Your Cart @ Power Equipment Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 440E Power Equipment Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$299.95
(as of 06:07 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$299.95
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Husqvarna 440E Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (22)
Light Weight (15)
Easy To Use (15)
Price (13)
Reliable (12)
Cons
None (11)
Bad Instructions (4)
Difficult To Use (2)
Low Quality (2)
Unreliable (2)
83% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
79 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Power Equipment Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
28 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1719 Helpful Votes
Power Equipment Direct Recommended

The body of the saw is still set long-ways and well balanced; and the engine is a little larger and more powerful- but still weighs under 10 pounds.

The hand guard and chain brake have been beefed up for more protection and user comfort.

This is still considered a Consumer grade saw, but it will take on most household chores with very little effort, and all but the largest trees and wood piles. With the vibration dampening system on this saw you can cut as much as you need to and still... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
557
Helena V.
Ashland, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/30/13
Total Helpful Votes
29 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
We Cut Most Of Unwanted Trees In A Day
We needed to clear land from unwanted trees that were in the way of a Deere tractor that we use to cut grass and keep property/meadows from growing more trees. We will have wood for our wood stove and far reaching views from back porch, thanks to Husky!
View Image
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Helena Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
296
Jerry Oliver
Auburn, NY
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Stay Away
I have owned this saw for 1.5 years and just through it in the junk. Very hard starting and hard to keep it running. My previous Husquevarnas were great saws but the 440 is making me switch to another brand.
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/27/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Household Chainsaw
The Husqvarna 440E started up right out of the box and was ready to cut wood. Living in the northeast I wanted to be prepared for downed trees on my property. This chainsaw should have no problem with the task. I've also been using it on some rather large firewood logs that needed shortening. I'm so far pleased with my purchase.
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Michael's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great price and fast shipping. I couldn't ask for more."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
William M.
Niles, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/8/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Starts, Runs & Cuts - Everything One Would Want
Got the saw very quickly from Chain Saws Direct and immediately put it to use. Cleaned up some trails and cut down a couple of 12" Cherry trees. Gave my Poulan Pro to someone else.
William Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jeffrey C.
Hesperia, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/4/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
Works great and easy to use. A wonderful chain saw. Thanks!
Jeffrey Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Jeffrey,
You're quite welcome. Thank you for writing a review.
more
Jeffrey's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Have used it was easy to tighten the chain an works great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
James P.
Peru, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/29/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna 440e
Very happy with my purchase. Would buy again.
James Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Robert
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/2/12
Total Helpful Votes
32 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Saw
I purchased this saw as a replacement for the Poulan 3416. I have a lot with a lot of trees and wanted to thin them out. The engine on the Poulan burned out after 2 days of use. To be completely fair, I don't think it was built for that kind of service.

This Husqvarna is a significant step up. I have spent one day with it so far- cutting 6-12 inch diameter trees for 3 hours and it works very well. Compared to the Poulan, I notice that it uses far less chain oil and the chain rarely... more
Was this review helpful?
320
Steve
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/6/12
Total Helpful Votes
29 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Husqy Owner
The saw goes beyond my expectations.

It has been many years since I had bought my previous saw. The technology has moved on. The saw is a power machine, make no mistake about it. It cuts through 15 inch ash trunks like butter. Really!

And, it is so light. It is really hard to believe all that power in such a lightweight package. For starting - read the directions carefully, AND, it will start perfectly with a few pulls (warm or cold) - even first time out of the box. And, the no-tools... more
Was this review helpful?
290
Debbie M.
Shevlin, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Chain Saw
I bought this saw after reading the reviews. I don't have any knowledge of other saws to compare it to, but I really like it. I have been cutting and splitting firewood and some of the logs are 20 inches in diameter. Cuts right through them.

The only reason I didn't rate it 100% 5 stars is because when I first got it I could not get it started. Had to take it to a guy friend who is a logger. Once he got it started I haven' t had any trouble with it since.

I would definitely recommend... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Price, Quiet
Debbie Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
243
Ed M.
Clinton, ME
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/15/13
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Happy With This Saw
I bought this saw brand new. After 3 or 4 tanks of gas I have had to take it to a repair shop. Still waiting to get it back. Apparently the average guy cannot adjust the jets on the carb as it takes a special tool which I was told it is against the law to buy. This is the worst saw I have ever owned.
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Ed,
Thank you for the review, sorry to hear about the jets on the saw. These saws like most power equipment, sometimes it needs to be adjusted depending on the altitude you live in. Please do not hesitate to email us or call us if you need any assistance with the service center.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ed,
The average guy is not capable of adjusting the carburetor on a chainsaw. A special tool is required that is only available to dealers. We legally can not sell this to customers as they may adjust the saw out of EPA compliance. Also, if the carburetor is not adjusted correctly, you may run the saw too lean and burn the motor up. While it is frustrating to take to a dealer to have adjusted in the long run, your saw will work correctly after being adjusted and you will be able to use for many years to come.
more
Was this review helpful?
277
George Story S.
Ellensburg, WA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Need Lighter Work Saw For Ranch.
I have always had Stihl chainsaws, with the last one being the farm boss with a 20 bar. As I am almost 70 and the size and weight of the saw was getting harder for me to start and use safely. I don't use a saw often, but I do have the occasional blow down 12-16 inches or sizeable broken limb 10-12" and a small 60 plus tree orchard that needs periodic saw work during spring pruning. After doing some research I thought the Husqvarna 440E might meet my needs. I haven't had a chance to... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Price, Fast
Cons: Bad Instructions
George Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
201
Steven C.
Philadelphia, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/16/13
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Worth The Price
Beautiful saw, a real work of art, powerful, light, easy on the hands, no vibrations, quiet and clean burning. It cuts wood faster than any other saw I ever used. Looks like a lot of thought and workmanship was put into this saw, just the way it feels, the controls, and the pull starter fit and finish. I am very glad I bought it and can't wait for the next storm, almost...

Steven C., P.E.
Mechanical Engineer and Homeowner
Was this review helpful?
170
James V.
Pagosa Springs, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Saw
I read several comments about hard to start, but if you read the directions it is easy. My only complaint is the chain adjust. The thumb wheel is so small and pointed it is hard to turn. Go back to the old way, it really is not hard to use the wrench plus with only one nut to hold the adjustment I think it does not hold as good. I wish I had bought the model 435.
Pros: Price, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Difficult To Use, My Saw
Was this review helpful?
160
Ronald H.
Nokomis, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/7/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Doesn't Stay Running
Not running well out of the chute!!
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Quiet, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Ronald,
Ronald,

We are sorry to hear about the issues you are having and would be happy to help in any way we can. Please feel free to give us a call and we would be happy to assist.
more
Was this review helpful?
183
Michael O.
Centereach, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/25/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Woodman - Residential
Its a monster. Excellent piece of equipment. Hats off to Husqvarna. Well worth the dough!!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Michael Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Its the "Jack the ripper " of residential chain saws."
 more
Was this review helpful?
172
Scott Mullins
Evans, GA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/8/10
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not A Good Saw
I bought a Husqvarna 440e from this site. When I received the saw, it would not start--even after an hour trying.

I called the Mowers Direct customer service number and they told me once gas has been put in it, they will not accept it returned.

Bottom line- I got a bad saw, they got my money and there's no after-sales support. The customer service rep even got argumentative on the phone. I strongly suggest another retailer.

CSD RESPONDS: As our Customer Service rep tried to explain... more
Was this review helpful?
195
Donald C.
Calion, AR
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/17/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Much Better Than Expected
I had some rather large trees in my yard that I wanted down....I wasn't quite sure whether this 16" chain saw had the muscle to attend to the job at hand...WOW!!!!! Was I ever proudly surprised...This product is a real keeper....
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Donald Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
131
Mar
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Junk !
Not worth the $$$. Had to have mine serviced regularly d/t continued problems. The first few months it ran great then started running rough. Serviced and within 6 days of use had it back in to the shop. They did a total rebuild which they were trying to blame on misuse or wrong fuel mix (not even) always used exact mix called for. Again it ran good for a while then started going thru fuel like crazy, the mechanics checked it and said its fine. Soon started loosing power, back to the mechanic,... more
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Durability, Expensive
Was this review helpful?
3422
Charlene
Colby, KS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/14/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Still Working Out The Bugs
I had a 137 Husqvarna, and literally wore it out. It started so easy, still does, but just had no more "muscle" to it. So, in finding a replacement, I wanted to go back with a Husqvarna. I went a little bigger with the 440E. It weighs 2 lbs more, so I thought I could handle it. Being a little older at 55 yrs., and weighing 116 lbs., I get concerned about my safety, so didn't want to go too big. I've cut up a couple chords already. It has left me "waiting" a couple... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Price, Features
Charlene Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
110
James S.
Bristol, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/10/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Chainsaw
Difficult to start unless you follow the directions for starting it. If you follow the directions exactly, it is easy to start.
James Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Warren P.
Littlestown, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeding Expectations
Reviewed all the major brands and specs before coming up with what I thought was the saw that would serve me the best. That saw was the Husqvarna 440E, which had the horsepower, size, and light weight I wanted. Right from the first start and cut the Husqvarna has met my expectations.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Price, Reliable
Warren Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
110
Charles D.
Terry, MS
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/26/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Starting
It was about 31-oF it started on the first pull. Can manage 12" trees. Perfect for a home owner (consumer).
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations
Charles Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
122
Juliet & Tom F.
Guilford, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/26/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Saw
It came just in time after Superstorm Sandy.

I cut up a 65 ft. poplar tree in no time- it's a great saw for the money.

The only negative- it's tricky to start, and the directions are confusing, The best way is to hit the primer 6 times; put the choke on, pull the starter 3 or 4 times; release the choke and pull the starter a couple times. Then it starts every time.

I would buy it again, and from Chain Saws Direct.com!
Was this review helpful?
101
Ricky K.
Belgrade, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Saw For The Money.
Cuts as good as my Poulan Pro, but is lighter and just as powerful.
Pros: Price, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again, Plenty Power For Its Size
Ricky Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
92
Jerry Campbell
Loveland, OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/2/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Pay For What You Get. I Got More Than I Paid For.
I found a chainsaw that had everything I needed in one chainsaw without paying for the name.
Pros: Durable, Features, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions, Packaging
Jerry Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Jerry Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have one and I and than bought another for my brother because he asked me for advice on chainsaw so I had to show him."
 more
Was this review helpful?
114
Icehole K
Burlington, VT
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Chainsaw
Love the chainsaw.
Pros: Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: None
Icehole Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Andy
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/18/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice And Good Purchase
I really like the tool less chain adjustment. Saw starts easy and runs great, good size for a homeowner like myself with a tree lot. It cuts well through a variety of tree sizes and is still easy to handle and store. Fast delivery and saw arrived in perfect condition.
Was this review helpful?
71
Lee
Lovettsville, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/13/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Fires It Up
It does not start using Husqvarna's method. But using a right hand on the trigger and left hand pulling it fires up.

Once it gets going it is great.
Was this review helpful?
82
Richard
Difficult, TN
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Am Sorry I Waited So Long!
I was in the market to get a better chainsaw. I checked the reviews online and found that Husqvarna is just as good as a Stihl but costs less.

Then I checked Husqvarna's web site and decided on the 440E. The best price I could find was with Chain Saws Direct, so I ordered it and received it within a few days.

I had been using a Poulan Pro 35cc and a Poulan Pro 42cc for about 2 years. I had no idea what a difference it makes using a better chain saw.

There is no comparison. I could... more
Was this review helpful?
60
George R.
Traverse City, MI
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Enough Power And Very Hard To Start
I am a casual user of chain saws and cut about 3 to 4 cords of firewood a year for my family in Michigan. I started with a Worx electric which was fine but I decided for independence of the power cord and bought a 440. Next to impossible to start and after I bought it, the dealer confirmed that they are known for being hard to start. I took it in for a tune up and it started once when I brought it home. I was cutting 12 to 15 inch Wild Cherry logs. At times it stopped cutting and generally... more
Was this review helpful?
83
Robert H.
Collinsville, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/27/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chainsaw
I have a heavily wooded two acre lot and needed a good chainsaw. I did some homework and found this saw had very good reviews. It hasn't failed yet, and I use it very regularly glad I bought it.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, High Quality, Durable
Cons: None
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Rick S.
West Jordan, UT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/2/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Chainsaw..!
It's a great saw. It has cut everything around the yard I needed it to. Starts easy and runs great even in high elevation..! Would recommend this saw to the everyday user. Wish I would have gotten the 18 " bar but you can upgrade it to that...just a little more money..! We'll worth the money.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Price, High Quality
Cons: Should Have Gotten The 18 Bar
Rick Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
83
Randall P.
Griffith, IN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Piece Of Junk.
Brand new and it won't even start. Would never own another one ever again.
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Randall,
Randall,

We are sorry you are having issues with your saw and would be happy to help in any we can. Please give us a call and we can attempt to trouble shoot the issues you are having with your saw. Chainsaws as a whole can sometimes be difficult to start as the carburetors can be pretty temper-mental. We would like to offer any help we can.
more
Was this review helpful?
83
Donnie G.
Dunn, NC
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Chain Saw
Needed a chain saw to remove small to medium size trees, cuts really good, starts every time, idles good, very easy to adjust chain tension. Only fault is it just started leaking oil for no apparent reason, before that we kept in storage inside house with no leaks at all..
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable, Overall Good Chain Saw For Week End Work
Cons: Started Leaking Oil Have Not Found Why Yet
Donnie Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Robert J.
Atmore, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/16/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Firewood Is No Match For This Saw
Fill the tanks, follow directions, and pretty soon you will have a pile of wood cut before the tank is empty. Be sure to get familiar with the instructions and use proper fuel and chain oil to enjoy top performance from this saw. It doesn't know that it is considered a small saw as it cuts through seasoned Oak about as fast as any. Shipping was fast and delivered in excellent shape.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Reliable, Durable
Cons: None
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Robert Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good product, good price. So buy from Chain Saws Direct - Today."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Dolores M.
Chadds Ford, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/1/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Saw!
My previous chainsaw was a Husqvarna 235. When it broke I replaced it with this saw which was about $50+ more because
of the great reviews. It was delivered very quickly and shipping was free. This saw is awesome . I have used it many times and I love it. It cuts wood like it's cutting butter. I cut up many large trees and have absolutely no complaints about this saw.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: None
Dolores Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Dolores Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great way to shop . Fast, easy and good prices."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
David L.
Panacea, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/15/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chainsaw!
We have a pair of Huskys that are 13 years old. LOTS of use and they have held up well. A new pair will make cutting firewood much easier. And the price can't be beat at Chain Saws Direct!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Quiet
David Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Michael
Somers, NY
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Saw, Good Price
Good saw. Good power for a decent price.
Was this review helpful?
50
Kriss Schrader
Power Equipment Direct, IL
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
How To Pick The Perfect Bar Length
When it comes to picking a bar length for your personal chain saw there are a lot of scenarios to keep in mind.

What you want to cut can determine on the size of bar you want to choose.

If you are felling trees you probably want to choose a bar a little bigger, like an 18-20" bar. Keep in mind that you can still fell a tree with a smaller bar, you just need to make more cuts.

Another factor to be mindful of is the bigger the bar, the more the chain saw weighs. You may not... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Nicolas B.
Cooper City, FL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/14/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Workaholic
I received my 440E Husky about 2 weeks ago on a Wednesday. After following the instructions I put it to use immediately. For the next 4 days I put it to the test using it 2 to 3 hours a day. I cut down three 30 ft Queen Palms, 3 smaller palms. Two large trees and then cut all that into smaller pieces to be able to haul it away. By Sunday my chain needed sharpening. Monday morning I took it to have it sharpened. Thursday I got the chainsaw back and again put it immediately to work. Started to... more
Nicolas Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Nicolas's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Chainsaws Direct has a very informative website and very user friendly. The staff are very useful. They know their products and are very friendly. You can't ask for more!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Gregory K.
Rochester, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/24/15
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Chainsaw, Quick Delivery
The 440E starts easily and has plenty of power for my needs.
Gregory Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Durinda D.
New Hartford, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/19/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Saw For The Job!
Wanted a reliable saw for small jobs that I as a female could do without assistance. This is the perfect saw, meets all of my expectations thus far.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Use, It's Great I Followed The Directions Step By Step Started First
Cons: None
Durinda Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Durinda Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Very pleased. Easy to start, easy to use. Shipped by Fed Ex, delivered to wrong address, had to track it down, delayed delivery by a week."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Phil
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/3/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw - Lives Up To High Rating
This saw has the power and features that made it a great choice. Vibration damping feature is very noticeable after using the saw all day, and the chain stayed sharp all day.
Was this review helpful?
40
Walter C.
Cranston, RI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/4/12
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Step-by-step Starting
It took a while to start the chain saw. Your company should include a step instruction form to assist the starring of the chain saw. Lay man style instruction. Thanks.

P.S Once I got it started work well and did its job in short time.

Very strong unit.

CSD RESPONDS: Husqvarna writes the Owner's Manuals for their products; please send comments about their instructions directly to them at Husqvarna Feedback:... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Bill M.
Pinson, AL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/2/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed A New Chainsaw
After a good bit of online research I bought this saw. So far it has been great. Started first time out of the box. Did an hour's worth of sawing without shutting it off. Performed nicely. Can't wait to do my next project. Might rate it again after a few more uses.
Bill Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jeff S.
Manasquan, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/4/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Success! First Chainsaw I've Owned!
Based on reviews of the product, I studied the manual before use. This was also my first chainsaw to own and I wanted to make sure I gave myself every chance for success.

Followed the instructions and it fired right up and ran great. I zipped right through some 18-20" sections of 2 year old, fallen cedar trees. This was a great purchase!
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: None
Jeff Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Jeff's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"If you are a first time user/owner like me (60 years old) I would highly recommend this site and product for purchase. The Husqvarna 440E (16") 40cc Consumer Gas Chainsaw was my choice. I read lots of reviews and watched several videos. After all of my homework, this is the site and the product that I chose."
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
Michael M.
Reading, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 3/23/15
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Customer service was great, the saw came in a few days, price was comparable to big box store price but was shipped free and no tax. What a deal!
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Mike B.
Compton, CA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/25/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Service - Great Products
The Husqvarna 440E is a great saw and we have no complaints. Excellent value for money we thought.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Mike Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Mike's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"We deal with PED quite a lot and the service provided is always excellent. The team know their stuff and we have found them always friendly and able to help. Would totally recommend Power Equipment Direct!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Gordon Fink
Annapolis, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/12/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
25
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
The Chain Saw Was Very Hard To Start.
Had a very hard time starting the chain saw from the beginning. Went to a local store that stocks several different brands where I am known and they confirmed the problems!! Purchased a Stihl saw from them and have been very happy. They gave me a great deal on the trade-in and I am very, very happy with the Stihl product!! Feel they will use your saw for parts since they do a lot of chain saw repair work!! My mistake with Husqvarna!!
Cons: Low Quality, Very Hard To Start
Was this review helpful?
74
Ken A.
Lakeville, MA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
Saw starts cold with 2 to 3 pulls, starts hot with 1 to 2 pulls. Plenty of power, last saw I bought was a 20'' Poulan by Sears back in 87 still have it . I burn about 3 cords a year and cut all my own wood. Haven't used the Poulan since I got this saw. Hope I get the same service from this one. Great saw so far.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Ken Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Richard K.
Bennettsville, SC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/18/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Read The Instructions
Well you might question my rating considering that I have not used the product........here is the reason why. Unfortunately, my gardener got hold of the saw before me and didn't read the instructions on starting. After an hour of trying to start the saw he brought it to me and said that is was dysfunctional. I couldn't believe it, so I asked a neighbor to take a look as he is very familiar with power tools. With in 30 seconds he had the saw up and running. He did tell me that he uses a... more
Pros: High Quality
Richard Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Jason T.
College Station, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/23/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Had To Adjust The Idle, Easy Fix Once You Know What You're Doing
This is the first chainsaw I have owned. The first day I used it, the chainsaw would not idle at all. It would start easily but die out immediately upon letting off the throttle. I had to check the manual to figure it out. There is a simple t screw (use a flat-head screwdriver) that I adjusted clockwise so it was a simple fix. Used it again today with no problems. This chainsaw starts very easily and cuts great. I couldn't be happier with my first saw.
Was this review helpful?
96
Terry W.
Gainesboro, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/8/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna 440e
A little "Cold Blooded" at first, but warmed up and worked like a champ. Nice tool. Handled well, with a nice balance in your hands. So far, so good.
Was this review helpful?
41
Jeff
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/10/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Homeowner
Great Saw. Power well matched to the 16" blade.The saw started right up out of the box and with just a few blade tension adustments, I was off and running. Cut down a avacado tree with a 18" base and made short work of the mess. The saw is light enough for general trimming and will handle medium sized tree cutting. Great homeowner saw and I am very pleased.
Was this review helpful?
30
Mike
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/14/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna For Hurrincane Sandy
Like many I lost a LOT of trees from the hurricane and my older chain saw was not going to cut it. Literally.

I bought this 440E model based on reviews and holding the model in a big box store that was back-ordered for several weeks.

Before anyone buys this model, even if you are comfortable running a chain saw, go watch the video on starting it and then you will NEVER have an unhappy moment with this tool.

It is great, I look forward to using it every time I fire it up.
Was this review helpful?
41
Robert P.
Southbury, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 11/1/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Chainsaw I've Ever Owned.
First a little background. In 1976, when I was 28, I bought 2 acres of wooded acreage for my first home. Cleared it all with a little 16" Homelite. It was a good little machine and I learned a lot about chainsaws. Later, to maintain the property, I bought a much larger chainsaw and learned that bigger isn't always better. Much to heavy for casual use. So I downsized to a 16" Craftsman. A nice little machine. Sometimes cranky to get started, but it did the job for many many... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Dann
Old Lyme, CT
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
The saw was bought to make a dent in a significant amount of Hurricane Irene tree damage (Connecticut.) Large trees and branches . . .

Overall, I'm happy with the saw's performance, though the one "complaint" is that starting her has taken some getting used to/technique. It seems that re-starting requires re-priming and one pull with the chock engaged, prior to additional pulls after choking. Don't know if that's by design or not . . .

Chain tightening is an easy plus. ... more
Was this review helpful?
30
James
Laurel, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/7/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Easy
This is the best chain saw I have ever owned, bar none. Like they said, read the manual, filled with a fresh mix and it
fired right up.

Had second thoughts about having the break applied on startup, but after doing it a couple of times it is the only way. Someone had safety in mind.

All in all well balanced, easy start, and ease of use made this an excellent choice.

Will never go back to any other chain saw. Rated 5 stars.
Was this review helpful?
30
Laurie M.
Silver Spring, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/19/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wow
This is an impressive machine.
Laurie Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve V.
Bailey, MI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/27/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chainsaw
I didn't have any trouble starting the first time like some other reviewers. It has started with 2 or 3 pulls every time. So far I've cut up 6 30 year old Apple trees that came down in a storm & haven't had to sharpen the chain yet.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Cons: None
Steve Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Steve's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Saw was shipped free of charge & still arrived in 2 days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Lee W.
Willis, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/4/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna 440e (16") 40cc Consumer Gas Chainsaw Review
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast
Lee Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Rad
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/12/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Chain Saw Number 7
Still too new to evaluate but so far I'm quite happy with it's use as a limbing saw. Starts easy, light weight.
Was this review helpful?
20
Charles
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 1/10/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Saw!
Fast and easy to buy from chainsaw direct.. The 440 E. Is one of the best saws made.
Was this review helpful?
20
Niloc
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/1/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Had an old Husqvana, Rancher I think, 70's or 80's model, just brilliant saw, very powerful, if not a little too powerful, anyway, emigrating from the UK to USA and not practical to take with me.

I thought I would have some time to sort out what saw I wanted, but the derecho (a straight line wind storm) in Ohio in July 2012 brought forward my plans, as I had much tree damage and needed a saw to clear up.

This saw is a compromise (as are most choices) on power and weight, size of bar and... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jack J.
Afton, TN
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great- Thanks
I wanted to wait for a while before I used it so it would cool down...but I have been using it and it works great.

Thanks
Was this review helpful?
20
Igrease
Las Vegas, NV
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Powerful
Fast delivery, fired right up, cuts great, very powerful. I put it in an optional husky soft bag, I think this saw will last a long time.

