"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve M.
Garnet Valley, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tiller
Very powerful machine. I did have some issues putting it together, but once I got past that, it was fine. The machine did the job and I was able to really till the soil.
Pros: Reliable, Durable
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use
Steve Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis J.
Overgaard, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/7/16
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Tiller Works Great
No issues with the delivery or assembly. No damage to any parts of the tiller. It started on the 4th pull and I took it straight to the garden. I have tilled the garden and a couple of flower beds. Everything worked fine.
Dennis Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Paul K.
Lumberton, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/15/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Tillers For You!
I searched for a used tiller for 2 months. The prices for a good used tiller was almost as much as a new one. Therefore I started looking at new ones and the best price for the tiller I wanted was at Tillers Direct. The transaction and delivery service was great. This tiller started on my first pull. Thanks!
Paul Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Herman
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/26/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Looks Great
I have not had the chance to use it yet ,Too much rain here but the dryer weather is coming soon . I hope it works just half as good as the old Merry tiller That my Father bought way back in 1960 for $46.00 and I had the use of after he passed on in 1979.I had to give it up in 1999 because I could no longer get parts for it .I sure have missed it since.This Husky the way it is built Looks like it will be a very good unit to work with.
Herman Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Herman's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I called Tillers direct Told them what I wanted They told me How Much I gave them my Credit Card Number They Printed A receipt for me they told me when it would be delivered then in a few days the delivery co. called and told me what time the unit would be delivered.the tiller was delivered on time and in perfect condition. All I had to do was take it out of the big heavy duty box and put the handles on it then put some oil in the engine and it was ready to go to work.Thank You Tillers Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
13
Bob
Wellsburg, NY
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqavarna Tiller Ft900
Extremely pleased with my new tiller. Easy to use. Delivered yesterday at 2:30. Put handle on it, checked oil, put in gas, started on second pull. Have a big garden and this rototiller is a little beast. Tore right through it, was done rototilling by 4:00. The customer service at Tillers Direct is top notch. The price was very good, shipping was fast and I really like the no tax, free shipping. Better quality, great price . Thank you for everything Tillers Direct!
Was this review helpful?
200
Cecil S.
Beaumont, MS
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Husqvarna Ft900
I purchased this tiller for sole purpose of a small garden and planting my 35x200 food plot! Have used it for both for about a total of 9 hours and so far it has did very good on what I expect in a plane garden tiller!! If it does half of what my old 6 horse Bolens did for ten or more years I will b very well satisfied. I will post if it doesn't believe me! Yes for the money and use so far. Yes, I recommend it!!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Cecil Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
202
Daniel H.
Westfield, MA
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Reverse Handle
The handle should be on bottom. When tiller tills back it hits my wrist. I recommend to move it before someone gets hurt real bad.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Daniel Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Edward T.
Palmyra, VA
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Beware Crappy Transmission Ft900
Purchased from Sears brand new on showroom floor. After 2 seasons transmission split apart. Sears sent me to repair center, new transmission $350.00 repair bill. Lasted less than one year. Only using for weeding in between rows. What junk this tiller is.
Was this review helpful?
82
Mike H.
Juliaetta, ID
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/18/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Model Ft900 Rototiller
This is a well built rototiller, but there could be a few changes made to make it better.The wheels and framework should be made of heavier material. After I used it the first time the wheels that came with it went in the junk pile.

I put new wider and heaver wheels on it and that made a really dandy rototiller. The Briggs engine starts great. One other thing they could do is put throttle control up where the forward a reverse controls are. It's inconvenient being on the engine. Other... more
Mike Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Rob F.
Evansville, IN
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeded Expectations
At first I was dismayed that it moved somewhat slowly through the ground I was plowing until I realized that was because it was cutting deeper than my other one had and was cutting into soil that hadn't been disturbed in decades which is a good thing. It seems to chop the soil finer than I thought a front-tine could.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Rob Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Jeffrey B.
Leonard, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/1/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Expected
The ordering process from Tillers Direct was outstanding. Their price matched local dealers and they had the unit in stock. The free shipping and lack of state sales tax made their price even better. Shipping was very fast taking less than a week from order to delivery with a holiday weekend involved. The shipping company arranged a delivery time and communicated during the process.

The tiller was delivered in good condition and set up was easy - remove the machine from the shipping carton,... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Features, Light Weight
Jeffrey Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Larry Burkert
Audubon, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/11/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Deal
For years I had been using a very old front-tine tiller that bounced all over my garden. The motor finally gave up which was a blessing in disguise. This tiller spins much faster which mixes the soil a thousand times better and provides a very smooth ride.

Only problem I see is that you can engage both the forward and reverse at the same time as demonstrated by my neighbor who wanted to borrow it. Needless to say, I finished his garden for him.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Price, Fast
Cons: Back Wheels Could Be Better Quality, Can Push Forward And Reverse Handles At The Same Time
Larry Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Joseph R.
Cherry Plain, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/13/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Good Value
Have used it for the cultivating, have not tried yet on our heavy springtime soils, so can only rate a "4" overall at this time based on limited use. Purrs along beautifully at the lowest speed setting, and cultivates exceedingly well, and is very maneuverable.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Price, Reliable
Joseph Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Joseph's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No hesitation to recommend based on speedy delivery to a complex rural delivery area, and based on a high quality product."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike
Westfield Twp., OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/22/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Tiller!!!!!!!!
I chose this tiller after a couple weeks of shopping around. I could not be more satisfied with my decision. We recently moved to a rural area and wanted to change landscaping. This tiller has helped us prepare all our flowerbeds and create a few new ones. It has been able to handle everything I have thrown its way. It has gone through hard soil, grass, clay, small roots, in fact only a buried stump gave it an issue. I was able to get 4-6" deep in soil with little effort. It has... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Mike Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Think (hope), I Made A Good Purchase
Like my new tiller. It seem to get the job done. I have not had it long enough to give a critical review. Husqvarna has had some problems with their chainsaws and weed eaters, because they contracted out the manufacturing to outside sources. As a result, the name fell into disrepute. I hope the tiller lives up to its name, despite having a Briggs and Stratton engine.
If I could have afforded it, I probably would have bought a Stihl tiller, mainly because that company has not compromised... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Easy To Store
Paul Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Lorraine M.
Middleburgh, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/7/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Arrived Promptly
This was a Christmas gift for my daughter, and since the ground is frozen and snow covered will not be put to the test for a few months. Was very pleased with the fast shipping and friendly service.
Lorraine Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 960 83 00-09 reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 960 83 00-09 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 960 83 00-09 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct