Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 224L Gas Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$454.27
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$286.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$329.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 224L Ratings
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (6)
Quiet (4)
Light Weight (4)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Durable (2)
Cons
Expensive (5)
Bad Instructions (1)
Counterclockwise Head Ro... (1)
88% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
18 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Angelo M.
Brooklyn, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/7/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Weed Whacker
Durable and easy to use.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Angelo Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger L
Boston, MA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointing Purchase
I had bought this after reading many great reviews, however the first day using it I had measured the required amount of oil to use but it was still spitting it out. My local certified Husqvarna repair place told me to use the minimal amount of oil and it ran good for the first year.

There were times it would sputter when I turn it sideways to edge. Anyways, it's the end of my 2nd season with this and it has completely bleed out, any oil i put into it, the thing will just dump it out. I... more
Roger Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 12/28/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
First Husqvarna product I ever bought, my dad recommended it and he's 98 and uses their snow blower. l like that it starts every time, no problem, and works great. I also later bought their 4-wheel drive lawnmower, and I like it as well.
John Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Eric
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Total Helpful Votes
43 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet And No Vibration
This trimmer has been everything I hoped it would be (so far). It arrived quickly and was very easy to assemble a couple pieces. I added oil and gas, primed it, and started in a few pulls very easily.

This trimmer is definitely quiet. It has lots of power at low rpm and full throttle can cut down anything in its path. Just for fun I went to an empty lot next door with 3' weeds...no problem! It buzzed them down with ease while putting a smile on my face. :)

Not mixing gas, the... more
Was this review helpful?
439
Michael M.
Central City, NE
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/7/13
Total Helpful Votes
37 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
I recently purchased my trimmers and they came in damaged not from the company but from shipping. Direct was very prompt in getting the trimmers returned and a new trimmer sent out no charge to me. I am happy with the trimmers and the company. I will order from them in the future.
Was this review helpful?
377
John G.
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
67 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liking It So Far.
I bought this trimmer from a different store but have had good results with it so far. I was a little hesitant about this trimmer due to some reviews on another website but went for the plunge anyway. It has worked very well for me so far. It has a Honda engine which is a plus in my book. It has never stalled out once it is started. I have had it since march with no problems. I have used regular unleaded and it worked fine but I wanted to see if premium unleaded would work better and it... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
John Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
140
Bill D.
Parsons, WV
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna 224l
I was a Stihl man all the way but this Husqvarna 224L is a dream. Buy one I don't think you will ever run any thing else.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Bill Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
100
David Strande
Elk River, MN
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 9/1/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Second Time Around
I had a 4 cycle ryobi trimmer before this one for years, so am already a veteran to no gas/oil mix. I needed another four cycle, so I purchased this one because of the outstanding service I got out of a Husqvarna brand chain saw which I no longer have. This trimmer fired up right out of the box with 2 pulls.

Has plenty of power for anything I do as my last trimmer was a 26.5cc. Unit is lightweight, balanced, and of course quiet. Auto feed for the line seems to work well. Haven't had to... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Features, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive, Counterclockwise Head Rotation
David Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Michael L.
Lehighton, PA
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/8/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Happy Happy!!!
Gas instead of oil gas mixture is a blessing. Quiet running and easy start is everything you can expect. As they say Happy Happy Happy!!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Michael Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Steve
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Your Search Is Over !
I can go on and on, But I'll just simply write that this is the one. Ok, A little bit.. If you have a simple little yard with just a bit of trimming here and there this is a breeze but you may want a weed eater because you don't need what this can do. I use the Husqvarna on everything, berry vines, saplings, mole hills, trees, etc. Quiet, powerful, easy.
If your thinking on saving $100 dollars on something else, in the long run you wont save and you can do a more quality job with this.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Bad Instructions
Steve Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Joseph G.
Steubenville, OH
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lighter Than Honda, Better Quality Than Troy/cub Cadet
I really like my Husqvarna 224L trimmer. Have had it for 4 years. Tough tool. Strong but lightweight at 11 pounds. Lighter than corresponding Honda at 14 pounds. Better quality than the no-name brands Troy/Cub Cadet which are also 14 pounds. You need ear protection because it gets really loud - but you feel the power VROOM.

Holding it one way shoots debris forward versus backward. Wish I wasn't left handed! Count on pausing every half hour due to back strain and vibrations. Attack... more
Pros: Light Weight, Durable, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Joseph Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Steven P.
Oshkosh, WI
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Steve's Woodworking Shop
I was very happy that their is no mixing of oil and gas with this trimmer as well as the level of noise. It's very quite compared to my Ryobi trimmer. I also like the fact it only took one pull to get it started....wow what a relief Would highly recommend this trimmer to anyone!
Steven Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Steven's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The trimmer arrived on time and in great shape. Would buy from this company again in a heart beat."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Carmelo A.
Cromwell, CT
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/20/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Doa Out Of Box
I received it, took it out of the box, then read the instructions. I put the guard on it, put in the oil and checked the level, added gas and started it up.

The engine ran well but the head didn't turn. I called Husqvarna support and they had me verify the head was seated correctly. They then instructed me to call a local service center. I called String Trimmers Direct and they instructed me to call a local service center.

Since this is "in season" the local places responses... more
Carmelo Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Sara C.
La Marque, TX
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 5/30/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Meets Expectations
My expectations were high based on all the 5 ratings this trimmer has earned and I was not disappointed. I am a senior citizen, and because of the balance this machine has, I had no trouble using it. It started quickly, and trims well. My whole yard is done. I used premium gas, by the way. I think that helps.
Sara Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Ronnie L.
Elizabethtown, KY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 4/19/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Purchase
This is the best weed eater that I've ever owned. It starts easy, is easy to restring and has plenty of power.
It also is well balanced so it does not wear you out.
Ronnie Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Ronnie's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good pricing, no tax and free shipping which was fast!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Shayne H.
Johnstown, OH
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
Take Husqvarnas light weight,Great balance,Terrific throttle response, excellent bump head and then on top of all this add a honda engine and you make the competition very nervous.

Cuts well, starts very easy like any Honda engine, extremely quiet running. Light,well balanced and almost no vibration I can use this for hours and feel no fatigue, Don't bother with a strap you wont need it.

Goes on my rare list of 5 star trimmers I cannot find a single con. I recommend ethanol free gas and... more
Shayne Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
30
William B.
Melville, NY
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 7/2/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer!
This is one great trimmer. Easy to start, easy to operate. It is well balanced, lightweight and relatively quiet. I recommend this product and I'm glad I bought it.
William Recommends This Husqvarna Product
William's Experience With Power Equipment Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent buying experience. Product was on back-order and company predicted a date when more would come in. They were right on target and item was shipped in a timely fashion. Bravo!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Thomas H.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Purchased from Power Equipment Direct
Purchased 8/24/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Trimmer
The only downside to this trimmer is that it is heavy but thankfully we don't have a lot of property. A carrying strap would be nice!
Thomas Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 224L reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 224L ratings. Find the Husqvarna 224L Power Equipment Direct that is right for you.

Contact Power Equipment Direct