Thanks, Chain Saws Direct.
Was this review helpful?
20
Dan
Nashwauk, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/3/11
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Chain Saw
Great little chainsaw! Started on 5th pull right out of the box.

Chainsaws Direct had very fast free shipping and the best price I could find. I will definitely buy from them again if the need arises.

Thanks Chainsaws Direct, for a smooth transaction.
Was this review helpful?
20
Tibor M.
Blytheville, AR
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Helpline Solved Starting Issue
The unit instructions do not include "First-time start/use" instructions.

The help line (whose number is almost at the end of the instruction booklet) immediately solved the starting issue and admitted this was a common call because of this oversight.

Otherwise, Mrs. Lincoln, I've enjoyed the play...
Was this review helpful?
20
Bert
Ottawa, IL
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/10
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
I ordered the saw a couple of weeks ago, but only just started using it yesterday. What I ordered is what I got - a great saw at a great price.

I know it's only one day of use so far, but I am very happy with the product and the service I got when ordering.

Just make sure that if you order online and have it sent somewhere else, you talk to someone in person to confirm the order.
Was this review helpful?
20
William Portz
Horse Shoe, NC
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/28/10
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
I've used it twice without any problems.

It's easy to start (as long as you follow the directions).
Was this review helpful?
20
Joe L.
Riceville, IA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/7/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Joe Is Happy
I like this little saw it is a good deal for the money and works very well. Some of the people that complained about it starting hard probably have never used anything with a primer on it and just don't understand how to use them properly, because if you do, they work great and it will start right off even after getting it new or even if this saw sat for months without being run. Just prime it about 6 times put the choke on and pull the cord and it will normally start on the first or second... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, High Quality, Price
Cons: None
Joe Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Gene S.
Bolivar, TN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/4/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
I have used Husqvarna saws for years. This saw is used around the farm for small to medium tree trimming and removing fallen trees.

It was shipped, I opened the package and the saw started without issues!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: None
Gene Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Gene's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The deal was easy. I called because I wanted some additional information that I couldn't get online. They promised the saw on a certain date and it came on that date. Great people to do business with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
William C.
Mead, CO
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/14/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cuts Trees
It does what it was bought for, cut down trees!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions, Print To Smal Had To Have Magfing Glassto Read Onely Nead English, Print To Smal Had To Have Mag
William Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Phil M.
Stratford, NJ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/28/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Have not used it extensively yet, but so far I am very happy with the purchase.
Phil Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Kevin
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/16/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chainsaw So Far
I researched different brands and decided on the Husqvarna 16" 440E. I received it 3 weeks ago but have only used it once. It cut through Oak trees very fast, and was easy to start.

I am happy with my choice.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Easy To Use, Reliable
Kevin Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Kevin Would Recommend Power Equipment Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The whole process from ordering to receiving went very smooth and a fast delivery. The saw arrived a day earlier."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Michael
Vienna, VA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/11/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Read The Directions First
Ordered this after my 10 yr. old Craftsman saw would not not start, even after a thorough cleaning and service.


I read the directions FIRST , and followed them to start the saw. Started right up.


It's powerful & easy to handle. I like the chain brake feature. It starts easily again when warmed up.

No more Craftsman junk for me.
Was this review helpful?
00
Floyd
Owings, MD
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 10/9/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Didn't Go Wrong
After having two other brand saws mine would let me down after 20+ years, so I bought this one and what a difference, It is Great.

Didn't go wrong it is light but not built cheep it has power and so on.

Hope it last as long as my old one.
Was this review helpful?
00
Westy
Paris Twp., OH
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 2/2/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Size Is Really:
This lifting tong is really 10.5 inches between the points of the hook. The Husqvarna timber hook is 12 inches between the points. The difference is significant. I have one of each and two of the smaller Husqvarna lifting thongs that are 8 inches wide. I use them all regularly.
I use the Husqvarna timber hook more than the Oregon because it is larger, and that comes in handy when bringing sawed logs to the wedge of the splitter. The Husqvarna model also has a hole in the handle through... more
Was this review helpful?
430
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 440E reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 440E ratings. Find the Husqvarna 440E Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct