Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 531 30 96-42 Mulching Kits Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$54.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
$54.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$54.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$54.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 531 30 96-42 Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Easy To Use (4)
Durable (4)
Reliable (2)
Fast (1)
Cons
Bad Instructions (3)
Low Quality (1)
Expensive (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
25 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Nathan Tart
Rockwell, NC
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Blades To Be On The Husqvarna
the best set of blades I have bought for my mower and it does wat it needs to do the left blade will come not sharp but it will sharpen its self when u start mowing heavy brush
View Image
Nathan Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg M
Eldersburg, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/18/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
24 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well
I purchased mulch kit at the same time I bought a new mower. It appears to be the exact same blades preinstalled on mower that are in mulch kit. For me the only useful part is the plastic mulch cover. The kit and the mower work great and mulches great.
Greg Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Wayne M.
Humboldt, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/27/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does A Good Job!
Directions for installing were a little hard to follow...after I figured them out, the install went well. Product did a very good job of mulching fall leaves. No more bagging! Just wish I had located this product earlier! Very satisfied
Wayne Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/30/12
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
33 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Option 3
I was sick of seeing my grass clumping all over my yard after I mowed. I knew I had 3 options to cure the problem: bag it, sweep it, or mulch it.

Bagging was out because of the extra time and effort of disposing the clippings. Also, bagging equipment cost more and takes up more room on and around a riding tractor. Sweeping is cheaper yet, but awkward in tight places. And you still have to dispose of the clippings. This left me to my only option of a mulching kit.

Mulching pros:... more
Was this review helpful?
91
Leslie
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/11/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Must Have!
The mulcher helps with the lawn clippings tremendously. They didn't have it in stock at Lowe's where we bought the tractor. So, we bought it through this website and received it quickly. There are three blades, even though the picture may show only two. The quality of the blades is on par with the brand-excellent. However, the instructions and diagram included were a little confusing. Overall we are happy with the purchase once we installed them.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions
Leslie Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Billy M.
Etoile, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/8/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Wrong Parts For My Mower
I ordered a mulching kit for a 48" Husqvarna mower from your website. I purchased a YTH24V48LS last year and wanted the mulching blades and chute discharge cover. Received the parts, installed the blades and rotated them by hand to ensure they did not hit the housing. All seemed good until I engaged the mower and heard a metal to metal sound. I looked under the mower and could see the blades had hit end to end. Removed the blades and compared them to the old ones and found they were... more
Billy Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Kirk B.
South Yarmouth, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/10/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Decent Mulch Kit For The Price.
I have the 48" Husqvarna "Fast Tractor" with the tube reinforced stamped deck. The mulch cover didn't seem to install the way it was supposed to. I may have the wrong kit, but I was able to hook in the front strap/hook to one of the holes for the deck roller and it doesn't interfere with the little tire. In thicker turf grass (full, thick lawns about 4.5-5" tall, it leaves a row of cut grass along the right side of the deck when mowing quickly. If I slow down to about half... more
Pros: Durable, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Kirk Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Kirk Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"First time user of this company. Will use again. Thank you!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Les
Cookeville, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mulching Kit
Arrived in a few days. It fit correctly and works great.
Was this review helpful?
30
Kenneth C.
Otisville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/24/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Mulching Kit For Husquvarna 48" Tractor
I installed the kit on my tractor and it kept clogging up where the chute used to be. I had to stop and unclog the grass several times. The grass I was cutting was approx. 3"-4" long. I checked the blades to make sure I had installed them correctly, and they were on the correct way. Also the installation of the chute provided allows the strap towards the rear of the mower to keep slipping off the bolt system provided.
Was this review helpful?
41
Al D.
Clinton Twp., MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/26/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Pleased
I bought a new Husqvarna 24 hp riding lawn mower and wanted to switch it over from side discharge to mulching.

I ordered the mulching kit from your company and I must say, I am well pleased with the whole transaction. The shipping time was short, the product was in excellent condition, and the quality of the product is five star.

It does an excellent job on my lawn, and the price was much better than the price was from where I bought the tractor. I would definitely recommend your... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Michael S.
Sykesville, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/30/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna R322t Awd Owner
Found the mulching kit on Mower Direct works great and tech support was able to tell me that the unique 48 inch front mower deck was similar to the Husqvarna standard 48 inch riding mower deck. Mulching kit fit like a charm.
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Donald S.
Portland, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/22/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
This was a great addition to my mower. Makes my yard look professionally done.
Donald Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Rick R.
Suffolk, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/4/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Mulch Kit
Works fine. My main problem is the high price and not to be made of painted metal.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Rick Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Rick Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Works for me."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Chadwick
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/18/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Quality Product!
I found this mulching kit for my Husqvarna (model YTH2348) riding mower while browsing the Internet and found Mowers Direct to have the best price. Ordering was a breeze and the product arrived sooner than expected!

This kit fits my mower perfectly, and was easy to install. It only took me about 20 minutes to remove the old blades, clean the old debris from the deck and install the new blades and protective cover. The blades that come with this kit are a close fit, so make sure that... more
Was this review helpful?
21
Rich
Kula, HI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Fit, Good Quality
This is just what I needed. Wasn't quite sure which part would fit my mower. Dropped a question on Mowers Direct, quick answer came back. I placed my order and it was shipped fast.
The mulch plug fits snug and secure. Blades cut extra fine for mulching.

Very happy with this product and would recommend for Husqvarna 48" riding mower.

Thanks MowersDirect.com
Rich Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Shane R.
Commerce Twp, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/9/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience With Mowers Direct
Called and spoke with a customer service representative to verify I was buying the correct mulch kit for my Husqvarna YTH24V48. Placed my order at around noon and the correct parts (made by manufacturer, Husqvarna) were received the next day a little after noon, standard shipping.

Price was $14 less than Amazon. Kit fit perfectly and installed in about 15-20 minutes. Tried it out and works great. I will by all of my small engine parts from Mowers Direct from now on.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Fast
Shane Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Wade W.
Wilmington, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/14/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mulch Kit Works Well.
Installed mulch kit on my mower. Fit and function are fine.
Wade Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Raymond W.
Bolivar, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/15
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mulch Kit
Needed a mulch kit for my tractor. Came to Mowers Direct and got exactly what I needed. My second purchase from them.
Raymond Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David R.
North Mankato, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/16/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great Easy To Install But...
It was easy to install but I had to drill a hole in the mower cowling because the rubber hold downs would not stretch enough to get the hook in the manufactured hole.

Also I took off the original deflector as it was not necessary with the mulcher on, which allowed me to get closer to objects on the right side.

Love the way it works, especially on leaves, no more raking! I should have gotten one earlier.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Easy To Use
David Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom B.
East Bethel, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/14/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cons
During installation the rubber straps that are sent broke with little to no pressure. Had to rig up my own system to hold the cover in place. POOR quality on the straps.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions, Low Quality
Tom Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Tom Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience with your site, product quality of purchase product was very poor. I have you guys on my Favorites bar for future purchases. Thanks"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Prince S.
Niagara Falls, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/29/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Riding Lawn Mower
I am very satisfied with my order experience and with the excellent condition of my riding lawn mower.
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Prince Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Chuck
Gulf Coast, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/12/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Purrrrrrrrrrrrr Baby Purrrrrrrrrrr
I am quite happy with this lawn mower I have 13 acres but only 5 acres is cleared. It is a very well built lawn tractor but you NEED the mulching cover. If you don't get it, it will throw the stuff under the plastic covers on the deck and it is very hard to clean. With the 3 blades you don't even notice as far as the grass cutting affect. If you have a large large yard you will love the cruise control, you push the gas and slide the button to the right and let it go.

I always crank my... more
Was this review helpful?
33
Ralph Draffen
Snellville, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Mulching Blades
All I can say is yipppeeee ki yaaaaaaaa! This mower is teriffic ! After installing the mulching blades, the Husqvarna turned out to be awesome. After adjusting the blade support wheels, I get an even cut all the time.

I bought this riding mower at the end of June and after learning the ride and controls, it turned out to be all I dreamed it to be. Good buy, good choice.
Was this review helpful?
11
Tom W.
Dardenne Prairie, MO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/7/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Lawn Tractor
My 15 year old Troy-Bilt lawn tractor fell apart. The engine, a 22 HP Briggs and Stratton still ran great and I never had one problem with it ! The Husqvarna had the same type engine, the bells and whistles I was looking for and it was good looking, so I bought it!
I added a mulching kit and it works great! When I finish mowing it looks as if I used a bagger. No grass residue or clumps anywhere .
Was this review helpful?
12
Eric
Raeford, NC
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Mower So Far
This mower took only three days to receive at my house. Very happy with the shipping and how fast it got here. The shipping company called me and set up and drop off time. Set it all up and was mowing within 45 minutes. Cut really well and fast. I have about 1 hour on it now and it ran perfect the entire time. The mulch kit worked perfectly, did not have to re-cut anything. I will post another review after a few more times out this summer.
Was this review helpful?
12
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 531 30 96-42 reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 531 30 96-42 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 531 30 96-42 Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct