Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 952 80 21-54 Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$209.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$209.95
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Husqvarna 952 80 21-54 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Price (7)
Light Weight (4)
Quiet (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Easy To Use (2)
Cons
Unreliable (3)
Difficult To Use (2)
Low Quality (2)
Will Not Turn (1)
Don't Know Where To Get ... (1)
77% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
26 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
28 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1786 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

A perfect saw and perfect choice for anyone looking to do some pruning or light cutting jobs. The Husqvarna 240 offers a good quality at a great price.

Equipped with a 38cc X-Torque engine from Husqvarna, this saw is great on gas and produces lower emissions than most saws. The engine provides more than enough power to get through just about any pruning you may have. A combined choke/stop control puts everything in one spot which provides easier starting and stopping and will assist in... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
10411
George A.
Fort Washington, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/22/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A True Husky
I purchased the saw for light duty around my house. the lot is about a acre with many small (and large) trees and large shrubs. I picked the Husqvarna because I have been using a Husqvarna 272 XP 20" on and off since it was purchased in 1998 and have had a light duty craftsman and Poland saws that quit after a year.

As luck would have it - after 11 days of rain, and three days after the saw was delivered, a 25" diameter Cherry tree on my lot fell over the street blocking the... more
George Recommends This Husqvarna Product
George's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The order with Chain Saws Direct was filled promptly and accurately. I have no complaints."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven D.
Rialto, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/8/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Great If You Only Want To Start It Once A Day.
It is clear Bob's recommendation is worthless. This chain saw starts fine when it is ice cold. As long as you never shut it off it is fine. But if you do forget it you are done for the day. It will not start again. How can Husqvarna make such a piece of crap like this and then be recommended by this sales outlet. DONOT buy this saw and don't buy anything from this outlet since there recommendations are worthless. I would have given it 0 stars but it is not offered. Is it to much to ask for a... more
Pros: None
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Not Worth Buying
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Steven,
I'm sorry your saw is giving you problems. Husqvarna should be able to trouble shoot or repair this under their 2 year warranty. You may contact Husqvarna at 800-487-5951.
more
Was this review helpful?
43
Daniel B.
Valparaiso, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/11/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Quite A 10. Say Only An 8.
Had a hard time starting - seems to flood allot. Once it starts and runs a few seconds, it seems to be OK. Let's see how things go.
Daniel Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Todd B.
Fairfield, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/19/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not A Good Saw
Love Husquavarna in general since I have a mower that has lasted forever. But this saw is not a good product. Despite what the Chain Saws Direct rep assured me, it is very hard to start and keep running. I have had it in twice in the couple months i have owned it to try to get it set right, and have only been able to make a dozen cuts with it.

You have to have it's carburetor adjusted by a local dealer right out of the gate which no one told me. Even with the adjustment it stalls very... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Difficult To Use, Hard To Start And Stalls Easily
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Todd,
We're sorry that you've had a hard time with this saw. Husqvarna is known for making quality chainsaws, so it's unusual to hear of such problems with the brand. However, there's the occasional one-off with just about every brand.

We recommend contacting Husqvarna directly at 1 (800) 487-5951 and letting them know what you're experiencing. They should be happy to help you out with repairs or replacement under warranty.

If you would like our assistance getting things taken care of, feel free to give us a call. We'd be happy to help communicate these issues to Husqvarna and expedite the process should you need us to.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Peter S.
Tampa, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/17/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna 240 (16") 38cc Gas Chainsaw
Fast delivery, thanks. Only used one time and so far no problems and works well.
Peter Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark B.
Glenn Dale, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/6/16
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well! Like A Hot Knife Through Butter
Once I got the start up tricks down, this saw cuts through fallen trees like hot knife in butter. We had a few large pine trees crash to the ground during a recent storm. Crashed through our yard, fence and into our neighbors property.

I used to cut up fallen trees with a long German hand saw, but these trees were way too big and needed to be cleaned up quickly.

Ordered this saw, and at first could not get it started. Day two, properly choked, etc, started up and I was able to get most... more
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Hard To Start At First
Mark Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Mark's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No issues at all! A bit hard to initially start."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Ed G.
Lexington, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/18/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Chain Saw
Order process was easy. Saw arrived quickly and works perfectly. Great experience!
Ed Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Karen W.
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/23/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Don't Know Yet
Still have not been able to get it started, so this weekend we may have to call and seek advise. Disappointed at the moment :(
Was this review helpful?
01
Norman B.
Felton, DE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Choice!
I needed a small saw for light duty work on the property, and this unit has performed flawlessly. Great value!
Norman Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Norman's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivered on time for a great price!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Mike G.
Clearwater, FL
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Wonderful Tool
I haven't a complaint with this saw. Well made, VERY little vibration, cuts like a champ, doesn't bog down, heck its even not real loud!
Rough to start at times, but that's due to my own stupidity.

Wish I were 30 years old again, I'd buy a bigger one and get back into being an arborist again! Top notch job Husqvarna!
Pros: Price, Quiet, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Mike Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Mike's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Won't hesitate to order from you folks again. INCREDIBLE PRICE !!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
23
Victor S.
Carver, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fell Short
I recently purchased a Husky 240 16" 38cc Chainsaw. I was eager to see how it cut since it was advertised with a 3/8 pitch chain chisel chain. I received the saw after about a week, couldn't wait to get it out of the box and use it. Upon removing it from the box my heart sank. It was equipped with a .325 pitch chain.

I returned it to the box and headed out, with a close friend accompanied by my trusty hard working dependable Husky 235, and along side it was another equally trustworthy... more
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, I Would Give Many More Stars If It Had Come With The 38 Pitch Ch
Cons: Did Not Come As Advertised
Victor Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Allen M.
Gaylord, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/25/16
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna 240
Started right up after I followed the simple directions. I started it like I would any chain saw.i think bad reviews are from homeowners not experienced tree climbers an groundsmen.
Allen Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Greg S.
Piffard, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/8/16
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Saw
Took it out of the box, checked it over, easy to start, work good so far.
Greg Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Greg's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Site was easy to use, and shipping was fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
David B.
Westport, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/9/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Difficult To Start My Size 10 Doesn't Fit In Handle
Made for someone with a small foot. Saw slips from toe hold when trying to start.
Was this review helpful?
02
Vilow S.
Barnesville, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/21/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Chain Bindes
Chain bindes and comes comes off.
Cons: Unreliable, Chain Comes Off Used It Twice Tighten Chain So It Wii Not Come Of, Will Not Turn, Don't Know Where To Get Warrenty
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Vilow,
I located a couple Husqvarna service centers near you. Your saw comes with a 2 year warranty from Husqvarna.

Farm Supply Inc.
304 Rogers Street
Barnesville, GA 30204
770-358-1813
sales@farmsupplystore.com

Pike Depot Llc.
6325 Highway 19
Zebulon, Ga 30295
770-567-5580
pikedepot@att.net
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Vilow,
If the chain is binding please make sure the chainbrake is disengaged. If that does not solve the issue the chain equipped on the saw may not have the proper pitch or the bar may have damage to the guides.
more
Vilow's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"chain bindes then it will not turn. loosen and it still will not run jumps off. used 2 times chain came off both times. tighten it to take out slack and it slipes the clutch."
 more
Was this review helpful?
03
Daniel
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saw Is Quiet, And Starts And Runs Reliably Once You Adjust Carb.
I bought the 240, and immediately noticed it was difficult to start, and would stutter and die after making a cut. Once the carburetor had some tweaking done to it, the idle smoothed out, and it also became extremely easy to crank.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Can't Figure Out Which File Kit It Uses
Daniel Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
180
Raymond B.
Pittsford, NY
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Once Its Warmed Up, It Keeps Stalling On Me And Is Hard To Start
I bought the Husqvarna 240 because I knew the name and reputation of their saws. But I am disappointed that it does not run well when it warms up. It cuts great, but it keeps on stalling when it idles. I took it to the repair shop and it needed a new oiler for the chain. The saw is not even a year old. I am thinking about hanging it up and buying a Stihl chain saw. I am hoping that they will get my chain saw working the way it should.
Pros: Price, Features, Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
143
James B.
Woodway, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/8/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
The Old Man And His Saw
It has done everything I asked it to do. Have noticed that the older I get the heavier ten pounds becomes. (But that's no fault of the saw.) I have been pleasantly surprised that the more I use the saw the easier it is to start. My biggest problem now is "how do I dispose of the old saw?", also a Husqvarna.
Pros: Durable, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
James Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
124
Richard R.
Crossville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/22/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Saw
Purchased this saw to replace a 20 year old Poulan. The H240 is a nice saw: good ergonomics, low vibration, good cutting, quick starting, easy on fuel and bar oil, and relatively quiet.
Richard Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Rick
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/18/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than Expected!
I'm selectively cleaning, managing 25 acres of mixed hardwood and pine forest. I bought this chainsaw to use for felling smaller trees and limbing downed larger trees.

The saw is handling those jobs very well and felling trees larger than originally intended. I also own a Husqvarna 455 for larger work.
Rick Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Rick,
We're happy to hear that it's working out so well for you. Best wishes!
more
Was this review helpful?
103
Todd E.
Dallas, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/1/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cuts Like Butter!
This "toy" was probably overkill for what little bit of limb trimming I do around the house, but figured a good chainsaw would come in handy as the old tree in my front yard sheds limbs during ice storms.

This saw could definitely handle much bigger projects than what I have opportunity for.
Todd Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Erik
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw!
If you read the directions, it is really easy to start. I tried just cranking it to start it too and it wouldn't start. Once I followed their steps it starts every time! Hard to keep the chain sharp though.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Easy To Use
Erik Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
74
Tommy J.
Suwanee, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product For A Great Price
I purchased this product to cut down some trees in my back yard.
Tommy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Tommy's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"This was a great buy at a great price. The features and the ease of use is ideal for any novice homeowner."
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
Douglas K.
Woodbury, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/10/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dependable Chain Saw
I wore my first Husqvarna chain saw after 30 years of use and I am pleased to have a new one. I'm sure it will be dependable and efficient like my first one. Thanks to Chain Saws Direct, I got a good deal.
Douglas Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
42
Jerry F.
Council Bluffs, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/4/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My Husky
I purchased an air-injected 55 at a farm sale some years ago and have heated my home and hot water at the mercy of my husky for 21 years.

It is getting tired as am I and this purchase is a replacement for a job well done. With the confidence earned I replaced it with another Husky. I have hardly used it yet but look forward to another extended relationship.
Jerry Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
37
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 952 80 21-54 reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 952 80 21-54 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 952 80 21-54 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct